Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terenure Show 03/07/2011

• 10-05-2011 2:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

Entry forms for Terenure, Sunday July 3rd, are now up on www.irishjagclub.ie
    To be returned by June 20th.
    5 or more prepaid entries required to book a club or group stand.
    Details of other Classic Car runs etc in the Events page too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

Was supposed to go to Terenure this year but it seems I have signed up to do the Ring of Kerry on a BICYCLE that weekend:rolleyes:
    I hope I don't get kicked out of the Motoring section for mentioning the B word :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bookerboy

Would'ent miss this one for any reason.
    Still the highlight of the year for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

dammit
    That means I'll be missing the Ring of Kerry cycle and the Terenure show. Still though, I'll be at The Festival of Speed instead !:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

I was at that show a few years ago with my camera, there was a gorgeous E-Type there but the owner had erected his own private tape 'fence' around just his car which was going to completely spoil the photo so I didn't bother taking one even though it was a superb specimen. At the same show there was Ferraris and Lamborghinis sitting there in the field for all see and no private fence around them.

I think anybody going to a vintage car show understands the 'don't touch' rule, maybe the Jag & Daimler club could remind it's members of this fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

JoeySully wrote: »
    Was supposed to go to Terenure this year but it seems I have signed up to do the Ring of Kerry on a BICYCLE that weekend:rolleyes:
    I hope I don't get kicked out of the Motoring section for mentioning the B word :D

Ring of Kerry on a Bike sounds better than Terenure any day !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭PaulK_CCI

coylemj wrote: »
    I think anybody going to a vintage car show understands the 'don't touch' rule

Wishful thinking, I'm afraid ;)
    as a lot of board members on here would agree, no doubt.

Most of the people have tremendous respect for the cars on display, but unfortunately there is always that very small percentage of people acting completely ignorant. Also children are sometimes let run wild without supervision, or worse, with their parents looking on and not saying a word when their child is jumping up and down on an unmarked leather interior...

I've suffered many small scuff damages on the various cars I had on display over the years (and not just in Ireland, this is a 'universal issue' :D), but I guess it's something to be expected, up to a certain degree.

But I did have instances where people stole switch gear and trim off my cars, that really p###d me off (so that's prompted me to always lock the car when I go for a wander myself!! ). So in a way i can understand the Jag owner...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Miklos

Hope to be there, got my form in the post a few weeks ago. Fingers crossed for decent weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

PaulK_CCI wrote: »
    Most of the people have tremendous respect for the cars on display, but unfortunately there is always that very small percentage of people acting completely ignorant.

When i was at the Tipp show a few weeks ago, i caught this guy with his boots om my chrome bumpers. He hadn't a clue why i was giving out to him!

Farmers!!!! :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

2cv wrote: »
    When i was at the Tipp show a few weeks ago, i caught this guy with his boots om my chrome bumpers. He hadn't a clue why i was giving out to him!

Farmers!!!! :mad::mad::mad:

I saw some guy open the drivers door and put his child into one of those big yank cars that were parked on a hill. The first thing the child did was to release the handbrake :eek:. car rolled back a bit but stopped because it was in gear. Close one! thats why they say lock your car when you are not near it!
    Couple of young wans sitting on that nice green beetle with the trailer too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

JoeySully wrote: »

B word is fine with me but only if it's followed by M and X otherwise you're a cyclist and that's the C word !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 HumpM

Buggies are the biggest bane for me I see people pushing em between cars with mm to spare . @ coylemj Ask the owner if you can take it down for a few pics any owner I've spoken to are very nice

some of my pics from 2009

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v389/Cognex/terenure%2009/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Is boards classics section putting together a group display?

I should have my Marina by then and (although it will be not be perfect.......or near it) I'd happy put it on display for the novelty factor if someone is organising things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

coylemj wrote: »
    I was at that show a few years ago with my camera, there was a gorgeous E-Type there but the owner had erected his own private tape 'fence' around just his car which was going to completely spoil the photo so I didn't bother taking one even though it was a superb specimen. At the same show there was Ferraris and Lamborghinis sitting there in the field for all see and no private fence around them.

I think anybody going to a vintage car show understands the 'don't touch' rule, maybe the Jag & Daimler club could remind it's members of this fact.

Its funny you should mention this.
    That E-Type belongs to a friend of mine who, like myself, has been at the hands of gougers at shows such as Terenure. Another friend of mine had the door buttons stolen from his car one year!

Although it is a great show, one I never miss, I would be choosey about what car I bring to it.

I have attached a pic of the E-Type along with the tape around it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

I have attached a pic of the E-Type along with the tape around it!

I can't remember if it was that actual E-Type but on the occasion I was referring to (based on my photo library it looks like it was 2004) there was only a couple of inches between the car and the tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

Is there any exact rules/regulations that dictate what cars can enter ?

Supraman wrote: »
    Is there any exact rules/regulations that dictate what cars can enter ?

Anything goes i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

Cheers a mate of mine is looking at entering a stand for a valeting/detailing company that he owns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 E30

If you are a member of a club or group please get your entry form in by next Monday, June 20th and make sure you include the club name. Cars generally have to be over 25 years old but they will take 'one make clubs' such as MR2's, FTO's, MX5's etc once they have more than 5 cars.

Entries can be taken on the day until around noon (depending on how the field fills up) but please bring a completed form with you to reduce the queues.

Extra forms can be downloaded on www.irishjagclub.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'm booked and paid for this!

I'm sure there'll be plenty of boardsies there but most likely all with their own respective clubs. I already suggested in another thread that we all meet up at a certain point and time, put faces to the names and take a walk around together to get a look at each others cars.

In relation to scuffs, etc at shows it can happen anywhere. Things that I've seen so far are kids put into cars, kids dripping ice cream on upholstery, sunglasses stolen from car, dust caps stolen and finally a car being keyed!:mad:

As it happens none of the above happened in Terenure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Magnum

I'll be there again this year and hopefully I won't have to go home on the train this year!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bookerboy

Pray for some decent weather guys.I believe Mosney wash a washout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭iMac Hunt

Looking forward to this, went for the first time last year and was really impressed. Check out some photos I took on the day http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.422564309200.180413.604299200&l=2846607bb9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I've stickied this thread until after the show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

I posted off a cheque for the car. I dearly hope it does not rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭jurahnimoh

What are the trade stands like at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

got the entry number today in the post & the show layout !

looks like its gonna be a good show !

juneodds023.jpg

juneodds025.jpg

Someone posted the application on me when I could have put the thing through the letterbox of the address in person. Hope I get my number. It was posted a few days before the 20th. I sorted the tail lights, a small breakage and one not working, so the 16/60 should be okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 E30

Some small changes on the latest map I have - including Total Opel.
    Entries are good and fingers crossed the weather stays fine for the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 abdub

Just need to get "Jenson" on the map changed to the correct "Jensen" - should I mention the "Austin Martin" plate from a few years ago ;) and why mar an otherwise 100% perfect show.

how many bordsies have their car booked in ?
    and are we gonna say hello/meet one another :rolleyes:

ohh and anybody tell me where the entrance is to the show please !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

manta mad wrote: »
    and are we gonna say hello/meet one another :rolleyes:

ohh and anybody tell me where the entrance is to the show please !

I'll be there with my blue/green Volvo 1800ES - freshly resprayed, but sans new exhaust and brake lines - didn't make it in time for the show. In the 'not club affiliated corner'.

The exhibitor entrance is on Fortfield road - drive down the Templeogue road out of town, past the main show entrance, and take the next right. Just do like everyone else does and follow the old yoke in front.

manta mad wrote: »
    and are we gonna say hello/meet one another

I've suggested a meeting point twice already and nobody answered it. I'll be at the stand with the American Muscle Cars at the top of Row D just opposite the pedestrian entrance (see map above). As it's central it would be a good meet up point. I'm 6ft tall, big and bald so you can't miss me but if in doubt ask for big John / MCMLXXV and the lads will point me out.

I suggest 1pm as a good time to meet at our stand as it will give plenty of time for everyone to be in and settled, then we can take a walk around together and get a look at each others cars and maybe even take a group photo.

Thank this post if you'll be there (be you exhibitor or spectator) so I know whether to hang around waiting on ya or not!

sound !!!
    met ya at 1pm :cool:

ohh ill be the rough looking fella from the country ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

i will be there in the morning only

Mine is booked it, maroon Wolseley 16/60. What's the opening time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 mini 1275 gt

Right back at ya Bookerboy- Can't wait. The Jags are excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭chevyv8

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I've suggested a meeting point twice already and nobody answered it. I'll be at the stand with the American Muscle Cars at the top of Row D just opposite the pedestrian entrance (see map above). As it's central it would be a good meet up point. I'm 6ft tall, big and bald so you can't miss me but if in doubt ask for big John / MCMLXXV and the lads will point me out.

I suggest 1pm as a good time to meet at our stand as it will give plenty of time for everyone to be in and settled, then we can take a walk around together and get a look at each others cars and maybe even take a group photo.

Thank this post if you'll be there (be you exhibitor or spectator) so I know whether to hang around waiting on ya or not!

SEE YA SUNDAY BIG BOY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

im booked in green Cortina (and I do mean GREEN!). everyfordireland stand...come and have a chat! ALl fords welcome on our stand if we have room for you

Looking forward to this now!

The beast is all polished up and ready to go. Weather to be good too! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

Is it OK to turn up and pay at the gate? I didn't pre book.
    Is there a way in from the N81 off the M50?

yep I think so..thats the way Im going anyway. be early if you arent booked or you'll be uin the car park

Once you're there before 12pm you'll be grand

Tina, you meeting us at 1pm?

corktina wrote: »
    yep I think so..thats the way Im going anyway. be early if you arent booked or you'll be uin the car park

Saw you at the traffic lights at templeogue bridge on your way home early to cork !
    Sorry i missed you inside :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Neilw wrote: »
    Is it OK to turn up and pay at the gate? I didn't pre book.
    Is there a way in from the N81 off the M50?

Was admiring the Golf Neil, didn't spot you though.

Also saw a few other boards cars there, Corky's 'Tina and MCM's Trans Am. It was a good show today, too many food stalls though and not enough Autojumble

met mcmxviximmciixvvvvvvvvvvvvxxxiv and waved to OKIstag....we must get ourselfs organised next year...maybe little cards on the cars with our boardsie names?

ps €100 spent on petrol...wont be doing that too often in future

corktina wrote: »
    met mcmxviximmciixvvvvvvvvvvvvxxxiv and waved to OKIstag....we must get ourselfs organised next year...maybe little cards on the cars with our boardsie names?

ps €100 spent on petrol...wont be doing that too often in future

There was 6 or so of the Motors regulars wandering around together, I was wearing my Urban Per4mance shirt if anybody spotted me, one of the lads was wearing a cowboy hat, I'll spare him the shame of posting a pic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Apologies for the no-show today. Typically today's the day that the starter decided to die. It's been sickly the past couple of weeks, and I'd already a replacement ordered, but that's not much use when you've the picnic basket loaded and a tow start just isn't working out. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

Great show today, needs to be on 2 days.
    first car I saw was an 850 identical to mine and then I got a load of old Motoring Life magazines in the autojumble:D

DSC00307.jpg

Link to my photos from today, about 10% of what was there!

Onkle wrote: »
    There was 6 or so of the Motors regulars wandering around together, I was wearing my Urban Per4mance shirt if anybody spotted me, one of the lads was wearing a cowboy hat, I'll spare him the shame of posting a pic :D

You talking 'bout me dude? Bald head was burnin' so had to cover it up!

Met Bigus, Corktina and Okistag - I'm sure there was plenty more there but that's the way she goes.

Here's a few pics:
    http://s306.photobucket.com/albums/nn256/MCMLXXVJC/Terenure%202011/

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    You talking 'bout me dude? Bald head was burnin' so had to cover it up!

Met Bigus, Corktina and Okistag - I'm sure there was plenty more there but that's the way she goes.

Here's a few pics:
    http://s306.photobucket.com/albums/nn256/MCMLXXVJC/Terenure%202011/

Nope, one of the lads with us had it :)