Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British woman beheaded in Tenerife

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

That shut her up.

Bad form though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Feckin hell thats mad.

Some people lose the head alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

She shouldn't have headed to Tenerife on holidays in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Manuel Reveron, a local a councillor for citizen security said: "Apparently this gentleman without any motive or any reason, although for this there is no reasoning, entered the shop and then cut this woman's neck and took the head in his hand outside up to the sidewalk.
    "Then the security guard was able to throw him on the ground and we covered the macabre (site)."
    That's messed up.

Poor woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Jake1 wrote: »
    New's just breaking from what I hear. Jesus Christ.

link on sky.

http://news.sky.com/skynews/World-News

Can't find any reference to this on Sky News' website. Do you have a real link?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

That's absolutely disgusting. How could someone consider doing that to another person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

he just stood outside the shop with the head in his hand:eek: crazy bastard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

What pain in the ass

D'oh!!

Its at the top of the page in the link, you cant miss...oh wait well its there anyway;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭thehairyelbow

How long before the jokes start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Im_EoinD wrote: »
    That shut her up.

Bad form though
    benwavner wrote: »
    Feckin hell thats mad.

Not funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

A British woman has been stabbed and beheaded in Tenerife, according to reports.

The supermarket where the incident reportedly happened
    The woman was reportedly attacked in a supermarket in the town of Los Cristianos on the island.
    A Bulgarian man, believed to be homeless, has been detained by Spanish police.
    Spanish media reported that witnesses saw the man enter a Chinese supermarket at the Valdes Shopping Centre and, without saying a word, attacked the woman with a knife, cutting her head off.
    A regional government spokeswoman said the killer is understood to have obtained a knife from inside the store to launch his attack.
    Colin Kirby, of tenerifemagazine.com witnessed the event. He told Sky News: "It was all a bit surreal I was heading past the commercial centre and saw a group of people by the entrance and a medical guy going in form the health centre.
    "I assumed someone had fainted, walked on, and then I could hear screaming and shouting.
    "I glanced behind me and a guy was ambling down the street holding what I assumed to be a joke head, by the hair."
    Manuel Reveron, a local a councillor for citizen security said: "Apparently this gentleman without any motive or any reason, although for this there is no reasoning, entered the shop and then cut this woman's neck and took the head in his hand outside up to the sidewalk.
    "Then the security guard was able to throw him on the ground and we covered the macabre (site)."
    A Foreign Office spokesman said: "We are aware of reports of the death of a British national in Tenerife and are urgently investigating."

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/spain/8512540/British-woman-beheaded-in-busy-Tenerife-supermarket.html

Officials in Tenerife identified the victim as a 62-year-old British woman.

The suspect, believed to be a homeless Bulgarian man with a police record, was detained by security guards after he ran out of the supermarket in a shopping centre in Los Cristianos with the head in his hands.

Security staff chased the man and rugby tackled him.

A Foreign Office spokesman said: "We are aware of reports of the death of a British national in Tenerife and are urgently investigating."

A witness told broadcaster Cadena Ser that he saw the man drop a bloodstained woman's head on the pavement after coming out of the shop.
    "I was parking my car outside the supermarket and I saw this man running out with something bloody in his hands," the witness said.

"It was a head. He had it in his hands. The security guards chased him and threw him to the floor and overpowered him."

The victim, who has not yet been identified, was working at the mini-market.
    Dominica Fernandez, a government official, said the suspect had "chosen his victim by chance".

The suspect was reportedly discharged from a hospital in February having received treatment for violent behaviour.

A regional government spokeswoman said the suspect is believed to have entered the shop, stolen a knife which he then used to assault and behead the woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Spanish media reported that witnesses saw the man enter a Chinese supermarket at the Valdes Shopping Centre and, without saying a word, attacked the woman with a knife, cutting her head off.

****ing hell. Sick prick.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Wasn't there a similar incident on a bus in Canada two years ago? Totally unprovoked, random attack, victim's head cut off. Unfathomable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The Pakistan: 80 Killed In Osama 'Revenge' Blasts at the top gave me a more sickening feeling, to be honest, despite what happened to woman being awful.

Pure random.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

I worked in tenerife for a couple of summers and have loads of mates who live there permanently, got a txt at 12 today about it. absolutely crazy!

The rumour mill is gone mental over there about it.

em, that IS a real link its on the ticker tape.

or failing that use google . jaze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It's being running on sky news for a while now . Horrific byond belief ....somebodys sister ,wife or mother .Poor womon .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Duggy747 wrote: »
    The Pakistan: 80 Killed In Osama 'Revenge' Blasts at the top gave me a more sickening feeling, to be honest, despite what happened to woman being awful.

Pure random.

I'd agree. But this is more sensationalist; a headline grabber for Sky et al. You know, "one of our own" as opposed some 80 foreigners that we don't really empathise with. :(

IMHO, natch.

Hopefully someone doesn't do this to the queen when she's over.

That is just as unfunny as your first joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Elisabeth Blanctorche

Yeah..... hopefully...... yes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

bonerm wrote: »

God thats gross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

old hippy wrote: »
    I'd agree. But this is more sensationalist; a headline grabber for Sky et al. You know, "one of our own" as opposed some 80 foreigners that we don't really empathise with. :(

IMHO, natch.

Is that not what all news broadcasters are like though? People want to know about stuff that they can relate to or feel a connection with. Thats why we have local news and national news. And then we have international news. While the deaths of 80 innocent pakistanis is tragic, what happens to British people will always get more attention on British news channel, just as the goings on in London will get more coverage on BBC London than something happening in the Scottish highlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Disturbing

Crosáidí wrote: »
    Disturbing

Bone-chilling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Even by AH's standards the jokes are beyond rubbish. At least make an effort!

Poor woman. I can't even imagine being in the same locale as something like that happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

:eek: is all I can say to that.....

And a supermarket in Tenerfie, of all places. If she was trekking through the jungle and got beheaded by a tribe of cannibals or something, it would be different. But a supermarket? I mean.......jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

That shut her up.

Bad form though
    benwavner wrote: »
    Feckin hell thats mad.

I know this is After Hours but for christ's sake that poor woman's just been murdered. Can you not have a bit of respect?

God love her.....that man is clearly disturbed :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Security staff chased the man and rugby tackled him.
    Loose head prop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Loose head prop?

For god's sake enough!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

old hippy wrote: »
    IMHO, natch.

Or you know, one was a bomb, at a military installation in what is effectively a warzone and unfortunately not an isolated incident. While it is barbaric mass murder you can't compare the two..

The other seems to be a woman in a supermarket doing her job attacked at random and beheaded by a stranger for no apparent reason. You don't really need to sensationalise it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Is that not what all news broadcasters are like though? People want to know about stuff that they can relate to or feel a connection with. Thats why we have local news and national news. And then we have international news. While the deaths of 80 innocent pakistanis is tragic, what happens to British people will always get more attention on British news channel, just as the goings on in London will get more coverage on BBC London than something happening in the Scottish highlands.

Yeah, we're so bloody parochial.

But London media is so... Londoncentric, as you probably know.

I like to feel I can relate to all humanity without sounding smug about it :)

hondasam wrote: »
    That is just as unfunny as your first joke.

Lighten up seriously. Do you really think I am pleasured from reading this story ? or that I had a laugh from it ?

It sickens me that there are people in this world who do it. But it is AH so take posts a little less to heart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

Ho-lee shít! :eek:

And this is why I have no time for PETA:
    After the [murder of Time McLean], People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) sent an advertisement to the Portage Daily Graphic comparing the murder of Tim McLean to the killing of animals for food. The ad was rejected by the paper. PETA was harshly criticized for attempting to exploit the incident in such a manner, but refused to apologize

Spanners

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

that chap really lost the head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Maybe it's the time of The Gathering?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Jake1 wrote: »
    em, that IS a real link its on the ticker tape.

or failing that use google . jaze.

The onus was on the OP to provide a link to an actual article, not Sky News' front page, tbh.

Lighten up seriously. Do you really think I am pleasured from reading this story ? or that I had a laugh from it ?

It sickens me that there are people in this world who do it. But it is AH so take posts a little less to heart

This pisses me of, what has AH got to do with it, do we have to laugh at every joke because it's AH. It's a real life issue not a joke.

please do not patronise me.

The onus was on the OP to provide a link to an actual article, not Sky News' front page, tbh.

gimme a break I did provide a link it was on that page when I provided link. Maybe sky changed it who knows, who cares, if one was interested, one could have easily found the story.

LittleBook wrote: »
    Ho-lee shít! :eek:

And this is why I have no time for PETA:

Spanners

I'm vegan and have been for several years, have a lot of vegetarian/vegan friends too and just want to say that PETA don't represent any of us, nor do we have any time for them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭flyaway.

That is absolutely horrific. :(

It's just so terrible.

heres another link ( this one on front page ;):p)

They are saying she was a member of staff.

http://www.eitb.com/news/life/detail/657426/man-tenerife-beheads-woman-then-parades-her-head/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

[/B]

This pisses me of, what has AH got to do with it, do we have to laugh at every joke because it's AH. It's a real life issue not a joke.

Did you not get the memo? On boards it's grand to crack jokes about people dying as long as they aren't celebrities. Take the piss out of a celebrity death and you get banned. Take the piss out off a random joe soap that has died and you get thanked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Wow, that is ****ed up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

I'd put money on that the killer was some kind of delusional, paranoid schizophrenic who wadn't been taking his medication. No other explanation.

No coincidence that it's Friday the 13th either!

[/B]

please do not patronise me.

Someone has died and all ye can do is argue, cop on the pair of ye:rolleyes: