Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No jobs in Ireland yet...

• 01-05-2011 5:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭

So there are "no jobs" in Ireland yet whenever I order delivery they always seem to find the employee with the worst possible English to answer the phone to take the order.

Today I ordered delivery from Supermacs on O'Connell street and I have to give my phone number to the girl 6 times. It was much like this Family Guy episode: http://youtu.be/2IaheLG-05U

You can't tell me they couldn't find an Irish person to work the phone for feck's sake.

I'm seriously considering boycotting establishments in Ireland that don't employ a majority of Irish people.

Employers: please employ a native English speakers to work the phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Ha deadly.

Racist

Why dont you get a foreign person to order for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i was in supermacs in o connell street a few weeks ago for the first time in years. it was absolutely horrific and ill never eat it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

If you ordered from somewhere that wasn't a kip maybe you'd get better service

benwavner wrote: »
    Ha deadly.

Racist
    And?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I don't know about having a majority of Irish people working in any establishment.
    That enters the realm of racial discrimination.

Any business that is worth its salt should have at least a decent speaker and someone that can easily pick up whats being said by most accents.

I know your pain OP. Been in the same situation at least three times a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I'm sorry but I watched "This is England" yesterday and you remind me of the Racist skinheads from this post :pac:

There are jobs around but you have too look.A friend of mine claims he's looking for a job all the time,his parents really forcing him to look for one since he's been doing **** all since doing his L two years ago.

So despite him trying to look for a job four of my friends found ones within two weeks of looking.

There are some jobs around but allot of people wont want them or do them as they dont see them in the right light i.e. working in supermacs etc.

(Dont get me wrong as well I'm not calling unemployed people lazy,just my friend)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

OP has a point and he isn't racist, although it might have looked a little better had he substituted this: 'You can't tell me they couldn't find an Irish person to work the phone for feck's sake[,]' for this: You can't tell me they couldn't find a person who understands and can speak English fluently, to work the phone for feck's sake.

And?

And?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

OP, a mate of mine owns a chipper if you are looking for a job.

And?

You could give an opinion on the matter.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

So there are "no jobs" in Ireland yet whenever I order delivery they always seem to find the employee with the worst possible English to answer the phone to take the order.

Today I ordered delivery from Supermacs on O'Connell street and I have to give my phone number to the girl 6 times. It was much like this Family Guy episode: http://youtu.be/2IaheLG-05U

You can't tell me they couldn't find an Irish person to work the phone for feck's sake.

I'm seriously considering boycotting establishments in Ireland that don't employ a majority of Irish people.

Will you continue to give your business to places that employ non Irish people who are native english speakers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Your having Supermacs for your Sunday dinner.....

And?
    And?
    And?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

That's a lot to do with the fact that the average Irish person would have laughed in your face if you offered them a job answering the phone in Supermacs a few years ago. These fordiners "tuk urr jerbs" when we wouldn't, so don't complain when they still have them now.

I do understand what you're saying about having a basic level of English though!

You could give an opinion on the matter.?

At least my first post in this thread had 13 more words than yours.

My opinion was summed up in one word "Racist".

It was a far better contribution than your attempt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Seloth wrote: »
    And?
    And now.... the end is near...

Biggins wrote: »
    And now.... the end is near...

No Biggins your doing it wrong...Your meant to Post And?

...:(

At least my first post in this thread had 13 more words than yours.

My opinion was summed up in one word "Racist".

It was a far better contribution than your attempt.

If "racist" constitutes the bulk of your post, why the fuk bother posting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭cancercowboy

Ha deadly.

Racist

Try harder Troll.

Careful now.

phasers wrote: »
    If you ordered from somewhere that wasn't a kip maybe you'd get better service

Exactly. It is a kip, and probably due to the people they employ. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ladysarastro

Supermacs do delivery? :eek:

how did i miss the wonderous event????

Careful now.

Down with this Sort of thing

....Sorry Mick :pac:

Supermacs do delivery? :eek:

how did i miss the wonderous event????

Supermacs have being delivering in Waterford for a few years now.

If "racist" constitutes the bulk of your post, why the fuk bother posting?

And what exactly have you contributed to the thread?

Maybe you should concentrate on posting your opinions on the situation instead of trolling.

You still have not stated your opinion.

And what exactly have you contributed to the thread?

Maybe you should concentrate on posting your opinions on the situation instead of trolling.

You still have not stated your opinion.
    I don't think OP is a racist. I think OP has a fair point. I think you should get down of your high horse.

Alright lads, kiss and make up, ah go on.

Fuk that for noise. We'll all keep it at a respectable disagreement for now.

dvpower wrote: »
    Will you continue to give your business to places that employ non Irish people who are native english speakers?

Sure. From a customer service perspective, it's dreadful speaking trying to give an order to a person who doesn't speak English properly.

As long as they can speak English, it's all good (regardless of their ethnicity). Sadly, they can't. They generally have a below average mastery of the English language. I speak some French but I wouldn't get off the plane and try to get a job in a customer services centre speaking French. You'd need to be there for years to get all the nuances, etc.

As an Irishman I'd like to see jobs being given to my fellow country men (regardless of ethnicity) than to people who are not going to settle here permanently. I think jobs should be given to Irish people first, wether they be ethnically Irish or just have Irish nationality.

We are nearing 15% unemployment, these jobs need to go to Irish people, if only to stave off immigration until opportunities improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Actually it's due to the disgusting food they serve and the knackers who eat there

Because they employ foreigners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭userod

I always get into a taxi with an Irish taxi driver. I don't like giving my money to the blacks who claim every benefit and exploit every hole we have in our system and probably came here illegally in the first place anyway or else have illegal roots. I agree with the OP charity starts at home and there's too many foreigners employed here.

I don't think OP is a racist. I think OP has a fair point. I think you should get down of your high horse.

How easy was that, you could have just said that in your first post.

I understand his posistion and I have been in that situation before. Obviously the person taking the order didnt understand the OP. Communication is a 2 way thing, maybe the OP isnt very clear when ordering. We only know one side of the story.

The below sentance is what I take exception to, which is in FACT a RACIST comment.

"I'm seriously considering boycotting establishments in Ireland that don't employ a majority of Irish people"

Now hows about you get off your little pony and onto a righteous stallion.

phasers wrote: »
    Actually it's due to the disgusting food they serve and the knackers who eat there

Have you tasted the 5oz burger they do?,fecking lovely so they are :)

Because they employ foreigners?

No because they employ people who don't do a good job. The racism allegations are getting a bit tired.

I guess you've never ordered delivery, or called customer service, and got someone on the phone who could barely communicate before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

The Irish welfare system is too generous for your average Irish person to take a minimum wage job. Irish people consider it to be "below their dignity".

Have you tasted the 5oz burger they do?,fecking lovely so they are :)

Actually I was ordering from them because they're doing Papa John's pizza now. Had in the states and it was deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

You seriously think that Wayne, Dylan, Josh & Co are going to get off their asses from the welfare to take your pizza order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

userod wrote: »
    I always get into a taxi with an Irish taxi driver. I don't like giving my money to the blacks who claim every benefit and exploit every hole we have in our system and probably came here illegally in the first place anyway or else have illegal roots. I agree with the OP charity starts at home and there's too many foreigners employed here.

Now, this is racist.

No because they employ people who don't do a good job. The racism allegations are getting a bit tired.

I guess you've never ordered delivery, or called customer service, and got someone on the phone who could barely communicate before.

If I thought you were a racist, you'd know.

Yes I have been on the phone with people who I can't communicate with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Me tireds of people who talk bad.

Now hows about you get off your little pony and onto a righteous stallion.
    Na thanks, think I'll chill here in my racist playground.
    I like it here.. Everyone has the balls to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

userod wrote: »
    I always get into a taxi with an Irish taxi driver.
    ummm... so please enlighten me: do you ask them for passport, a birth cert maybe? or a simple gas bill and a witness will sufice before you actually get into a taxi in the middle of the night and pi$$ing rain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Supermacs is considered fine dining out whest :cool:

Anyway, doesn't matter where they're from but it does matter they can't do their job.
    The girl in the deli in the local petrol station has woeful English, orders have to be repeated four times often.
    Or you resort to pointing what you want.

So welcome to Ireland but maybe a job in Tesco stacking shelves at night or in the warehouse where you are not front line would be better

whiteonion wrote: »
    The Irish welfare system is too generous for your average Irish person to take a minimum wage job. Irish people consider it to be "below their dignity".

Very true, and that needs to change. I've worked in fast food, done janitorial work, and now I work for as an IT Manager for a major beverage manufacturer.

I have never been on the dole, because being on the dole was below my dignity. Working, regardless of the job, would never be below my dignity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

when this country was booming no one gave a **** about foreigners working here. Typical Irish attitude now they want all the crappy jobs they would not entertain a few years ago.

Na thanks, think I'll chill here in my racist playground.
    I like it here.. Everyone has the balls to be honest.

Sigh, Now what are you talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭userod

wolf moon wrote: »
    ummm... so please enlighten me: do you ask them for passport, a birth cert maybe? or a simple gas bill and a witness will sufice before you actually get into a taxi in the middle of the night and pi$$ing rain?

Ya that's it ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Ha deadly.

Racist

A ffs, it's not racist at all! In fact the OP is touching on a very important point - in a job where communications skills are essential, why are some employers employing people who cannot speak English properly in a country where English is spoken by 98% of the native population?

I know first hand that some foreign nationals are employed in these menial minimum wage sort of jobs above some Irish people, even though their standard of English isn't as high as other candidates. The simple fact is these people are happy to work for less as the minimum wage in their own country is probably far lower than it is here.

Sigh, Now what are you talking about?

You're the one on about ponies and stallions.. What I said made sense since it's a well known phrase.