Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Other people filling our skip

• 30-04-2011 8:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭

I'm away at the mo, left my housemate in charge of getting some new stuff for our jointly owned house.

We got a skip, but I've just heard it's full of other peoples krap.

What's the deal here? This isn't our rubbish, what can we do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Blast it with piss, etc.

Rookie mistake tbh, you get all the junk ready, then you order the skip, not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

This happens the whole time unfortunately. One of my neighbours got a skip once and the local restaurant filled it to the brim twice before he got to use it himself.

At best you might be able to get something with an address on it and report them to the Guards for dumping. I don't think you can just tip it out on to the road though if that's what you're asking.

You may be interested in my 'Have you ever put anything in someone elses Skip?' thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Go through the rubbish.

look for a bill head, with a name and adress. Sniff tampons if you have to, anything for a clue.

Then, the revenge is endless.

I suggest pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

there's 2 options here:

1: wait for the travs to empty the skip for ya. Once they notice the full skip, they'll have it stripped in no time! And then possibly will try to sell some of the junk from the skip to you.

2: take one item from your skip and place it in someone elses skip. Repeat this until your skip is empty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I threw a bag of dog shíte into a skip yesterday.

This happens the whole time unfortunately. One of my neighbours got a skip once and the local restaurant filled it to the brim twice before he got to use it himself.

At best you might be able to get something with an address on it and report them to the Guards for dumping. I don't think you can just tip it out on to the road though if that's what you're asking.

Did he not learn his lesson the first time they did it?
    How did he know it was the restaurant? Did he take them up on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

I threw a bag of dog shíte into a skip yesterday.

While on fire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Post up location of said skip,a problem shared is a problem doubled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Talk to the council litter warden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭bacon?

I found a similar post on askaboutmoney. Girl said she did just that, removed all the rubbish that wasn't hers, to the footpath, with a note saying that who ever dumped it, can they remove it.

Ye, a rookie mistake... but, the skip was in our driveway, so, it's pretty much the same as waking up with a matress and some other junk in your garden.

I've no problem moving it to the footpath with a note... it's not my rubbish after all.

Thing is, can we get into trouble, even though this isn't our rubbish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

When was movin house the ones that were movin in gotta skip and said use it if ya needa.....

Dont think he expected us to fill it :rolleyes: Didnt say nuffin but got a disgusted look :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

You will get no where with the council, guards or litter wardens on this. It happened to us. We knew who done it we reported it and what were we told...

Guards.... Its impossible to prove.

Council, Did you get permission for that

Litter warden, You are responsable for rubbish lying around your skip. It should be in your garden and not on a public road.....

tbh we now get the big skip bags and have the rubbish ready to go.

The irony is the "Neighbour" that dumped in ours had thrown out the toys we bought there child and had been complaining the previous year that someone had done the same on them.

You will get no where with the council, guards or litter wardens on this. It happened to us. We knew who done it we reported it and what were we told...

Guards.... Its impossible to prove.

Council, Did you get permission for that

Litter warden, You are responsable for rubbish lying around your skip. It should be in your garden and not on a public road.....

tbh we now get the big skip bags and have the rubbish ready to go.

The irony is the "Neighbour" that dumped in ours had thrown out the toys we bought there child and had been complaining the previous year that someone had done the same on them.

Our skip was in our driveway, does the fact its on private property make a difference?

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Did he not learn his lesson the first time they did it?
    How did he know it was the restaurant? Did he take them up on it?

I don't know how he knew it was the restaurant (chairs or something), but he went in to them and they admitted it was all their rubbish, so they paid for the skip. He then went off and ordered another skip and when it arrived they did the same thing again. I don't know why they didn't just order their own skip! Annoying for him though as he had to order 3 skips before he could get rid of his rubbish.

OP, you could ring the council and let them know your skip has been filled and that you are going to put the rubbish on the side of the road and will they collect it. I'm in Dublin City Council and they are brilliant for that type of thing (as long as they're made aware that the rubbish is there they are quite happy to come out).

Nice!!

I don't know how he knew it was the restaurant (chairs or something), but he went in to them and they admitted it was all their rubbish, so they paid for the skip. He then went off and ordered another skip and when it arrived they did the same thing again. I don't know why they didn't just order their own skip! Annoying for him though as he had to order 3 skips before he could get rid of his rubbish.

OP, you could ring the council and let them know your skip has been filled and that you are going to put the rubbish on the side of the road and will they collect it. I'm in Dublin City Council and they are brilliant for that type of thing (as long as they're made aware that the rubbish is there they are quite happy to come out).

Thanks Teyla, I'm in Raheny, North Dublin... I'm assuming this is Dublin City Council.

I think the fact that it wasn't on the street works in our favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

Was it you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Omeceron wrote: »
    Was it you?

Nope. Quite honestly I would not be so ****ty to assume someone would not mind if i done it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

If all legal ways fail and you know who's rubbish it is,give it back to its rightful owner.

realies wrote: »
    If all legal ways fail and you know who's rubbish it is,give it back to its rightful owner.

It would probably be very hard to find out who did it... I like Teyla's solution.

I would love to dump it back where it belongs, but will have to do with the footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Victor wrote: »
    Talk to the council litter warden.

There's your serious answer, OP. They are littering and will receive a fine if you inform your local litter warden and he discovers their names and addresses in the rubbish or you tell him their names.

/end thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

I caught an arsehole from down the road in the act of putting a kids toy in my skip. It was about 3 am and I didn't feel like dealing with it then so I waited until he was leaving for work the next day and I brought his little present back to him and threw it into his garden. He actually tried to pretend it wasn't his but I told him loudly enough that his wife could hear from the door that I'd seen him putting it in my skip during the night. Red faces all round and no problems since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Here's how the pro's do it.

Skip dropped at property empty. Get standard step ladder, stand it in middle of skip, cover skip with tarpaulin and tie it to skip. To the untrained eye, covered skip looks full. Repeat at end of day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

bacon? wrote: »
    I found a similar post on askaboutmoney. Girl said she did just that, removed all the rubbish that wasn't hers, to the footpath, with a note saying that who ever dumped it, can they remove it.

Ye, a rookie mistake... but, the skip was in our driveway, so, it's pretty much the same as waking up with a matress and some other junk in your garden.

I've no problem moving it to the footpath with a note... it's not my rubbish after all.

You could be the one prosecuted for dumping. Basically once the junk is on your property it's your legal responsibility to dispose of it properly. If you 'relocate' it to the footpath you're committing a offence.
    Our skip was in our driveway, does the fact its on private property make a difference?
    Yep, it makes it your problem.
    It would probably be very hard to find out who did it... I like Teyla's solution.

I would love to dump it back where it belongs, but will have to do with the footpath.
    See above re you possibly getting done for dumping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭Wheelie King

This happenend to us only a few years back. Got the skip on the Friday evening to fill on the Saturday and when we woke up Saturday morning it was been used by the locals as their own private dumping area. One fecker even went as far as to throw black sacks filled with rubbish in the front garden beside the skip. The fools did'nt know i've a small but powerful cctv camera set up as part of my house security system and i had it pointed at the front door/driveway which is where the skip was placed, so had each and every person who dumped stuff in it caught red handed bar one guy who had his hood up and i could'nt make out who it was. I went down to each persons house all of whom lived within doors of me and asked them to remove the rubbish from the skip. Each person denied they where guilty until i mentioned the cctv and the litter warden being called in to which said waste was removed. Just catching the feckers who dumped in the skip was worth the price of the cctv set up alone.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

This happenend to us only a few years back. Got the skip on the Friday evening to fill on the Saturday and when we woke up Saturday morning it was been used by the locals as their own private dumping area. One fecker even went as far as to throw black sacks filled with rubbish in the front garden beside the skip. The fools did'nt know i've a small but powerful cctv camera set up as part of my house security system and i had it pointed at the front door/driveway which is where the skip was placed, so had each and every person who dumped stuff in it caught red handed bar one guy who had his hood up and i could'nt make out who it was. I went down to each persons house all of whom lived within doors of me and asked them to remove the rubbish from the skip. Each person denied they where guilty until i mentioned the cctv and the litter warden being called in to which said waste was removed. Just catching the feckers who dumped in the skip was worth the price of the cctv set up alone.:)

cctv, mass dumpings - where the hell do you live ?

slimjimmc wrote: »
    You could be the one prosecuted for dumping. Basically once the junk is on your property it's your legal responsibility to dispose of it properly. If you 'relocate' it to the footpath you're committing a offence.

Yep, it makes it your problem.

See above re you possibly getting done for dumping.

So, if someone dumps a load of junk in your garden, you have to get rid of it? That can't be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

The CHEEK

My neighbour had the decency to ask me before he filled it with his old bed and novelty rocking horse!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

So, if someone dumps a load of junk in your garden, you have to get rid of it? That can't be right.

Knowing this country, it probably is right :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Ordered skip, asked for drop and collect half an hour filled it up and it was gone.
    During the 30 minutes, I had three 'hoverers' waiting for a chance to dump stuff in it!
    Like flies around shít they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

People are knackers - a garage beside me once threw in an oil drum into my wheelie bin! I got it and chucked it right outside their place. They did the same again with a tyre & other crap, right back up to their place again and chucked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

AND! Someone once left a sofa outside my front door - I pushed it away down to the bus stop and it was gone later that evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,705 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

thank god i live in a nice quiet cu de sac where we have had skips outside our house for a week without one extra piece of rubbish in it

maybe you should get to know your neighbours more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Im pretty sure if you move it to the footpath with a note, the local authorities would be delighted to remove it and leave you a lovely little note with a fine attached. The skip was in your care and on private property so it is your responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

Like your skip, I am just going to leave my rubbish comments in your thread for you to tidy up.

Yabbbabababadaaaababbabababababadooooooo Wahooooooooooooo.:eek::confused::cool:

and a couch.

Im pretty sure if you move it to the footpath with a note, the local authorities would be delighted to remove it and leave you a lovely little note with a fine attached. The skip was in your care and on private property so it is your responsibility.

You're pretty much saying, I can dump all this in a neighbours garden, in the wee hours of the morning, and then it's their problem.

I think you'd have a different opinion if it was your property that was used as a rubbish tip.

You may be right though, it could be our rubbish now, nothing surprises me with Ireland these days...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

If someone did it in my garden I'd be extremely annoyed, but it's not going to change the fact that there is nothing I can do about it. If I've an empty skip and it's filled overnight I have no proof who's rubbish it is. If I've a full skip, then suddenly overnight it empties and the neighbours garden is full of rubbish who is gonna get prosecuted for it??

If I leave a bag full of money in the garden and I wake up the next day and all the money is gone, who's fault is that?? Your problem is this in reverse, did you put a tarp over the skip? Lock your front gate?? If not, and you can't prove who dumped in it there is nothing you can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

So would you rather they just throw all their rubbish onto the road like in the good old days?

Daegerty wrote: »
    So would you rather they just throw all their rubbish onto the road like in the good old days?

It's not my rubbish, so, yes, I wouldn't have a problem with this.

My rubbish, no, I'd put it in the skip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Baalbec

strangely experienced the opposite of this about 12 months ago,.Some lad in a transit pulled up at about 6am one morning and took a turtle-shaped sandpit,some steel and lots of other bits and pieces from our skip.

If someone did it in my garden I'd be extremely annoyed, but it's not going to change the fact that there is nothing I can do about it. If I've an empty skip and it's filled overnight I have no proof who's rubbish it is. If I've a full skip, then suddenly overnight it empties and the neighbours garden is full of rubbish who is gonna get prosecuted for it??

If I leave a bag full of money in the garden and I wake up the next day and all the money is gone, who's fault is that?? Your problem is this in reverse, did you put a tarp over the skip? Lock your front gate?? If not, and you can't prove who dumped in it there is nothing you can do.

Are you certain about this? Where are you getting your information? There was a girl who said she contacted Dublin City Council, and they were happy to take it away....

I've emailed the council, I'm hoping they can take this illegally dumped rubbish away, it's the right thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Is there scrap metal in this skip?
    By Monday morning it won't be there, your skip will be stripped of metal once word gets around to the local boyos

If you catch them, they'll cheekily ask you for money for removing it

The-Rigger wrote: »

Rookie mistake tbh, you get all the junk ready, then you order the skip, not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

It's true.
    Even if you can identify the alleged culprit they can deny it and choose to force you/council to prove the allegation in court. I don't know for certain, but I expect you will be required to remove the rubbish from public view and a judge could make an order for the culprit to compensate you for disposal costs if convicted.
    You're pretty much saying, I can dump all this in a neighbours garden, in the wee hours of the morning, and then it's their problem.

I think you'd have a different opinion if it was your property that was used as a rubbish tip.

You may be right though, it could be our rubbish now, nothing surprises me with Ireland these days...
    If you can get away with dumping then yes it's their problem but what you're doing would be very illegal.

Afaik the idea behind the law is to make sure that illegally dumped material is disposed of properly and that landowners don't just dump it on the public's doorstep. Yeah it would be great if councils cleaned it up themselves but that put's extra cost on the public purse and might just encourage more dumping.

Yes, a rookie mistake... I've been living in China for a while, have my housemate taking care of this.

There's no scumbags here, so completely forgot Dublin is riddled with em.

I also lost nearly 200euro from a Dublin printer recently, project I was working on from over here... seems Dublin is $hitting on me and I'm not even there.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    It's true.
    Even if you can identify the alleged culprit they can deny it and choose to force you/council to prove the allegation in court. I don't know for certain, but I expect you will be required to remove the rubbish from public view and a judge could make an order for the culprit to compensate you for disposal costs if convicted.

If you can get away with dumping then yes it's their problem but what you're doing would be very illegal.

Afaik the idea behind the law is to make sure that illegally dumped material is disposed of properly and that landowners don't just dump it on the public's doorstep. Yeah it would be great if councils cleaned it up themselves but that put's extra cost on the public purse and might just encourage more dumping.

Wow, guess I never thought about it til it's happened to me. Yet another lesson learned I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've never hired a skip but had neighbours putting bags in our wheelie bin which we pay the council for.
    And this was when I watched Joe Higgins and his outraged followers go to jail over their protest in Dublin :rolleyes:

First time the bags were placed on their doorstep
    Second time, the bags were split and thrown over their lawn

Solved!

Though they had the gardai at our door when we had a houseparty so I guess they got even

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Just order skips for all the offending neighbours. ( or do you have to pay up front ? )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Yes, a rookie mistake... I've been living in China for a while, have my housemate taking care of this.

There's no scumbags here, so completely forgot Dublin is riddled with em.

:D Think were talking rubbish here now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

Place the skip on the main street of any town in the midlands and certain people come to take stuff out of it for you.

We got a skip out a few times last summer. Each time we filled it tem basses double parked their vans, crossed the road to have a look and picked things out for themselves. One man's rubbish is another man's gold.