Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To tell or not to tell...

• 10-05-2011 11:10pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23

I was looking at an Irish dating website last night while on the phone with a friend. You know how it is, glass of wine, telephone and just for laughs... Imagine my surprise when I saw the profile of a lecturer from LYIT! From what I can tell, the person has been totally honest and has not lied or done anything weird -(except the whole weird thing of being on a dating site in the first place!) the person, from what I remember of them is lovely too and I really would not want them shamed in any way.
    However - here is the thing... I am meeting up with some friends for dinner and drinks on Friday. Three of the four know the person too. This is going to be the number one scream topic of the night. I know that I should really say nothing, but it is too good to keep to myself. Isn't it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Get a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Lavattack

acwxx wrote: »
    I was looking at an Irish dating website last night while on the phone with a friend. You know how it is, glass of wine, telephone and just for laughs... Imagine my surprise when I saw the profile of a lecturer from LYIT! From what I can tell, the person has been totally honest and has not lied or done anything weird -(except the whole weird thing of being on a dating site in the first place!) the person, from what I remember of them is lovely too and I really would not want them shamed in any way.
    However - here is the thing... I am meeting up with some friends for dinner and drinks on Friday. Three of the four know the person too. This is going to be the number one scream topic of the night. I know that I should really say nothing, but it is too good to keep to myself. Isn't it??

You were on it yourself.... I don't see what the big dealio is tho. So what if they were on it. You have obviously been to college given you know em so I reckon it time to grow up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 acwxx

Lavattack wrote: »
    You were on it yourself.... I don't see what the big dealio is tho. So what if they were on it. You have obviously been to college given you know em so I reckon it time to grow up.

We were looking at it - not registered on it! FYI the person I was looking at the site with is doing a form of research for a genetics PhD. We were actually looking at men by county to see if Donegal had the highest number of premature baldness. We don't need to grow up, however despite our success, we haven't grown old before our time either. We are both under 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Lavattack

We were looking at it - not registered on it! FYI the person I was looking at the site with is doing a form of research for a genetics PhD. We were actually looking at men by county to see if Donegal had the highest number of premature baldness. We don't need to grow up, however despite our success, we haven't grown old before our time either. We are both under 30.

:rolleyes::confused::rolleyes::confused::rolleyes::confused::rolleyes:

I don't think that even deserves a response being honest. If some-one else wants to post and explain to the OP why not feel free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭mw3guc

You know how it is, glass of wine, telephone and just for laughs...

That's not how I carried out my Phd research - times have certainly changed in academia :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 acwxx

mw3guc wrote: »
    That's not how I carried out my Phd research - times have certainly changed in academia :eek:

I was actually keeping it light hearted. Only mentioned the research because the poster was so serious. Obviously that is not the main research! You've got to admit, it is a fun way to start though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I don't understand what the big deal is, I suppose you could tell your friends and have a good giggle about it, if you find it entertaining.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭irish1967

I think this would be better suited for After Hour. Bar the persons work place I can't see it's relevance to Donegal. As with another poster I really don't think it merits more comment than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,550 ✭✭✭✭muffler

irish1967 wrote: »
    I think this would be better suited for After Hour. Bar the persons work place I can't see it's relevance to Donegal.
    Spot on.

Thread moved from Donegal to AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Imagine my surprise when I saw the profile of a lecturer from LYIT!

I'm sorry my imagination is very poor and I don't know you so this is difficult for me.

Do you tend to get suprised quite easily?

If you saw a cat playing a harmonica would you be very suprised or only slightly suprised?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Am I the only one who finds it incredibly ironic that people give out about how weird the people are on dating websites while posting on boards?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

(except the whole weird thing of being on a dating site in the first place!)

Why is it weird? :confused:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

muffler wrote: »
    Spot on.

Thread moved from Donegal to AH.

You could have gone a few cm down and moved it to the Recycle Bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

If in doubt, just don't be a dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭wha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

He's a lecturer and has a PhD.. How does that make him stand out from anyone else on a dating site except for the fact that he's obviously done well for himself? Have you no life?

You make me sick.

PS: Welcome to the AH, good luck repairing your arsehole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Spill the beans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

So some single guy that you think is “lovely” is on a dating website and has posted up an accurate profile of himself.
    Maybe he’s lonely and doesn’t get a chance to meet people who share his interests in his normal social life, so he’s decided that instead of moping around he’ll be proactive and try to do something to meet someone - who knows maybe someone special to spend the rest of his life with.
    The answer to your question is obvious – you should spill all at your dinner on Friday – after all it’s more important that you get a few cheap laughs from your friends than respect the privacy of this guy.
    Your friends will think you’re great for being able to bring them this nugget of gossip.
    Actually, I’ve a better idea – set up an account (under a false name) and arrange to meet this guy at the restaurant you’re going to on Friday. Then when he turns up you can all point and laugh at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I hope the guy gets a stunner, deadly in the cot and has a great personality....who'll be laughing then?

He put himself on the site, I doubt he cares if a gaggle of geebags will get a laugh out of it or not on Friday night!

Good luck to him, at least he had the balls to do it. It's not my cup of tea but who's to say I'm right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

TBH OP, it's none of your bloody business whether anyone you know is on a dating site. It's become a very common way for people to meet each other, so what has it to do with you and the people you know?

You were on the site yourself, so it the idea can't be that remote to you.

Just leave the guy alone and keep it to yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

jaysus

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

What business is it of yours? Is it illegal or immoral to use a dating site or something?

Why would you think anyone would be shamed for using one. Millions of people are on them.

Mind your own business. Get a life. You sound like a very sad little girl.

So some single guy that you think is “lovely” is on a dating website and has posted up an accurate profile of himself.
    Maybe he’s lonely and doesn’t get a chance to meet people who share his interests in his normal social life, so he’s decided that instead of moping around he’ll be proactive and try to do something to meet someone - who knows maybe someone special to spend the rest of his life with.
    The answer to your question is obvious – you should spill all at your dinner on Friday – after all it’s more important that you get a few cheap laughs from your friends than respect the privacy of this guy.
    Your friends will think you’re great for being able to bring them this nugget of gossip.
    Actually, I’ve a better idea – set up an account (under a false name) and arrange to meet this guy at the restaurant you’re going to on Friday. Then when he turns up you can all point and laugh at him.

Be careful, based on the OP, I doubt she'll have the intellectual capacity to detect sarcasm!

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭michelledoh

i understand! Its all for a laugh.

Tbh if someone is on the dating website i think they are serious about finding someone! Tell your friends if you know they won't slag her off to her face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Creepy.

Also, welcome to the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

the person, from what I remember of them is lovely too and I really would not want them shamed in any way.

All good so far, especially as there's nothing to be shamed about.

"the number one scream topic" ? That phrase doesn't even make sense! Stop listening to Jedwardisms. I'd be more shamed if I came out with that phrase than if I was on a dating site!

To answer your question, it's not "too good" to keep to yourself. It's irrelevant, neither good nor bad.

If you try to make a conversation topic out of it it will be the equivalent of "listen, listen, lads.....I've a MASSIVE story......yeah, listen.......you know that lecturer XXXXXXX ? He drives a Corolla!"

Cue lots of blank looks and YOU being the one cringing.

Up to you, though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

This is sad. Students are sad bastards these days.

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    This is sad. Students are sad bastards these days.

She's not even a student...from a previous post she wrote:

"Are there any gay bars for girls in safe areas of Dublin? I am coming over on business in a couple of weeks and would love to be with a girl without anyone knowing.

Can anyone recommend anywhere? I am 36"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Well this didn't go the way the OP had expected :)

we haven't grown old before our time either. We are both under 30.
    acwxx wrote:
    Are there any gay bars for girls in safe areas of Dublin? I am coming over on business in a couple of weeks and would love to be with a girl without anyone knowing.

Can anyone recommend anywhere? I am 36
    Oh... What have we here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭optogirl

We were looking at it - not registered on it!

So what? Is there something wrong with using dating sites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

Think I'll fetch my popcorn, sit back and enjoy this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

gustavo wrote: »

Would be a scream of a topic at the dinner table Friday night!
    An under 30 36 year old single lady doing her Phd, just back from abroad 6 years from Donegal looking to meet girls in a safe pub in Dublin, while all the time looking at men searching for someone to date.
    Shovel time, keep digging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

"Are there any gay bars for girls in safe areas of Dublin? I am coming over on business in a couple of weeks and would love to be with a girl without anyone knowing.

That's so funny!

Cant believe she thinks its shameful to be on an internet dating sight but then looking to have a random gay experience with a total stranger!
    :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

vangoz wrote: »
    Think I'll fetch my popcorn, sit back and enjoy this one
    Pass some this way.

eilo1 wrote: »
    That's so funny!

Cant believe she thinks its shameful to be on an internet dating sight but then looking to have a random gay experience with a total stranger!
    :pac::pac::pac::pac:

That sums the whole sorry OP up right there..

Reported for sticky..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

gustavo wrote: »
    Considering the contradicting versions of the OP's life from their various posts, I'm guessing this is exactly what they wanted and it'll probably, and quite mysteriously, appear as a newspaper article...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Physically or mentally??

Was there no stories on Jordan or Jedward for you to get your phone giggles from??

frAg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Think I'll set up a thread about acwxx. I mean, it's bound to be the number one scream topic in AH and I'll get loads of thanks!

Oh did I mention I'm a complete loser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

We were looking at it - not registered on it! FYI the person I was looking at the site with is doing a form of research for a genetics PhD. We were actually looking at men by county to see if Donegal had the highest number of premature baldness. We don't need to grow up, however despite our success, we haven't grown old before our time either. We are both under 3.

FYP

humanji wrote: »
    Considering the contradicting versions of the OP's life from their various posts, I'm guessing this is exactly what they wanted and it'll probably, and quite mysteriously, appear as a newspaper article...

Written in the Indo by Alison O'Riordan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

SUITS YOU SIR - LECTURER DOES SAME THING AS SEVERAL HUNDRED THOUSAND OTHER NORMAL IRISH PEOPLE!

ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

This is going to be the number one scream topic of the night. I know that I should really say nothing, but it is too good to keep to myself. Isn't it??

You and your friends sound like you have amazingly boring lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Written in the Indo by Alison O'Riordan?
    The sad thing is, I really hope she does write it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

your friends will just want to talk about the 2 stone you put on recently, or your secret trysts with females.....like OMGZ the scream factor ...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

<kneels and prays> "please don't let my daughters grow up with the mentality of the OP, please don't let my daughters grow up with the mentality of the OP"

Note to Self: Delete LYIT from their CAO applications if the OP's brain is anything to go by