Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's off to Cardiff then?

• 30-04-2011 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Right so the two semi's are done and dusted (from an Irish perspective anyway), who's heading to the final weekend in Cardiff then?

How are ye getting there? I'm booked onto the 9.15 sailing from Rosslare to Fishguard on the Friday with a train to get onto in Fishguard at some obscene hour in the morning.

How are the rest of ye (who are going) getting there?

Are you going to Cardiff for the finals weekend? 128 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    75%
    TrojanBabyEaterPaulwjustsomeblokeAmzBlisterman[Deleted User]SoundWaveSundyBig NellyROVER[Jackass]DowntimecopaceticfaigsObelisk29Leslie91markestBluredadrian522 96 votes
    Gavin Henson
    25%
    Peter BCrashJilmhardCopyHippoOtaconCormicBeaucastieanonymous_joetolosenckc66Tim RobbinsHogzyvangtomred1HazysScrubsfanChrisKentoWeeBushy 32 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Waesfjord

pithater1 wrote: »
    Right so the two semi's are done and dusted (from an Irish perspective anyway), who's heading to the final weekend in Cardiff then?

How are ye getting there? I'm booked onto the 9.15 sailing from Rosslare to Fishguard on the Friday with a train to get onto in Fishguard at some obscene hour in the morning.

How are the rest of ye (who are going) getting there?

do you know hat time you arrive in Cardif at - need accomodation or is it a redeye, arrive at Cardiff at 4-5am?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

No
    brian1976 wrote: »
    do you know hat time you arrive in Cardif at - need accomodation or is it a redeye, arrive at Cardiff at 4-5am?

Arrive in Cardiff around the 5am mark. Haven't thought of accommodation yet, hopefully the OLSC shall come up to some arrangement with a rugby club in Cardiff the same way they did in Edinburgh 2 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

No
    Booked my flights in January but didn't want to even talk about it in case I jinxed things. Flying into Birmingham and renting a car to drive down. Should be a bit of fun. Hoping to camp down in Cardiff. Hotels are a non runner due to cost and availability.

No
    Keep an eye on lf.com GerM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Arrive in Cardiff around the 5am mark. Haven't thought of accommodation yet, hopefully the OLSC shall come up to some arrangement with a rugby club in Cardiff the same way they did in Edinburgh 2 years ago.

Word is they're looking into it anyways.

Got offered a few tickets, but can't make it myself, have exams :( (just like fecking 2009).

Swear to God, they better still be doing well when I graduate. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

No
    Keep an eye on lf.com GerM

Will do. Post there a fair bit so will be hoping they organise a similar situation to Edinburgh! Don't fancy sleeping in the car but will do so if needed. Cheers for the heads up though!

No
    Word is they're looking into it anyways.

Got offered a few tickets, but can't make it myself, have exams :( (just like fecking 2009).

Swear to God, they better still be doing well when I graduate. :pac:

Here's hoping, I SWEAR TO JESUS IF I HAVE TO STAY IN BLOODY SWANSEA AGAIN!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Brenireland

Gavin Henson
    Would be a dream to get over to that final,but doubtful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Gavin Henson
    Going to be in Toulouse for it, ironically.

No
    £20 per night, fair play to the OLSC on the ball as ever :D

https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Official-Leinster-Supporters-Club/196189359637

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Very quickly done, fair play to them. Camping sounds like great craic!

No
    Very quickly done, fair play to them. Camping sounds like great craic!

Think I may have found my lodgings alright :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

No
    Booked the tickets, hotel and train back in January. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭niceoneted

No
    Going, have tickets since Jan. Booked ferry few weeks ago, Rosslare to Pembroke. Thankfully have a family member living just outside Cardiff - great for all the games. They have a big garden might see will they do camping! Cannot wait. Great venue.
    Great atmosphere today in Aviva.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

No
    I am on ticketmaster.ie which i am having difficulty . They are only delivering to the Uk (even through the .ie site) and cant see a way around this. What have other people done for this.

Please help quick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭niceoneted

No
    Do you know anyone in the UK who's address you could use?

No
    Loving the amount of people who chose 'Gavin Henson' :D

I hear the ferries from Dublin and particularly, Rosslare are getting a bit full, never fear for you can get a ferry from Cork to Swansea, or for those more adventurous among you, from Belfast to Liverpool.

No
    chris85 wrote: »
    I am on ticketmaster.ie which i am having difficulty . They are only delivering to the Uk (even through the .ie site) and cant see a way around this. What have other people done for this.

Please help quick?

Are you a Leinster season ticket holder? If so enter the ticket raffle. Although from my experience in Edinburgh in 09, you shouldn't have much trouble getting tickets in Cardiff.

No
    Are you a Leinster season ticket holder? If so enter the ticket raffle. Although from my experience in Edinburgh in 09, you shouldn't have much trouble getting tickets in Cardiff.

I ended up ringing ticketmaster at 1am and they were open. They have a 24 hour line. Booked tickets with them no issues. Getting the tickets Fedex'd to me as well. It was a number for ROI customers. Unsure why the issue booking online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Barack Obama

No
    I ended up ringing ticketmaster at 1am and they were open. They have a 24 hour line. Booked tickets with them no issues. Getting the tickets Fedex'd to me as well. It was a number for ROI customers. Unsure why the issue booking online.

I'm in the same boat. What was the number you rang? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

What is the likely hood of getting tickets in the season ticket holder draw. Trrying to figure out if I should purchase online or just go through the draw.

No
    I'm in the same boat. What was the number you rang? :confused:

0818903001. Looks like will be camping also. Now to figure out how i am getting there!

Edit: Also if anyone is organising a bus over and needs extra people i am very much interested. I have a few interested also! We are dying to see the final there.

• No
    I am in the UK and am willing to have tickets shipped to me. I will be home on the 16th and can meet in Dublin City Centre if anyone wants to try get tickets through the co.uk site.

PM me for address details etc.

Sick to miss this, but aint got no greens, and will only be home for 10 days, can't really be going to Wales for 3 of them!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

No
    Booked the day trip with Joe Walsh tours, 379 pp. Did the day trip last time and it was grand! Hopefully meet the team in the airport after again!

No
    ktulu123 wrote: »
    Booked the day trip with Joe Walsh tours, 379 pp. Did the day trip last time and it was grand! Hopefully meet the team in the airport after again!

Remember that alright, some craic! Think I may have bumped into yourself at the airport that evening.

Just thinking another option might be to check out mf.com? I'd imagine there may be a few folks down south who have flights/ferries booked but now find themselves all dressed up with nowhere to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

Gavin Henson
    Really good suggestion from a TD to erect big screens in Dublin - probably in the Phoenix Park, or O'Connell St, or Donnybrook stadium, or the RDS. I think that'd be brilliant for those of us who can't make it over and they'd get thousands to the Park or into Donnybrook. Leinster could charge a few quid to cover the cost of putting something on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

No
    I'm heading via Pembroke on the 8:45am sailing on the morning of the match. I'm coming home on the 22nd via the 2:45am sailing to Rosslare.

Should be fun! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

ambid wrote: »
    Really good suggestion from a TD to erect big screens in Dublin - probably in the Phoenix Park, or O'Connell St, or Donnybrook stadium, or the RDS. I think that'd be brilliant for those of us who can't make it over and they'd get thousands to the Park or into Donnybrook. Leinster could charge a few quid to cover the cost of putting something on.

Herbert Park would be a good location too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Blut2

ambid wrote: »

That'd be excellent if it happens. Didnt Limerick do something similar for one of the Munster HC finals? Small pic but I found this on google images

Munster_rugby_2006_s.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

Gavin Henson
    Blut2 wrote: »
    That'd be excellent if it happens. Didnt Limerick do something similar for one of the Munster HC finals? Small pic but I found this on google images

Munster_rugby_2006_s.jpg

Yeah 2006 I think. O'Gara said he saw that clip in a break in play and it gave the team a huge lift in the stadium. Germany had lots of "fans parks" during the 2006 world cup too.

I really hope they do this. I'd love to see Leinster as the leading sports franchise (I hate that word) certainly in the Dublin area, and compete for fans not just with Shamrock Rovers and Bohs but also Dublin GAA and the English Premier League (soccer) teams. The branch have been doing great work on this and outdoor events to attract people beyond the traditional rugby heartland would seem to fit with their strategy.

I imagine pubs in Donnybrook/ Ballsbridge would also be keen to make it happen. They have some big screens already in the RDS so if these could be moved to Herbert Park it could be a great day. They'd also make a profit on the day selling merchandise I imagine, I've seen a huge amount of people wearing Leinster gear in recent weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Gavin Henson
    They had a couple of giant screens in Place du Capitol in Toulouse last year, I was a bit too hungover to stick it out. Decent atmosphere, but very nervy.

What time is the final at, actually?

• No
    5pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Kaka10

No
    Booked tickets and flights and can't find a hotel within 30km of Cardiff :rolleyes:

I'm flying to London so might book a hotel in London and just get the train back to London after the match and go out there, it would be dead 30km outside of Cardiff and feck getting a 30km taxi back to your hotel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

No
    Leinster had a big screen in the RDS for the 2009 final.

I'll be in Cardiff anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

No
    On ticketmaster now.... Tickets available, but only to UK customers??!!

Whats the story with this?
    Why aren't they available to Irish customers?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Lads, have tickets booked, but can't seem to find a suitable transport method!

The sail and bus options seems to be fully booked, so goosed on that end probably.
    Anyone any ideas or advice?
    Looking for transport to Cardiff pref, and cheap if poss!

HELP!

0818903001. Looks like will be camping also. Now to figure out how i am getting there!

Edit: Also if anyone is organising a bus over and needs extra people i am very much interested. I have a few interested also! We are dying to see the final there.

I'd be interested in this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

No
    wixfjord wrote: »
    Lads, have tickets booked,

HELP!

Hey... how did you book the match tickets if you don't mind me asking?

• No
    Contact AMC buses on 8221122 and see if they are doing any coaches.

I wouldn't be surprised if they were both doing them, and also considerably cheaper than other names.

Have used them for a lot of stuff in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

No
    Lads, have tickets booked, but can't seem to find a suitable transport method!

The sail and bus options seems to be fully booked, so goosed on that end probably.
    Anyone any ideas or advice?
    Looking for transport to Cardiff pref, and cheap if poss!

HELP!

Fly to London, get a train.

danthefan wrote: »
    Fly to London, get a train.

Still an option, but I'd be looking for something handier than that tbh!
    Hopefully some enterprising bus company will realise and put summat on...

Rang them Emmet, cheers for that, but they're not doing anything as of yet anyway.

• No
    Fly to Bristol and get train?

AMC are great for organising your own deal btw. Probably get a bus and a driver for ~2k. Split it between 30 people and you're laughing.

No
    On ticketmaster now.... Tickets available, but only to UK customers??!!

Whats the story with this?
    Why aren't they available to Irish customers?

Check my previous posts. I rang their Irish customer service line and bought them over the phone.

I have also just booked my travel. Driving down to Rosslare from Dublin for the 8.45am crossing to Pembroke. Get into Pembroke at 12.45pm. max 2 hours to get to Cardiff.

I will book a spot for camping with supporters club as no accomodation to be had anywhere.

Coming back via Holyhead on 17.15 sailing on the Sunday so should give enough time.

All in its costing €250 each including match tickets and petrol. Not too shabby!

Check my previous posts. I rang their Irish customer service line and bought them over the phone.

I have also just booked my travel. Driving down to Rosslare from Dublin for the 8.45am crossing to Pembroke. Get into Pembroke at 12.45pm. max 2 hours to get to Cardiff.

I will book a spot for camping with supporters club as no accomodation to be had anywhere.

Coming back via Holyhead on 17.15 sailing on the Sunday so should give enough time.

All in its costing €250 each including match tickets and petrol. Not too shabby!

What company is this with if you don't mind me asking?

No
    What company is this with if you don't mind me asking?

Booked it all myself.

Tickets booked through ticketmaster. Ferry booked with irishferries.com.

No
    Still an option, but I'd be looking for something handier than that tbh!
    Hopefully some enterprising bus company will realise and put summat on...

Train from London Paddington is only about two hours. If you book now it should be reasonably cheap too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

No
    Just booked it, flying into Birmingham Saturday morning, out of Heathrow Sunday afternoon, hotel in Newport, BRING IT ON!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Kaka10

No
    Podge_irl wrote: »
    Train from London Paddington is only about two hours. If you book now it should be reasonably cheap too.

Flights are cheap. You can get return for 90euros to Gatwick. Then train from London is great crack, I remember going to see Munster and there was a serious buzz drinking on the way down.

• No
    Kaka10 wrote: »
    Flights are cheap. You can get return for 90euros to Gatwick. Then train from London is great crack, I remember going to see Munster and there was a serious buzz drinking on the way down.

Would be great to do something like this!

No
    Kaka10 wrote: »
    Flights are cheap. You can get return for 90euros to Gatwick. .

I got them for 50 euro yesterday (though I'm flying in on Fri and out on Tues). Train was £35 return.