Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Open Water Swim Meet Ups

• 06-05-2011 3:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if it would be useful to have a centralised location for people to post when/where/time that they hope to do some OW practice. It is of course always recommended that you swim with others when possible, it's a safety thing or something I think :confused: (:);))

So I will get the ball rolling:

I want to get in a swim tomorrow morning (Saturday) at 7am in Dublin-where ever, if that suits anybody.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Great idea. Would love to try it to give me the push to do a Tri, but I'm too much of a wus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Great idea El D I will be good for one next Saturday if you are about, perhaps bring the bikes aswell so we can do a swim/bike brick session after. I need to get as many ow sessions in as possible in the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

I actually had a similar thread ready to go up yesterday and then didnt submit it :)

Im in Galway (Moycullen) this weekend, looking at heading for a dip tomorrow evening if anyone is about this area? Thinking Roundstone cos its a beautiful spot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Great idea El D I will be good for one next Saturday if you are about, perhaps bring the bikes aswell so we can do a swim/bike brick session after. I need to get as many ow sessions in as possible in the next few weeks.
    id be up for this too. I've been going to dollymount recently, you guys think this is a decent spot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Count me in, I'll need to get back in the water pretty snappy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Great idea El D.
    I'm away next week end but looking forward to making a few OW swims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

I'm in Oranmore and would go swimming in Renville Harbour when time allows. Unless someone knows different I find the harbour clean and quiet.

If anyone else is in the area and would like a spotter / partner(s) for open water swims send a PM and we can exchange numbers or emails to organise suitable times. Evenings have been great with the high tides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

Great to see an interest in this. I actually went for a dip at the 40foot yesterday morn, 7:30. It was freezing.....actually took my breath away how cold it was, should have wore two swim hats! Just spent 15mins, swam around some buoy's, getting a feel for the OW. A couple of locals said it was 12 degrees.

So ya, I'd be on for that again next Sat with the bike after perhaps.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

I'd be interested too. But based in Cork and wouldn't be able to get to Dublin too often.

Great to see an interest in this. I actually went for a dip at the 40foot yesterday morn, 7:30. It was freezing.....actually took my breath away how cold it was, should have wore two swim hats! Just spent 15mins, swam around some buoy's, getting a feel for the OW. A couple of locals said it was 12 degrees.

was really warm today at north bull island. Its so damn shallow there though that my hands kept touching the bottom. might be interested in going to the 40 foot next weekend but 7:30 is quite early isn't it? Id have to be waking up at 6 to get there in time.
    8.30-9 any good for people next saturday?

you need to get the north wall near to high tide. an hour either side is ok. tried salthill today but the sea was crazy with the strong wind so thought better than jumping into the swell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

two links that might be of use over the summer

http://easytide.ukho.gov.uk/EasyTide/EasyTide/ShowPrediction.aspx?PortID=0617&PredictionLength=7

http://www.pol.ac.uk/ntslf/tides/?port=0072

from the second one tues, wed, thurs, fri evenings from 5.30 to 7.30 should be fine all week at the bull wall, sea point and sandycove.

Its way to early for concern but come June and definitely July and August, sheltered areas like the bull wall offer the optimum locations for splashes since jellyfish tend not to make it inside the protection of the north and south walls.

Windy but very nice at seapoint this afternoon @ 4.

Yeah cool sure give me a shout later in the week, something like an easy 2 hour bike after could work well. You would deffo need the 2 hats for the next few weeks as it's bloody cold alright.

interested wrote: »
    Its way to early for concern but come June and definitely July and August, sheltered areas like the bull wall offer the optimum locations for splashes since jellyfish tend not to make it inside the protection of the north and south walls.
    :eek: are jellyfish a big problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭keano007

Great thread. I'd def be up for some of the swims around Dublin

adamski8 wrote: »
    :eek: are jellyfish a big problem?

no, nothing to worry about in my experiences. I encountered zero jellyfish and swam each week for 14 weeks all last summer. You can be unlucky but picking where to swim helps.

With the footie season finishing soon the papers will drag out the annual articles relating to jellyfish, killer eels and great whites soon enough - tigers, lions and bears .. oh my ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭aficionado

Great idea,
    would deft be up for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

no, nothing to worry about in my experiences. I encountered zero jellyfish and swam each week for 14 weeks all last summer. You can be unlucky but picking where to swim helps.

With the footie season finishing soon the papers will drag out the annual articles relating to jellyfish, killer eels and great whites soon enough - tigers, lions and bears .. oh my ;)

I think one of the Howth Aquathons last year was a Jellyfish slalom course, but you're right, it's a rare enough thing.

certain spots are more susceptible than others to this sort of issue. The jelly's go with the flow and tend to get pushed about alot by the wind. Open spots (like the location of the howth aquathlon and a few others along the east coast) can have issues but, as you mentioned, rare enough - and certainly not something to put people off swimming ow now that the water is lovely and warm.

now that the water is lovely and warm.

Don't be getting carried away now:)
    I only noticed (after) i got out from my OW swim at Bettystown that the place is covered in jellyfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

Anyone about the 40ft tonight at 7?

Don't be getting carried away now:)

I was wondering if that one would go unnoticed ;) it hasnt been that bad this year due to a mild february and march.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Aidogogo

My fav spot is Portmarnock as you can swim right down the beach without the water getting too deep, great if you have to swim on your own. Bull wall sounds great for sheltered swimming, just yesterday i was going for a dip but the waves at portmarnock were really messy, Balldoyle looked calm, anyone know if its ok for swimming?

Might be best if we can segregate this thread into north dublin / south dublin / cork / galway etc... hardly worth driving too far for a dip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

I'm in Oranmore and would go swimming in Renville Harbour when time allows. Unless someone knows different I find the harbour clean and quiet.

If anyone else is in the area and would like a spotter / partner(s) for open water swims send a PM and we can exchange numbers or emails to organise suitable times. Evenings have been great with the high tides.

I will go out with you sometime Amphking - I don't talk as much when I am swimming ;)

I don't like swimming in the sea I usually go to Annaghdown Pier but with 2 Triathlon sea swims on the menu this year I better start getting used to it. Might not get a chance this week but will be going out more regularly from next week on

I got word in the pool yesterday that there are a good few going every week for an OW swim on a Tuesday evening at 7pm and Sunday morning at 11am at the slipway in Clogherhead for anyone in the area. I think they cover a section of 1.2kms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

catweazle wrote: »
    I will go out with you sometime Amphking - I don't talk as much when I am swimming ;)

I don't like swimming in the sea I usually go to Annaghdown Pier but with 2 Triathlon sea swims on the menu this year I better start getting used to it. Might not get a chance this week but will be going out more regularly from next week on

I keep missing the club swims, through being in work, but am around most evenings or early morning if that suits. Am sure you know the better places to swim in the area so happy to be lead by you.

Well guys, I'm going for a dip in the 40ft tomorrow morning at 7:30ish, this time hoping to stay in the water for 25min!

I know it's early but my needs must. I have a running session after that at 10 so won't be able to do my biking till Sunday (80km with 3 x 5km TT effort on a flat enough route if anybody interested Blanch - Enfield and back).

Hey ElD, i might be on for that. Gona see how im fixed later.

Going to the Bull Wall at 7 this evening. Tide will be in so happy days. Need to get a decent 20minutes in anyway.

Bambaata wrote: »
    Hey ElD, i might be on for that. Gona see how im fixed later.

cool :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Fazz

Well guys, I'm going for a dip in the 40ft tomorrow morning at 7:30ish, this time hoping to stay in the water for 25min!

I know it's early but my needs must. I have a running session after that at 10 so won't be able to do my biking till Sunday (80km with 3 x 5km TT effort on a flat enough route if anybody interested Blanch - Enfield and back).

Nice Timing, I was planning an early morn swim tomorrow so should be along to this. Hope to be there 7:30/8ish.

Fazz wrote: »
    Nice Timing, I was planning an early morn swim tomorrow so should be along to this. Hope to be there 7:30/8ish.

Cool, I'll be the one wearing the TYR wetsuit!

I might make it down i will let you know later.

Cool, I'll be the one wearing the TYR wetsuit!

Ha, I'll be in a Hurricane too.

Good old Base2Race eh!

Didn't get out this evening so I might join in at the 40ft in the morning if that's alright.

Great the more the better!

Cheers. I'll be the tall skinny Ginger guy (don't hate me!) that's scared to get in because of the cold.

I will have to pass this week just too much on this weekend. Hopefully i will make it next week.

Enjoy the nice warm water:P

aiming to be there for 7.30. I have your number from last June, it the same El D? Ill be the guy in the Blue Seventy Helix suit

Did people wuss out or move elsewhere?
    There last 10 mins, tide coming in, saw couple runners and dude with White hat and bag waking away from me.
    I'm heading to seapoint for a look...

Fazz wrote: »
    Did people wuss out or move elsewhere?
    There last 10 mins, tide coming in, saw couple runners and dude with White hat and bag waking away from me.
    I'm heading to seapoint for a look...

There was three of us there Fazz, and a few hardcore non wetsuited people as well. You sure you were in the right place?

Feck you serious?
    I did have to ask for directions and was at what seemed like a 40ft area with couple ladders down to sea...

I went through passed dun laoghaire pier and straight to t junction.
    Took left at that and parked up on a corner of 1 way road just by what seemed to be 40 foot area..
    Where is it exactly then???

How was it anyway?
    Non wetsuit guys! Madness.. Fair play to them!

I think you were just over the other side facing Dun Laoghaire. We went in from the changing area.

There's changing areas too?

Yep I was only around the corner so... My bad.
    The road suggested no access but I see from that map you can go around further. Is there lockers too?

Let me know when out next and I'll be in the right place!

No lockers, just some shelters to change at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭aficionado

How did everybody get on?

Couldn't make this session as I had to go back home this weekend to pick up the wetsuit,
    Got a quick dip in a local lake, was pretty cold I thought, I can't imagine the non wetuit guys out today, Mad men!
    Will deft be around if there is another dip next weekend, or mid week anybody?

Well it didn't seem as cold this morning, perhaps that is because I was expecting it this time :rolleyes: There was 3 of us there alright, pity you missed the spot Fazz.

We spent about 25min in total I'd say, out to the furthest buoy and back X 2. It was quite choppy and a fairly strong current left to right on the way out. It was a perfect chance to practice breathing from both sides-from the right on the way out and the left on the way back in.

Nice to meet BetterThanHoyte and good to see you again Bambaata (yep my number is still the same)

Won't be there next week myself as I have my first tri of the year :)

Nice to meet you guys too. And good to get into choppier waters than I've been in so far this year. My feet and hands got very cold between the two set we did and I think I suffered on that second swim. It'll be alright on the day!!

Think I did a little too much all day today, bit wrecked now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

Went to SeaPoint yesterday morning around 10am.
    First sea swim in Ireland this year. Water was not as cold as i was expecting, but there was a strong wind and water was choppy. Just went pass the rocks (opposite bridge over dart) and back, so approx 600m. Next time will swim to the pier and back, now that i know the water is warm!
    There were approx 8 people wearing wetsuits, but did not talk to any of them.

Usual welcome note at the life guard's notice board: "The pumping station overflew on 08th May 2011". Well, we know what that mean...better not swallow!

Won't be there next week myself as I have my first tri of the year :)

You doing Valentia as well or Carrick?