Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ATM stolen this morning!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

You never go ATM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

It was very strange last night in town, nearly every single ATM was out of service, I had to try 5 or 6 before I found one working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Looks like they stole half the house as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Looks like they had a smashing time. You could nearly say they brought the house down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭MeerKat17

Did no one notice this happening at the time?! It couldn't have been a quick job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Wouldn't have taken long. One or two scoops of the bucket would do that to a house no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Very creative. They must be given credit for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Subtlety is not their strong point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

House? It is a bank! Yes a BANKKKKKKKK.... mind you if it was a house that sure is a new way of getting yourself a revamp :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

shame the cnuts aren't under the rubble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

shame the cnuts aren't under the rubble

Looking at the pile I would not be surprised if they are! Someone should tap Mr Gard on the shoulder and tell him to check:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

That single Garda looks like everything is under control. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Spunge wrote: »
    Looks like they stole half the house as well

I wonder if the culprits knew or not if there was someone in the top floor...

I estimate there was about €30000-€40000 worth of damage plus the bank will be closed for the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

Here's a before shot.

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

You'd swear this was unheard of...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Looks like someone broke the bank on this little venture.

CorkMan wrote: »

What has that to do with anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I wonder if the culprits knew or not if there was someone in the top floor...

I estimate there was about €30000-€40000 worth of damage plus the bank will be closed for the week.

What bank? I wonder would the repair costs be thrown upon the taxpayer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

ilovesleep wrote: »

Er bank of Ireland? :rolleyes:

Nah reckon it would be an insurance job, its not a public building. Taxpayer
    might have to pay for them there sign posts to be fixed tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭double GG

At least my money is safe now from the banks that it's 'stolen'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Doop wrote: »
    Er bank of Ireland? :rolleyes:

Nah reckon it would be an insurance job, its not a public building. Taxpayer
    might have to pay for them there sign posts to be fixed tho!

The banks are very much public owned now. Weren't we sold to quinn insurance during the week? I suppose it depends on what insurance company they are with. The banks are very much fond of throwing us their bills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Just passed through there! Whole town is out gawking at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Hole in the wall:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Thieves, their a great bunch of lads.

What has that to do with anything?

ilovesleep wrote: »

What bank? The one they smashed in half...

Going by the JCB being left behind, I assumed that was stolen aswell... I think they are a clever lot, or maybe not clever...more know by habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

TheTechGuy wrote: »
    Here's a before shot.

Link

Looked like a nice building before it had the front ripped off it.

The thread you linked to. What has that to do with this?

apparently he believes a certain ethnic group was responsible.

The thread you linked to. What has that to do with this?

What in the name of hell are you talking about? CUZ I DON@T KNOW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

It's kind of funny ,looking at construction machinery being used like this.
    Considering the sh1t the banks put builders through.

nuxxx wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭hatz7

fair play to them, you gotta admire their 'can do' attitude :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Very creative. They must be given credit for that.
    De bank is in de bits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

apparently he believes a certain ethnic group was responsible.

Eskimos ?

Do they not know they "stole" much more than they did. I assume after the recent trend of ATM robberies the banks only kept the bare minimum in them, probably around €2000. So the 6 lads get Roughly €633 each while the cost of rebuilding is on the 10's of thousands.

I wonder if somebody will be caught......CCTV footage of the 6 thieves in a JCB breaking into the bank, now THAT would be a hit on youtube.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

It's their money, they just didn't want to fill out the forms.

Sure don't we own the banks now?

What in the name of hell are you talking about? CUZ I DON@T KNOW.

Well?

micky i would give up...he knows not what he does:D

Well?

I linked to the thread but it was because the thread was about crimes being committed, I am not pointing my finger at a certain ethnic group. There was no report detailing who committed the burglary, it's just the thread title of the link I posted was about crimes.

There are plenty of scumbags who would do this, and a large majority of scumbags (to use the non-swear word term) don't fit the background of an Irish Traveller. Now please don't turn away the thread, if we want to discuss this we'll make a new thread.

• CorkMan wrote: »
    Do they not know they "stole" much more than they did. I assume after the recent trend of ATM robberies the banks only kept the bare minimum in them, probably around €2000. So the 6 lads get Roughly €633 each while the cost of rebuilding is on the 10's of thousands.

I wonder if somebody will be caught......CCTV footage of the 6 thieves in a JCB breaking into the bank, now THAT would be a hit on youtube.

Where do I begin?

ATM's will have vastly more than €2k in them for a start. Imagine that the average withdrawal is approximately €100, that gives 20 withdrawals before the machine is out of order. The average machine will spend 80%+ of its time out of order if that is the case.

Even using your prediction of €2k, your simple division is wrong.
    €2000/6 = €333.33 per person.

Where do I begin?

ATM's will have vastly more than €2k in them for a start. Imagine that the average withdrawal is approximately €100, that gives 20 withdrawals before the machine is out of order. The average machine will spend 80%+ of its time out of order if that is the case.

Even using your prediction of €2k, your simple division is wrong.
    €2000/6 = €333.33 per person.

Sorry, let me emphasize. I mean they would have 2K at night only, for somebody who would need it after closing hours. During the day the ATM would be full.

Sorry for the miscalculation, I don't think have my Mathematician hat on ATM.

It's a bank holiday weekend aswell ,so it was probably well stocked.

It will be a long bank holiday for them folks :D

i would think there is no way of tracing the cash either unless a batch of new notes were in the machine with sequential numbers.

they may have to introduce a spoiling mechanism for the cash if the machine is mechanically tampered with in order to render this **** pointless.

Didn't read thread... Would it be a good idea to have a gps tracker hidden in each one?

It's crazy that this machinery is travelling around Ireland like this ,what's to stop some lunatic killing people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭ricman

Is it not possible to build a gps unit with movement sensors linked to wifi and mobile phone network, once theres any movement round the atm it triggers an alarm signals the gardai and private security centre atm unit at adress x is being attacked .every iphone has movement sensors connected to a gps unit ,ie the technology is already there ,gps ,plus mobile network plus alarm system ,Has nobody thought of this before?
    A unit on each atm say costs ten k ,it,ll pay for itself in a few years.
    they could even have webcams in the atms to give realtime video to the gardai.
    it seems like the average second hand bmw has better security than an atm.

We should be heading for cashless transactions altogether ,then the f**kers wouldn't be able to spend the money anyway.