Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legality of living on an island off the coast

• 02-05-2011 3:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭

What would be the legality of just hopping in a boat with supplies, driving to one of our islands and setting up a small camp there?

Basic hut, fireplace etc...

Is this illegal? Reckon the garda would get involved??

- Dean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

not unless the owner reported it!
    if you were there long enough you may even get some claim to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Dean0088 wrote: »
    What would be the legality of just hopping in a boat with supplies, driving to one of our islands and setting up a small camp there?

Basic hut, fireplace etc...

Is this illegal? Reckon the garda would get involved??

- Dean.

Taking your new country idea to the next level, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

When you say "our" islands you mean you want to live in a national park? On public land not on someone's privately owned island?

Like skellig michael?

The tourists wouldnt like it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

I didn't think you'd actually follow through with it, fairplay if you go all the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

joshrogan wrote: »
    I didn't think you'd actually follow through with it, fairplay if you go all the way!

It's a plan of mine which I'm fleshing out over the next year or two. A three month solid occupation of a small island. While keeping a blog.

As for those saying the tourists wouldn't be happy. I'm talking about a SMALL island. Like really small.

-Dean.

maybe occupy a lighthouse, they are all automated now but used to be live in so you'd be sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I would be too difficult to make your own island out at sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

It's a plan of mine which I'm fleshing out over the next year or two. A three month solid occupation of a small island. While keeping a blog.

As for those saying the tourists wouldn't be happy. I'm talking about a SMALL island. Like really small.

-Dean.

Do really SMALL islands have broadband?

if you are serious you could approach the owners of the saltee island in wexford.
    fresh water supply, wabbits, shelter, in sight of land for mobile broadband

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,275 ✭✭✭✭8-10

if you are serious you could approach the owners of the saltee island in wexford.

Thought of saltee islands myself. Get a lot of birdwatchers travelling over in the summer though. What's Dalkey Island like? Very close to shore but how is it for visitors?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Head west young OP to Clew Bay

An island for every day of the year as the old saying goes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Don't worry about Broadband - there's satelitte boradband. You could set up a bank account and ask for sustenance donations from people. If you got 3/4 hundred people to commit to giving you €1 a week for every week you stay you'd have a good living money.

If you kept a Blog with pics and film you'd definately get interest. You could even set up a webcam.

DO IT!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Innisfree is still available. There used to be a mound of clay and wattles some arts student tried to make some sort of rudimentary cabin out of there but I burned it down. What an idiot that guy was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

You could enter the olympics when you get settled :D
    http://images.wikia.com/en.futurama/images/9/91/Nation_of_joe.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭diddlybit

Do it! Any keep us updated. You already have your lady-friends, enemies and govermnet sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Innisfree is still available. There used to be a mound of clay and wattles some arts student tried to make some sort of rudimentary cabin out of there but I burned it down. What an idiot that guy was.

He might get stung by some bees though.

Electricity and water will be an issue. But you can get the little charging windmills or solar.

You'd be constrained by which islands have fresh water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭MeerKat17

Head west young OP to Clew Bay

An island for every day of the year as the old saying goes

They say there's 366 on a leap year, and you can count them all from the top of Croagh Patrick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

since people used to live on them there's probably still houses there...?
    http://irishislands.info/census/graphs/numbers.html

always wanted my own island too :pac:

Don't worry about Broadband - there's satelitte boradband. You could set up a bank account and ask for sustenance donations from people. If you got 3/4 hundred people to commit to giving you €1 a week for every week you stay you'd have a good living money.

If you kept a Blog with pics and film you'd definately get interest. You could even set up a webcam.

DO IT!

Thats actually precisely what I had planned - minus the web cam as it might eat up data.

I'd make a few runs in a boat to unload supplies then live there for three months. Build a shelter. Update a blog. Tweet. Videos. Maybe set up a PayPal for small donations to pay the DATA charges.

There are cheap portable solar panels you can buy to power laptops, ipods etc for the blogging/vlogging.

It'd get interest all right but it'd mainly be for myself. Would be cool to do it.

But again, my main concern is some bureaucrat taking offence to this can sending over a few lads in uniform to remove me from the island. So does anyone know the legality of occupying a state island in a temporary shelter?

And even if it is illegal, are they likely to take any action?

storm2811 wrote: »
    since people used to live on them there's probably still houses there...?
    http://irishislands.info/census/graphs/numbers.html

always wanted my own island too :pac:

Still houses on many of the big islands. I'm thinking small at the minute however as I want to stay off the tourist trail...

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Electricity and water will be an issue. But you can get the little charging windmills or solar.

You'd be constrained by which islands have fresh water.

What about distilling and purifying sea water? Collecting rain water and boiling it. And of course a reserve supply of emergency bottled water.

But again, my main concern is some bureaucrat taking offence to this can sending over a few lads in uniform to remove me from the island. So does anyone know the legality of occupying a state island in a temporary shelter?

That would only add to the intrigue Sir. You might even get some supporters out there.

You should go out and declare it 'Deansland' and make yourself the King of 'Deansland' - you can make the rules then.

Maybe you could Knight me so I could help fend off the damn gubberment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

What about distilling and purifying sea water? Collecting rain water and boiling it. And of course a reserve supply of emergency bottled water.

Rain water doesn't need boiling if you can gather it in a clean container. Water only picks up the majority of contaminants after hitting the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

You can camp in a national park so long as you abide by certain rules.

Heres a list from Wicklow. Should be Universal anyway.

So, so long as your island is state owned, no problem. You could just write to the owner of an unoccupied island too. http://www.wicklowmountainsnationalpark.ie/WildCamping.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I fully support this venture and will donate my €1 if you leave.

Well have some common sense. To do it legally of course you'd have to find out who to ask permission from and then you'd have to ask permission.

And I imagine the bureaucracy involved could take years. Just finding the government agency that administers public land is probably hard enough and then who would you ask?

Honestly the best way would be to get the permission from a private owner and go to a privately owned island. It would probably be far far easier.

ps. I'll send a euro...

Still houses on many of the big islands. I'm thinking small at the minute however as I want to stay off the tourist trail...

Some of them are completely empty, doubt anyone would be visitin now..

storm2811 wrote: »
    Some of them are completely empty, doubt anyone would be visitin now..

So, even if it's illegal, if I just pitched up on an island, do you think anyone would care?

As long as I wasn't doing anything else illegal such as polluting, building a permanent structure etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Wabbits?

"Be vewy vewy quiet, I'm hunting wabbits"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

I'd say you'd be better off getting permission from the owner of a private island, an island that wouldn't have hundreds of tourists rowing out to see the looper who's living there and blogging about it. Can you imagine, you just get your nice shelter built,light the fire,and a boat load of gurriers arrive with a tent and some flaggens of cider.:mad:

So, even if it's illegal, if I just pitched up on an island, do you think anyone would care?

As long as I wasn't doing anything else illegal such as polluting, building a permanent structure etc...

no body would care. You'd be mad not to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

There is a fantastic island just off our coast with all the services and resources you need. Ignore the 60,000,000 million people living in it already.

If that doesn't suit, this group often set up on islands for short periods and should be able to give you advice. The legal ramifications are probably covered here, though it's aimed at halting sites and the like.

A blog could be good, approaching a TV production company could be better - I'd watch half an hour a week of you building your gaff, trying to set up a water supply, surviving storms, dealing with the isolation etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Are you familiar with Sealand OP?

http://www.sealandgov.org/

A written permit is required:

• When it is proposed to light a campfire. NOTE: The issuing of permits for campfires is currently suspended pending review.
    Applications for a permit should be made to Park HQ or the Park Information Office in writing, in person or by phone at least one working day (preferably longer) before the proposed camping trip.

SO you have to get a permit if you want to light a fire but you cant get a permit if you want to light a fire...

Don't let people water down your idealism. I say stick to the plan an occupy an uninhabited, unused, Island and declare it your kingdom.

Anything else is just wishy washy and won't generate the interest you will need to raise an army...

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Wabbits?

"Be vewy vewy quiet, I'm hunting wabbits"

thats how i tawk when im wabbit hunting!

ps were you at the shamrock and which one was yours?

You'd need an island with a fresh water source, somewhere that is easy to land a boat. Big enough for a few live stock and a vegetable patch. An island with trees would be good too, for shelter and to burn off the dead wood.

a large box of MRE's and a spaceblanket will do him!

This is the relevant Govt. Dept. for Islands Responsibility may be shared or agreed between them and the relevant local authority, depending on which island yo go for.

Not sure why people are posting the regulations for National Parks, they are not relevant. The NP's are not offshore. The island you have an eye on may be an SAC, SPA or NHA, Wildfowl Sanctuary or Nature Reserve though, which have different restrictions. Check here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Don't let people water down your idealism. I say stick to the plan an occupy an uninhabited, unused, Island and declare it your kingdom.

Anything else is just wishy washy and won't generate the interest you will need to raise an army...
    you could sell titles - 10e for a duke, earls 2 for a fiver

Nah, if no one lives there..then who'd know like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

You'll need a lot of money and a decent boat. Getting some sort of gaff shipped out and put together too.
    I stayed on an island for a week, its a complete pain in the hole.

InTheTrees wrote: »

SO you have to get a permit if you want to light a fire but you cant get a permit if you want to light a fire...

Fire would be the least of my worries. I'd just light one and if anyone comes over to me I imagine it'd be the last thing on their list of complaints.

Plus, my plan at the minute would be summer 2012 or summer 2013 depending on how things work out. So I won't be out there freezing my lad off in December!!

Paparazzo wrote: »
    You'll need a lot of money and a decent boat. Getting some sort of gaff shipped out and put together too.
    I stayed on an island for a week, its a complete pain in the hole.

I was thinking of a cheap second hand RIB to get stuff out there and eventually get me back.

Could you expand on your stay on an island? Did you just pop over and set up shop? Story pleeease :-)

Fire would be the least of my worries. I'd just light one and if anyone comes over to me I imagine it'd be the last thing on their list of offenses I get charged with.

Fixed it for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I was thinking of a cheap second hand RIB to get stuff out there and eventually get me back.

Could you expand on your stay on an island? Did you just pop over and set up shop? Story pleeease :-)

It was on a small lake in galway. Only about 300m row to the shore. It had a house that someone I knew owned and they gave it to me for a week. Bearing in mind if you have a small boat and you have any distance to travel across sea you'll need good weather. It was fairly windy in Dublin for 5 days non stop now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭CharlesHaughey

I personally think Dean0088 does have his own private island ATM, but I will say he'll go on about he is moving into one. He will then go onto land and take some photos of "his place" with username in front of him written on cardboard. Then travel back home and pretend he moved out to sea and is struggling.

And we'd have to give €1 a week each, 400 or 500 of us :rolleyes:

I personally think Dean0088 does have his own private island ATM, but I will say he'll go on about he is moving into one. He will then go onto land and take some photos of "his place" with username in front of him written on cardboard. Then travel back home and pretend he moved out to sea and is struggling.

And we'd have to give €1 a week each, 400 or 500 of us :rolleyes:

That the sort of stroke you'd have pulled in yer day CJ? Back when you lived here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

to spend on?... oh I get it this is a carlsberg island right? with a bar, drink, women and sunshine 365 days a year :pac: