Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

James Cracknell mds

• 22-03-2011 1:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭

theres a programe on a dude doin this on thursday at 9pm on disciovery channel if any 1 is interested.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭Patrick_K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

Reminder: The first of the The James Cracknell Trilogy programs is on tonight @ 9pm. looks like it could be a good program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭MaroonTam

Never realized this was a series of programs, only set the DVR for tonight. will need to remember to record the others :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Enjoyable programme

The guy is a bit of a machine. So mentally strong which can make him a bit unlikeable at times with his win at all costs. Got to admire the guy though n

Superb result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Enjoyed it myself alright, seeing him after the 80 km stage and then him being able to carry on the next stage was quite amazing simply put. I dont think his mental strength could ever be faulted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,401 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

That was something else all right. He was in good shape going in to it, but hadn't run for quite a few weeks due to injury. Just shows the power of the mind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

That was enjoyable. He actually came across quite well which is unusual for him as he normally comes across as a bit of a kn@b in these programmes. Tune in next week to see a truck drive over him in America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

griffin100 wrote: »
    he normally comes across as a bit of a kn@b in these programmes. Tune in next week to see a truck drive over him in America.
    thought he was a bit like his core temperature probe,didnt like the way the programme made the other brit look like a dope and everything was a drama and a lot of use of the word marathon for 30km distances...lookin forward to seein cracknel gettinn wiped outt by a truck though...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭dermCu

ultraman1 wrote: »
    ...lookin forward to seein cracknel gettinn wiped outt by a truck though...:D

Thats a bit harsh. Like him or not the guy was very nearly killed and by all accounts is suffering very badly after this accident. It could happen to any one of us. Don't know how you could look forward to seeing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Rebelrunner

Ya bit harsh alright. He's a robot. The pain he went through. Was a good program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

didnt like the way the programme made ... a lot of use of the word marathon for 30km distances...

This seems to be a recurring theme on this board. I can't read whether it's an insecurity or an elitist thing, but it definitely seems like some people get a bit anxious when anyone refers to any distance less than 26.4 miles as being a marathon, even if it's prefixed with mini- or whatever...
    No one is trying to demean your achievements. Anyone who can run 26.4 miles in one go should be secure enough and mentally strong enough not to get upset about this kind of thing. There was even a thread about this recently enough...

About the program, while each stage were technically not marathons, it's still a hell of an achievement to finish the race, first time out, in 12th place. He did come across as being a bit obnoxious at times, but I think you have to have a certain self-centred streak in order to achieve what he has. A lot, if not all, of top sportspeople at the top of their game, especially in individual sports, have the same streak e.g. Roger Federer, Tiger Woods etc. Steve Davis was never the most illuminating of characters when he won all those world championships in snooker.

If I had one criticism of the program, I could sum it up in two words: James Nesbitt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭woody1

ya didnt like nesbitt either but i suppose hes reading from a script which as some have said already was obviously written to crank up the drama element of it
    i didnt think they showed the 2 other english guys in the best light , the ultra-runner was merely saying that he'l plod along at his pace and would hopefully overtake people that got their pacing wrong and blew up , i dont think it was a dig at cracknell at all but thats the way the programme tried to show it,
    then the older guy that was giving him advice earlier in the programme , it made a big point of stating that he was only in 260th place...
    apart from those 2 minor gripes i thought it was quite good, cracknell came across better than he has in other programmes but id definitely agree that he comes across as arrogant , but then again maybe we see drive and focus and intensity coming across as arrogance ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,401 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

when anyone refers to any distance less than 26.4 miles as being a marathon, even if it's prefixed with mini- or whatever...

They've added an extra 0.2 miles? ahhhh crap :mad:

He did really push himself to the limit, then went past it many so times, it could of ended very badly for him. He is pretty much a machine, wouldn't stop for anything. I know the documentary was just about him, but fair play to the other English runners too. They appeared to be in far better shape (they might not of been) at the end of each stage, I guess also they had no point to prove.

They've added an extra 0.2 miles? ahhhh crap :mad:

:D 26.2 is it ? oops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

This seems to be a recurring theme on this board. I can't read whether it's an insecurity or an elitist thing, but it definitely seems like some people get a bit anxious when anyone refers to any distance less than 26.4 miles as being a marathon, even if it's prefixed with mini- or whatever...

1. There is nothing elitist about stating that a 30k is not a marathon.
    2. The fact that you don't even know how long a marathon is an argument FOR using it correctly - maybe then you'd learn

1. There is nothing elitist about stating that a 30k is not a marathon.
    2. The fact that you don't even know how long a marathon is an argument FOR using it correctly - maybe then you'd learn

does it really matter? Are you so insecure in your achievement that you get bothered by it? Surely the fact that you can run a marathon, in all its 26.2 miles of length, should be enough for you ? It certainly would for me. Maybe if I did it, I would think differently I don't know. I hope to find out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Jesus not this Sh!te again... There's nothing elitist or insecure about training hard, making sacrifices, and wanting to do ur best whether ur running a marathon, 10k or any other distance... As uve outlined there's another thread which dealt with this before so please dont b using this one to bring up this crap again....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

does it really matter? Are you so insecure in your achievement that you get bothered by it? Surely the fact that you can run a marathon, in all its 26.2 miles of length, should be enough for you ? It certainly would for me. Maybe if I did it, I would think differently I don't know. I hope to find out...

Infraction given. Attack the post, not the poster. Calling someone insecure, when they were rightly pointing out a fact, is not on for this forum. Consider this a warning not to insult other members again.

My apologies, I certainly did not intend to insult anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

<off-topic>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Does anyone know where one can find web or TV coverage of this?

A mate of mine is doing it

Abhainn wrote: »
    Does anyone know where one can find web or TV coverage of this?

A mate of mine is doing it
    eurosport usually have clips of it and there is live updates,results and some pics on the mds site,and u can send gud luc notes....

dermCu wrote: »
    Thats a bit harsh. Don't know how you could look forward to seeing that.

back to the program..the program itself sensationalised many times cracknel gettin knocked down and at the end of the program invited viewers to tune in next week to see it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

back to the program..the program itself sensationalised many times cracknel gettin knocked down and at the end of the program invited viewers to tune in next week to see it....
    If they are advertising the fact that he was knocked down in order to attract viewers for the following week, then people are intiltled to have an opinion on it to be honest. He does copme across a bit arrogent but hes some athelete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Bummer , I would love to have seen this. Does anyone know if you can watch the programme again on line ?

Ultraman ...are you considering this for next year?;)

This is a good point.

A friend suggested that Discovery are aware of his unpopularity in some quarters and were pretty much asking people to tune in to watch him get knocked down.

I think he came across well in MDS. Likeable but driven.

Whereas in his race across Antartica with Ben Fogle, it was like watching the school bully pick on the class nerd. In a dynamic between reality star versus olmypian, Cracknell was always going to come off worse. Fogle was happy just to be there but Cracknell wanted to win it badly which came across as terrible on screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

Bummer , I would love to have seen this. Does anyone know if you can watch the programme again on line ?

Its repeated on Sunday night at 11pm on discovery.

Must look up the program with Ben fogle, my girlfriend loves him so would be great watching him suffer :-)

edit:buy dvd here http://www.amazon.co.uk/Thin-Ice-DVD-Ben-Fogle/dp/B0028QGYZY/ref=pd_bxgy_d_h__img_b

guapos wrote: »
    Its repeated on Sunday night at 11pm on discovery.

Must look up the program with Ben fogle, my girlfriend loves him so would be great watching him suffer :-)

edit:buy dvd here http://www.amazon.co.uk/Thin-Ice-DVD-Ben-Fogle/dp/B0028QGYZY/ref=pd_bxgy_d_h__img_b

Ha, I watched it with a similarly minded girl.

She was absolutely appalled at how Cracknell was treating Fogle. So be prepared for 'poor ben' and 'James is an asshole' every 5 minutes. Fogle also cries every 5 minutes. It was like watching a rom com at times.

htt,i had an entry for this years(2011) mds but due to the finances i made a decision to cancel my entry about eighteen months ago:mad:.(or maybe it was mrs um1 who made the decision).
    if your thinkin of doin it you would wann start thinkin about gettin in touch with the organisers now as you would have to apply now for 2014,and when they open registration, its like gettin tickets for Take That from ticketmaster,they were all gone in 11 minutes the year i applied and any one who doesent get a ticke goes on a waitin list and ur left waitin to see if any drops out.....or there is sponsorship entries that u have to get a good few grand..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

Ben Fogles MDS programme was actually much better than Cracknels one. According to Fogle he entered as a bet and during the race he suffered big time especially with his feet. Oh and he cried every 5 minutes.

I'm watching these programmes with interest as given that I'll be the big 40 in march 2013 I have a vague aim of trying to get an entry in that year and spending my birthday in the sahara.

2nd part of the trilogy is on tonight......

UPC+ (?) set...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

I was trying to figure out who Cracknell sounds like......Ross Kemp!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

I was trying to figure out who Cracknell sounds like......Ross Kemp!!
    Just waiting for 'Things look like there about to kick off, so I'm out of here'.
    Why are these programs about this kind of thing full off drama. Does anyone just run these things, like, run - finish - go home. But then, if it looked easy there be no program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Watched this last night with no idea what to expect. Couple of things that screamed out to me.
    1. I wish I could have crew of that scale for events or when I'm crewing for others have that level of backing. Equally there were times when I was screaming at them to be more hands on with him, doing small things like putting his camelbak on.
    2. I thought they were going to have him try survive entirely on sports nutrition products. In my limited experience the morale boost that comes from real food in these situations cannot be underestimated. Science is well and good but sometimes the lift in spirit a battered burger and chips provides outweighs all research.
    3. Puts into perspective the efforts of Tony Mangan and others out there doing world journeys without the hoopla, budget & razamataz associated with last night's program but with all the same risks.
    4. Finally, shows of this nature should be banned due to the foolish ideas they put in my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Was a pretty good program, my wife was even glued to it.

I presume the third part is the cold weather thingy he was talking about in the end, when's that on ?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Was a pretty good program, my wife was even glued to it.

I presume the third part is the cold weather thingy he was talking about in the end, when's that on ?
    thursday....i think he gets attacked by a bear and nearly dies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Cheers, I'm on the Friday timetable but Discovery in their wisdom decided not to show the third episode this week so I'll catch it Saturday afternoon instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Cheers, I'm on the Friday timetable but Discovery in their wisdom decided not to show the third episode this week so I'll catch it Saturday afternoon instead.

3rd part is on this week (thursday 9pm and again on Sunday @ 11pm)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 DoubleOhDave

its like gettin tickets for Take That from ticketmaster,they were all gone in 11 minutes the year i applied.

I knew you liked Justin Bieber, but Take That too? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Anyone see the show on discovery with him running the mds?

I wanted him to crash and burn, but he didn't. Interesting show, I dislike the guy and his ego but the race itself seems like a killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭Daz1214

you have to admire his determination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭JosDel

I seen the doc where he raced across america, He is lucky to be alive after the smash with the truck on his bilke...

he was never expected to make the recovery that he has and then to do the yukon challenge 6 months later is amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

You could definitely learn a thing or 2 about digging deep from him!

thats for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Yea, some great shows..

It shows you that your opinion of someone from their public persona can be so wrong.

He really seems to be a real fighter and an amazing athlete [if there was ever any doubt about that, when he has the Olympic medals to prove it!].

there was a thread about the programme a few pages down...

<merged-mod>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

nomadic wrote: »
    You could definitely learn a thing or 2 about digging deep from him!

I followed his Olympic crew when he rowed. The 4 with Sir Stephen Redgrave, Mathew Pinsent and James Foster. On 2k rowing tests (2k on the machine as hard as you can go) he would push himself until he turned blue and dropped out of consciousness. He had nowhere near the LTHR of Pinsent, who has one of the largest lung capacities ever measured in Britain, yet he would come within seconds of his test scores. The difference would be that Pinsent could stand up and do a cool down but Cracknell would have to be carted off. Also he was a 15+ stone guy and did a sub3 Marathon on his first attempt. He is as headstrong as they come, but as with everyone; Your greatest strength is also your greatest weakness when you overdo it. Its a fine line. Digging deep is one way to look at it. No regard for his own life or safety is another...

Still, ego aside, he is some athlete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Still, ego aside, he is some athlete

Still, athlete aside, he has some ego :D