Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sean Gallagher for President ?

• 06-05-2011 11:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭

What a dreadful performance on the late late show.

The only thing worse than listening to a FF cheerleader is listening to a FF cheerleader suddenly slagging off FF.

And his plans to turn the Aras into a carnival attraction for Americans ??? Did I hear that correctly.

What the hell ???

Gallagher , I don't believe a word you are saying, I'm out

Take your dragon costume and go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭KingEnda

Didnt see him on the Late Late must watch that on playback. Is he actually going for the Park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭nordydan

What a tool. Dustin would do a better job

Why is he running? What kind of a platform does he have? Mark Pollock was on the Late Late tonight as well there is a man who should go for president

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Sad I missed that now. Is the OP's view the general consensus or can someone shed a bit of balance to the discussion?

I like Gallagher on Dragon's Den, I have to say. And, based on that, I'd be open to hear what he has to say. Plus I think having someone with an entrepreneurial background, as opposed to a political one, in power would do us the world of good. We need go-getters and winners at the helm to restore a bit of self-belief to the country. The Dail is filled with too many hard workers that lack that spark and leadership, trying instead to just please everyone (and pleasing nobody in the process).

If Gallagher's campaign is, indeed, a damp squib it'd be a shame from that standpoint. I'd love to see Gavin Duffy in the role (though I think I'd be in the mass minority there).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭nordydan

KingEnda wrote: »
    Why is he running? What kind of a platform does he have? Mark Pollack was on the Late Late tonight as well there is a man who should go for president
    Mark's story, and attitude, would humble any of us. A truly brave man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Monfoolio

Personally I would love to see Sean Gallagher run for it! I do agree however this his performane on the Late Late was pretty dreadful, non commital & non factual. If he really is going to do this then he really needs to work on his PR!!!!!

The fact that he never gives anyone ANY MONEY on dragons den, never takes a risk on a business does suggest that maybe he doesnt have the liathroidi for the job!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Monfoolio wrote: »

The fact that he never gives anyone ANY MONEY on dragons den, never takes a risk on a business does suggest that maybe he doesnt have the liathroidi for the job!!

Dont follow you. Risk taking and Irish president have hardly ever been used in the same sentence with good reason. He was silly tonight. On the verge of 'Im goinjg to create 10 new jobs seling shamrock sangidges to yanks in the Aras' and ridicule the whoile country in the process. Muppet. Nice Muppet, but....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

leggo wrote: »
    Sad I missed that now. Is the OP's view the general consensus or can someone shed a bit of balance to the discussion?

I like Gallagher on Dragon's Den, I have to say. And, based on that, I'd be open to hear what he has to say. Plus I think having someone with an entrepreneurial background, as opposed to a political one, in power would do us the world of good. We need go-getters and winners at the helm to restore a bit of self-belief to the country. The Dail is filled with too many hard workers that lack that spark and leadership, trying instead to just please everyone (and pleasing nobody in the process).
    What kind of power does the president have?
    I've posted on a similar thread about this. The guy wants the ego trip. Let him work his way up through the political ranks if he can offer what you describe above.
    Pure ego trip, probably enjoying the ride/attention as much as whether he gets it or not.

D1stant wrote: »
    Dont follow you. Risk taking and Irish president have hardly ever been used in the same sentence with good reason. He was silly tonight. On the verge of 'Im goinjg to create 10 new jobs seling shamrock sangidges to yanks in the Aras' and ridicule the whoile country in the process. Muppet. Nice Muppet, but....

Isnt it true that anyone in a position of power or leadership has to take risks, albeit risky decisions but risks all the same! He really didnt do himself justice tonight which was disappointing!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

What kind of power does the president have?

That's exactly the point. They're at the helm, they're a figurehead, they're the person we're putting out to the world as the leader - in principle - of our Republic. But they don't need the necessary political experience and wheeling and dealing that goes with it.

It's our opportunity to allow someone OUTSIDE of the political circle to become the face of the country. And I think a lot of us will agree that our current crop of politicians can become quite tiresome, and have done as of the last decade.

That said, I'd sooner have a strong politician in the position than a weak businessman. If Gallagher doesn't get his **** together, by the sounds of it, then I won't vote for him just because 'he's off the telly'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Monfoolio wrote: »
    Isnt it true that anyone in a position of power or leadership has to take risks, albeit risky decisions but risks all the same! He really didnt do himself justice tonight which was disappointing!!:mad:

If you mean a risk in terms of costume clash at an embassy party then yes. Otherwise? erm No.

D1stant wrote: »
    If you mean a risk in terms of costume clash at an embassy party then yes. Otherwise? erm No.

Ah I dont know. I think the whole presidancy role in this country needs to be looked at. If someone can change it to a job that actually does something constructive rather than be the face of Ireland, which I think is what Sean was trying to say, then ok, my vote goes to Mr Gallagher:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭!MAVERICK!

raymon wrote: »
    What a dreadful performance on the late late show.

The only thing worse than listening to a FF cheerleader is listening to a FF cheerleader suddenly slagging off FF.

And his plans to turn the Aras into a carnival attraction for Americans ??? Did I hear that correctly.

What the hell ???

Gallagher , I don't believe a word you are saying, I'm out

Take your dragon costume and go

The bit where he started talking about hanging up pictures of all the ex- US presidents that have visited Ireland and opening up an attraction centre in the Aras, and making an terrible joke of inviting Turbridy to be the ' Tour guide'. I just dont know what kind of President this egghead thinks he would make.

!MAVERICK! wrote: »
    The bit where he started talking about hanging up pictures of all the ex- US presidents that have visited Ireland and opening up an attraction centre in the Aras, and making an terrible joke of inviting Turbridy to be the ' Tour guide'. I just dont know what kind of President this egghead thinks he would make.

Agreed Maverick, its safe to say he wasnt prepared lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Plus I think having someone with an entrepreneurial background, as opposed to a political one, in power would do us the world of good. We need go-getters and winners at the helm to restore a bit of self-belief to the country.

But this guy IS a FF political activist , heavily involved in politics. That is my point.

Wasn't he an election agent for somebody FF in the last few elecions. No wonder he doesnt want to be associated with FF now, rats and ships comes to mind

KingEnda wrote: »
    Didnt see him on the Late Late must watch that on playback. Is he actually going for the Park?

The show is on Rte player now - be warned .......it is shocking stuff to watch

http://www.rte.ie/player/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

God Ryan really pushed him on the FF issue :rolleyes:

A vote for this man will be a vote for everything that has been wrong with this country for the past 15 years. A vote for this man is an approving vote for the Galway tent system of governance. FF apologists are not wanted by a large large majority in this country and people need to keep in mind that no matter what way Gallagher spins it, he is FF to the core.
    Think he has got a little carried away with his own sense of self importance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

We need entrepreneurs, now more than ever but running businesses not sitting for 7 years in a job for which they have no obvious qualifications.

Dragons Den is much more about the ego of the dragons (everybody wants to have their face on TV) than promoting business. The assumption that the public is clamouring for one of them to be president or that running a business means you will be better than average at a completely different job needs a sanity (or vanity) check.

Still at least the Dragons haven't started calling themselves "the Sean" or "the Gavin". Yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Essexboy

But this guy IS a FF political activist , heavily involved in politics. That is my point.

According to this morning's Irish Times he is lobbying for the FF nomination
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0507/1224296378500.html

His candidacy is also being promoted by the odious Gavin Duffy.

Essexboy wrote: »
    According to this morning's Irish Times he is lobbying for the FF nomination
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0507/1224296378500.html

His candidacy is also being promoted by the odious Gavin Duffy.

Makes me sick how this guy is pretending he is not FF .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Caught a bit of his political broadcast unfortunately on the RTE FF platform The Late late Show last night. Dull, dull and a minor Dr. Evil lookalike. I suppose RTE will give all the other candidates equal billing and time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Didnt FF put him in some jobs(FAS and the likes)in sort of "arent we clever putting a dragon in to this role",when in fact it was just another FF jobs for the boys.I wonder how his buinesess are doing at the moment or what does he actually do now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

He sounded like he was getting the role of president and Taoisach mixed up. He only acknowledged the ambassador role after it was pointed out to him, up to that point it was like a policy pitch of things he would implement. Also looks like Tubs had an axe to grind hanging him with the FF stuff. Those FF types don't like when you leave the cult, Tubs done a bit of a number on him ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Funny thing is when he was on, I was just thinking, jees he sounds like a FFer :P

Its just funny I was right. Maybe I have a spidey sense for that kind of bs now :P

Tubs did later tear into him on the FF issue which confirmed that if Tubs was given him a hard time, he must have been asked to run on the FF ticket and refused :P

I think he was sticking away from issues anyway and knew Tubs was out to get him. Certainly seemed that way. Won't be getting my vote based on that performance anyway though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

His plans to open a tuck shop in the Aras are top notch! - how entrepreneurial and forward looking of President Baldy O'Bollocks (FF)
    But he's still gonna keep the 320k salary (he neatly sidestepped on the LLS)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Mary D

Did you see his wife in the audience....why did he put her in front of the cameras, she certainly no Carla deBruin, I could see her selling the tickets to the tourists or making the tea in the coffee shop in in Aras. I used to have a lot of respect of Sean Gallagher but I agree with another poster here, his ego is all over this. For me it has to be David Norris all the way:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Wonder will Sinn Fein back Norris for President. Looking more and more like he's gonna need them to get a nomination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Was going to ask "who?" but I see a few posts mention a reality TV show, so that explains why I'd never heard of the guy.

Definitely doesn't sound like anyone I'd want representing the country, and based on the posts above that's not just because of his objectionable affiliations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,213 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I like Gallagher on Dragon's Den, I have to say. And, based on that, I'd be open to hear what he has to say. Plus I think having someone with an entrepreneurial background, as opposed to a political one, in power would do us the world of good. We need go-getters and winners at the helm to restore a bit of self-belief to the country...

We don't need ff lackie spanners. :rolleyes:

Do you actually know anything about our constitution and the role of our president ?
    The president has shag all power, dishes out seals of office when new government ministers take office, offically takes the resignation of the government when it leaves, meets football teams at big games, goes to the opening of things, visits ploughing championship, and wanders around the world as an embassador of sorts.

Now please tell me how that eejit, who fair enough did co set up a successful company (but remember it was a company servicing homes at the very time we had one of the biggest property bubbles in history) would be best placed to represent us on the world stage ?

Oh and I bet his ff leanings, close connections to ff minister o'hanlon had nothing to with his placement on enterprise boards, Fás, other state boards and his rise in the construction industry. :rolleyes:
    If Gallagher's campaign is, indeed, a damp squib it'd be a shame from that standpoint. I'd love to see Gavin Duffy in the role (though I think I'd be in the mass minority there).

Jaysus while you are at it why not give the job to sarah newman ?
    After all she does owe us taxpayers a few million. :rolleyes:

http://www.chaletgrace.com/

And she could have dj out front of the Arás teaching the American tourists how to hit a sliothar over the zoo. :D
    doomed wrote: »
    We need entrepreneurs, now more than ever but running businesses not sitting for 7 years in a job for which they have no obvious qualifications.

Dragons Den is much more about the ego of the dragons (everybody wants to have their face on TV) than promoting business. The assumption that the public is clamouring for one of them to be president or that running a business means you will be better than average at a completely different job needs a sanity (or vanity) check.

Still at least the Dragons haven't started calling themselves "the Sean" or "the Gavin". Yet

Ah but shure we live in the celebrity age.
    The spanners on the BBC Dragons Den whore themselves out onto other TV shows.
    They may be very successful in business, but that doesn't mean we need or want to see their egotistical pusses on the TV.
    thebman wrote: »
    Funny thing is when he was on, I was just thinking, jees he sounds like a FFer :P

Its just funny I was right. Maybe I have a spidey sense for that kind of bs now :P

Some people have gay-dar.
    Others have bullsh**e-dar. :D
    Just keep watching the tubridy late late and you will hone it in no time. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Heard him on the Late Late repeat last night!

He said a lot without saying much - clearly stands absolutely nowhere on the political compass either when Tubridy posed that question to him. Talks about getting Ireland to work again, but who will really benefit from all of this?

What it is with a lot of these multi millionaire types, who seem to think they can walk on water?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Is he from Louth or Cavan? He seems like a decent enough guy but the accent should automatically disqualify him, people from Louth or Cavan shouldn't be allowed out of their counties...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Skinback

Gallagher is just a typical celtic tiger hubristic asshole
    and thinking he's qualified for the park illustrates it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭end a eknny

hope f.g put john bruton forward he would have the queen and bonnie prince charles over every second week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

gambiaman wrote: »
    His plans to open a tuck shop in the Aras are top notch! - how entrepreneurial and forward looking of President Baldy O'Bollocks (FF)
    But he's still gonna keep the 320k salary (he neatly sidestepped on the LLS)
    Lol. It was a quite awful performance. He seemed woefully unprepared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

hope f.g put john bruton forward he would have the queen and bonnie prince charles over every second week
    That would be most undignified with johnney weeing in his trousers every second week with excitment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 DSW

Gallagher could bring the freshness we need in this country !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

DSW wrote: »

You registered to post this?

Welcome to boards, but seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

He has a Cavan/Louth accent, so best of luck with the idea, but I'm afraid... I'm out...

DSW wrote: »

You mean the freshness of Fianna Fail ???

I'm confused. Please elaborate

The least fresh thing right now would be a FF president like Gallagher.

Don't trust him. I'm out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

is he the dylan haskins of of the presidential campaign, somebody campaigning "cos we must do something" but no chance of winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,145 ✭✭✭✭kippy

His website:
    http://www.seangallagher.com/
    His Linkedin Profile:
    http://www.linkedin.com/pub/se%C3%A1n-gallagher/a/1a9/b35

I havent seen the LLS interview but plan to watch it at some stage.

They guys has absolutely no qualifications or background to gain the presidency of this country.
    Our last two presidents have completely raised the bar for the type of person that is required and the role of president. This guy fits neither.
    Fair play to him, set up his own company, getting put on boards here there and every where (boards that are completely ineffective and should be done away with) but really, its not the type of precedent we want to set.
    None of the candidates so far, including Norris, fill me with confidence, perhaps the role should be retired.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Won a further nomination today from these two councils. :rolleyes:

Gallagher was earlier said to be “delighted” to receive support from Clare County Council and Donegal County Council.

http://www.thejournal.ie/sean-gallagher-says-he-has-backing-of-donegal-council-in-aras-bid-164540-Jun2011/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

He's a dud candidate trying to cash in on his new found 'celebrity'.

He is FF ........ and FF councillors are voting him in.

This is sickening.

More FF lies and spin.

I knew Mehole Martin was up to shennagins when he announced that FF councillors could vote for "independents " like Norris.

Of course they will vote for the FF Gallagher and not Norris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Of course he is the defacto FF candidate - they haven't the balls to run one under their own 'banner'.
    I know he's FF and soon those that don't know throughout the country will know very well where his loyalties lie.

Anyway, the more the merrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭DJCR

gambiaman wrote: »
    Of course he is the defacto FF candidate - they haven't the balls to run one under their own 'banner'.
    I know he's FF and soon those that don't know throughout the country will know very well where his loyalties lie.

Anyway, the more the merrier.

Fianna Fail will run a candidate and it won't be Gallagher for the precise reason that we want someone who will run under our Banner and someone who isn't a complete douche.

It's people like Gallagher that were/are the problem with Fianna Fail, turn coats who will ride along and be happy when everything is going well and then jump ship when things get difficult (But still expect their old buddies to come through for them). Unfortunately, half the FF councellors wern't cleared out at the general election as well so there are still a few backscratchers there. However, that will be sorted in 2 years at the locals and we will see the exodus from FF complete (and new members who will actually listen to the people will be elected) and hopefully the corrections will begin in earnest and not be held up by stalwarts who won't change because they don't want to change the way things have been done. In other words, instead of dealing with the issues that were for the most part caused by the party he was involved in, he ran away........

Not a very presidential trait to have.

DJCR wrote: »
    Fianna Fail will run a candidate and it won't be Gallagher for the precise reason that we want someone who will run under our Banner and someone who isn't a complete douche. .

Douchebag or not , I believe that Gallagher is your unofficial FF candidate

I agree with you , the likes of Gallagher represents all that is wrong with FF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭DJCR

Douchebag or not , I believe that Gallagher is your unofficial FF candidate

I agree with you , the likes of Gallagher represents all that is wrong with FF

Frankly speaking, by saying FF Councellors can do what they want doesn't really mean much in the grand scheme of things seen as we have enough Members of the Oireachtas to get who ever we want on the ballot.
    If he really was our FF candiate why make him jump through hoops to get the nomination.
    Though, as you have said and as I've said there will be members of the FF party that will follow him because of his past connections with the party.

But I won't, so please don't paint us all with the same brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

He is as bad as Norris.