Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats the furthest you've ever walked?

• 05-05-2011 2:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭

I'm Remembering on 3 sperate times I walked from Dublin's city centre to blanchardstown. Took me roughly around 2 hours 45 mins each time. Was wrecked.

Whats yours?

(and no running doesnt count :P :pac: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

For about 5 hours on a few occasions - in mountainy, valleyish type places. From Blanchardstown to Maynooth and back was a bit of a trek too, can't remember how long it took. Obviously I have no clue about distance so I'm just going to go by time.

Walking is fun. Though walking from town (WHICH TOWN?) to Blanch is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Warchild aka Lupton_Pittman

Saw a documentary about a guy who walked from Portugal to Istanbul over a year. He had to quit in Bulgaria because he kept getting shot at from cars driving past (everyone owns a gun in Bulgaria).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

I'm in a wheelchair:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheDukeOfEarl

I walked roughly 3 hours one night after missing a bus home. It was pitch drunk and I was very very dark.

I'm in a wheelchair:(

Well, what's the furthest you've ever rolled then? No need to feel left out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Pffft, girls the lot of ye. Walked an average of 20km a day for a week doing the Caminio to Santiago de Compostella. Did much the same in Oz walking the Great Ocean Walk (we had no car so couldn't do the road :P).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

26 miles.

Charity walk over mountains,took 10 hours. Slept for 14 hours after and drank for 5 after that.

Charity is fun!

Einhard wrote: »
    Pffft, girls the lot of ye. Walked an average of 20km a day for a week doing the Caminio to Santiago de Compostella. Did much the same in Oz walking the Great Ocean Walk (we had no car so couldn't do the road :P).

Blanch to Maynooth... 15.7 km according to google maps... and back. 31.4.

F yer fancy Camino de whatchamacallit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Blanch to Maynooth... 15.7 km according to google maps... and back. 31.4.

F yer fancy Camino de whatchamacallit!

Eh, I forgot to mention that I walked it all on my, er, hands...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I walked into town, 8 miles, walked around town for about half an hour and walked home again, so I figure close to 20 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

16 miles, Howth to Dun Laoighre. Charity thing a few yrs ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Marino, just north of the city (which city whaaa) to Bray, just north of the Wicklow (which Wicklow whaaa). According to google maps it's 22km. All I know is I set off at 4am and got back at about quarter past 8, with kids and business people on their way to work and school, and me looking like the reincarnation of death. If that even makes sense.

Had a fifteen minute nap at the N11 dual carriageway on a bus shelter too, but a Pat the Baker van beeped and woke me up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

Saw a documentary about a guy who walked from Portugal to Istanbul over a year. He had to quit in Bulgaria because he kept getting shot at from cars driving past (everyone owns a gun in Bulgaria).
    funny that i have an appartment in bulgaria and go out there fairley often for long periods of time and i never seen or heard of people shooting from cars and not everyone out there ownes a gun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

missed the nightlink and had to walk from ranelagh to swords I was in bits after that, big fat blister on my heel for a few day's later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Have you people never heard of taxis? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

40 miles doing root marches when i was a rookie training in the army.
    a few years later when i was a sgt i took a group of lads over 80miles accross mountiness areas and back we were all wrecked after it we all took a weeks leave to recover...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Lanaier

City center to Charlesland near Greystones a couple of times.

40 odd km.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 zirazira

a whole day, from 8:00 am--5:30 pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

40 miles doing root marches when i was a rookie training in the army.
    a few years later when i was a sgt i took a group of lads over 80miles accross mountiness areas and back we were all wrecked after it we all took a weeks leave to recover...

man I need to get in shape quick if thats the case.

not sure here but how many miles (not K's) would it be to swords mainstreet from ranelagh ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Walked from town to Kinvara once. :(

Probably would have swam it quicker. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Lapin wrote: »
    Walked from town to Kinvara once. :(

In before anyone else who asks -

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: WHICH TOWN :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Galway.............................................Obviously

Only town that counts. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

Just finished a 13km walk around Vancouver (according to Google Maps), it's a gorgeous evening and I wanted to get out of the house for a few hours.

Walked from Dublin city centre to Cabinteely a few times, not sure how long that took as my concept of time can be dramatically altered by drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Charity walk from Dunmore East to Waterford when I was ten.

I had a boyfriend who walked from Blackrock to Coolock in platforms because he opted to make sure I got home safely thereby missing his bus. I didn't appreciate him enough. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

I had a boyfriend who walked from Blackrock to Coolock in platforms because he opted to make sure I got home safely thereby missing his bus. I didn't appreciate him enough. :D

Hold on, your boyfriend was wearing platforms?!

Either:
    A) This happened in the 1970's, in which case I'll let him away with it, or

B) He had seriously questionable tastes in fashion. I think you dodged a bullet by dumping him, TBH :pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,969 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Charity walk from Dunmore East to Waterford when I was ten.

I can understand if he did if your username is accurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

walked 48 miles one long day on the camino de santiago, took a wrong turn and had no choice but to keep on walking :)

Hold on, your boyfriend was wearing platforms?!

Either:
    A) This happened in the 1970's, in which case I'll let him away with it, or

B) He had seriously questionable tastes in fashion. I think you dodged a bullet by dumping him, TBH :pac:

1979 and platforms were pretty well out of fashion by then. He was only about 5' in his stocking feet so he clinging to them. He was also only 16 but he had the most beautiful blue eyes fringed with thick black lashes which I used to stare into, so didn't really notice his shoes and herringbone Crombie. :D

I can understand if he did if your username is accurate.

A shift and no feel. Innocent days. :P

Used to play 36 holes of golf a day during the summers when i was young so maybe 14km with the bag on the back.. Didn't even feel it back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I've gone for 60 mile + walks a few times. I've done mountain routes in the Alps that wouldn't cover a lot of distance along the ground, but take 18 hours + of moving steadily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭PinkFly

Lapin wrote: »
    In before anyone else who asks -

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: WHICH TOWN :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Galway.............................................Obviously

Only town that counts. :p

isnt Galway a city?:confused:

Hoho nice game of oneupmanship this thread has turned into.

First 20's, then to 40's now were in the 60's..... woohoo I walked to fcuking MOON last week when it was at it's furthest.

400k plus kilometers, bitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭PinkFly

Lanaier wrote: »
    Hoho nice game of oneupmanship this thread has turned into.

First 20's, then to 40's now were in the 60's..... woohoo I walked to fcuking MOON last week when it was at it's furthest.

400k plus kilometers, bitches.

pictures or GTFO :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Wicklow town to Glendalough - cause we read the map wrong, and got miles and kilometres mixed up...Scenic road, I must say. Had to hitchhike back though (some random truck driver, think he wanted to marry me, couldnt understand a word he said) cause our feet hurt...

Used to do 20 km hikes regularly when I was younger...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 bronzer

Walked from Tullamore to Edenderry after a night on the tiles in Tullamore....steaming drunk....Was fairly sober when I got home...not sure how long it took.....about 30km's!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Lost the TV remote once ,Had to change channels myself ,most have got up ten times covered about a 100 feet that night ..

Took me weeks to recover.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Lanaier wrote: »

Ah but the moon doesn't count. Giant steps are what you take, walking on the moon.

I've discounted Lanaier's posts. Recommence the pissing contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Did a section of the Camino de Santiago last year... longest walk was 20 miles (32km). Compeed is a saviour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

padma wrote: »
    walked 48 miles one long day on the camino de santiago, took a wrong turn and had no choice but to keep on walking :)

Ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Not sure if it's the longest i've ever walked but the absolute worst was from Kildare town to Monasterevin about 10k i'd say, at about 3 in the morning a few days before christmas, bitterly cold, wearing a t shirt cos i'd left my jacket somewhere in my drunken state. Also being a city boy i'm really more used to having lights on my roads.
    Was a fúcking nightmare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Walked from Raheny to Rathmines once. After a one night stand was well worth it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

I walk around 10 miles daily, best habit I ever took up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Walk - 10km
    Run - 42.2km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭unknownlegend

55km. The art o neill challenge, took about 15 hours. Tough going since we started at midnight... lack of sleep gives a similar feeling to being a bit tipsy I noticed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Use to do a hike once a year from Marley Park to Knockree Youth Hostel over the Dublin/Wicklow mountains. About 30Km according to Google but it's the hills that'll get ya.

Also from Knockree youth hostel to Powerscourt Waterfall and back, about 20Km. Wasn't too bad, nobody would pick up 2 handsome young hitch hikers though. Well 1 handsome young hitch hiker and my mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

4 days in Ecuador. Slept about 4 hours a night though and stopped for small breaks along the way. Longest was probably bout 5 or 6 hours straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Went camping in the Cairngorms (mountains in Scotland) with school when I was a teenager and walked 24km's during an orienteering exercise. Remember being wrecked tired afterwards but grand the following day. I was very fit then:)

Recently the furthest I'v walked was 10km for charity a couple of years ago. Had pains in my legs for a few days afterwards:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

55 miles (88km) on a famous charity walk called the Bogle Stroll when I was at Uni in Manchester. It's still going to this day, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bogle_Stroll. I did it 4 times :D

Also regularly do long distance walks in England, most recently the Coast-to-Coast walk, 315km over 14 days.