Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MIDDLE LANE DRIVERS ON Nass ROAD

• 09-05-2011 4:12pm

I hate middle lane drivers on the 3 lane Naas road. Have they got some king of love for the middle lane? can someone please explain it? Is the left lane going to lead to hell or something???

They don't seem to have a care in the world totally oblivious to the fact they are not supposed to drive in the middle lane? so many times I stay in the left lane and just look at them going by, they have no clue!

60, 80 kph it doesn't matter they will happily drive in the left lane!

I'm on a rampage today! :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

The Naas road is terrible for it, although the m50 is rapidly catching up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭12 element

so many times I stay in the left lane and just look at them going by, they have no clue!

Wouldn't this mean they are overtaking you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Been a number of years since I was on it
    However, back then the signs were a bit misleading and it seems if you stayed in the left lane you'd be forced down the next exit.

And I wasn't alone! There were a few threads on boards about the signs on this road and how some might stick to the middle lane because of it

How is the signage nowadays?

12 element wrote: »
    Wouldn't this mean they are overtaking you?

No sadly I'm overtaking them at 100kph, I never go over the limit anymore, Too risky, the guards sit there any time, not worth it.

On the autobahn you can get a fine if driving too slow in the fast lane or in the middle lane, you wouldn't drive in the fast lane there anyway, on the unlimited parts the speeds are insane and you would be killed or cause a serious accident.

But the guards should do more to stop it! It's causing too many drivers to cut across the 3 lanes weaving in and out. It's too dangerous and the speeds on it are far too fast, It's not a motorway!

However, back then the signs were a bit misleading and it seems if you stayed in the left lane you'd be forced down the next exit.

And I wasn't alone! There were a few threads on boards about the signs on this road and how some might stick to the middle lane because of it

Fine as far as I'm concerned, maybe I'm used to it, then again I suspect 80% of drivers are commuters and used to it too!

I think it's a lot to do with the fact Irish people have a tendency to break rules and do what they like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

So...you're overtaking them on the left ?

If the answer is yes, the thread will now start chewing its own arse off, digesting itself, then defecating the result into its mouth, before eating that, cue elton john music african chant music etc. etc. etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Reloc8 wrote: »
    If OP is driving at the correct limit then he is entitled to be in lane 1.

If the drivers are in lane 2 and 3 are going slower than the speed limit he isn't doing anything wrong AFAIK.

Now if he went in to lane one and was going 120 that would be a different story.

well technically wouldn't I be undertaking?

And I'm driving within the rules in the left lane at 100kph they are driving below the limit in the middle lane, why should I move from the left lane through 2 lanes of traffic to over take a fool thet doesn't understand the rules of the road?

The nass road is a dangerous road in my opinion and it's gotten worse since the upgrade! I can't tell the speed of some drivers but they go well above the 100kph limit!

Then of course going south at the big ball all the traffic comes to a halt and sneeky gits belt down the left lane and try sneak in at the end at the motorway! that's very annoying!!!

Pity they ran out of money before they put the 3rd lane on the m7 from the big ball to the m9 junction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

johnos1984 wrote: »

If the drivers are in lane 2 and 3 are going slower than the speed limit he isn't doing anything wrong AFAIK.

Now if he went in to lane one and was going 120 that would be a different story.

He's undertaking, which is illegal.

No I just stay with the cruise ( if traffic not too heavy) at 100kph really, no point in going faster really. With over 350,000 miles under my belt, I can safely say speed makes little difference, and you come to a stop somewhere!

Yeah I've got tickets in the past and 2 points bla bla. I don't bother any more. My license is important to me! And I've been 0 points for a few years now!

draffodx wrote: »
    He's undertaking, which is illegal.
    IIRC there was a thread her months back where it was actually a grey area.

If he is driving at the correct speed and maintaining progress in the correct lane it shouldn't be a problem. I think it far more dangerous to veer from lane 1 to 3 to overtake someone in lane 2.

Illegal or not I shall continue to drive at the correct speed in the empty lane 1 and move out for the occasional overtaking.

I tried to always overtake but realised the danger, stress levels and perceived time savings just weren't worth it

I love it when a prediction comes together.

If the cars in middle lane are going slower than you desire, your only legal option is to pull into middle lane when safe to do so, then move into far right lane when safe to do so, then overtake safely, then move back to left lane safely, i.e. not sweeping across two lanes in one veer.

There's no legal option for 'undertaking' (or overtaking on left).

(I agree people who trundle on down the middle lane where the left lane is open to them are idiots. Grit teeth. Don't fly up their inside. Accident waiting to happen)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,622 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Rules of the Road P.44....

You may overtake on the left when....
    • You want to go straight ahead when the driver in front of you has moved out and signalled that they intend to turn right.
    • You have signalled that you intend to turn left.
    • Traffic in both lanes is moving slowly and traffic in the left-hand lane is moving more quickly than the traffic in the right-hand lane.

They don't define exactly what is meant by 'moving slowly' so that is open to interpretation. My thinking on the matter is that it would be silly for the OP to move out two lanes to overtake the middle lane hogger.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

The signs are reasonably clear these days. City west probably isn't signed as well as it possibly could be, but it's not bad in general. I only drive it very occasionally (maybe twice in the last year or so) and can figure it out easily enough.

'Slowly' is not 80 kph.

And you don't need to veer/swoop from 1 to 3 to overtake the middle lane.

Illegal or not I shall continue to drive at the correct speed in the empty lane 1 and move out for the occasional overtaking.

Yes. Your call. Its not safe.

I don't think the rules of the road took into account 3 lanes considering they are relatively new to Ireland?

And I think that rule applied mainly to single carriage roads?

IIRC there was a thread her months back where it was actually a grey area.

If he is driving at the correct speed and maintaining progress in the correct lane it shouldn't be a problem. I think it far more dangerous to veer from lane 1 to 3 to overtake someone in lane 2.

I tried to always overtake but realised the danger, stress levels and perceived time savings just weren't worth it

It's only legal to do so in slow moving (crawling) traffic. at 100km/h on a motorway, it is illegal and dangerous.

I move to the second overtaking lane from the driving lane anytime I come across a middle lane hogger and do so with ease and in a safe manner every time. Any competent driver should be able to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

M50 is as bad, the rules of the road state clearly keep to the left lane

Principles do not change from 2 to 3 lanes.

How do single carriage roads come into it (overtaking on left ?)

True, sorry, I had the road being relatively empty in mind as I usually travel it before/after rush hour

Obviously don't swerve across lanes :)

And I'm driving within the rules in the left lane at 100kph they are driving below the limit in the middle lane, why should I move from the left lane through 2 lanes of traffic to over take a fool thet doesn't understand the rules of the road?

No offence OP but if I had an irony monster he would be well fed on this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

'Slowly' is not 80 kph.

It is if the rest of the road is travelling at 100kph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,622 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

I don't think the rules of the road took into account 3 lanes considering they are relatively new to Ireland?

And I think that rule applied mainly to single carriage roads?

Don't think so....

Traffic in both lanes is moving slowly and traffic in the left-hand lane is
    moving more quickly than the traffic in the right-hand lane.

It is if the rest of the road is travelling at 100kph

Toushay !

(that's not really the point...the rules don't say 'relatively slowly' they say 'slowly')

'Slowly' is not 80 kph.

Yes. Your call. Its not safe.

I agree 80 Kph is not slow, however I do believe that traffic should keep to the limit. That being 100kph.

I feel it safer to undertake someone doing 80kph if I'm doing the limit without having to change lanes, if that driver suddenly decides to change lanes without checking mirrors it's not my problem! it will be his and I'd battle that out in court! Mirrors are there for a reason! people should be aware of what's around them at all times anyway!

I have to say though I have actually found that the problem has improved over the past 6 months but I'm not sure if this is down to less drivers on the roads or people being more aware of where they are meant to be.

Having driven in Paris lately I can assure you there was no undertaking visible due to this problem as people just went in the correct lane for fear of what the other drivers would do to you if you didn't drive correctly

I agree 80 Kph is not slow, however I do believe that traffic should keep to the limit. That being 100kph.

I feel it safer to undertake someone doing 80kph if I'm doing the limit without having to change lanes, if that driver suddenly decides to change lanes without checking mirrors it's not my problem! it will be his and I'd battle that out in court! Mirrors are there for a reason! people should be aware of what's around them at all times anyway!

Absolutely - a coming together at his 80 kph and your 100 kph on a multi lane road should see you in circuit court to sort out the minor damage to your front bumper and his rear bumper, maybe some scrapes to the side :rolleyes:

You do drive a snow plough don't you ?

(edit : I repeat I agree middle lane hoggers are idiots)

No offence OP but if I had an irony monster he would be well fed on this post.

I didn't say I do it did I? give me a break, I said why should I meaning I will continue at the speed limit in the left lane while passing the driver in the middle lane!

I dont think you got his post.

But you're complaining about fools who don't know/observe the rules of the road...(the word fool being yours and not mine - I'm not calling you a fool).

My irony monster is going to die of obesity :D

Anyway listen, I agree, middle lane hoggers should cop on, and I'm out.

Principles do not change from 2 to 3 lanes.

How do single carriage roads come into it (overtaking on left ?)

I was making the point of the undertaking rule when it was written was maybe for single carriageway roads. Undertaking in the hard shoulder! That's an obvious no no!

But you're complaining about fools who don't know/observe the rules of the road...(the word fool being yours and not mine - I'm not calling you a fool).

My irony monster is going to die of obesity :D

Anyway listen, I agree, middle lane hoggers should cop on, and I'm out.

I'm lost, did you not read what my response was to that?

Talk later lads, believe it or not, I'm heading up the naas road in a few mins lol talk later!

I'm going to get shot for this:

MOD's can these threads about lane hoggers please be added to the list that contains mis-use of FOG LIGHTS.

They just seems to divide opinion and piss everyone off as there is no definitive answer if it is legal or not.

Nobody likes it or approves of lane hoggers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I have a theory...

Ya see, given that most Irish drivers can't drive at the speed limits anyway - either ridiculously under or over - what happens is this:

- You're driving along in Lane 1 happily doing your 100 km/h until you come up behind someone (let's say a dawdler) doing 80

- So you look to your right (Lane 2) to overtake.. but wait, there's a guy slooowwly gaining on you (doing 90 to your new reduced 80) so now you're boxed in unless you slow right down and overtake both across 3 lanes (cause after all Lane 3 will be doing 120 km/h upwards so no issue there)

Ergo, most will stay in the middle lane... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

I've been almost overtaken by a middle lane hogger whilst driving carefully in the normal lhs driving lane. They just about got level with my door when for some reason they either took their foot off the accelerator, touched the brakes or we came across a slight gradient ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

this is how stupid and inept people are when even Gardai say its fine to drive in the middle lane regardless of your speed when I was arguing that you have to stay as far left as possible when not overtaking.

it was all going so well until the "yes I undertake"
    It's illegal and unsafe. It might be a pain in the ass to move 4 lanes to overtake an inconsiderate idiot hogging the middle lane, but that's part of what makes them an inconsiderate idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

why do i keep getting this feeling of deja vu? Its like Groundhog day on this forum....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

corktina wrote: »
    why do i keep getting this feeling of deja vu? Its like Groundhog day on this forum....

If only Paddy Power was here I would be worth a fortune..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

corktina wrote: »
    Used to happen me too, it means you're spending too much time here.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭-maccer-

Was driving naas road last night and it was full of middle lane hoggers. Found myself going from lane 1 to 3 countless times to overtake them with no one inside them on lane 1. Besides being a major hassle for other drivers the behavior of these drivers is downright dangerous forcing other drivers to cross multiple lanes.

I think it is down to the Gardai to start enforcing the drive on left rule (as far as am aware failure to drive on the left is a penalty point offence) and maybe the NRA erecting a few signs saying drive on left (I realise this shouldn't be necessary if people had basic knowledge of rules of road but clearly they don't). I'm sure if the guards pulled a few people over word would spread fairly quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I hate to say it, but the Gardaí clearly have no interest in enforcing that law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

This is interesting given the new advertising campaign on driving left.

It has one fatal flow though - it does say "stay left" (which is good) but mentions pulling into the middle lane to allow people to merge safely. In Paddy (or Patricia) Dimwit's head, that is going to translate to "shure, I'll be in and out the whole time due to these merges, I'll just shtay in the middle lane and make life easy for myshelf".

I really really wish the Gardai would enforce the rules. But I also wish the government could balance a budget. Neither are realistically likely.

Anan1 wrote: »
    I hate to say it, but the Gardaí clearly have no interest in enforcing that law.

Enforcing it!? Three times now I've seen a squad car on the M50 doing the exact same thing!

But of course, they were in the course of their duties and as you know, are exempt from any road laws imaginable.... :rolleyes:

/sarcasm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

One day recently I came up almost "level" with a garda car on my outside (I approached doing the speed limit in the inside (of 2 lanes)). I drove there for say 500 m with him following a car. The rest of the road was empty on the LHS and there were the usual RHS hoggers a distance up the road.

After a while, sick of doing 70 in an 80, I "nodded" at him and pointed at the car in front. He looked back at me, shrugged his shoulders and threw on the lights.

Car spent another 500m with the garda car, lights, and occasional siren directly behind before pulling into the left lane. The garda followed suit, and the car immediately pulled back into the RHS lane because the cars were now approaching a roundabout.:rolleyes:

At this point I said sod this and continued to the front of the LHS queue, as I would legally be entitled to with the RHS stopped.

How dim do you have to be not to notice a garda car with flashy lights and a siren motioning for you to pull over??? Seriously, that's what you are up against.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

It's only legal to do so in slow moving (crawling) traffic. at 100km/h on a motorway, it is illegal and dangerous.

I move to the second overtaking lane from the driving lane anytime I come across a middle lane hogger and do so with ease and in a safe manner every time. Any competent driver should be able to do so.

So, you are saying the maximum speed of traffic is governed by the minimum speed of traffic to your right, except when this speed drops within the definition of "slow" ?

If one is proceeding, in the left-most lane, at 100kph, and one happens on a middle land dawdler, travelling at less than 100kph, you are saying one must step on ones brakes and limit ones speed to that of the dawdler?

Undertaking, by the way, would be coming upon a car ahead, moving to the left, passing the car, then moving back in front of the same vehicle.

If you are proceeding, in the left lane, within the speed limit, you can proceed unhindered, regardless of the speed of the traffic to your Right. However, given this traffic is illegally in the Right (assuming they are not queuing to turn Right), one must be aware that any one of these law-breakers, may decide to move left without warning.

I think it's obvious we need a new set of road laws which actually make sense.

People need common sense not more laws that will never be enforced!

But in the case of this whole "undertaking" nonsense, there's nothing clear in legislation that actually seems to apply to modern motorways.

I wasn't talking about more useless laws which the gardaí will never enforce, I was talking about something like making the ones we have relavent to the roads we now use....