Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Higgins gets heckled

• 30-04-2011 7:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭

I suppose its to be expected considering what he did,I thought there would
    be more of it to be honest,
    hes playing some good snooker though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭sockpuppets

what actually happened? the camera switched to a shot replay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,681 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

They were thrown out pretty quick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

What was said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,681 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

amacachi wrote: »
    What was said?

not sure, here's a tweet that says it was

"You disgrace me, John!"

http://twitter.com/#!/coolangatta_x/statuses/64409590221127680

something along those lines I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭katnia

Watch this, he deserves it TBH....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OjZ8lmedKSA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

"How did you swallow 300 000 John":)

Legend. Wish more people would have the balls to speak up against this guy.

Trump is very popular so if Higgins steamrolls him tomorrow he may get mmore abuse, the BBC who have gone into overdrive to clean up his image won't like that at all. :):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Delighted for him. I'm surprised he didn't get more abuse. The BBC did well enough to pretend the whole thing never happened going to a replay and the commentators never touched on it. Hopefully he gets a bit more stick tomorrow. Go on Trump

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭zack01

Just typical of some of the people on boards.ie, from one end of the year to another you don't have anything to contribute to the snooker thread but when the world championships are on and snooker is in the public eye you throw in a few remarks about John Higgins, just like the heckler in the cruicble yesterday you should be removed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Omega28

zack01 wrote: »
    Just typical of some of the people on boards.ie, from one end of the year to another you don't have anything to contribute to the snooker thread but when the world championships are on and snooker is in the public eye you throw in a few remarks about John Higgins, just like the heckler in the cruicble yesterday you should be removed!

For once, I actually agree with you, and as you know I'm not a Higgins fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭col.in.Cr

I can understand why people have been angered by what he has done
    myself included,but its out of order shouting at him during the game,I just wish he had put his hand up and admitted it and took a long ban,said sorry
    and came back,he would have got a lot more respect for it.
    Anyway it should be a cracking match today,I cant wait for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

How is that high horse of yours?:rolleyes:

Not everyone has been conned by Snookers and BBC's attempt to protray this man as innocent, he is on camera happy as hell agreeing to throw frames.

Oh and trying to bet on himself to lose? Classy John!

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/othersports/snooker/7700364/John-Higgins-tried-to-bet-on-himself-losing.html

Snooker is an awesome sport but their is bad apples out their such as Higgins and Burnett who people are entitled not to trust.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

What is the post per day ratio requirement to have an opinion?

xoxo

I was trying to work out if your post was in jest due to it being so ridiculous, however, I actually think you are being serious which is quite worrying and this may go some way to explaining;

a) Why your beloved snooker thread is not contributed to regularly enough to satisfy your 'needs'

b) Why snooker is desperately trying to re-invent itself and shake off it's stuffy, boring image. Which I hope it does, at least it has a chance now.

May I suggest that you go and take a good look in the mirror before bemoaning the frequency of posts on the snooker thread and maybe start to re-invent your own opinions. It may even be good for you.... After all we don't want to drag you kicking and screaming into the 21st century, we would prefer if you came here voluntarily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

the taught of him lifting the world championship trophy sickens me, don't think i could stomach it:(

and for all you delusional people out there who thinks he's innocent, lets refresh your memories......

Just to refresh things here, John Higgins was found not guilty of any involvement of match fixing last year.
    An independent counsel with a renowned QC studied the so called evidence and found the manuscript of the video to be doctored and edited to make Higgins look guilty.
    The NOTW even wanted Higgins to agree to not sue them if they handed the tapes over to his lawyers.
    Higgins was however found guilty by the WPBSA of conduct unbecoming a snooker player by not reporting the said events.

Higgins served his ban, has been cleared of any wrongdoing and is free to continue his career in snooker.

It obvious that some people can't accept this and would rather believe the crap that was printed in the NOTW.

But hey it's a free society and everyone is entitled to their opinion, I'm giving mine and your welcome to give yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Just to refresh things here, John Higgins was found not guilty of any involvement of match fixing last year.
    An independent counsel with a renowned QC studied the so called evidence and found the manuscript of the video to be doctored and edited to make Higgins look guilty.
    The NOTW even wanted Higgins to agree to not sue them if they handed the tapes over to his lawyers.
    Higgins was however found guilty by the WPBSA of conduct unbecoming a snooker player by not reporting the said events.

Higgins served his ban, has been cleared of any wrongdoing and is free to continue his career in snooker.

It obvious that some people can't accept this and would rather believe the crap that was printed in the NOTW.

But hey it's a free society and everyone is entitled to their opinion, I'm giving mine and your welcome to give yours.

It is interesting to hear the story from another side. If the video evidence and transcripts are not giving an accurate portrayal of events, do you have any idea of what really went on, and how the meeting/conversation really played out?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I personally have no problem with Higgins but your previous post did not suggest that everyone was entitled to their opinion nor welcome to give it here. It suggested that unless they were regular posters they were not entitled to their opinion. Something I hate to see in any forum here. It's not called a discussion forum for nothing.

John, is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭userod

It is interesting to hear the story from another side. If the video evidence and transcripts are not giving an accurate portrayal of events, do you have any idea of what really went on, and how the meeting/conversation really played out?

No one really knows except the people that were in that room. As Steve Davis said noone probably will know until there's a book written or something. I do see how a video could be edited to look very incriminating however - even an innocent video.

John Higgins probably hasn't said what really happened yet because it would give further attention and publicity to the story and he's dead right - ignore it - that's what NOTW are worth.

Having seen what NOTW are capable of in other incidents - I believe it is they are the scumbags - not John Higgins.

katnia wrote: »
    John, is that you?

Hardly. I think John is kinda busy at the moment. ;)

jive wrote: »
    I hate to break it to you but you don't have to watch and comment on snooker every week to have an understanding of the game and the people in it. The world championship is to snooker is to what the grand national is to horse racing or the masters is to golf. People choose to watch the big events because the players are at their peak and give it their best and therefore the event is usually the best.

I haven't liked Higgins since I saw the video of him making a deal about fixing frames. A 6 month ban is a joke and he should be gone for life. Just because I don't comment in the snooker forum every week doesn't mean I'm not aware of what has happened or that I'm not following snooker.

The low oxygen levels must be having an effect on you up there on that horse. If you think what Higgins did was OK then that's your opinion. I think he knew exactly what he was doing and why he was doing it - in my opinion he is a
    greedy criminal and deserves whatever heckling he gets for what he did.

Don't comment on something you know nothing about please, so everyone sees the video and thats it case closed he's guilty ban him for life!

Did you read the findings of the independent counsel?

I would hate to have you in a jury if ever i was in the dock!

Furthermore Higgins is now a member of the new anti corruption board set up by the WPBSA, strange move for a greedy criminal.

mewso wrote: »
    I personally have no problem with Higgins but your previous post did not suggest that everyone was entitled to their opinion nor welcome to give it here. It suggested that unless they were regular posters they were not entitled to their opinion. Something I hate to see in any forum here. It's not called a discussion forum for nothing.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, i welcome it, it's great to have more people posting on the snooker forum.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Don't comment on something you know nothing about please, so everyone sees the video and thats it case closed he's guilty ban him for life!

I'll gladly take a ban for saying this, you come across like such a patronising d!ck.

Honestly, get over yourself.

xoxo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Sean Bateman

I hope that Trump can do it. Higgins is a disgrace and the BBC should be ashamed of themselves for how they've brushed this scandal under the carpet.

How anyone can watch that video and not conclude that Higgins was up to his neck in what was going on is beyond me. The whole thing reeks of a cover up and snooker protecting itself.

Jive, I'll agree 100% with you on one thing and that is yes he was an idiot for staying and more of an idiot for not reporting it to the WPBSA on his return from Kiev.

I hadn't watched the infamous video for a while.

You'd have to be an idiot not to conclude that Higgins is a corrupt match fixer.

He agrees to take €300,000 to throw 4 frames and he even suggests ways to launder the cash (with the ridiculous Spanish mortgage idea).

The disciplinary process was a sham and a joke. He should have been banned for life...end of story.

Seeing him competing here in the final makes me want to puke. Hopefully Trump does the business.

you are extremely condescending and have no reason to be.

It makes you look like a cretin.

Contradiction here no?
    From what I have read he was aware that match fixing was going to be spoken before he went into the meeting.

Read this on News of the World as well?
    Mooney took the brunt of the blame and Higgins got off lightly with a fine and suspension.

Who said Mooney took the brunt of the blame? Who said Higgins got off lightly? He didn't get off lightly atall if his own claims are true.

If the video wasn't released I wouldn't be surprised if he went along with it anyway.

Excellent expert opinion there 'I wouldn't be surprised'. Do you not think NOTW would have held the video until Higgins actually did throw those frames so then their case would be rock solid? Ever wonder why they didn't do this? It would have been a much bigger case then. NOTW knew John wasn't going to throw those frames that's why..

Would he have fixed it? Who knows.

News of the World knows - that's who knows. That's why they released the video when they did. You're just a mug for their tabloid muck - and you fell for it all.
    But like I said, he deserves everything he gets.

Ya I agree, especially if he gets this years World Champion title :D
    Just like you can't be found guilty for discussing robbing a house

Yes you can - it's called conspiracy. Like zach said if you don't know about something don't comment about it.

See? I've kind of done with your post what NOTW did with that video...

xoxo

I won't go through your post in full jive (well I will if you suggest that I'm just avoiding doing so-but honestly I'm tired - and not happy after that session of snooker!) but as one example - if your guilty of an offence - being 'under the influence' is not an excuse.

Yes your right - Higgins did fall for it all. In what way he fell for it we'r yet to find out - but that's what his charge was - falling for it (naivety I believe?). But did he fall for it in the way that "Yes I will throw the frames for this money" or "Jees I just wanna go home lets agree with these guys" who knows? Either way, the World Snooker Association only charged him on the naivety charge and nothing else. News of the World failed to follow through with their sting operation. You must give some substance to these two put together?

Can anyone here offer any valid reason why News of the World did not release the full uncut video instead of that edited non sequential photoshopped junk?

I hope Trump wins :)

You'd have to be an idiot not to conclude that Higgins is a corrupt match fixer.

Higgins has never fixed a match in his life - therefore he could not possible be a corrupt match fixer. You would have to be an idiot not to know this.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

Folks, it's a friendly forum and all that....

There's a bit much hear-say going on and there's a lot of jumping to conclusions, remember when saying something here that the libel laws in this country are chronic, boards.ie is not anoymous.

Everyone here is entitled to their opinion, which obviously varies widely here and are encouraged to express it. However, any comments directed at an other will not be. Any flaming or trolling will be nuked.

@Cereal Rapist - If you really want that ban, well fair enough.

And just to prevent any confusion and make it clear, the link to the daily telegraph story is also from 12 months ago after the NOTW broke their second story about John Higgins.

I've edited my posts because I don't want to get into a huge discussion about the situation.

In my opinion, based on what I've read from numerous sources (not NOTW), I think he got away lightly.

Being under the influence isn't an excuse but guards won't take statements off drunk people because they won't hold up in court. Just like a drunken conversation wouldn't hold up in court.

I think he was guilty. He didn't commit the crime but he had every intention to. That is my opinion and it was formed based on the evidence I've seen. It's not going to change so we'll have to agree to disagree. I hope Trump wins :)

I would need to see a little more evidence. Yes it does look bad I agree with that - and I'm not a fool - I know his intentions in that room were not completely innocent.

If I'm being very honest about the matter I think Higgins did give the money serious thought whilst in that room/on that trip. But I think he would have come to his senses very soon after that meeting and not followed through with the whole deal. Would you agree with this at least?

If so, then he is guilty of contemplating a crime for 5 or 10 minutes and you can't really give the man the death penalty for this surely? I mean we all make silly mistakes and all develop bad intentions every now and then.

I hope Higgins wins :)

Although I have to say Trump is incredible to watch and doing very well for a man who has never made it into the quarter final of this tournament!

userod wrote: »
    I would need to see a little more evidence. Yes it does look bad I agree with that - and I'm not a fool - I know his intentions in that room were not completely innocent.

If I'm being very honest about the matter I think Higgins did give the money serious thought whilst in that room/on that trip. But I think he would have come to his senses very soon after that meeting and not followed through with the whole deal. Would you agree with this at least?

If so, then he is guilty of contemplating a crime for 5 or 10 minutes and you can't really give the man the death penalty for this surely? I mean we all make silly mistakes and all develop bad intentions every now and then.

I hope Higgins wins :)

Although I have to say Trump is incredible to watch and doing very well for a man who has never made it into the quarter final of this tournament!

I would agree with that. I don't think that it was his idea to do the fixing. I do think he was tempted, however. Whether he came to his senses or not is speculation really because he never reported it makes me think that he may of went along with it. At the end of the day he is innocent so I retract my statement of calling him a guilty criminal because he's actually not. I was more annoyed at the naivety of zac's post. I have, however, lost all respect for the man and it has to be said that his reputation has been severely damaged. Whether he would have committed the crime or not will never be known, I do feel he got off lightly though based on what I've seen and read.

Anyway, this is my last post because it wasn't my intention to get into such an in depth discussion about it!!

I would agree with that. I don't think that it was his idea to do the fixing. I do think he was tempted, however. Whether he came to his senses or not is speculation really because he never reported it makes me think that he may of went along with it. At the end of the day he is innocent so I retract my statement of calling him a guilty criminal because he's actually not. I was more annoyed at the naivety of zac's post. I have, however, lost all respect for the man and it has to be said that his reputation has been severely damaged. Whether he would have committed the crime or not will never be known, I do feel he got off lightly though based on what I've seen and read.

Anyway, this is my last post because it wasn't my intention to get into such an in depth discussion about it!!

That's fair enough - I'll say no more. So may the best man win tomorrow ;)

Up for a virtual bet to settle the argument?

Judd Trump wins - you win the argument.

John Higgins wins - I win the argument.

Odds are in your favour at the moment?

That's fair enough - I'll say no more. So may the best man win tomorrow ;)

Up for a virtual bet to settle the argument?

Judd Trump wins - you win the argument.

John Higgins wins - I win the argument.

Odds are in your favour at the moment?

I'll take it :P Trump is looking good he could be more than 3 up. Unless he bottles it (he looks to carefree to bottle it imo) or Higgins comes in big tomorrow I think you are gonna lose the argument :D na na na na na

Don't forget Johns comeback abilities though...

John badly needs to work on those long pots tonight/in the morning if he wants to be in with a chance - because this is where he's losing frames.

He's been very lucky scoreline should probably be 11-6 rather than 10-7.

A little like that big frame with Williams where it would be either 10-6 or 9-7.

Actually, that said this match is reminding me very much of Higgins semi final in this tournament... Williams was potting every long ball you could imagine and then it just all crumbled for him.

I feel sorry for Williams as well though - this would be one hell of a final Williams v Trump. The long pot highlights would be incredible! Couldn't imagine many safetys/balls refused in that match.

Can't wait for tomorrow. I'll be setting up a new user account on boards if Higgins loses though OK :)

Higgins has never fixed a match in his life - therefore he could not possible be a corrupt match fixer. You would have to be an idiot not to know this.

You would have to be an idiot with zero integrity to be acting as an apologist for someone who on camera has negotiated and agreed a fee of €300,000 to throw four frames of snooker. You would have to be an idiot to be an apologist for someone who on camera comes up with ideas for laundering corrupt payments.

He never threw frames.

Simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

He never threw frames.

Simple as.

How do we know that though? Anyone can miss an easy pot. So missing one on purpose would never have been noticed. He could have done this many times, only this time he got caught before the event...

He never threw frames.

Simple as.

Fantastic. What a great guy. A credit to the game. Knight him for services to snooker. His idea of using a fake mortgage on his Spanish property to launder the bribes from the Russian mafia stands out as a career highlight.

If he wins tomorrow, surely he's an early front runner for BBC Sports Personality of the Year?

How do we know that though? Anyone can miss an easy pot. So missing one on purpose would never have been noticed. He could have done this many times, only this time he got caught before the event...

I agree with you - this was more intended for Sean Bateman when I say he has never threw frames I say it with the same confidence that Sean Bateman says he is a match fixer.

I think the video is definitely a good indicator that he hasn't been involved in these types of dealings before. He's naive, gullible and childish in the video. He doesn't even know if they're talking about €200,000 or £300,000 .

If he wins tomorrow, surely he's an early front runner for BBC Sports Personality of the Year?

Great call - especially on the back of that season. What fantastic matches he has been involved in. Probably much more of a bid from other sports this year though unfortunately :(

Pity. It really would be a great finish to a fantastic season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

I think the video is definitely a good indicator that he hasn't been involved in these types of dealings before.

Fair point.

I wonder why they thought he would be a good person to approach about it though. They are hardly going to walk up to any random snooker player about it, why did they approach him specifically I wonder.

Fair point.

I wonder why they thought he would be a good person to approach about it though. They are hardly going to walk up to any random snooker player about it, why did they approach him specifically I wonder.

I think they had been in advanced enough discussion with Mooney before Higgins knew anything about it. If they found a chink in Mooney's armour then that's a chink in Higgins armour. I genuinely don't think it was because they thought he had done it previously. I think it was because they had great access to Mooney. And once you have the manager convinced then it makes the job a whole lot easier.

Maybe they knew he had recently bought a villa in Spain and could be easily tempted as a means to quickly own the property? :D

Ah honestly though, who knows. Higgins was foolish. But I genuinely don't think he would have followed through. I raised the issue earlier - News of the World would have had a much better story if they followed through with the sting and observed John play/throw those frames - they must have had some reason for not doing this.

Also - they are yet to release the full unedited sequential footage which I find very suspect. Apparently that YouTube video is not at all sequential which is a very apparent sign of encouraging incrimination.

A bit of common sense here guys will tell you that if you are offering a guy £300K to throw four frames in matches, and by the way these were not in ranking events, these frames were to be thrown in the World Series Events,how in gods name did they expect to recoup the £300K?
    Betting obviously!
    Now as we all know once a large amount of cash goes on any individual player or event the bookies start to smell a rat and suspend betting and call in the authorities.
    No way they would make the £300K back, I think Higgins knew this from the start, his ex manager Pat Mooney didn't and went along with the plan.
    It was a huge bonus for the NOTW for Higgins to be there as he had just being knocked out of the world championships by Davis so he went along to Kiev with Mooney, otherwise it would just have been Mooney on the tape.

Higgins is probably the straightest person you could come across, but as I said earlier I agree with Jive that Higgins is guilty 100% for being foolish and stupid not to have reported the meeting to the WPBSA on his return to the UK.

Wheter he wins or looses tomorrow that cloud of suspicion will always hover above him.
    I just hope the day he retires he's remembered for his snooker and not some of the names previous posters have labelled him here.

A bit of common sense here guys will tell you that if you are offering a guy £300K to throw four frames in matches, and by the way these were not in ranking events, these frames were to be thrown in the World Series Events,how in gods name did they expect to recoup the £300K?
    Betting obviously!
    Now as we all know once a large amount of cash goes on any individual player or event the bookies start to smell a rat and suspend betting and call in the authorities.
    No way they would make the £300K back, I think Higgins knew this from the start, his ex manager Pat Mooney didn't and went along with the plan.
    It was a huge bonus for the NOTW for Higgins to be there as he had just being knocked out of the world championships by Davis so he went along to Kiev with Mooney, otherwise it would just have been Mooney on the tape.

Higgins is probably the straightest person you could come across, but as I said earlier I agree with Jive that Higgins is guilty 100% for being foolish and stupid not to have reported the meeting to the WPBSA on his return to the UK.

Wheter he wins or looses tomorrow that cloud of suspicion will always hover above him.
    I just hope the day he retires he's remembered for his snooker and not some of the names previous posters have labelled him here.

Why did he come up with the idea of a fake mortgage on his spanish property as a way to launder the bribes?

Why did he agree the figure of €300,000?

Why did he clarify how easy if is to throw frames?

"Higgins is probably the straightest person you could come across" - Are you for f..king real?