Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another new 2fm breakfast show?

• 02-05-2011 7:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 48

I was told today by a good sorce that Hector is going to be removed of the breakfast show in late june, To make it up to him they are bringing back the tommy and hector show for 2 shows at the weekend, and RTE will say he is concentrating on tv projects so it wont sound like him being axed(we all know the truth) I wont say the name of who the new host of the 2fm breakfast show will be (for now) but he is from south Dublin and is on the radio sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

I actually liked Hector & Tommy's weekend show. They told great stories, it was good craic to listen to. Never listened to his breakfast show, though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Any proof? Or is this just another swipe at 2 fm!

Are people allowed set up threads stating people are going to be sacked without any proof whatsoever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Jxd

Spanner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I'm not a fan of Hectors show in the mornings but I did enjoy the Tommy and Hector show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Autosport wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of Hectors show in the mornings but I did enjoy the Tommy and Hector show.

What he said.

Joe10000 wrote: »
    What he said.

I'm a she ;)

Please accept my heartfelt apology madam. *bows*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,828 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

While you're down there .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

What he said.

what they said. I remember them playing that my satisfaction song with the angelus bells mixed in so we could get instant forgiveness for our sinfull lust fuilled thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭GSF

I wont say the name of who the new host of the 2fm breakfast show will be (for now) but he is from south Dublin and is on the radio sometimes.
    Craig Doyle (again)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Isn't Hector getting high listenership though? Can't see them getting rid of him already if that's true. Not a fan of him myself, give the show to Tommy! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Tapes

Clare Bear wrote: »
    Isn't Hector getting high listenership though? Can't see them getting rid of him already if that's true. Not a fan of him myself, give the show to Tommy! :D

Hector has 134k listeners, Rick and Ruth got axed after just 6 months and they had 200k listeners. Marty whelan got axed after about 15 months and he had 170k listeners so this wouldnt really shock me, I dont really care i never listen to 2fm anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

GSF wrote: »
    Craig Doyle (again)?
    ]

That wouldn't suprise me one bit. Another revamp on the cards by all accounts..

Tapes wrote: »
    Hector has 134k listeners, Rick and Ruth got axed after just 6 months and they had 200k listeners. Marty whelan got axed after about 15 months and he had 170k listeners so this wouldnt really shock me, I dont really care i never listen to 2fm anymore.

When did Rick and Ruth do the breakfast show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

When did Rick and Ruth do the breakfast show?

Quite a while back, in 2005.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Okay, let us see who has presented the weekday breakfast show in the past on 2FM.

Starting with the aforementioned: Rick and Ruth and Marty Whelan.
    We also had: Colm (Hayes) and Jim-Jiim (Nugent),
    Ryan Tubridy ("The Full Irish"),
    Gareth O'Callaghan (1998 - after Ian Dempsey's departure),
    Ian Dempsey,
    Scott Williams (briefly during 1989),
    Declan Meehan (1979-1980 - it was called Radio 2 then)....

who else??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 The Fame

Well, I am surprised at this alleged rumour but then again I'm not really. Rte 2fm can't last 5 months without a schedule change. I'm just after getting used to the current reshuffle.

I somehow don't see them moving Hector so soon. I would miss waking up to him though!

Don't forget Damien McCaul! One of my favourite shows!

Declan meehan (june -november 1979) Ronan collins (november 1979-1984) marty whelan (first time 1984-1987) Ian Dempsey (first time 1987-1988) Maxi (1988) scott williams (1989) Ian dempsey (second time 1989-1998) Gareth o callaghan (1998-2000) Damien mccaul (2000-2002) Ryan tubridy (2002-05) Rick and Ruth (2005 6/7 months) Marty whelan (second time late 2005- early 2007) colm and jim jim (2007- may 2010) jim jim and paddy (may-august 2010) ruth and paddy (september 2010) Hector (october 2010- ?)

Accepted :D

Declan meehan (june -november 1979) Ronan collins (november 1979-1984) marty whelan (first time 1984-1987) Ian Dempsey (first time 1987-1988) Maxi (1988) scott williams (1989) Ian dempsey (second time 1989-1998) Gareth o callaghan (1998-2000) Damien mccaul (2000-2002) Ryan tubridy (2002-05) Rick and Ruth (2005 6/7 months) Marty whelan (second time late 2005- early 2007) colm and jim jim (2007- may 2010) jim jim and paddy (may-august 2010) ruth and paddy (september 2010) Hector (october 2010- ?)

Thanks very much for that. Yes - there were a couple of names I had forgotten about. Wow! Ronan Collins did the breakfast gig over a five-year period. That was a good old stint. But Ian Dempsey holds the record for the longest stint at nine years (1989-1998). I just cannot see anyone keeping that gig for that length of time again, for so many reasons (and not just 2FM dropping them!).

I don't know whether or not there is anything to what the OP said and I have no intention of indulging in speculation about Hector's tenure. However, eventually, as night follows day, Hector will move on to other things. Who would 2FM use as breakfast presenter then ?

Here's a few names that 2FM may possibly consider (in that distant future) - Ian Dempsey (well, what would happen if Today FM decided to put,say, KC in that slot), Gareth O'Callaghan (long shot here - given what he has said about Gerry Ryan and RTE and cocaine), Colm Hayes, Ryan Tubridy, Pat Courtenay (okay - that does seem unlikely), Lucy Kennedy and, last but not least, Zig and Zag. Yes, I know some of those names have done it before, but look at the repeats on the above list.

It wouldnt surprise me one bit if Ian Dempsey returns to 2fm breakfast someday, If that happened i think foley would get today fm breakfast and kc would get afternoons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

The Fame wrote: »

Don't forget Damien McCaul! One of my favourite shows!

Mine too! :D I haven't heard nor seen him in years, does he still work at RTE?

No he does weekends on Dublins Q102, He was axed from 2fm back in 2007.

I wish they'd do something different. I haven't listened to 2FM's morning shows since Colm and Jim-Jim came in. They need to go back to basics - I don't like "wacky" morning shows and there's only so much Morning Ireland I can stomach.

I wish Craig Doyle would go back to England, he seems to say yes to every gig going and is never off the radio/tv.

Is 2fm not a kids radio station at this stage anyway ? Maybe get Jedward to do it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

No he does weekends on Dublins Q102, He was axed from 2fm back in 2007.

2FMs loss is surely q102s gain ? no? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Caledonman

GSF wrote: »
    Craig Doyle (again)?

No real surprise if hector goes, but i don't think he would be too worried. I'd say he is sick of the early mornings and he has a young family. Craig Doyle, if he was to come in would be equally as bad. Too 'smarmy' and would be equally as cringy as Anton Savage. i wonder have they tried to get Ivan Yates from Newstalk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

Nah they need to re image once again and they've got no money to do that so they'll go in-house with changes. How about Cormac Battle... he's done everything else;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

bbability wrote: »
    Nah they need to re image once again and they've got no money to do that so they'll go in-house with changes. How about Cormac Battle... he's done everything else;)

Im sure he's a lovely bloke but I'm really not a fan of mr Battle particularly his role as rick o shea's sidekick. Rick is experienced, articulate and intelligent enough to carry this show on his own and simply doesnt need a foil who more often than not resorts to juvenile contributions. I feel the addition of Battle to Rick's show was in response to Ray Foley et al on Today fm with whom he is now in direct competition.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,284 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Dave Fanning! Actually I was going to post this to be smart but when I gave it a small bit of thought it wasn't the worst idea. He's articulate, can be quite interesting and we might actually get a bit of decent music in the mornings then. I'd actually tune in, but I'm probably not their target audience really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

squonk wrote: »
    I'm probably not their target audience really!

They don't know their target audience so you could be!

I think if i was offered a job there tomorrow i'd turn it down, unless it was the head of 2fm position they were offering. There's so much talent wasting away on local stations that could and should be shared with the rest of the country. Even if they're still aiming for the older generation.

Their music is awful, presenters talk nonsense and i'm not a fan of their imaging either. So 2fm can continue to change breakie presenter every 5 minutes if they want, but until they get basics right, and settle into who it is they're trying to target then this station will keep going further and further into the ground.

They should try persuade tubbers back to breakie, love or loath him, he did well there in the past.

Everyone else needs to be shipped out (not because they're neccessarily bad presenters, just they don't seem to be working on 2fm) and the bosses need to go looking around the country for something new for the rest of the day.

Put Jenny Green on in the evenings playing a mix of top 40 and her electric Disco tunes

They need to distance themselves from G Ryan as much as possible. Move the talk show to later, because they'll never replace G Ryan and should stop trying! Maybe even a breakfast talk show, similar to what Tubrity has already just at a different time. In fact that'd be a different breakfast show to all the other waky in your face rubbish on offer everywhere else.

But alas, nothing will change accept another presenter tipped to be great, but ultimately will flop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Btr

As far as I'm aware the new DG of RTE has called for a complete review of the organisation given it's financial circumstances. I would have thought (and perhaphs I'm wrong) is a consideration as to whether 2fm and indeed it's digital stable should be retained. It's goes right to the heart of what a public sector broadcasting remit is and I would have thought this meant money for current affairs and arts programming for example that a private broadcaster couldn't afford to finance. Therefore where would that leave 2fm with it's similarity to so many commercials? Well maybe because it's profitable and cross subsidises other Rte services... But then again Rte continues to deny this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Caledonman

Dave Fanning! Actually I was going to post this to be smart but when I gave it a small bit of thought it wasn't the worst idea. He's articulate, can be quite interesting and we might actually get a bit of decent music in the mornings then. I'd actually tune in, but I'm probably not their target audience really!

I agree with what you say here. I don't listen either as I could not listen to hector for long. I did tune in when Dave F stood in for Tubridy, and I though he was quite good. The best of a bad lot?? He is clever, and never seems to have quite got there with recognition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Starterbar

Bernard and Keith from i 105 107 are reportedly moving on so perhaps a stint on the breakfast show on 2fm could be on the cards?? Alot of the younger rural listeners would be familiar with these two and it might help 2fm gain some of the rural listeners that was lost when Colm and Jim Jim took over

Starterbar wrote: »
    Bernard and Keith from i 105 107 are reportedly moving on so perhaps a stint on the breakfast show on 2fm could be on the cards?? Alot of the younger rural listeners would be familiar with these two and it might help 2fm gain some of the rural listeners that was lost when Colm and Jim Jim took over

I thought Hector already did that. He certainly kept me on Morning Ireland for sure.

Starterbar wrote: »

...and the problem here is that they already drafted in Gollum & Dum-Dum to cater for the Dublin audience but the two boys went down like a lead balloon beyond the pail. Getting two culchies probably might not go down well with the Dublin crowd and, while I'm not saying Hector is any better - I don't listen, it mightn't be the greatest idea really. I don't know the two lads involved but if they get the gig, good luck to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

...and the problem here is that they already drafted in Gollum & Dum-Dum to cater for the Dublin audience but the two boys went down like a lead balloon beyond the pail. Getting two culchies probably might not go down well with the Dublin crowd and, while I'm not saying Hector is any better - I don't listen, it mightn't be the greatest idea really. I don't know the two lads involved but if they get the gig, good luck to them!

First of all, there's no indication Hector is goin anywhere, and i hope he's not put out of a job any time soon.

On the note of Bernard and Keith, it mite not be too bad an idea. After all Keith has a good idea of what people outside of Dublin are all about (given his experience with iRadio), and lets not forget he was one half of Breakfast Express on Spin1038 for 5 years so has a good understanding on what works for the Dubs too. It mite not be the worst move for RTE if/when they inevitably decide to make more changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

It wouldnt surprise me one bit if Ian Dempsey returns to 2fm breakfast someday, If that happened i think foley would get today fm breakfast and kc would get afternoons.

EDIT: Also, can't see Dempsey leaving Today FM anytime soon, too successful. Willie O'Reilly would want to have a serious set on him to mess with a winning formula unless things change dramatically.

I'd prefer KC to get breakfast (as he was brilliant in that slot on RED), and Foley to go back to the nights (because The Blast was great back in the day, and I think he'd be better suited to an after the watershed show) OT I know...

...so to the real issue here.
    Has any change happened? (Only listen to 2 or 3 hours of 2FM a week now, both on Saturday)
    Wouldn't be surprised to see Hector go, what I've heard of his show is awful.
    IMO they should bring Zig and Zag to the slot, it's a sad state of affairs when two puppets come across as being the most genuine presenters on the entire station.

But I'll stop kicking 2FM...It's just not fair to kick someone while they're cowering in a heap on the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭cena

Don't forget Damien McCaul! One of my favourite shows![/QUOTE]

he was pretty good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Fran1985 wrote: »
    On the note of Bernard and Keith, it mite not be too bad an idea. After all Keith has a good idea of what people outside of Dublin are all about (given his experience with iRadio), and lets not forget he was one half of Breakfast Express on Spin1038 for 5 years so has a good understanding on what works for the Dubs too. It mite not be the worst move for RTE if/when they inevitably decide to make more changes.

That really isn't anything to be proud of. That show was bottom of the barrel material.

Agreed. I remember listening to 'Joe & Keith' wasn't it, back in the day. Talk about trying to be funny but failing miserably! I didn't realise it was the same Keith. Could do without that muppetry on 2FM really but I haven't heard the iLads so best of luck to them whatever they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Agreed. I remember listening to 'Joe & Keith' wasn't it, back in the day. Talk about trying to be funny but failing miserably! I didn't realise it was the same Keith. Could do without that muppetry on 2FM really but I haven't heard the iLads so best of luck to them whatever they do.

That seems to be a prerequisite before you get a show on 2FM these days. The Colm and Jim-Jim show anyone? Knob-nation? Fiona Loo-(vomits in disgust)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Isn't the Joe half of that duo now Tom Dunnes producer on Newstalk?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭overthenest

yes joe now produces on the tom dunne show, those two lads were class back in the day, remember air finglas etc, great stuff, bernard and keith would be prefect for 2fm in the mornings as bernard has a good profile from the rep of telly and keith knows the rural/dub mix, anything would be better than the disaster that is hector what a national joke, saying keep her lit 100 times a day can only get you so far.
    dave faning is a bit of a lege but couldnt be bothered i'd say!

yes joe now produces on the tom dunne show, those two lads were class back in the day, remember air finglas etc, great stuff, bernard and keith would be prefect for 2fm in the mornings as bernard has a good profile from the rep of telly and keith knows the rural/dub mix, anything would be better than the disaster that is hector what a national joke, saying keep her lit 100 times a day can only get you so far.
    dave faning is a bit of a lege but couldnt be bothered i'd say!

You basically have two possible pairings there. One is Joe Donnelly and Keith Walsh. They were effectively a double-act on Phoenix FM (community station), Phantom FM (when it was a pirate) and Spin103. Initially on Spin, they were on weekends (evenings I think), before they finally got the breakfast gig. Tom Dunne's producer Joe on Newstalk has actually stood in for the maestro on a number of occasions - some national exposure.The advantage of using this combo is that they could actually be able to bridge this so-called urban/rural divide because they are two country lads who have worked extensively on Dublin radio.

The other possible pairing is Keith Walsh (again) and Bernard O'Shea. Bernard had a few appearances on "The Panel", and was on Republic of Telly - some national exposure. This duo, as was mentioned, were on weekday breakfast on i105-107.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭overthenest

the tommy and hector show was class. mainly because of tommy cause hector is ****e but it would be brill to have it back, hectors show on 2fm is dire ****e, cant wait till its axed, mite start listening to 2fm again then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I'd love to see (or hear rather) Joe and Keith on 2FM breakfast. I think Hector's quite good though, but would be nice to see the duo back together on radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Roxee

You basically have two possible pairings there. One is Joe Donnelly and Keith Walsh. They were effectively a double-act on Phoenix FM (community station),

I know you're a fact fan Declan so you won't mind me correcting you that it was NEARfm they were on, rather than Phoenix FM. :)

Roxee wrote: »
    I know you're a fact fan Declan so you won't mind me correcting you that it was NEARfm they were on, rather than Phoenix FM. :)

Thanks, you're right on all the above! NEAR FM it was.