Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we ban dangerous pet owners from owning animals?

• 01-05-2011 8:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭

It really gets my goat (no pun intended) to see people who own dangerous animals like pitbulls or rotweillers and have no idea how to train them or how to look after them. Some people seem to buy these animals as a status symbol or to look hard. Its both cruel on the animal and a potential danger to people. Theres a guy on my road who owns two pitbulls who constantly run out and chase people who walk by his house sometimes nipping kids. Lately there seems to be a ton of people who are buying huskies or simular breeds, these animals can be aggressive if not trained probaly. I realise that not all owners of potentially dangerous breeds are like this but should we ban certain breeds or at least make stricter rules for ownership of these dogs?

EDIT: I dont advocate banning dog breeds. The banning of breeds isnt my suggestion but one that was implemented in other countries and considered here.

Should we ban dangerous animals? 96 votes

No we shouldnt
    0% 0 votes
    Yes we should
    47% 46 votes
    No but the owning a dangerous breed should be regulated
    52% 50 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Any dog can be dangerous, where do you draw the line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Any dog can be dangerous, where do you draw the line?

Well most large animals can be dangerous and there are laws to ban these in place so you certainly have to draw the line somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I would rather ban dangerous owners and breeders ;)

Trouser snakes can be dangerous when in the wrong hands as well.
    Be careful with blanket bans though, the UK dangerous dogs act a few years ago caused a significant number of pets to be killed for no reason at all!

Outlaw the breeding of such animals, and the problem will just go away (or underground).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

steddyeddy wrote: »
    It really gets my goat (no pun intended) to see people who own dangerous animals like pitbulls or rotweillers and have no idea how to train them or how to look after them. Some people seem to buy these animals as a status symbol or to look hard. Its both cruel on the animal and a potential danger to people. Theres a guy on my road who owns two pitbulls who constantly run out and chase people who walk by his house sometimes nipping kids. Lately there seems to be a ton of people who are buying huskies or simular breeds, these animals can be aggressive if not trained probaly. I realise that not all owners of potentially dangerous breeds are like this but should we ban certain breeds or at least make stricter rules for ownership of these dogs?

There should be a ban on dog owners who have not trained theses dog properly

Most dogs are Aggressive because thats the way they are trained by the owners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

It really gets my goat when people post ill informed opinions that they're read in the paper about dangerous dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Theres a guy on my road who owns two pitbulls who constantly run out and chase people who walk by his house sometimes nipping kids.

Report this asap to the Gardai or dog warden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

has no one reported him, why are these dogs still there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It really gets my goat when people post ill informed opinions that they're read in the paper about dangerous dogs.

This is not limited to dangerous dogs.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Theres no way in hell im getting rid of my killer budgie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I have a dog that is considered to be a dangerous dog.

We got the dog neutred and did our best to raise her well. She is a proper pet. She loves people and is good with people but hates other dogs. She is extremely anti social with other dogs.

My dog gets on very well with people. Here is the thing about her and other dogs though. They can sense it when one is afraid of him/her and shows a dark side.

Far from it I worked for animal welfare groups in various countries. I have seen many breeds of dog put down due to the negligence of owners.

SeaFields wrote: »
    Report this asap to the Gardai or dog warden.

It was reported to the dog warden the dogs are being put down, I really dont think this is fair on the dogs tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

A husky has never heaved a rock at my window. We should ban your f**king kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Ban all purebreeding, then you wouldn't have people breeding dogs to be more and more violent and then selling to people (intentionally buying a violent breed to be a hard man) who do everything possible to make it more violent.

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I have a dog that is considered to be a dangerous dog.

We got the dog neutred and did our best to raise her well. She is a proper pet. She loves people and is good with people but hates other dogs. She is extremely anti social with other dogs.

My dog gets on very well with people. Here is the thing about her and other dogs though. They can sense it when one is afraid of him/her and shows a dark side.

Well your obiously a responsible dog owner. I agree with showing fear plenty of animals I worked with would be the exact same paticularly the more intelligent creatures. The problem there is people cant control fear, some people have a fear of dogs and cant turn it off around dogs that might attack them based on that fear. I would also say dogs show a dark side when they get in packs.

Bambi wrote: »
    A husky has never heaved a rock at my window. We should ban your f**king kids

I dont have kids how can they be thowing stones at your window :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

ilovesleep wrote: »
    They can sense it when one is afraid of him/her and shows a dark side.

I'm not sure you understand dogs completely, when people are excited around dogs the dogs will pick up on that themselves and get excited, same thing goes for fear, dogs will pick up on it and wonder what's going on so they'll have their guard up in case they're attacked.

It's rare to come across a vicious dog without them being conditioned to behave that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Would you ban bulls as well? I can gurantee you they will kill more people this year than than dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ban all purebreeding, then you wouldn't have people breeding dogs to be more and more violent and then selling to people (intentionally buying a violent breed to be a hard man) who do everything possible to make it more violent.

Have to disagree with you there crayolastereo, the only way I could have a dog in my apartment is by getting a purebreed, a crossbreed would trash the place and it wouldn't be fair on it keeping it indoors during the day. My dog sleeps most of the day and is happy out. :)

Mrmoe wrote: »
    Would you ban bulls as well? I can gurantee you they will kill more people this year than than dogs.

the difference is people dont have their bulls roam the streets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭whatsyourquota

As far as m aware I thought there was a list of certain dogs that had to wear muzzles all the time when in public.
    And huskies dangerous? They must be one of the friendliest dogs around unlike the little ****s like terriers etc but I suppose you can give those ones a big kick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Any dog with a bad, incompetent owner is likely to be dangerous. If a dog is not properly trained then it is a potential weapon. Labradors and Cocker Spaniels carry out a lot more attacks on humans than Pit Bulls and similar breeds do. But of course a Cocker Spaniel attack doesn't have the same hype, or media driven fear factor behind it I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Op you don' think it's fair but you want to ban all "dangerous" breeds! You're non sensical as a ban will lead to thousands of well behaved family pets being pts :-( There is no such thing as a dangerous breed only dangerous owners.
    You make me very angry and it takes a lot to get Barbiegirl angry

As far as m aware I thought there was a list of certain dogs that had to wear muzzles all the time when in public.
    And huskies dangerous? They must be one of the friendliest dogs around unlike the little ****s like terriers etc but I suppose you can give those ones a big kick

Huskies can be dangerous they are an energetic breed and can be dangerous if poorly trained, the same goes for related breeds like alaskan malamutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

Dogs are not dangerous animals :confused:

Found the link where it lists dogs that have to be muzzled at all times so I would definately report your neighbour if the dog is one of the breeds
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/animal_welfare_and_control/control_of_dogs.html

We bred huskies for years and years and never once can I think of an incident when they were aggressive to us or strangers and they would have come in contact with a lot of strangers. We must have been class at raising dogs

Jack Russells can be dangerous badly trained, poodles, retrievers, collies. Do you want to ban all dogs

Any dog with a bad, incompetent owner is likely to be dangerous. If a dog is not properly trained then it is a potential weapon. Labradors and Cocker Spaniels carry out a lot more attacks on humans than Pit Bulls and similar breeds do. But of course a Cocker Spaniel attack doesn't have the same hype, or media driven fear factor behind it I suppose.

I agree im not blaming the dog but the owners. There is definatly truth in the fact that some dogs are more dangerous than others, some were bred for fighting after all. As regards the media I can tell you that they certainly over report attacks by certain breeds like pitbulls. Then again a aggressive pitbull would be far more devasting than a aggressive terrier say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

TheZohan wrote: »
    Have to disagree with you there crayolastereo, the only way I could have a dog in my apartment is by getting a purebreed, a crossbreed would trash the place and it wouldn't be fair on it keeping it indoors during the day. My dog sleeps most of the day and is happy out. :)

Thats not taking into account the level of painful genetic defects and crossbreeds that can't be homed because everyone wants a Labrador is it though? I'm not aiming this at you personally, I just think overall, the way purebreeding currently operates is damaging.

barbiegirl wrote: »
    Op you don' think it's fair but you want to ban all "dangerous" breeds! You're non sensical as a ban will lead to thousands of well behaved family pets being pts :-( There is no such thing as a dangerous breed only dangerous owners.
    You make me very angry and it takes a lot to get Barbiegirl angry

Barbie girl I voted no in the poll but I think there need to be stricter ownership laws. Im simply asking the opinion of people here. There are some potentially dangerous breeds to say no dog is dangerous is a fallacy. There is more truth in the fact that the owners are more dangerous. Would you not be angry at the fact that two dogs considered dangerous breeds have been put down to to owner negligence.

EvilMonkey wrote: »
    Dogs are not dangerous animals :confused:

Are you telling me that the a modified wolf cannot be potentially dangerous? Are you telling me that dogs have never killed or harmed a human being?

Found the link where it lists dogs that have to be muzzled at all times so I would definately report your neighbour if the dog is one of the breeds
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/animal_welfare_and_control/control_of_dogs.html

We bred huskies for years and years and never once can I think of an incident when they were aggressive to us or strangers and they would have come in contact with a lot of strangers. We must have been class at raising dogs

Well fair play you must be a good breeder but huskies have been statisically involved with attacks on people, A 2000 study of dog bites resulting in human fatalities in the U.S. found fifteen such fatalities 6% of the total were caused by "husky-type" dogs between 1979 and 1997.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Violafy

Only if dangerous people are banned as well.

I don't have a source or anything, but I'd guess that people kill or injure a lot more people than dogs do.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

You sir, have not got a clue as to what you are talking about.

Shame on you for spouting sh1te...

The dogs were made dangerous by the owners lack of attention they were not born this way. The dogs on the restricted list are there because their bites can cause more damage rather than their temperments being more inclined to biting.
    Cars are dangerous, fires, glass bottles all dangerous in the wrong hands.should we ban them?
    Stricter animal welfare laws would be far better. Banning bad owners from owning any dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭_LilyRose_

Thats not taking into account the level of painful genetic defects and crossbreeds that can't be homed because everyone wants a Labrador is it though? I'm not aiming this at you personally, I just think overall, the way purebreeding currently operates is damaging.
    TheZohan wrote: »

Your current pure-bred dog may be very calm, but it's wrong to say that 'a crossbreed would trash the place'. Pedigree dogs are often more trouble than cross or mixed breed dogs, because of problems like inbreeding and genetic defects as crayolastereo has pointed out.
    A mixed breed dog from a rescue centre can be just as wonderful a pet as the pedigree dog you could pay hundreds for. It all depends on how a dog is treated and socialized in its first 8 weeks, and as for 'dangerous breeds', yes some breeds are naturally more inclined to aggression but with proper training and handling it shouldn't really be a problem. The breeders and owners are responsible for their dogs and if a dog is biting people, the people who raised it are to blame.

Jack Russells can be dangerous badly trained, poodles, retrievers, collies. Do you want to ban all dogs

The dangerous animals act in the 70s banned people from owning big cats because thier potentially dangerous (incidently thats the reason why there was so many large cat sightings in england in the 1970s). They didnt also ban the domestic cat, some types are more dangerous than others.

In Ireland? Point me to this act good sir.

The dogs were made dangerous by the owners lack of attention they were not born this way. The dogs on the restricted list are there because their bites can cause more damage rather than their temperments being more inclined to biting.
    Cars are dangerous, fires, glass bottles all dangerous in the wrong hands.should we ban them?
    Stricter animal welfare laws would be far better. Banning bad owners from owning any dog.

Thats exaclty what im in favour of. But I have to disagree with you that some dogs havent got a naturally agressive temperment. That would go against everything we know about animals. Some dog breeds such as the presa canario were breed for fighting.

Large cats are wild animals maybe two generations from the jungle, dogs have been domesticated for thousands of years. You're talking crap or trying to wind people up.

Bambi wrote: »
    In Ireland? Point me to this act good sir.

Northern ireland apoligies I should have pointed that out, ireland lacks a decent law to this effect.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dangerous_Wild_Animals_Act_1976

Large cats are wild animals maybe two generations from the jungle, dogs have been domesticated for thousands of years. You're talking crap or trying to wind people up.

Em no im not im pointing out that you cant lump all cats in together as dangerous just like you cant lump all dogs as dangerous. You seem to be attacking points im making while at the same time agreeing with them :confused:

F1ngers wrote: »

I know a lot more about it than you I can garuntee that. Could you point out were Im talking sh1te?

Northern ireland apoligies I should have pointed that out, ireland lacks a decent law to this effect.

Yeah ye should have but ye didnt. In this country i could take a tiger out for a walk and it would be legal, but a staff terrier needs to be muzzled and kept on a lead thanks to the joe duffy/evenin heddild/steddyeddy brigade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

As an owner of a restricted breed Id like to say your wrong. There is a culture of people in tracksuits you know the type who keep Roties and Pitbulls as an alternative to owning a gun or knife. Respectable owners have a hard enough time without those aholes making life more difficult.

F1ngers wrote: »

The most aggressive dogs i have met are jack russells (i own one by the way ) and chihuhuas (bad spelling) far more aggressive that rotties they just don't do as much damage so not restricted. Owners think they are too small and don't bother training small dogs.
    I stand that by my statement that no breed is more aggressive than another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Jesus Christ, the OP just asked a question, and already he's been called ignorant, has people getting angry at him, and has been told he should be ashamed of himself!

I personally think the owning of dangerous breeds should be regulated to some degree, in terms of the owners and breeders at least. I think that's a fairly moderate position to have.

Right I understand this is an emotive subject. To state first of all some people seem to be misreading me on several points Ill state my beliefs in this regard

• I voted no on the dogs ban. I dont want to ban any dogs I am a dog lover yet I worked in places were dogs were put down due to owner negligence, I have worked with people in animal control who saw people mauled by dogs.
    • I think owners are largley to blame for a dogs behaviour towards other humans
    • Some dogs are statisically more dangerous than others.

I am simply asking a question that has been asked by the media again and again.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fatal_dog_attacks_in_the_United_States

Read that and you cant possibly say that some breeds arent more aggressive than others. pit-bull comes up time and time again while plenty of other large dogs arent even featured.