Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2011: Irish people and helping people in distress

• 30-04-2011 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

WELL. This afternoon I decided to get my camera and go searching for historical sites I had read about in history books throughout the years.

Anyway, at about 3.30pm I ended up in a place named Ballyboggan on the Meath-Offaly border as it has the ruins of a late medieval Augustinian priory and formerly was a major site for Irish pilgrimages (until it was destroyed by iconoclasts in the 1530s).

I got out of the car with my camera and noticed a 'people carrier' across the road at the entrance to the priory. The people looked very upset and I could see their driver-side window was smashed in. It quickly transpired that they had American accents and had all their possessions robbed in the previous hour. Passports, tickets, money, cameras - everything. There were six people. They had just arrived in our country and were on the way to Athlone. They came across this site and went in to see it, locking their van before they left. The place is in the middle of nowhere. I would never expect anybody to go out there to rob them.

At any rate, they rang 911 and waited anxiously for the Garda to arrive. I asked them could I do anything and they told me they only had one phone as the others were stolen and they had to keep that free for the Hertz window repair guy (who seemed like a right unhelpful prick, also - he said he didn't know the place but could fix it for them when they got back to Dublin) to return their call. The principal woman was really angry that nobody stopped to ask if they were OK. I was getting more and more embarrassed as I heard what was going on. I got my phone out and googled the local garda station's number, they said they'd be out. 45 minutes more passed and they still hadn't appeared. The Americans rang the US Embassy and the Marine Officer there told them not to expect the Garda out because they don't appear. I was fúcking livid when the American man reported this back to me. I was going to show him the US Embassy guy was wrong. I rang the Garda station in Enfield twice more, and nobody answered the phone. I rang 911, spoke with the Garda headquarters for Meath in Navan and explained to the officer what was going on. She was very nice, but I really had to emphasise that there were six tourists next to me waiting for almost two hours for a garda to appear and this wait was adding hugely to their already awful experience in our country. Not only had they been robbed blind within three hours of arriving in our country, but the state, along with the numerous Irish people who passed them, was ignoring them.

Over two hours since this crime was reported two members of An Garda Síochána finally arrived on the scene to deal with six tourists who were in our country and going to undoubtedly spend a decent amount of money. I asked one of them, as nicely as I could: "What kept you?" He said: "We didn't know where the place was". I said "Do you not have gps on your phone?" The garda said that, and I kid you not, since the cutbacks they have been denied gps. "It's very useful", I said politely and quickly bade my goodbyes.

1. There's six people who will not be returning to our country anytime soon.

2. There's six people who have numerous friends and family to recount their story about not only An Garda Síochána but about the ordinary Irish people who passed them by as all six of them stood on the side of a road in rural Ireland clearly in distress and with the window of their people carrier smashed in.

3. My home was robbed last month so apologies if I feel the pain of these tourists too much. Stopping to see if you could help somebody in distress is the sort of basic help all of us should be willing to give to people. You're not being "conned" if you do this, if you show kindness and empathy. Aside from basic human decency, even if you're a cynical mé féiner moron, if you had two brain cells to rub together you'd know it makes economic sense to help six tourists to our country. Economically, you personally will benefit from more tourists and the money they bring to Ireland.

/end rant.

Would you help tourists/people if you saw them in distress? 79 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    azezilAstro1996KilOitrainbow kirbykelleseanybikermikemacWibbstallusNewaglishPrivate Snafufred funk }{Morporkangelfire9Axe Rakegalwayrushself_senteredtommy21Cavehill RedThe Scientician 79 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Ringing 911 no wonder nobody showed - 999 or 112

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

pics or gtfo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

No
    I think I read somewhere that 911 works too. Anyway op plenty of **** happens the people living here,i would consider that more important. Stuff has happened me in other countries,wouldn't stop me going back.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

No
    Gardaí are slow to attend unless there is an injury. Fair play to you for helping out.

When we are in Dingle, I usually stumble on car loads of tourists puzzled by the sign posts,it's a good feeling to help them out and to tell them of other sites in the area. A small thing, but one they might remember in a good light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

No
    I'm an American, and when I was in Ireland I found people to be quite helpful and friendly if I ever looked obviously lost or confused. So I don't think you can generalize based on this one incident.

I also don't understand why they would expect help to magically appear quite quickly in a rural area, nor why they think the police would show up right away; a car getting broken into isn't an urgent crime.

Finally, it was incredibly stupid of these people to leave their valuables in the car, especially their phones and passports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

No
    Ah some people don't wanna get involved in other people's problems. Sometimes with good reason. If I see an obvious tourist who needs help I'll usually offer it, but then you don't know but you could frighten them. I'd guess most Irish people would stop and help a tourist. I have American friends who said that Irish people were the most helpful they met in Europe with regard to directions, recommendations etc. In other countries they tended to get short shrift, probably partially because of the language barrier.

Me and a mate stopped a guy mugging this Spanish girl one time on North Frederick St. but that could have ended badly had the f--ker turned on us. He just legged it.

Another time, my brother, a few friends, and myself, helped a guy who was having an epileptic fit on a pavement in the city centre. His mates emerged from a nearby pub and started raring on us, even though we possibly saved the guy's life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

No
    You made the poll public

Well of course nobody is going to vote no so they don't look a right ****

You're going to end up with every vote for yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

No
    Dionysus wrote: »
    The place is in the middle of nowhere. I would never expect anybody to go out there to rob them.

On this point, I've been to various not so popular tourist sites around the country and several of them have had prominent, Beware of Thieves signs up. It's a common enough problem in isolated areas. People familiar with an area can probably guess how long visitors are going to be away from the car parks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Visiting some historical site and all their money with them? Did they put a big neon "please steal from us" sign on the car?

Tell me, if you were going to the States with your family \ mates and were on the way to your hotel from the airport, even if it were to stop to get food... would you leave all your money in the car? Would you bring it all in cash?

Two hours for the guards to call to a robbery is not huge. It took 40 min for a fecking ambulance to get to a serious accident ten minutes away from a hospital recently.

Im sorry there are scum bags in this country, but there are scum bags in every country. The guards are public servants, and there are other things that take priority.

They had a shítty day, shítty first day of your holiday experience and i feel sorry for them, but what could the average joe do if they stopped? Bring them home for the táe??

Knowing the guards couldint make it for two hours, and lets say every single car coulda stopped. What would you have them do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

No
    Oranage2 wrote: »
    Ringing 911 no wonder nobody showed - 999 or 112

Don't be an obnoxious idiotic prick, Oranage2: if you ring 911 it's the same as ringing 999. Next time, stay in touch with government advertisements to this effect.

No
    Don't be an obnoxious idiotic prick, Oranage2: if you ring 911 it's the same as ringing 999. Next time, stay in touch with government advertisements to this effect.

Why all the hostility?

Oh, and I have to wonder: did the government make that possible because of all the silly Americans dialing 911 and wondering why nothing was happening? :p

No
    I'm an American, and when I was in Ireland I found people to be quite helpful and friendly if I ever looked obviously lost or confused. So I don't think you can generalize based on this one incident.

I also don't understand why they would expect help to magically appear quite quickly in a rural area, nor why they think the police would show up right away; a car getting broken into isn't an urgent crime.

Finally, it was incredibly stupid of these people to leave their valuables in the car, especially their phones and passports.

In fairness to them, this place is no Monasterboice or Mellifont (where signs abound warning people not to leave valuables); there was no warning signs at all, and they did lock their van. It's on a regional road with parking for, perhaps, two cars. Judging by the absence of the OPW sign on the priory it doesn't even appear to be a National Monument.
    Why all the hostility?

Alternatively, you could have asked: why the stupid patronising response in the first place? You didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I asked one of them, as nicely as I could: "What kept you?" He said: "We didn't know where the place was". I said "Do you not have gps on your phone?" The garda said that, and I kid you not, since the cutbacks they have been denied gps. "It's very useful", I said politely and quickly bade my goodbyes.
    Oh my God, some of them probably didn't have iPhones :rolleyes: and sure what good are they if they don't have state sponsored data plans. :mad:

No
    In fairness to them, this place is no Monasterboice or Mellifont (where signs abound warning people not to leave valuables); there was no warning signs at all, and they did lock their van. It's on a regional road with parking for, perhaps, two cars. Judging by the absence of the OPW sign on the priory it doesn't even appear to be a National Monument.

No, sorry, there is no "in fairness to them" here. When you are abroad, the most valuable thing you have is your passport. I would never leave my passport, phone, or wallet in the car ANYWHERE, much less in a foreign country. In addition, you never EVER leave all of your valuables together in the same place. This was just plain dumb.
    Alternatively, you could have asked: why the stupid patronising response in the first place? You didn't.

Because leaving all of your valuables in the car, calling 911 (instead of the local emergency number) and then raging when the police don't drop everything they are doing to help you just sounds like the ultimate stereotype of the obnoxious American tourist - and I say that as an American. So given your description of what happened, I don't think that a somewhat patronizing response was unwarranted - especially since this is AH. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

What do you want irish people to do?

If you got robbed in the states do you think the Police are gonna show up with CSI's best crack team, sniffer dogs, an irish ambassador and overhead chopper?

No, it's very unfortunate thats theres scumbags here but there are scumbags everywhere - And if anything, Ireland has showed these tourists how to look after their most important belongings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Its after hours, its all about one liners and smart comments. You may as well go into the disco and ask why are they playing all the loud music.

No
    calling 911 (instead of the local emergency number) and then raging when the police don't drop everything they are doing to help you just sounds like the ultimate stereotype of the obnoxious American tourist - and I say that as an American.

911 is a "local emergency number", as is 112 and 999: all three numbers get you to the same place. This has already been stated. This was well advertised by the Irish government in the past few years. Assuming somebody is stupid for ringing it and deriding him in a post is ironic given this reality. If you're going to argue, at least have your facts correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭CK2010

when myself and the boyfriend were climbing the sugarloaf a while back some woman, a local, climbed up as quick as she could to tell us there was a bunch of people trying to break into our car, she had the reg of the van the people were in and she gave us her phone number in case we needed to contact her. thankfully the car was still as we left it. not all irish people just walk on.

No
    ScumLord wrote: »
    Oh my God, some of them probably didn't have iPhones :rolleyes: and sure what good are they if they don't have state sponsored data plans. :mad:

:rolleyes: More of this supercilious ráiméis. I don't have an iphone but I managed to get a phone for €89 which had gps on it. Considering they are gardaí, it might be handy for them - you know, to get to a place quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

No
    the ordinary Irish people who passed them by as all six of them stood on the side of a road in rural Ireland clearly in distress and with the window of their people carrier smashed in.

Did the group try to flag anyone down?

If someone is driving along a road like this and gets flagged down then of course the driver will stop, it was 3:30pm so bright.

You met them because you were stopping there anyway.
    But the tourists stand at the side of road, well they have to get drivers attention if they want help, people aren't mind readers and they mighn't spot the broken window at 40km per hour or whatever speed they are doing

If I was driving by unless they signal me, I'll stay driving

No
    Did the group try to flag anyone down?

If someone is driving along a road like this and gets flagged down then of course the driver will stop, it was 3:30pm so bright.

You met them because you were stopping there anyway.
    But the tourists stand at the side of road, well they have to get drivers attention if they want help, people aren't mind readers and they mighn't spot the broken window at 40km per hour or whatever speed they are doing

If I was driving by unless they signal me, I'll stay driving

Fair point: I would have flagged somebody down as well. However, with her smashed driver-seat window and the six of them standing around the van (two crying) she seemed to expect that people would automatically stop. I did suggest to her that people wouldn't expect robberies in this part of the country and that might explain why they didn't stop, and she felt somewhat better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭celj

Was robbed in Spain.
    Spanish police not great.
    Will go back to Spain at some stage.
    End of story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

think youve hit the nail on the head about the people passing by - they wont stop unless you wave them down - it wouldnt be very obvious that they had car trouble anyway but they were at a spot where you typically park too (for the historical site)

as for the guards - their response time usually is something like a few hours unless someone was hurt or eg. it was a big accident on a motorway (obstructions) - they do get plenty of call outs - im not saying the response time is good, just understandable if theyre busy.

GPS phones - it could be that they arent supplied with mobiles by their bosses and perhaps they had older model phones that had no gps. i dont know - we can only speculate on that one. but if they have trouble finding somewhere dont they ring dispatch? it can be hard to relay directions over the phone in places so rural where some roads arent even on a map i guess.

ive travelled and toured on a bus for a few weeks. stayed in hostels. always kept my passport and phone on me when i went hillwalking etc. then slept with passport, phone and money under my nightshirt - no safety deposit boxes there. i didnt have all the money with me though - i kept some safe with a friend. its just common sense to take extra extra care with this stuff cos you never know when opportunists will be about.
    i doubt they do this in america - maybe they somehow felt ireland would be safer as many an american has an old fashioned country bumpkin type ideas about ireland. it was stupid - but i hope they got it sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,579 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

In fairness, the Gardai should have up to date GPS in every car as standard. Worthy of some separate funding I would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Xplor.er

i know from a few experiences to stay the f**k away! iv helped people on a few occasions and all i got in return was the gardai constantly ringing me asking for information that i hadnt got, and organising interviews/statements.
    im someones life was in danger i would defently help, but other than that i try and leave it to the authorities

No
    911 is a "local emergency number", as is 112 and 999: all three numbers get you to the same place. This has already been stated. This was well advertised by the Irish government in the past few years. Assuming somebody is stupid for ringing it and deriding him in a post is ironic given this reality. If you're going to argue, at least have your facts correct.

Why would Americans know this given that the IRISH government was advertising it? It's not advertised in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

They can't follow the advice from their own fúcking State Dept? **** em.
    CRIME: Ireland has a low rate of violent crime. There have been a limited number of assaults on foreigners and tourists, including violence toward members of racial minority groups. There have also been several reported assaults in Dublin by small, unorganized gangs roaming the streets in the early morning hours after the pubs close. There has been a high incidence of petty crime in major tourist areas—mostly theft, burglary, and purse-snatching. Thieves target rental cars and tourists, particularly in the vicinity of tourist attractions. In some cases, purse and bag-snatching have involved physical assault or violence, especially in Dublin. Take extra caution to guard your passports and wallets. We recommend you travel with a copy of the biographic data page of your passport in a secure location separate from your purse or luggage in case something happens.

No
    Originally Posted by Dionysus
    Nevore wrote: »
    They can't follow the advice from their own fúcking State Dept? **** em.

The State Department also tells us that:
    The local equivalent to the “911” emergency line in Ireland are 999 and 112.

So, yes, for am American to call 911 in Ireland is stupid. Luckily the Irish government recognizes that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 AccuTip

At any rate, they rang 911 and waited anxiously for the Garda to arrive. I asked them could I do anything and they told me they only had one phone as the others were stolen and they had to keep that free for the Hertz window repair guy (who seemed like a right unhelpful prick, also - he said he didn't know the place but could fix it for them when they got back to Dublin) to return their call. The principal woman was really angry that nobody stopped to ask if they were OK. I was getting more and more embarrassed as I heard what was going on. I got my phone out and googled the local garda station's number, they said they'd be out. 45 minutes more passed and they still hadn't appeared. The Americans rang the US Embassy and the Marine Officer there told them not to expect the Garda out because they don't appear. I was fúcking livid when the American man reported this back to me. I was going to show him the US Embassy guy was wrong. I rang the Garda station in Enfield twice more, and nobody answered the phone. I rang 911, spoke with the Garda headquarters for Meath in Navan and explained to the officer what was going on. She was very nice, but I really had to emphasise that there were six tourists next to me waiting for almost two hours for a garda to appear and this wait was adding hugely to their already awful experience in our country. Not only had they been robbed blind within three hours of arriving in our country, but the state, along with the numerous Irish people who passed them, was ignoring them.

Over two hours since this crime was reported two members of An Garda Síochána finally arrived on the scene to deal with six tourists who were in our country and going to undoubtedly spend a decent amount of money. I asked one of them, as nicely as I could: "What kept you?" He said: "We didn't know where the place was". I said "Do you not have gps on your phone?" The garda said that, and I kid you not, since the cutbacks they have been denied gps. "It's very useful", I said politely and quickly bade my goodbyes.

is the sort of basic help all of us should be willing to give to people. You're not being "conned" if you do this, if you show kindness and empathy. Aside from basic human decency, even if you're a cynical mé féiner moron, if you had two brain cells to rub together you'd know it makes economic sense to help six tourists to our country. Economically, you personally will benefit from more tourists and the money they bring to Ireland.

QUOTE]

iv had my house broken into twice and property was stolen. the gardai didnt come out to us the night i rang them. there is not much they could have done anyway! i think ringin the embassy/marine officer was bit overboard. People are robbed all the time!
    we live in some relativly rural parts of the country, these can de hard to find.
    as to the gps thats for the guards themselfs to request more finance for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

The State Department also tells us that:

So, yes, for am American to call 911 in Ireland is stupid. Luckily the Irish government recognizes that.
    Why is it stupid? 911 redirects to the emergency services.

No
    Nevore wrote: »
    Why is it stupid? 911 redirects to the emergency services.

This. It has been said numerous times but doesn't seem to be sinking in. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Are we going to call a swat team out for every group of dumb tourists who leave all their worldly possessions in full view in a car? Sorry, I'll give directions and whatever else but I'm not minding people who behave like children and can't look after their stuff.

No
    Why would Americans know this given that the IRISH government was advertising it? It's not advertised in the US.
    So, yes, for am American to call 911 in Ireland is stupid.

Em, as stated in the OP I rang 911 as well, fully conscious that it was the same as ringing 112 and 999. Why are you having so much difficulty accepting that 999/911/112 are all answered by precisely the same service in Ireland? You keep calling people stupid for ringing 911 in Ireland. For the reason mentioned several times on this thread they, obviously, are not. You, on the other hand, persist in calling them stupid.

No
    Em, as stated in the OP I rang 911 as well, fully conscious that it was the same as ringing 112 and 999. Why are you having so much difficulty accepting that 999/911/112 are all answered by precisely the same service in Ireland? You keep calling people stupid for ringing 911 in Ireland. For the reason mentioned several times on this thread they, obviously, are not. You, on the other hand, persist in calling them stupid.

Go back and read your original post. You said THEY rang 911. Specifically:
    At any rate, they rang 911 and waited anxiously for the Garda to arrive.

So going from that, and combined with the fact that they were 1) dumb enough to leave their valuables in the car, 2) were mad the police did not show up quickly to a rural area to deal with a car break-in and 3) obviously did not read any of the readily available State Department information about theft and emergencies in Ireland, then, yes, I think we are entitled to find these people a bit silly.

And it's AH. Calm the fcuk down.

No
    Go back and read your original post. You said THEY rang 911.

Now, had you read the next paragraph you would have discovered that I also rang 911 on their behalf. But, wait, it's not possible for two people to ring the same number? You never got that far in the post before calling people "stupid"?

Perhaps before you insult people you might put some thought into your post. It would be better than insulting people and then getting intemperate when they point out that if there's "stupidity" here, it's not on their part for ringing 911 instead of 999. A good start might have been to 1) read the OP fully and 2) be aware that ringing 911 gets you through to the same service in Ireland as ringing 999 and 112 does.

No
    Now, had you read the next paragraph you would have discovered that I also rang 911 on their behalf. But, wait, it's not possible for two people to ring the same number? You never got that far in the post before calling people "stupid"?

Perhaps before you insult people you might put some thought into your post. It would be better than insulting people and then getting intemperate when they point out that if there's "stupidity" here, it's not on their part for ringing 911 instead of 999. A good start might have been to 1) read the OP fully and 2) be aware that ringing 911 gets you through to the same service in Ireland as ringing 999 and 112 does.

Can you please tell me one thing these tourists did that wasn't stupid? Especially given the information that their home government makes publicly available about Ireland?

And given your response to ornage2 on the first page, you have some nerve calling other posters intemperate.

The Guards are just a slow bunch in general... We got robbed in our house in college at knife point but one of the guys got a call off to the guards before they got to his bedroom. The call was "this is my address, we are currently being robbed.. they are in our house right now with weapons".

The scumbags there for half an hour looking for money that a drug dealer that moved out owed them and were arguing among themselves what to do with the house. Really lucky they didn't find our rent money.

Eventually, we got them to leave and 5 minutes later, the guards arrived. 35 minutes to make it to a house in central Galway City.. And then when they arrived, they barely believed our story even though the door was kicked in.
    We never got a call from a detective as promised, they stayed all of 5 minutes leaving with a "you think this is funny?"..

Moved out at 5am.. Zero help for victim, zero search for perpetrator. I wish I had said there was a guy dealing dope outside and they would have been there in 5 minutes, not the 35 minutes it takes for armed robbery in progress.

As for this thread, stop going on about which number to call.. They all get through to the same number. Literally nobody reading the thread cares in the slightest.

So going from that, and combined with the fact that they were 1) dumb enough to leave their valuables in the car, 2) were mad the police did not show up quickly to a rural area to deal with a car break-in and 3) obviously did not read any of the readily available State Department information about theft and emergencies in Ireland, then, yes, I think we are entitled to find these people a bit silly.

Nothing they did caused them to get robbed. And nothing they did caused them to have such a long wait for help afterwards.
    Leaving valuables in a car didn't make them get robbed.. It made the robbery worse but certainly not their fault. Your posts fit in with the generic American stereotype alot more than the poor tourists who got robbed.. You're way way way off the mark and really have no idea what the fuk you're on about.

I've rang 911 in Ireland before and I'm an Irish citizen.. If you think that makes me stupid, then fuk off. There's a difference between stupidity and not knowing which number to dial in an emergency.

No
    Nothing they did caused them to get robbed. And nothing they did caused them to have such a long wait for help afterwards.
    Leaving valuables in a car didn't make them get robbed.. It made the robbery worse but certainly not their fault. Your posts fit in with the generic American stereotype alot more than the poor tourists who got robbed.. You're way way way off the mark and really have no idea what the fuk you're on about.

I've rang 911 in Ireland before and I'm an Irish citizen.. If you think that makes me stupid, then fuk off. There's a difference between stupidity and not knowing which number to dial in an emergency.
    How is leaving your money and passport in the car not incredibly stupid? I'm not saying they deserved to get robbed but that doesn't make it any less dumb. It's like walking home solo at 3am - yeah it sucks to get robbed but walking home solo at 3am is stupid.

And I do think it is irresponsible to not know what to do in an emergency when in another country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Comedy interlude (sometimes not worth helping them)

How is leaving your money and passport in the car not incredibly stupid? I'm not saying they deserved to get robbed but that doesn't make it any less dumb. It's like walking home solo at 3am - yeah it sucks to get robbed but walking home solo at 3am is stupid.

And I do think it is irresponsible to not know what to do in an emergency when in another country.

If you're not saying they deserved to get robbed, then what are you saying and why are you bothering? The thread is about the response from the Irish, not about what they lost... How can you not see that? Why are you going off on a stupid tangent?

No
    If you're not saying they deserved to get robbed, then what are you saying and why are you bothering? The thread is about the response from the Irish, not about what they lost... How can you not see that? Why are you going off on a stupid tangent?

Because it's not clear to me how much more 'the irish' are supposed to do in that situation. The entire thread is predicated on some kind of perceived failure by the Irish people whereas based on what the OP said, the situation unfolded pretty much as would be expected: the police will be slow to show up for a non-emergency, the Embassy will not intervene for a non-emergency, and in a rural area people are not going to be passing by every 2 minutes to help. And nobody randomly passing by is going to know that these people are confused tourists who have been in the country for 3 hours so I don't understand all of the hysteria in the op about the Americans getting a bad impression of Ireland from all of this; if anything, the way it's presented leaves a bad impression of the tourists.

A bad presentation for the tourists? Yep.. Because people act rationally when they get everything stolen of them in a new country.

And again, why are you going on about them bein stupid for leaving stuff in the car.. It's irrelevant.

No
    Oh, and I have to wonder: did the government make that possible because of all the silly Americans dialing 911 and wondering why nothing was happening? :p
    I'd say it's more likely to be silly Irish people who watched too much American TV.

It was definitely their mistake to leave their valuables in their car, but I wouldn't be too hard on them. To be fair, no one is vigilant all the time, and in a foreign country with probably a far lower population than where they come from, it would have been easy to feel it was safe. However I don't understand why they just stood there, two of them crying. Surely they would have gotten in the car and driven to the nearest village instead of waiting for someone to stop for them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

When you rang 911 did CSI Miami show up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

two hours since this crime was reported two members of An Garda Síochána finally arrived on the scene to deal with six tourists who were in our country and going to undoubtedly spend a decent amount of money.
    Economically, you personally will benefit from more tourists and the money they bring to Ireland.

So we should only be helping these people because they appear to have money? Very cynical reason to be helping those in need since you mentioned it at least three times in you op.

Maybe the gardai were busy helping people who pay taxes in this country? It's a bank holiday weekend, and so of course gardai are going to be very busy. I really don't think this has anything to do with Irish people and an inability to help people in distress, but more to do with gardai cutbacks and staff shortages in rural settings.
    If this had occurred in the centre of Dublin, there would be lots of people helping them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

In fairness, it was not an emergency. Even dialling 999/112/911 is more for crimes in progress rather than when you come back to find your belongings gone but the thief with them. They could have proceeded to the local police station to make a report. I am all for helping out and am sorry they were the victim of a crime but as a group they do sound particularly helpless.
    www.112.ie wrote:
    It is recommend that you dial 112 in urgent, genuine cases of emergency where someone’s life, health, property or the environment is in danger, or if there is any reason to assume this to be the case.

You should not dial 112 in non-urgent matters or just to make enquiries.

When reporting a crime which is not an emergency, please contact your local Garda Station. You can find contact details for your local Garda Station or via the normal directory enquiry services.

No
    Can you please tell me one thing these tourists did that wasn't stupid?

Oh brother. :rolleyes:

Jesus Christ. After all you've been told in this thread, you have to be trolling now.

No
    panda100 wrote: »
    So we should only be helping these people because they appear to have money? Very cynical reason to be helping those in need since you mentioned it at least three times in you op.

In the same post I did also mention the following:
    Stopping to see if you could help somebody in distress is the sort of basic help all of us should be willing to give to people. You're not being "conned" if you do this, if you show kindness and empathy. Aside from basic human decency, even if you're a cynical mé féiner moron, if you had two brain cells to rub together you'd know it makes economic sense to help six tourists to our country. Economically, you personally will benefit from more tourists and the money they bring to Ireland

So, your above conclusion really has no basis, does it. The reason why financial benefit was mentioned was that the sort of people who wouldn't help would be people who would be more influenced by that argument than an argument about doing the decent thing.

No
    blorg wrote: »
    In fairness, it was not an emergency. Even dialling 999/112/911 is more for crimes in progress rather than when you come back to find your belongings gone but the thief with them. They could have proceeded to the local police station to make a report. I am all for helping out and am sorry they were the victim of a crime but as a group they do sound particularly helpless.

This is very true. However, 1) they were Yanks who didn't know where they were and thus where the nearest Garda station was and 2) I tried ringing the local Garda station an hour after they first reported it and only when there was no answer there did I ring 911/112/999 in order to get in touch with another Garda station.