Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liam Brady is a bitter, little man....

• 28-04-2011 12:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭

Anyone watch RTE's coverage of last night's Champions League match between Barca & Madrid?

I thought Chippy was ridiculously critical of Mourinho and very bitter in his comments towards the Real manager. Maybe it was because Mourinho was so successful at rivals Chelsea, but I thought Liam Brady's comments were very petty and bitter.

At one point, Chippy mentioned that if one his youth players at Arsenal was cheating, such as diving or feigning injury, he would have a chat with them and may even substitute that player. Well, Chippy, what about your time as assistant with the Ireland team, where Robbie Keane is constantly flapping his arms around like an ostrich always looking for a free kick or penalty? How come you never had a word with captain fantastic?

And to return to the original point, why is he so bitter towards Mourinho?
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Nooooowwwwww Biiiillllllllll.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

I think you're are being unfair to Brady. Using your logic of him being anti-Mourinho as a result of Mourinho's success at the expense of Arsenal, he should rightly be anti-Barca, given the controversy surrounding Barca's defeat of Arsenal in the earlier stages of the competition. Wrt the Keane arguement, name me one manager or assistant for whom a player on his side has never dived/acted the goat in that sense?

Watching it last night, I agree that Brady was over the top in his criticism of Real Madrid, however that was simply his opinion rather then a pro Barca or anti Mourinho agenda IMO. Brady was an attacking player himself, and is a subscriber to the Wenger style of play so he is always going to favour the team playing the attacking football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Love this clip of Brady. So angry :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Has a Chippy on his shoulder I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Just remembered this one now. Just say it recently somewhere. He was angry :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

If I knew you were gonna do this I wouldn't have even come into this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

I'm very confused by the Robbie Keane clip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,585 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Brady was answering that in the context of a discussion about grass roots football.

the panel's point was that behaviour is not being stamped out at a young age, because young players only have these sorts of players as role models. they see the likes of Barca and Madrid as successful, and they see that as the way to win. if those at the top stopped, it would seep down.

that was the point i think.

and how do we know he doesn't take exception to Robbie Keane acting like a child?

i do, but i probably wouldn't sub him off if i was managing Ireland :)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I agree with most of what he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Brady is spot on and he is one of few who can compare old-fashioned football with today as he has first hand experience of both through his work with Ireland and Arsenal, at least he know's the modern game, Dunphy and Giles just ramble on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

John Giles was saying the same thing is he a bitter little man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

He is a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

I usually like Brady on the panel but last night I thought he was totally over the top in his criticsim of Mourhino. He obviously dislike the man and I think that clouded his judgement.

Giles, who has no love for Mourhino was more balanced imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Seriously wtf has the Robbie Keane clip to do with this?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

I don't think he that much of an agenda with his opinion,Although I thought he was just plain wrong as far as the red was concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

jaykay74 wrote: »

A funny clip to be fair..

Brady: "I think that's diabolical"
    O'Herlihy: "Do ya?!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Giles does come across as a bitter ex pro with some sort of bizarre notion that the standard of football was higher back in his day :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

I agree with Brady, Mourinho is a great manager but with his antics, he's bad for football. So much needless shiit comes with Mourinho and so many retards will place too much importance in that needless shiit when things go his way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

An Ostrich flapping it's arms? A better analogy would be the Barcelona team last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Pauleta wrote: »
    Giles does come across as a bitter ex pro with some sort of bizarre notion that the standard of football was higher back in his day :confused:

Its especially funny from Giles given how his Leeds team kicked their way to the League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Its especially funny from Giles given how his Leeds team kicked their way to the League

Yeah i always laugh at that, giles was bloody dangerous in his day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

This time last year, when he was winning the Champions League with Inter he was the best in the world, after beating Barca in the semi with a very defensive performance at the Camp Nou and was being commended for how "organised" his team were.

And now, after losing last night, he is negative and his teams don't go about it in the right way :confused:

And if Giles "doesn't see it" in Ronaldo, perhaps he should try watch some/any match in La Liga, and watch some of the near 50 goals he has scored this season, including the winner in the Copa Del Rey final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I dont see anything that Robbie Keane did in that clip that compares to Barca's antics last night.

Just a failed attempt to get a dig in at Robbie Keane, seems to be a passtime around here. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Seriously wtf has the Robbie Keane clip to do with this?? :confused:

I think it's because Brady was one of Trappatonis assistants at the time & he didnt yell at Keane to get up like he said he would have done last night.

Atleast thats what I think its there for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Not as much as Brady, Giles and Dunphy gave Mourninho credit for his achievements. All Brady could do was askthem is they though Mourinho was good for the game.

Thats a pretty bitter question if you ask me, Like any successful Manager the fans of the club would say he's good for the game, opposing fans are likely to say he's not.

I don't think it's any manager's job to be good or bad for the game, their job is to get results for their team.

Chipys comments abot mourinho were just bitter IMO.

tdv123 wrote: »
    I think it's because Brady was one of Trappatonis assistants at the time & he didnt yell at Keane to get up like he said he would have done last night.

Atleast thats what I think its there for.

I've watched the clip and I dont see Robbie go down so why would he yell at him to get up?? Keane does nothing wrong in that clip, serious referee incompetence yes but cheating or gamesmanship no bloody way, and Im sure if the OP was looking for an example of an Irish player ''cheating'' in Bradys time as assistant he wouldnt need to look much further than Damien Duff, but of course Damien Duff isnt quite the hate figure that Robbie Keane is.

The Muppet wrote: »
    Not as much as Brady, Giles and Dunphy gave Mourninho credit for his achievements. All Brady could do was askthem is they though Mourinho was good for the game.

Thats a pretty bitter question if you ask me, Like any successful Manager the fans of the club would say he's good for the game, opposing fans are likely to say he's not.

I don't think it's any manager's job to be good or bad for the game, their job is to get results for their team.

Chipys comments abot mourinho were just bitter IMO.

I actually think it is a very valid question from Brady and IMO the whole ''its only results that matter'' is a very narrow and simplistic view to take, yes them results, trophies etc. were/are good for the club concerned but Brady's point was, Is it good for football in general?

What has Mourinho done thats bad for football?

Brady should have elaborated to explain why he was saying mourinho is bad for football. Repeating the question over and over just made him look bitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,194 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Anyone watch RTE's coverage of last night's Champions League match between Barca & Madrid?

I thought Chippy was ridiculously critical of Mourinho and very bitter in his comments towards the Real manager. Maybe it was because Mourinho was so successful at rivals Chelsea, but I thought Liam Brady's comments were very petty and bitter.

At one point, Chippy mentioned that if one his youth players at Arsenal was cheating, such as diving or feigning injury, he would have a chat with them and may even substitute that player. Well, Chippy, what about your time as assistant with the Ireland team, where Robbie Keane is constantly flapping his arms around like an ostrich always looking for a free kick or penalty? How come you never had a word with captain fantastic

And to return to the original point, why is he so bitter towards Mourinho?

I think you are absolutely crazy to make the comparison with some of the pathetic playacting and outright cheating that went on last night and Robbie Keane's little hissy fits.

Blame the Irish bias if you must but a few of Barcas players were embarrassing last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

Rooney10 wrote: »
    This time last year, when he was winning the Champions League with Inter he was the best in the world, after beating Barca in the semi with a very defensive performance at the Camp Nou and was being commended for how "organised" his team were.

And now, after losing last night, he is negative and his teams don't go about it in the right way :confused:

Inter won 3-1 at home and only defended their lead in the return leg, away from home.

Real, at home, showed no intent in attacking at all. They seemed set up to take a 0-0 back to Barcelona.

There is a massive difference between the two games.

Xabi Alonso made the most passes for Real in the game with a massive 25 passes completed. That is terrible.

Brady should have elaborated to explain why he was saying mourinho is bad for football. Repeating the question over and over just made him look bitter.

In fairness Brady is on a panel with Bill, Giles and Dunphy he would have been better off saying nothing as trying to ''elaborate'' anything with that crew would push anyone over the edge.

I think the use of the word ''bitter'' is way OTT ( I know others have said it also) but do people really think that this is some sort of Chelsea v Arsenal rivarly, lol that a stretch dont ye think. I seen Brady recently do an interview where he could not have spoken more positively about Harry Redknapp, manager of Arsenal biggest rivals, and he has always spoken positively of Ferguson, manager who has probably denied Arsenal of more trophies than anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

His pathetic behaviour in the press conference sums up Mourinho for me. Great manager but unsporting. To have such a high profile manager with such a despicable attitude is bad for football. His managerial career is full of pretty shameful acts.

In fairness Brady is on a panel with Bill, Giles and Dunphy he would have been better off saying nothing as trying to ''elaborate'' anything with that crew would push anyone over the edge.

I think the use of the word ''bitter'' is way OTT ( I know others have said it also) but do people really think that this is some sort of Chelsea v Arsenal rivarly, lol that a stretch dont ye think. I seen Brady recently do an interview where he could not have spoken more positively about Harry Redknapp, manager of Arsenal biggest rivals, and he has always spoken positively of Ferguson, manager who has probably denied Arsenal of more trophies than anyone else.

When I watched it live last night I actually Though basically what the OP posted today. There was more to it thatn a pundit just giving an opinion. It seemed personal to me.

I think Brady was bitter for some reason, I don't know the reason and apparently you don't either. Why is he bad for the game?

His pathetic behaviour in the press conference sums up Mourinho for me. Great manager but unsporting. To have such a high profile manager with such a despicable attitude is bad for football. His managerial career is full of pretty shameful acts.

Loads of managers have behaved pathetically in press conferences, remember Rafa,s one where he gave the same answer to every question, Fergie has had his moments in press conferences as have most managers.

Being a bad loser does not make him bad for football, if it does the games is littered with them.

It's easy to say his managerial career is full of shameful acts , Why not just come out and say exacly why he is bad for football instead of making such a sweeping statement.

I honestly am not aware and despite me asking no one has made me aware of anything that would make me say he is bad for football, in fact I think he's a breath of fresh air, I can understand why someone like Brady would not like Mourinho's personality but that's a personal thing, it doesn't make mourinho a bad person or bad for the game.

Loads of managers have behaved pathetically in press conferences, remember Rafa,s one where he gave the same answer to every question, Fergie has had his moments in press conferences as have most managers.

Being a bad loser does not make him bad for football, if it does the games is littered with them.

It's easy to say his managerial career is full of shameful acts , Why not just come out and say exacly why he is bad for football instead of making such a sweeping statement.

I honestly am not aware and despite me asking no one has made me aware of anything that would make me say he is bad for football, in fact I think he's a breath of fresh air, I can understand why someone like Brady would not like Mourinho's personality but that's a personal thing, it doesn't make mourinho a bad person or bad for the game.

Over the course of God knows how many threads, I have already said that many managers do things like that when they lose. I said earlier in this thread that:
    This is just Jose deflecting attention like many managers do after a bad defeat. Of course there will be some poor decisions, but refs are human. Jose has had dodgy decisions aid his triumphs in the past, so his current rant is hypocritical. The way most managers tend to be myopic, hypocritical loons when their team loses.

Nonetheless, the question was about Mourinho, so I spoke about Mourinho not Rafa, Ferguson or anybody else. I also think Mourinho is the worst example in football.

How can you not see that a manager like Jose speaking openly about nonsensical "conspiracy theories" is bad for football? Or his comments that led to Anders Frisk retiring amidst death threats? Or his overtly cynical approach to the game exemplified by his Porto team with the worst example of diving, feigning injury and outright cheating in their runs to the Uefa Cup and Champions League? Or his shameful comments about Pep Guardiola last night? All of these are bad for football and it's image. Surely you can see it would be better if he behaved like a sportsman and his team did likewise?

If people see the manager of Real Madrid intimidating referees, promoting diving, feigning injury etc, it will slide down the ladder of football. He is in a position of responsibility in football. Football is not about Jose Mourinho. Football existed before him, it will exist after him. But his actions set a terrible example. If people see his methods being successful, they will be copied by others.

I didn't go in depth because I presumed we all have knowledge of what Jose has done in football. Not every comment needs annotations.

Over the course of God knows how many threads, I have already said that many managers do things like that when they lose. I said earlier in this thread that:

Nonetheless, the question was about Mourinho, so I spoke about Mourinho not Rafa, Ferguson or anybody else. I also think Mourinho is the worst example in football. .

What makes Mourinho worse that fergie when both criticise a ref after a match? Mourinho is no worses than other managers ,

How can you not see that a manager like Jose speaking openly about nonsensical "conspiracy theories" is bad for football? Or his comments that led to Anders Frisk retiring amidst death threats? Or his overtly cynical approach to the game exemplified by his Porto team with the worst example of diving, feigning injury and outright cheating in their runs to the Uefa Cup and Champions League? Or his shameful comments about Pep Guardiola last night? All of these are bad for football and it's image. Surely you can see it would be better if he behaved like a sportsman and his team did likewise?.

See I don't think his theory is non sensical, in fact I know it's not. Have you forgotton that it wouldn't be the first or even second time it had happened in this competition if it were true. I'm not saying it si true, but it considering the evidence available it might be wise to keep an open mind and remain vigilant on this subject.

If people see the manager of Real Madrid intimidating referees, promoting diving, feigning injury etc, it will slide down the ladder of football. He is in a position of responsibility in football. Football is not about Jose Mourinho. Football existed before him, it will exist after him. But his actions set a terrible example. If people see his methods being successful, they will be copied by others.

I didn't go in depth because I presumed we all have knowledge of what Jose has done in football. Not every comment needs annotations.

As we have agreed other managers do the very same , I wouldn't be singling any one out on those grounds.

This one needs annotations if you want to prove chippys comments were anything other than a bitter personal attack on mourinho.

His theory is nonsensical. It is a complete farce that the manager of Real Madrid would spout such rubbish in an attempt to deflect from a terrible performance. Only 1, perhaps 2, of the red cards are debatable. Jose sends his teams out to bully Barca, and naturally his teams get a lot of bookings and red cards.

If there were a European wide conspiracy in favour of Barca, they would never have players suspended, penalties given against them etc. Iniesta would not have been investigated for the deliberate booking. This should not even be a topic for debate, there clearly is not a conspiracy in favour of Barcelona.

That the manager of Real Madrid would suggest a conspiracy is the most hypocritical comment imaginable. Anybody with scant knowledge of Spain or football history will be aware of the influence Franco is alleged to have had in Spanish football.

But back to Mourinho, Brady's issues with him are blindingly obvious. I have covered them above. He does nothing to promote fair play or sporting behaviour. At least Ferguson, Wenger etc are not always acting the gobshíte in the manner of Mourinho. He doesn't know the meaning of sporting behaviour. Managers should not be sneaking into their dressing room when banned in a clothes hamper.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

I find it odd people cant realise why Brady wouldnt consider Mourinho good for football, just look at that funny clip when he defends Wenger with Dunphy. He lives and breeds the Wenger style of play, he talks about how much of a loss Wenger would be to English football and comends him and Rafa (lets not dilut the topic by using my mention of his name to bring this off topic) for the football they have their sides playing.

Mourinho's teams have a direct contrasting style of play to wengers. They are all about Defence, Strength etc.... essentially get the job done whatever way possible or as someone else said results are all that matter. his defensive side go by the "the ends justify the means" philosophy Arsenal's & Brady's own personal philiosophy is different and they would no doubt think that such an attitude isnt good for the game from a number of stand points but foremost as an enjoyable spectacle. Football should be good to watch in his mind so he does not think that Mourinho has helped in making that a reality, that is unless you are the fan of a club he's been at and like success and trophies :pac:

I find it odd people cant realise why Brady wouldnt consider Mourinho good for football, just look at that funny clip when he defends Wenger with Dunphy. He lives and breeds the Wenger style of play, he talks about how much of a loss Wenger would be to English football and comends him and Rafa (lets not dilut the topic by using my mention of his name to bring this off topic) for the football they have their sides playing.

Mourinho's teams have a direct contrasting style of play to wengers. They are all about Defence, Strength etc.... essentially get the job done whatever way possible or as someone else said results are all that matter. his defensive side go by the "the ends justify the means" philosophy Arsenal's & Brady's own personal philiosophy is different and they would no doubt think that such an attitude isnt good for the game from a number of stand points but foremost as an enjoyable spectacle. Football should be good to watch in his mind so he does not think that Mourinho has helped in making that a reality, that is unless you are the fan of a club he's been at and like success and trophies :pac:

I agree with you there. but that leads to a few questions.

Is Brady Right. Is any manager that doesn't share his vision of how the games should be played bad for football?

Should he be expressing his own personal opinion and badgering the other pundits on mourinho like he did last night or should he just comment on the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Is Brady Right. Is any manager that doesn't share his vision of how the games should be played bad for football?

Should he be expressing his own personal opinion and badgering the other pundits on mourinho like he did last night or should he just comment on the game.

My main gripe with Mourinho's Real last night and possibly Brady's is that at Real he has the players to give Barcelona a real game, but he chose not to, even though they were playing in the Bernabéu! Now I know that he tried to outplay Barça earlier in the season and failed miserably, but a team display that impressive doesn't come around too often!

L'prof wrote: »
    My main gripe with Mourinho's Real last night and possibly Brady's is that at Real he has the players to give Barcelona a real game, but he chose not to, even though they were playing in the Bernabéu! Now I know that he tried to outplay Barça earlier in the season and failed miserably, but a team display that impressive doesn't come around too often!

I'm sure mourinho employed the tactics that he thought would give him the best chance of progressing , the tactics that saw him pip barca in the cup final. Surely he's entitiled to do that without accusations of being bad for the gaem thrown at him.

I don't think mourinho's tactics justifys Bradys comments about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I'm sure mourinho employed the tactics that he thought would give him the best chance of progressing , the tactics taht saw him pip barca in teh cup final. Surely he's entitiled to do that without accusations of being bad for the gaem thrown at him.

I don't think mourinho's tactics justifys Bradys comments about him.

Not necessarily his tactics, but his attitude towards other managers, teams, referees & officials and constant accusations and jibes, while quite amusing from time to time, is questionable to say the least.

I think Brady may have gone over the top with his criticisms, but he's entitled to his opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,395 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

His managerial career is full of pretty shameful acts.

Lets not forget the Uefa cup final of 2003 ,where his Porto team engaged in despicable acts of gamesmanship ,feigning injury ,timewasting and diving against Celtic.
    Mourinho is well able to dish it out.
    What goes around comes around is what I say .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭seadnamac

Fuhrer wrote: »

You don't know what you're talking about.

And by the way it was two Leagues, an FA Cup, a League Cup and two UEFA Cups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

seadnamac wrote: »
    You don't know what you're talking about.

Yeah, ok. Thats great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

jaykay74 wrote: »

Best moment ever in the history of Irish tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,998 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Best moment ever in the history of Irish tv.

Better than the Roy Keane Dunphy rant? youz havin a larf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Trilla wrote: »
    Better than the Roy Keane Dunphy rant? youz havin a larf

Could be right, will watch the Keane rant again and revert back :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Ostriches don't have arms anyway, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

When do they ever only comment on the game?