Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show - 7th May 2011

• 07-05-2011 4:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭

Last one before The Eurovision Song Contest next week. The Show kicks off at 9.50pm tonight ...

- Ann Widdecombe (English ex-Politician, Strictly Come Dancing contestant)
    - Shane Byrne (Leinster and Ireland Rugby Legend, known for his Mullet)
    - Gavin Friday (Singer)
    - Sarah Harte (Author)

Music by Dublin band 'The Original Rude Boys' who sound like this ...

Weak enough guest list - Can Brendan O'Connor make it an entertaining show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If this is too much for you all, More 4 are showing the Secret History of the Eurovision at 9 pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

mike65 wrote: »
    If this is too much for you all, More 4 are showing the Secret History of the Eurovision at 9 pm.

I think that's the same documentary which was on RTE1 last Monday, although it's unlikely to feature Marty Whelan doing the voiceover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Ann Widdecombe seems to be doing the rounds at the moment, last Saturday night she appeared on Piers Morgan's True Lives programme, I watched it and it was surprisingly interesting and entertaining, Widdlecombe can be quite witty and sarcastic so she was well able for Piers!

However, at this stage I'm a bit tired of listening former "Strictly" stars telling us how life changing the programme was for them. It is dancing, it is not Everest ffs. (And in the case of poor Ann, it wasn't even dancing).

Fair play to her for doing it though, at least she was up for the laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I cannot stand Ann widdecombe, she was funny for one night of strictly but then just embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

Enough of this muck

The Silence of the Lambs is on RTE2
    :cool:

Enough of this muck

The Silence of the Lambs is on RTE2
    :cool:
    Oh I love that film but I've seen it over and over. Absolutely brilliant acting from Anthony Hopkins and Jodie Foster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Spent half the day on the roof trying to find out what was wrong with my digital TV signal... and this is what I get... The same interviewee and interview as Tubridy did only on a Saturday night..

Ann might need a Garda escort after this interview!

I love brendan

Brendan O'Connor is on shaky ground throwing blame around for the Irish Economic disaster.

He did his bit by cheerleading in the Sunday Independent every week.

There is a lot of "coming out", is this the Jeremy Kyle show?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Ann might need a Garda escort after this interview!

I think she hit the nail on the head.

Interview has got better since they moved on from the obligatory 'Strictly' chat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

What a Bitch.

Lapin wrote: »
    I think she hit the nail on the head.
    True, but we don't like being put down by the English.

He's pissed her off.. it's just got interesting.. Good man Brendan.. :D

she will walk off

bitch

She's winning though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

I think she made some good points. I'm tired of people trying to blame everything on the church all the time.

Fair play to her, she is true to herself.

Oh for the love of god.. He's asked her about her sex life... :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

She's taking no sh*t from O'Connor. Fair play to her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

She's winning though.

In a Charlie Sheen type of way maybe.

She's mad as a box of frogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Don't mean to be mean what possible interest/relevance has this woman to anything, not to mention an Irish audience.

Yes, because she is the most famous virgin in Britain. (By her own admission)

Koloman wrote: »
    In a Charlie Sheen type of way maybe.

She's mad as a box of frogs.

I don't know about that,

She had good answers to all of his questions, even if she was caught on the hop.

I'd say they both came out of that interview well, a score draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

SkidMark wrote: »
    I don't know about that,

She had good answers to all of his questions, even if she was caught on the hop.

I'd say they both came out of that interview well, a score draw.

A score draw it is then.

Yes, because she is the most famous virgin in Britain. (By her own admission)

Poor Cliff, he'd want to get on Strictly fairly lively if he wants to regain his title.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTbM7W9YsgHiAQ2dbfTrDYtGkAF20D81rryx6jl8WfR4gHE6spH

Fair play to Brendan for giving us a bit of entertainment.. Few probing, risqué questions brings a bit of excitement.. especially on a live show..

The skinny fella would have still been showing clips when Brendan asked her about her sex life...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Nah, I think Anne won. She would have wiped the floor with Brendan if she was given the chance. I have listened to her on various debates before and she is one capable woman.

DLB would still be enquiring about her Irish grandfather.

Fair play to O'Connor for pulling it together in the end.
    The interview was heading for disaster at one stage.

For a woman used to getting grilled by Paxman, he had Widdecombe on the ropes for a while.

The skinny fella would have still been showing clips when Brendan asked her about her sex life...
    That wasn't a brave question, she is always being asked about her sex life (or the lack of one).

It was going okay until that stupid rap in the middle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭the west wing

I've a fair pain listening to them!

If you want a reason why so many people from outside Dublin dislike the Dubs.

Take one look at these muppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

That was brutal :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

He chords of that song were ripped from somewhere but I can't think where

I used to fancy him when I was a teenager :o

Jesus he sounds just like Bono... Bono without the money and the talent..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

This guy can't be for real.

Help.... meeeee...... :eek:

If you want a reason why so many people from outside Dublin dislike the Dubs.

Take one look at these muppets this muppet.

Ditto here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

Unbelievable sexual tension between these two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Wow he comes across as a bit of a sh*te talker just like his mate bono...

Wow, the second virgin of the night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

What the feck was that....

Yillan wrote: »
    Unbelievable sexual tension between these two

what ?

am I missing something about Brendan

baldbear wrote: »
    Wow he comes across as a bit of a sh*te talker just like his mate bono...
    Ah, I still like him.

Wow, the second virgin of the night :D

he can get with Ann

Ronan :eek: :eek: :eek:

hondasam wrote: »
    he can get with Ann
    Don't think Ann would be his type some how :D