Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ps3 fat vs ps3 slim

• 09-05-2011 4:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭

just looking for people opionions.

recently my ps3 60 gb died its done diddly un for .

love the 60 gb as i still have ps2 games such as buzz and that .

so i dont know what to do now ,get a refurb or a non refurb 60 again and in a while get the ylod again .

or just go for the slim.

any thoughts .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

just looking for people opionions.

recently my ps3 60 gb died its done diddly un for .

love the 60 gb as i still have ps2 games such as buzz and that .

so i dont know what to do now ,get a refurb or a non refurb 60 again and in a while get the ylod again .

or just go for the slim.

any thoughts .

I'd go for the slim.I had the YLOD 3 times and my dads friend repaired it for me.After a month or 2 it just broke again.Even if you do get it refurbished its only a matter of time until it breaks again.

I bought a slim after the 4th YLOD and I'm surprised at how quiet it is.You might aswell get a slim because there are a few offers on them at the moment.Harvey Normans have 50 euro off the 160gb in Limerick but I dont know about anywhere else. In my opinion its worth the money to avoid the heartbreak of the 60gb breaking over and over again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭metzengerstein

any other bad points of the slim other than not being able to play ps2 games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I have my one since release and newer had any trouble with it.

Fat one is superior in every way. It was built with components higher quality, where's any slim model is always a cheaper version of original ps. It happened with ps ps2 and now ps3.

Fat ones have ability to play ps ps2 and ps3 games. Integrated card reader which is very handy. 4 USB ports. Better overall quality. Ability to swap hdd for 500gb. Cheap too.

I know in anther post author said it had alot of trouble with old one, but I guess it's just a lemon. As these are bullet prove. Alot of the 60gb ones are going for same price as slims. There is a good reason why.

As for e ample, my brother in law bought slim, and has already trouble with it. Problems with picture, it's not hdmi cable problem too.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Fat one is superior in every way. It was built with components higher quality, where's any slim model is always a cheaper version of original ps. It happened with ps ps2 and now ps3.

Fat ones have ability to play ps ps2 and ps3 games. Integrated card reader which is very handy. 4 USB ports. Better overall quality. Ability to swap hdd for 500gb. Cheap too.

I know in anther post author said it had alot of trouble with old one, but I guess it's just a lemon. As these are bullet prove. Alot of the 60gb ones are going for same price as slims. There is a good reason why.

As for e ample, my brother in law bought slim, and has already trouble with it. Problems with picture, it's not hdmi cable problem too.

Mate, what planet are you living on? It seems like almost every 60GB has now bitten the dust, in fact Gamestop are giving about €10 on a trade-in. The 40Gb also had massive problems with BRoD and YLoD. The slims by comparison seem a lot more reliable.

PS2 initially had massive problems with their DVD drives as well. Didn't hear so much abbout the slims, maybe due to lesser sales?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

I've had a 80gb fat version for 3 years now, no problems with it.

But the slim versions generally come with a higher memory. If i were to buy one today i'd go for the slim :cool:

What are you smokin.The slim is much more reliable and its almost impossible to get YLOD on it.You can exchange the harddrive in the slim aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Schorpio

Hahaha, best joke I've read all day! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Consolepros

Reflow's that only last a couple of months are NOT reflow's these people are merely expanding the joints under the BGA.

Reflowing Ps3's is a very hard process to master, I myself would take a 60gb fat over any slim (infact I did ;))

When Sony manufacturer the console they reflow the system, do they only last a month or so?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

How hard is it to get a 60gig these days?

We get them in every now and then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Ive had mine (PS fat) for 3 years and so far nothing has gone wrong with it.. Hope I havent Jinxed myself

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Go for the slim OP. My phat died a few months ago (YLOD) and I haven't gotten around to replacing it. While the phat had a lot going for it such as the card reader, higher number of USB ports and of course backwards compatibility all this counts for nothing when you can't play the games you enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Zatoichi

Is it that hard to pick up a PS2 these days? :confused:

Glad I still have mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

Zatoichi wrote: »
    Is it that hard to pick up a PS2 these days? :confused:

Glad I still have mine.

I dont think it is hard, the 2 gamestops i visit seem to have plenty of them.30 euros they charge which is a bargain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭smilerf

my 60 gb got ylod yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

smilerf wrote: »
    my 60 gb got ylod yesterday.

RIP

They will eventually all fail i guess, mine is still trucking though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 hartnett_mark

Slim is cheaper because it produced in smaller technology so it takes less silicon to produce one cpu and gpu snd it's cheaper also they don't heat so much and it doesn't have to has so many radiators and fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭metzengerstein

i think i will get a 60gb again,its just so much better .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

My 60GB launch model got YLOD at the start of the year and I replaced it with a 320GB Slim. I thought I was upgrading to a younger slimmer model with more up top. But I never appreciated all the little things my old one would do. I took her for granted. Now I live my life with some cheap, plastic imitation and would give anything for one more day with the fat, old, noisy thing that I fell in love with.

The grass isn't always greener, Gents.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Slim is cheaper because it produced in smaller technology so it takes less silicon to produce one cpu and gpu snd it's cheaper also they don't heat so much and it doesn't have to has so many radiators and fans.

Plus when they get to produce millions, the parts and manufacturing processes get cheaper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

My fat 60gb still chugging along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

My 60GB is still going too, Its the highest spec ps3 you will get, but gettin on a bit. Id pay extra for a slim with all the extras the 60GB has, maybe sony will release one one day. Prob not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

I havent got a slim so i wasn’t aware of the differences, i just figured a company offering a new product i.e. the slim model, would offer it as a superior product to the older fat models, which from reading this thread it appears not!

I still have my original 40GB fat model, works perfectly, and im hoping it stays that way haha, i have a 500GB hard drive in it now, so i have no problems with space.

May the good times continue!

The new PS3 is just a shell of the old one. Backwards compatability is what I miss the most but the lack of more than two USB ports is a right pain now I'm using the Move.

The worst thing is the look though. The old one was a genuinely beutiful machine. The Slim is cheap and plastic. I hate it.

whiterebel wrote: »
    Mate, what planet are you living on? It seems like almost every 60GB has now bitten the dust, in fact Gamestop are giving about €10 on a trade-in. The 40Gb also had massive problems with BRoD and YLoD. The slims by comparison seem a lot more reliable.

PS2 initially had massive problems with their DVD drives as well. Didn't hear so much abbout the slims, maybe due to lesser sales?

Planet earth... Still got my one, kicking hard too. Old 60 ps3 is like a good old 7 series BMW. Lots of comfort, lots of extras, superior driving. New ps3 slim - like brand new hunday, plasticy, Crapy, dull, no extras...

Sorry for this, but old 60s are brilliant. I have still first gen xbox 360 20gb which works fine. The reason I replaced it - need wireless and bigger hdd...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

My launch day 60gig which gets about 15hours usage a week still going strong. *touches wood*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭martineatworld

I wonder what's the actual percentage of 60gb's that have ylod'd at this stage?

Mine is still going after being bought a fortnight after launch but i fear for the worst. I'd say it's only got ~500 hours of use, which i presume is relatively lighter than average.

Almost everyone I know who has a fat 60GB PS3 has suffered the YLOD in the last year. They all seem to be dying around the same time.

My launch day 60gig which gets about 15hours usage a week still going strong. *touches wood*

I spoke too soon. Now I'm getting a flashing red light. Anyone have any ideas?

Definition of irony

ahahaha. Wow. Sorry mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRfP8_CISpbhrsbA907ExY2b4kBpBJ6HF02T96bnA0AMfoc1AsV Phat in all it's shiny goodness!

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTjtrab0bsJnbAHVlZrqaPZp3rJewIDDOV0_vLXOpZNkF7kJkfdVnfyKhG2Slim in all it's slimy crapness!

For the record i have both!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Reliability aside, I can't stand the look of the phat... that horrible surface that gets covered in dust and fingerprints, the general enormousness of it... I love my slim, though it's still huge, but it looks much neater. If anything I thought the phat looked a bit cheap and tacky with all it's shininess!

/awaits imminent destruction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

i have a slim. i admit the shiny of the phat is nicer, but stuffed down there you can barely tell newhoo. i wouldn't mind more usb ports but there is no use crying over something like that. i'll buy a usb expander thingy and go from there. as for backwards compat, i'm grand cos i never binned my ps2, or my playstation for that matter so happy days!

may i ask (gonna sound daft) but what is ylod?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

hdowney wrote: »
    i have a slim. i admit the shiny of the phat is nicer, but stuffed down there you can barely tell newhoo. i wouldn't mind more usb ports but there is no use crying over something like that. i'll buy a usb expander thingy and go from there. as for backwards compat, i'm grand cos i never binned my ps2, or my playstation for that matter so happy days!

Yellow light of death.
    You can throw out your PS1, the PS3 can play those games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

yellow light of death

F1ngers wrote: »
    Yellow light of death.
    You can throw out your PS1, the PS3 can play those games.

ah yellow like the red ring on an xbox. pleasant. every gamers nightmare.

are you serious that ps1 games can be played even on a slim ps3? whoop me likes that. i don't ever use the ps1 anyways (i mean ps2 plays them). it just sits in a corner looking novel like the snes!

ah yellow like the red ring on an xbox. pleasant. every gamers nightmare.

are you serious that ps1 games can be played even on a slim ps3? whoop me likes that. i don't ever use the ps1 anyways (i mean ps2 plays them). it just sits in a corner looking novel like the snes!

All ps3's can play ps1 games as the emulation is done by software. With the ps2 it's done by a hardware chip which only launch console have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Schorpio

All ps3's can play ps1 games as the emulation is done by software. With the ps2 it's done by a hardware chip which only launch console have.

As far as I know, the only PS3's which had full PS2 hardware emulation were the 20 and 60GB NTSC units. Our PAL 60GB has partially software-based PS2 emulation. Open to correction on that though.

Schorpio wrote: »
    As far as I know, the only PS3's which had full PS2 hardware emulation were the 20 and 60GB NTSC units. Our PAL 60GB has partially software-based PS2 emulation. Open to correction on that though.

yea my friend has the 40 phat and it doesn't play ps2 games. but i have heard and read in some places that SOME slims will play SOME ps2 games. would be interested if anyone has any concrete on this

Only phat 60 can pla all 3. 40 phat came out only to be a cheaper version of ps3. All striped out and cheap to make it more affordable. Slim just took over 40gb with new bigger hdd.

Lifespam of all that technology is max 5 years. So if some ps3 giving up, then I am not surprised. We will see how long will slim last, but I already know people who bought them having problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 TheBucks

Do people still use ps1's? I would have thought they were well gone. My PS2 is still playing well although a PS3 is surely going to arrive shortly....I've dropped enough hints.

i don't still use my ps1 but i still have it. nostalgia and all that. good luck with the hints. i dropped them for years and then christmas just gone i had to practically frog march the mother to the shop to buy it in order to get one. (woulda bought my own on numerous occasions but other costs kept cropping up, damn car etc)

Only phat 60 can pla all 3. 40 phat came out only to be a cheaper version of ps3. All striped out and cheap to make it more affordable. Slim just took over 40gb with new bigger hdd.

Lifespam of all that technology is max 5 years. So if some ps3 giving up, then I am not surprised. We will see how long will slim last, but I already know people who bought them having problems.

You should clarify that that is your opinion, if you don't have anything to link from Sony. Sony themselves said they expected the lifespan of the PS3 to be 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

TheBucks wrote: »
    My PS2 is still playing well although a PS3 is surely going to arrive shortly....I've dropped enough hints.
    good luck with the hints. i dropped them for years and then christmas just gone i had to practically frog march the mother to the shop to buy it in order to get one.

Ah jaysus lads!! :P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

I am now raging that my PS3 Slim can not play PS2 games :(.. I got into a buzzing mood to play Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3 today (which I don't have but will get)... It has to be my favourite game ever... Now I have to go out and buy a PS2 on top of Tony Hawk.. Probably will end up getting the slimline as well but not sure how much they would cost in GAME or if they will have them in stock..

whiterebel wrote: »
    You should clarify that that is your opinion, if you don't have anything to link from Sony. Sony themselves said they expected the lifespan of the PS3 to be 10 years.

I mean not as ps3 lifesapm, I mean as hardware and it's reliability. Usually all replies DVD players and ather home consumer stuff will die in 5 years. I would not be surprised if ps3 would be on same boat.

I can't prove it As not even one retailer or created will tell you the truth, it's just my little speculation and guess. I might be completely wrong and I will be happy to be corrected.