Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Holiday Deals to Kusadasi, Turkey

• 11-05-2011 10:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭

There are some good one-week deals on www.wingsabroad.ie for next Sunday 15th May, for example Pine Club Apartments €179 and Melissa Apartments €179. Just to add that Sami Beach Hotel, Gumbet, is now also €179 one week B&B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,960 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

That's an awesome price and i'm off next week, only 1 problem, turkey.

Been there twice, never again, beautiful and amazing country, just let down badly by the letches, shop keepers and pushy waiters who work there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Those Melissa Apartments are some slum. I was in Kusadasi a few years back in a Hotel, and friends who happened to be in the same place at the same time were staying there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Thanks for this,I have been looking for a site for single person hotels to Kusadasi for ages,great prices to the AI hotels,thanks again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭paddyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Chi Force

The Pine Club is really lovely, I would recommend it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Weyhey

Pine Club booked out.

"The selected room type is not available during that period. Please try another departure date..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭mrsbouquet

Stayed at the Melissa a few years ago and found them great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 songbirds

Chi Force wrote: »
    The Pine Club is really lovely, I would recommend it! :)

Stayed at the Pine Club many years ago. Ages 18, 16 and 9. Had a great Villa which was great with own pool. Lots of fun for kids all day. Far from the maddening crowd of Kusadasi which I found so frustrating "running the gauntlet" of waiters trying to get to you eat at their place before you got 100 yards from bus. Found the complex expensive for the type of food offered. Preferred to eat in Kusadasi one you could have a destination in mind. Found the staff great but not "allowed" to recommend local "typical" Turkish restaurants in the hills. Once you were there you felt a little trapped. Would love to find somewhere else with such good facilities - just transport the Villa/complex somewhere else. Did anyone else find a comparable location anywhere else in Europe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 ODriscoll1

I have booked a week at the Tropicano hotel, I know absolutely nothing about the place. We are going the last week in August, can anyone tell me if this place is ok for two 25 yr olds or is for older age group. I just want a good holiday..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭waxer1986

ODriscoll1 wrote: »
    I have booked a week at the Tropicano hotel, I know absolutely nothing about the place. We are going the last week in August, can anyone tell me if this place is ok for two 25 yr olds or is for older age group. I just want a good holiday..

its not a great place man,i never stayed there in the night times thou always went in to bar street its good in there..but the people in the hotel try keep ya in the hotel for the night dont want ya spending ur money anywhere eles..

Im just wondering if the hotel tropicano in kusadasi, is a good hotel, ive heard terrible things about it and ive booked there in late August. I can still cancel, i dont have much money I need a holiday and this was resonable but if its a dive its a waste of money...Please help.

its not great man iv bein over there a few times stayed ther once but we got moved to the sea pearl for free just luck really..either the sea pearl or the palmin hotel there prob the best as far as i no...prob be a little bit more expencive but there nice hotels

Thanks for that a friend mentioned the sea pearl, but the travel agent i booked with doesnt have that place on their brochures, so im kind of stuck really. Ive tried all the travel agents and they all have the same places. Thanks for helping me out im going crazy at the thought of spending 434 euro each on this place if its a dive...Thanks for you reply..

try gohop.ie...no worries man thats wat this site is for:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

anybody know if the Goldengate apts near Ladies beach still exist, stayed there in 2001 and found it really nice.!! small and friendly complex. beach only 5 mins. constant Dolmbus to Centrum (centre/bar street)

Thank you, but im limited with my travel agents. They will only accommadate few hotels and apartments. I only have falcon. panarama, sunworld, budget and holidaysdirect. If you can enlighten me on any more i would be delighted. Thank you for replying..

ryanair or arelingus are flying there now i think..you could go and just try find a place might end up cheaper too ya never no..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭meolwan

Aer Lingus now fly direct to Izmir you can book most of the hotels on the sea front & marina area online direct some very good deals to be had depending on your time of travel. You can also book transfers from airport in Izmir return online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭cotton

Try Sunway Holidays or Holidays online.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭another native

Are you referring to Tropicana Garden Hotel? If so,TripAdvisor have several reviews (practically all from Irish guests). The vast majority of reviews are favourable. On a side note, for anyone interested www.wingsabroad.ie have very reduced prices for the coming weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭jessiesmom

washman3 yes golden gate is still there, they have expanded and its much bigger, i think you can book them through direct holidays, stayed there too years ago and loved the chinese next door !! :)

o driscoll the tropicana arent that bad, there are no lifts but they have a nice restaurant and big pool, and a bbq nite also but think of what you want on your hols, if you are plannin on hittin bar street for your hols or jade beach club across the road then all you need is somewhere to lay your head, then tropicana is fine, we stayed in the palmin and sea pearl and they were great also but as well they were not too happy about you leaving to eat or drink elsewhere:mad: but at the end of the day its your holiday :cool:and its what you make of it, also there is a hotel directly behind the tropicana called the lion hotel which if you load a pre paid card you are welcome to use their pool and waterslides if you fancy a change of scenery , its not expensive either, another plus is the town mini bus (dolmus) stops outside your hotel and plenty of taxis also in case you get too trollied on the efes !!!!!:);)

jessiesmom wrote: »
    washman3 yes golden gate is still there, they have expanded and its much bigger, i think you can book them through direct holidays, stayed there too years ago and loved the chinese next door !! :)

Ah, thanks dude (or dudess)?? remember that chinese all right and the shop on the other side selling the fresh,even hot bread,few times a day. nice hotel,only few mins walk from Ladies Beach. Low-rise too,only 2-3 stories i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭DingDong

I thought the Tropicana Garden Hotel wasn't very clean. It put me off ever going back to Turkey. The food at the hotel managed to give me the worst case of food poison in my life and it was only a chicken pizza nothing fancy.

washman 3 the golden gate are actually in this years panorama brochure!!!! , regarding food poisioning think everyone gets the turkey trots :(:eek:at least once going to turkey but i think your immune afterwards !!! either that or you just get used to the food and drink !!!!! dudess :):P

The Tropicana Garden's a great hotel! Rooms are a bit sparse, but the staff are incredibly friendly, and there's activities every day and night to keep you entertained. The Hotel's got it's own Hairdressers, souvenir shop and night club too. Staff there honestly made my holiday when I was there - great bunch of lads.

washman 3 the golden gate are actually in this years panorama brochure!!!! , regarding food poisioning think everyone gets the turkey trots :(:eek:at least once going to turkey but i think your immune afterwards !!! either that or you just get used to the food and drink !!!!! dudess :):P

Thanks ill be checking it out this week. think the drink actually causes the food poisoning,never get it at home;) or might even be the heat:p

waxer1986 wrote: »
    its not a great place man,i never stayed there in the night times thou always went in to bar street its good in there..but the people in the hotel try keep ya in the hotel for the night dont want ya spending ur money anywhere eles..

I had the same experience at the Pine Club. They just want all your money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Et Cetera

Just back from a wings abroad trip to Kusadasi and it was _brilliant_! Would go there again in a heartbeat. Hotel we stayed in was The Golden Wings hotel, it's spang new, totally refurbished. There are alot of negative reviews on tripadvisor on it, but this was for the old iteration. Would definitely recommend.

Thanks for that Et Cetera. Will take a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Miss Dymph

We went to Tropicana gardens for two weeks this year, the resort is beautiful both Ladies Beach and the Centrum area but the hotel... wow. The management and staff stopped all friendliness and attempts at conversation after week one as we were eating out and having drinks out and going on lots of trips, i was taken aside one night on my own and reprimanded for doing this, was told not to tell new guests anything about food places outside the hotel and they watched me like a hawk to see if i spoke to people. The locals were amazingly friendly and the resort so clean and enjoyable and the cleaner was a really sweet lady but seriously, theres honestly nothing i can say about this place. Its run specifically for Irish and theres nothing traditional at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Miss Dymph wrote: »
    We went to Tropicana gardens for two weeks this year, the resort is beautiful both Ladies Beach and the Centrum area but the hotel... wow. The management and staff stopped all friendliness and attempts at conversation after week one as we were eating out and having drinks out and going on lots of trips, i was taken aside one night on my own and reprimanded for doing this, was told not to tell new guests anything about food places outside the hotel and they watched me like a hawk to see if i spoke to people. The locals were amazingly friendly and the resort so clean and enjoyable and the cleaner was a really sweet lady but seriously, theres honestly nothing i can say about this place. Its run specifically for Irish and theres nothing traditional at all.

Could none of the friendly locals teach you how to say "Fcuk off, I paid my money" in Turkish? :confused:

bmaxi wrote: »
    Could none of the friendly locals teach you how to say "Fcuk off, I paid my money" in Turkish? :confused:

Oh trust me, I gave him what for when i was approached for all the leaving the hotel business but we were still treated as total outcasts after. We went to a chinese restaurant on the last night and the lady was irish working there, asked would we come again and i said 'oh definitely but i would rent an apt not stay in Tropicana' and her face went like thunder asking me was it not good enough for me. They try very very hard to appeal to the huge amounts of Irish there but they forget that you leave Ireland to... well.. leave Ireland!

thats terrible behaviour:mad: we stayed in the palmin and while they didnt say anything to us for eating elsewhere it was shown in the time it took to serve us and other little things but it was far too expensive to eat their all the time as i was hols with my little one i couldnt afford to eat there all the time, you should have said something to the rep even to get it off your chest as that would pee me off !!! they forget that they depend on tourism and once its been damaged they will be affected by that, its like the hassle in the shops if they left you alone you would spend a fortune , :), sorry you had a bad experience and i hope it wont put you off returning as there is good and bad everywhere, feck the begrudgers!!! just think what they have lost

No youre dead right, I cant paint them all with the same brush, I actually had a wonderful holiday and plan to return to the resort next summer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

Stayed in Golden Days and the same thing there. You notice them not liking you as much once your not staying there every night. One woman got pulled aside for the same thing telling people about different restaurants.

Anyone that is going i'd recommend The Mayflower and Somewhere Else as the best food wegot. Golden Boys also quite good and lads are very friendly. San Marco also very good and cheap but was quieter than most places.Lads there are sound as well though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

Guys please help is the golden day wings the same place as this http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g297972-d648046-Reviews-Golden_Day_Otel-Kusadasi_Turkish_Aegean_Coast.html ???

what is the night life like around the hotel ??? All reviews welcomed.

Little Pea wrote: »
    Guys please help is the golden day wings the same place as this http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g297972-d648046-Reviews-Golden_Day_Otel-Kusadasi_Turkish_Aegean_Coast.html ???

what is the night life like around the hotel ??? All reviews welcomed.
    It is indeed. Nice and close to town and all nightlie. Up a big hill though so walking isn't easy if your not too mobile. We walked down every day though. The buses that go by can be got for about 70c.

Staff are grand. Entertainment in the hotel not the best. BBQ night was good though. Food is average. Nothing special. We ate out most of the time anyway. Rooms are lovely. Dont buy anything in onsite shop. Very expensive.

Rep there wasnt the friendliest so we booked trips elsewhere and got them cheaper anyway. Reps are always more expensive than the travel agents who will pick you up at your hotel anyway.

Any Q's just ask.

It is indeed. Nice and close to town and all nightlie. Up a big hill though so walking isn't easy if your not too mobile. We walked down every day though. The buses that go by can be got for about 70c.

Staff are grand. Entertainment in the hotel not the best. BBQ night was good though. Food is average. Nothing special. We ate out most of the time anyway. Rooms are lovely. Dont buy anything in onsite shop. Very expensive.

Rep there wasnt the friendliest so we booked trips elsewhere and got them cheaper anyway. Reps are always more expensive than the travel agents who will pick you up at your hotel anyway.

Any Q's just ask.

thanks a lot for your reply , you have put my mind at ease :-) I'm travelling with my girlfriend and was a wee bit apprehensive with booking Turkey. What about the beaches ?? Was it cheap to eat / drink out ??? Any advice on changing money then ?? Thanks again :-)

ps : where did you fly into ?? How long was in too get to hotel ??
    Boards community strikes again :-)

thanks a lot for your reply , you have put my mind at ease :-) I'm travelling with my girlfriend and was a wee bit apprehensive with booking Turkey. What about the beaches ?? Was it cheap to eat / drink out ??? Any advice on changing money then ?? Thanks again :-)

ps : where did you fly into ?? How long was in too get to hotel ??
    Boards community strikes again :-)

Flew to Izmir and was about an hour or little under to hotel. I brought some cash over and then just used my credit card to withdraw as i'd put money on it. Using the credit card for withdrawals worked out cheaper than what i'd exchanged. Everything can be paid for in Euros though over there too though. Couldn't believe how easily it was accepted. Some places have prices in Euros rather than Lira. Usually works out a little more expensive though. The hotle is more expensive to change money than change offices down town.

You can get the bus to ladies beach from down in the centre. The number 6 I think it was. Works out cheaper than getting taxis although their not too bad. About €7 to there.

Drink isn't too cheapunless your drinking the local stuff Efes which is very good. Bar street is where the nightclubs are and is more expensive. Food is reasonable enough. Food is a little over half what you'd pay at home. The restaurants I mentioned above are worth going to in particular Somewhere Else which is just at the beginning of ladies beach.

Oh and buying clothes or anything in any shop can be a nightmare. Prices are generally at least half what you get quoted and to get the best prices you have to walk away and not just take what they say. Can be very pushy in some places.

If the girlfriend wants to get the hair done mine got it done in a place down from the hotel. You walk out turn right then take I think it was the next right. Half the prices of home.Hairdressers in the hotel but their more expensive.Also the turkish bath in the hotel prices are reasonable enough but still twice the price of others.

For asking questions about places over there and learning a bit about the place talk to Leon in San Marco or Mehmet in Goldenboys. Sound lads

You have been very helpful , I shall be booking in the morning on the back of your recommendation :-) , thank you very much :-)

when you say drink isnt cheap what we talking hahah sorry :-)

For asking questions about places over there and learning a bit about the place talk to Leon in San Marco or Mehmet in Goldenboys. Sound lads

Sorry , But what is Goldenboys ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Sorry , But what is Goldenboys ??

Its a restuarant there... Ask for Tyson

Is Tyson still there? He's sound out!

Owen wrote: »

He was three weeks ago anyway. The man has 40 jobs ha ha, i met him in ladies beach working, the Wednesday Market and then in Golden boys, hes sound out alright..

I have to say we ate in Saray and it was the nicest food out of the lot.

Owen wrote: »

He was three weeks ago anyway. The man has 40 jobs ha ha, i met him in ladies beach working, the Wednesday Market and then in Golden boys, hes sound out alright..

I have to say we ate in Saray and it was the nicest food out of the lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

You have been very helpful , I shall be booking in the morning on the back of your recommendation :-) , thank you very much :-)

when you say drink isnt cheap what we talking hahah sorry :-)

If you have any questions just pm me I have a place over there and am going over on the 20th by the way the answers you have got here so far are good and about right :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Miss Dymph wrote: »
    Oh trust me, I gave him what for when i was approached for all the leaving the hotel business but we were still treated as total outcasts after. We went to a chinese restaurant on the last night and the lady was irish working there, asked would we come again and i said 'oh definitely but i would rent an apt not stay in Tropicana' and her face went like thunder asking me was it not good enough for me. They try very very hard to appeal to the huge amounts of Irish there but they forget that you leave Ireland to... well.. leave Ireland!

Well done you but maybe a review on Trip Advisor, detailing what happened, might spare someone else the problem.
    I've never been to Turkey, just one of those places that doesn't appeal to me, you haven't done much to change my opinion :).

bmaxi wrote: »
    Well done you but maybe a review on Trip Advisor, detailing what happened, might spare someone else the problem.
    I've never been to Turkey, just one of those places that doesn't appeal to me, you haven't done much to change my opinion :).

I have to say nobody told me not to discuss other places to eat but Daniel the manager did get a bit ****ty with us for not going to all the meals and events in Tropicana.

I liked the hotel though, its ultra basic but it does what it says on the tin and the pool is massive.