Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Queens Visit

• 13-05-2011 7:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭

Could not believe the amount of Garda out and about today and she isn't even here yet. So it would be a very good idea to make sure your kit and aeg's are well packed and out of sight. Security:cool: will be tight and you don't want to be stopped on the way to your favorite site with aeg's all over the back seat.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

I belive there is a list of roads closed (have not seen list or time table) but these roads wil be under watch in advance so be aware and think of the sport and your own safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭sharpy2010

loads of cops in force but to be honest there not to bothered down my way seeing as sinn fein has announced it will be holding a republican rally about 300m away from where shes visiting in cork:D and they claim it wont interfere even though its happening around the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

I imagine if you get stopes and searched your stuff will at least be held unroll after the visits, given the events of recent weeks this is not the time to do anything stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

I'll echo the above, it's REALLY not the time to walk down to your local site with kit wrapped in black bags (when is it ever?), if not for the sake of our sport more so for your well being:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

Heh, The queen visited near me a few months ago... Guess what I was doing, 50m from the bulding she was visiting?

Yup. Pyrotechnician's course.

Armed plod everywhere, on top of buildings, in the street... not ONE came to investigate the loud bangs, and it was a miricle the instructor got his landie full of boom boom TO us rofl.

Yeah, this topic is a GREAT idea, props to the OP. Don't be daft and slip up. Gunbags, common sense and it will all be grand. If the gardai do stop you, be polite, and if they want to search, declare it. Perhaps a good idea if skirmishing this weekend, to print your sites details incase stopped to prove your purpose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

I, for one, believe that I have chosen an awesome time to be abroad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

LOL anytime is a good time to be abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

I'll be in London for a good chunk of next week, the perfect place, exactly where the queen won't be.

Props to the OP, but remember kids, not being a spa is for life, not just when the queen's looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭TerrenceAnth

Its always a gamble for me with going to airsoft sites lol taking guns through the north is always alkward. Donegal - dublin such a fun time :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

A Garda spokesman was on the radio yesterday. If you are travelling through a restricted area, you may be stopped and have all your bags and vehicle searched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭1man3letters

SgtBob wrote: »
    A Garda spokesman was on the radio yesterday. If you are travelling through a restricted area, you may be stopped and have all your bags and vehicle searched.

it begins :rolleyes:

Yep, and I think it applies if you are on foot with a bag aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

SgtBob wrote: »

Propper order to be honest, even a lad with a boot full of toy guns would set a few hearts beating.
    In truth if thew unthinkable was to happen and she was hurt / injured or worse, it would be the worst dis-service to this island since Cromwell .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

To be fair, it's the monarch of a country involved in a war in the Middle East and our previous rulers/occupiers (depending on where you're from) with whom we've had a bloody and violent history until the latter quarter of the last centuary. This visit is followed very closely by the prime minister of said country and the President of a country which has just killed the most prominent terrorist leader in the world.
    I think a little leeway is allowed with searching bags at checkpoints and in areas designated secure.

Courtesy and respect goes a long way. If you're carrying a rifle or pistol, or anything airsoft related, in a proper method, you shouldn't have to worry once you politely explain to the Garda/soldier that your bag contains an item which may look suspicious, but has benign reasoning for being carried (ie, going to a skirmish site/shop).

It wouldn't be a bad idea to avoid carrying anything from Tueday to Thursday either. For some this might be unfortunate, but why risk it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

On the off chance someone is stopped by the garda, what would be the proper way to handle it ?
    Just explain whats in the bag, where your going etc?

I've been stopped before, going across the border with about 40 rifles in the boot several years ago. With licence taken given I cannot remember the exact conversation, here's roughly what was said;

Garda: Where are you off to?
    Me: <name of place> (I can't remember which trip this was, could have been Donegal)
    Garda: What are you going there for?
    Me: A photoshoot, Garda.
    Garda: Is that the reason for the large bags in the back seat?
    Me: Yes, the boot was a bit full so the rest went there.
    Garda: They're a bit unsecured as they are. If you were to crash they could go anywhere. Do you mind if I look in the boot?
    Me: Of course, but I should tell you what's in there before I open it.

At this point the Garda looked rather concerned, and his colleague picked up on it and came over.

Me: I have several airsoft rifles in there, made safe with the battery and magazine removed.
    Garda 1: What rifles?
    Garda 2: Airsoft, I've know of it. We'll need to have a quick look anyway.
    Me: No problem <open boot>

Garda 1 now looked a bit shocked, but Garda 2 looked nonplussed (until he spotted an MP7 and wanted to fiddle with it a bit)
    After a couple of minutes, they were satisfied that the rifles were safe, stored out of public sight and were being transported for legitimate reasons (the photoshoot), and we were sent on our way.

Basically, what I'm saying is, courtesy and respect is going to carry more weight than anything else. If you get on your high-horse about being searched by a Garda, he/she is more likely to take action if you're carrying something like an AEG. Be polite and explain what's in the bag before opening it, as well as why you're transporting it in the first place (this is where unnecessary jaunts to your friends place to show off your upgraded RoF by blasting paper cups should be put on hiatus for a week or two).
    Do this and you'll be most likely sent on your way. There's a chance you may be asked to take another route (some of Dublin, at least, has been locked off to even bicycle traffic for security reasons). If so, it's best to co-operate. What's an extra five minutes walk for the sake of saving you, and the Garda, a lot of hassle and aggravation?

I wouldn't have any problem getting stopped for a search. As long as the Garda involved is polite about it.

But I agree with what NakedDex said, courtesy goes a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭robman60

<snip> not airsoft related.

A Garda will usually be polite about it, but you do have to remember, a Garda in Dublin could be personally dealing with hundreds, maybe thousands of people every day with these restrictions, especially if they're at a checkpoint. If only one in every fifty of those people gave that Garda abuse for being checked, it still leads to your day on duty being a pretty crappy one.
    The guy right before you might have insulted every seed, breed and generation of that Garda over being checked, so it's worth cutting them some slack. Not only are they doing a thankless job, they're doing it while taking completley unwarranted abuse and guff from people who think themselves above such "inconveniences".

In other words, be polite regardless of the mood of the Garda. Playing "Angry Citizen" isn't going to help you along any faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

NakedDex wrote: »
    A Garda will usually be polite about it, but you do have to remember, a Garda in Dublin could be personally dealing with hundreds, maybe thousands of people every day with these restrictions, especially if they're at a checkpoint. If only one in every fifty of those people gave that Garda abuse for being checked, it still leads to your day on duty being a pretty crappy one.
    The guy right before you might have insulted every seed, breed and generation of that Garda over being checked, so it's worth cutting them some slack. Not only are they doing a thankless job, they're doing it while taking completley unwarranted abuse and guff from people who think themselves above such "inconveniences".

In other words, be polite regardless of the mood of the Garda. Playing "Angry Citizen" isn't going to help you along any faster.

Further to this, while you DO have rights and are entitled to those rights you are not entitled to your "day in court" at the side of the road. If you feel miffed by the treatment you receive this is the appropriate response;

1) Remain polite, calm and above all do not swear, insult or raise your voice to a Garda.
    2) Ask (politely) for their identification number (all Gardai are obliged to provide this when asked).
    3) Lodge a complaint with the Garda ombudsman and/or inform your solicitor or legal aid representative.
    4) Above all, remain calm, curteous and compliant EVEN if they suggest they are going to confiscate your equipment. Should this happen you will be given receipts and appropriate case numbers etc to track the equipment and the chain of custody.

There is always the temptation to get shirty with what appears to you to be a copper with a superiority complex but dont. From their perspective its easier to yank you off the street and deal with the paper-work mess a few days later than to explain how and why they let a loony with a grudge get close to a visiting monarch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,171 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

robman60 wrote: »
    <snip>.

Fascinating, no wonder he got elected, promising to hurl baked goods at a monarch can only help the country's present state of affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Cheers for the reply lads, never been stopped going to a skirmish or going home but it's a good idea to know what to say rather than just stuttering trying to answer them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭Arkslippy

I hear she's playing the office block on Wednesday night. Hope she takes her hits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭TNTQ

Not enough Queens there already? :pac:

TNTQ wrote: »

Her team are called the sas. They are very proficient at knife kills. Been known to throw the odd flashbang too.

Not as good as you though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭Stone.cold

Wondered when I'd see this in the paper; apparently a group of individuals wearing camo gear & carrying bb guns were stopped near farmleigh house, but were released shortly after as they were not a security threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Dogwatch

Stone.cold wrote: »
    Wondered when I'd see this in the paper; apparently a group of individuals wearing camo gear & carrying bb guns were stopped near farmleigh house, but were released shortly after as they were not a security threat.
    Would you post a link to this please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

What? -Pissed that the neighbour is coming over to visit for a couple of days and we get put out?

It's not like it happens very often.

Once every 100 years or so.

Deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭moggser

TNTQ wrote: »

LOL.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Stone.cold wrote: »

How embarrasing, to be reported as being **** at Airsoft : /

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

I hope QE2 pays her 9 quid to see the Book of Kells in Trinners, just like everyone else. Probably going to use the excuse that a distant relative her first cousin 13 times removed opened chartered the place... bah. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Spooky-Vinny

Is it true that england owns Trinity and grafton street? O.o
    xXx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭ricka

We all went out the back and watched Queenie land.She taxied a couple of hundred yards away from our fence.We were suprised to be that close with no army or police around but then someone pointed out there's an armed vechicle with its gun pointing at us:eek:
    Robbie was drilliing downgrading an M4 just inside the door.
    Funny little red lights all over him! Cute!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

ricka wrote: »

Missed opportunity to sell a few lasers to them, tbh.......

ricka wrote: »
    We all went out the back and watched Queenie land.She taxied a couple of hundred yards away from our fence.We were suprised to be that close with no army or police around but then someone pointed out there's an armed vechicle with its gun pointing at us:eek:
    Robbie was drilliing downgrading an M4 just inside the door.

I saw a great tweet on Twitter a few mins ago....

"This is silly. The Queen is an old lady. She just couldn't go on the rampage long enough - no need for all these police to stop her."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭sci-ops

Do you think if we apologise for the mess of the place and that it was all just a big misunderstanding....she might take us back????

What were we thinking....independence....bah, who needs it?:p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

sci-ops wrote: »
    Do you think if we apologise for the mess of the place and that it was all just a big misunderstanding....she might take us back????

What were we thinking....independence....bah, who needs it?:p:p:p

I'm not a big mad freak when it comes to national pride etc, tbh I've very little to be proud about being Irish.

But I do like the fact that I'm Irish , living in Ireland, rather then Irish, being babysat by England..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

TheDoc wrote: »
    I'm not a big mad freak when it comes to national pride etc, tbh I've very little to be proud about being Irish.

But I do like the fact that I'm Irish , living in Ireland, rather then Irish, being babysat by England..

As someone who just relocated to the UK from Dublin, where I live doesn't effect who I am. Neither does who runs it. One finds that the same type of ar$eh0le ends up in politics no matter.

And I get paid in £........:D:eek:

It's ironic that we have such a long history of conflict with a country who have the most in common with us.

Arkslippy wrote: »
    It's ironic that we have such a long history of conflict with a country who have the most in common with us.

No, it's not. It's unfortunate, sure. Historically driven, absolutely. Ironic, not even slightly.

NakedDex wrote: »
    No, it's not. It's unfortunate, sure. Historically driven, absolutely. Ironic, not even slightly.

ill rephrase.

It is ironic that the country Ireland would have most conflict with, would be one most in common with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

Shiva wrote: »
    I saw a great tweet on Twitter a few mins ago....

"This is silly. The Queen is an old lady. She just couldn't go on the rampage long enough - no need for all these police to stop her."

Similar to when Obama was doing his acceptance speech behind bullet proof glass, <Snip> Racist comment removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Similar to when Obama was doing his acceptance speech behind bullet proof glass, <Snip> Racist comment removed.

Leave the racist comments about people's colour out.

andy_g wrote: »
    Leave the racist comments about people's colour out.

That wasnt a racist joke, it was a joke poking fun at racism :)

Ah but in fairness, I do have a deep burning hatred of ethnic minorities.

Only two things I hate in this world.

Bigots like you..........and ethnic minorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

It was a mod call - please respect that. :)
    Not funny at all. Crap like that doesn't wash on boards, please think before you post in future.
    Only two things I hate in this world.

Bigots like you..........and ethnic minorities.
    Attack the post and not the poster. Sound familiar?

No more warnings folks. :)

Steve wrote: »
    It was a mod call - please respect that. :)

Just messing about with Sod o Swords, Steve - if you read my last one again its obviously a contradiction.

Steve wrote: »

Tony's said he'll give me a 300 euro voucher to cover the emotional distress his post caused so it's fine now..... :p

In all seriousness sorry if anyone found the comment offensive, as for my post preceding this I was hoping the extreme sarcasm would be obvious, but that didn't seem to be the case, so for the record i'm not a raging racist.

Tony's said he'll give me a 300 euro voucher to cover the emotional distress his post caused so it's fine now..... :p

In all seriousness sorry if anyone found the comment offensive, as for my post preceding this I was hoping the extreme sarcasm would be obvious, but that didn't seem to be the case, so for the record i'm not a raging racist.

Lets be less subtle from now on, k ? Just to be safe. ;)