Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anthony Gerrard for Ireland

• 27-04-2011 6:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭

Anthony Gerrard has been cleared to play for Ireland.
    http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11688_6900147,00.html
    Skysports.com understands Hull City's loan star Anthony Gerrard has been cleared to play for Republic of Ireland.

The Liverpool-born defender has represented the Republic at Under 18 level having qualified to play for the country because of his grandmother.

Gerrard, who is the cousin of Liverpool skipper and England star Steven Gerrard, has now passed on the relevant documents to the Football Association of Ireland to make himself available for Giovanni Trapattoni's side.

The 25-year-old, who is currently on loan at Hull from Cardiff, has enjoyed a superb campaign with the Tigers and was recently named as the club's Player of the Season.

The highly-rated central defender has been virtually an ever-present for Hull this season and his performances are thought to have alerted a number of Premier League clubs.

With Gerrard now having his eligibility being resolved he could come into contention for Trapattoni's plans for next month's Carling Nations Cup games against Northern Ireland and Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Never really rate him,definitely not an International defender but in saying that I aint seen him play in a couple of seasons,anyone watched him recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Thread title is bound to make a few people spit out their tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

spits tea out...

No thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

Darren Potter is another of Steven Gerrard's cousins and he has 5 caps for Ireland, he's currently doing f-all with Sheffield Wednesday.
    I don't think Anthony Gerrard is quite international standard but he's had two good seasons in the Championship with Cardiff and Hull which is more than what McShane and St Ledger can claim to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Gillington wrote: »
    Never really rate him,definitely not an International defender but in saying that I aint seen him play in a couple of seasons,anyone watched him recently?

To be fair, theres not many of us that rates Zinidene Kilbane either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

What's all this no thank you business?

The only good central defender we have is Dunne,
    don't see the problem with adding to our pool of players.

Dunne is almost 32 sure, he's not exactly at the beginning of his career...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

curry-muff wrote: »
    To be fair, theres not many of us that rates Zinidene Kilbane either.

Not many!? Is there any at all!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭RustySpoon

Gillington wrote: »
    Not many!? Is there any at all!?

I think Killer is an Ireland legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Hank_Jones wrote: »

Some of us prefer the Irish team, where possible, to have Irish guys in it. This isn't as stark as the Pennant or O'Hara debate because the guy togged out for Ireland at underage level though.

Which leads to a fairly obvious question about eligibility. Was he ineligible at U18 level? What documents does he require in the meantime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭-Strawbs-

RustySpoon wrote: »
    I think Killer is an Ireland legend.

Notice you didn't say he's a good player.. Just that he WAS good :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

In before OhNoYouDidn't starts saying he'd prefer if Irish born players were in the squad...

Ah fúck... Too late.

That_Guy wrote: »
    In before OhNoYouDidn't starts saying he'd prefer if Irish born players were in the squad...

Ah fúck... Too late.

Its not an unreasonable position, and only in Ireland would you be called on it.

He played for Ireland underage, he is genuine diaspora, I have no problem with his inclusion in the selection process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

That_Guy wrote: »

Crazy idea tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

Some of us prefer the Irish team, where possible, to have Irish guys in it. This isn't as stark as the Pennant or O'Hara debate because the guy togged out for Ireland at underage level though.
    So you would prefer if legends like Aldridge, Houghton, McCarthy, Lawrenson, Townsend, Cascarino, McGrath never togged out for Ireland because they're Irish only due to heritage?? Gerrard, Pennant, O'Hara etc have a claim as good as these players just a pity they're not as good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Big question is ...

Is he any f~cking good ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

waits for john rooney to declare for ireland.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Dotsey wrote: »
    So you would prefer if legends like Aldridge, Houghton, McCarthy, Lawrenson, Townsend, Cascarino, McGrath never togged out for Ireland because they're Irish only due to heritage?? Gerrard, Pennant, O'Hara etc have a claim as good as these players just a pity they're not as good

They are not too bad all the same. They would make a difference to our current squad anyway.
    waits for john rooney to declare for ireland.......

..and Anton Ferdinand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

How many times have we had this thread recently?

Is there no Superthread for the Ireland team?

Where did I say that?

I however make a clear distinction between legitimate Irish diaspora like McCarthy, Cascarino, McGrath, McGeady, McCarthy, Kilbane etc and this Gerrard chap and chancers and journeymen like Morrison, Pennant and to an extent Townsend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Well according to the after hours section, 25% of the forum don't consider anyone not born and bred in this country to not be irish.

So that includes people like Kevin Kilbane (not being irish).

Is it any wonder why the Soccer team is struggling for popularity compared to the Rugby team?? Which has nearly all born and/or bred irish players?

Desperate stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

The only good central defender we have is Dunne,
    don't see the problem with adding to our pool of players.

Ciaran Clark?

Gnobe wrote: »
    Well according to the after hours section, 25% of the forum don't consider anyone not born and bred in this country to not be irish.

So that includes people like Kevin Kilbane (not being irish).

Is it any wonder why the Soccer team is struggling for popularity compared to the Rugby team?? Which has nearly all born and/or bred irish players?

Desperate stuff.

lol, the rugby squad has a bunch of players who will straight up tell you they are British!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Where did I say that?

I however make a clear distinction between legitimate Irish diaspora like McCarthy, Cascarino, McGrath, McGeady, McCarthy, Kilbane etc and this Gerrard chap and chancers and journeymen like Morrison, Pennant and to an extent Townsend.

There's no Irish blood in Cascarino I heard.

baz2009 wrote: »

His Irish grandmother was an adoptive grandmother iirc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

keane2097 wrote: »
    His Irish grandmother was an adoptive grandmother iirc.

Yeah I heard the same. It was only found out after he retired or something too.

baz2009 wrote: »

That it turns out was true. But the point is he thought he did. He was adopted into the family, who own Cascarino's chipper in Rathfarnham.

He self identified as an Irishman, and thats a whole different ballgame to the likes of Butler, Westwood and Morrison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

That it turns out was true. But the point is he thought he did. He was adopted into the family, who own Cascarino's chipper in Rathfarnham.

He self identified as an Irishman, and thats a whole different ballgame to the likes of Butler, Westwood and Morrison.

You always use the likes of Westwood, and Butler as a stick to beat the "pro-Granny Rule" folk with. Paul Butler played a grand total of 45 mins football in the Green of Ireland. He did so in a friendly match against the Czech Republic, and he had been enjoying a good run of form in a strong Sunderland team. His selection was just as justifiable as the decision to freeze him out of the International Set-up after Jan Koller made a mockery of him.

There is no real difference between Butler, and the likes of Andy Townsend, John Aldridge, Ray Houghton (who was discovered as eligible by complete fluke), Alan McGloughlin, and John Sheridan. The only major difference is that Townsend, Aldridge, Houghton, McGloughlin, and Sheridan actually contributed to the Irish cause. Differentiating the aformentioned players from Butler on this basis is not relevant to the argument regarding the "Granny Rule", and "Genuine Diaspora".

In fact, two of the most high-profile defections from the Irish game (Roy Keane, and Stephen Ireland) were Irishmen, born and bred. Regardless of their nationality, and their purported national pride, they walked away from an Irish team which could have used their services to the team's advantage. Thus, it can be demonstrated that national pride, or a sense of one's nationalism does not equate to a guarantee of unfettered loyalty, and effort when interacting with the National Team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

His mother was adopted by his Irish grandparents, it was only when he was an adult that her learned this.
    I believe the rule now may have changed so that a person can qualify through a grandparent even if their parent is an adoptee for the grandparent, but don't quote me on it.

Het-Field wrote: »
    You always use the likes of Westwood, and Butler as a stick to beat the "pro-Granny Rule" folk with. Paul Butler played a grand total of 45 mins football in the Green of Ireland. He did so in a friendly match against the Czech Republic, and he had been enjoying a good run of form in a strong Sunderland team. His selection was just as justifiable as the decision to freeze him out of the International Set-up after Jan Koller made a mockery of him.

There is no real difference between Butler, and the likes of Andy Townsend, John Aldridge, Ray Houghton (who was discovered as eligible by complete fluke), Alan McGloughlin, and John Sheridan. The only major difference is that Townsend, Aldridge, Houghton, McGloughlin, and Sheridan actually contributed to the Irish cause. Differentiating the aformentioned players from Butler on this basis is not relevant to the argument regarding the "Granny Rule", and "Genuine Diaspora".

In fact, two of the most high-profile defections from the Irish game (Roy Keane, and Stephen Ireland) were Irishmen, born and bred. Regardless of their nationality, and their purported national pride, they walked away from an Irish team which could have used their services to the team's advantage. Thus, it can be demonstrated that national pride, or a sense of one's nationalism does not equate to a guarantee of unfettered loyalty, and effort when interacting with the National Team.

What has that got to do with my point?

That we should make a distinction between Irish born players and diaspora and journeymen pro's. In that order we should try and select.

I'm not doubting that some of the players listed were good for Ireland, but that doesn't mean I enjoy seeing the jersey pimped out, especially now when we are producing talent in abundance at home.

What has that got to do with my point?

That we should make a distinction between Irish born players and diaspora and journeymen pro's. In that order we should try and select.

I'm not doubting that some of the players listed were good for Ireland, but that doesn't mean I enjoy seeing the jersey pimped out, especially now when we are producing talent in abundance at home.

My point is that you consistently use the likes of Paul Butler as an example of a journeyman. You are reticent to nail your colours firmly to the mast and coral the likes of McGloughlin, Aldridge, and Townsend, in an unqualified manner, into the same group as Paul Butler, Jon Macken, and Keith Branagan. Ultimately, the likes of Macken and Butler are useful in proving your point. However, in combination, they did not complete 90 mins of International Football between them. Equally, neither Pennant nor O'Hara have declared for Ireland. In Pennant's case it was no more then paper talk.

Surely your sliding scale should be refined by ability ? If a member of the diaspora is better then an Irish born player, then the former should get the nod. That is simple common-sense.

I can understand your aversion to "pimping out the jersey", but I simply cannot believe that you watched Euro 88, or Italia 90 without unfettered pride as the Green Jersey, and the Irish name became household, and it enjoyed a run to the sharper end of the 90 tournament, and came withing an ace of progress in the 88 one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

In Pennant's case it was no more then paper talk.

Actually it's not paper talk - the rest of your post is spot on though.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/stoke_city/9417873.stm

Well if we are going to discuss mercenaries then we must include Jason McAteer.
    Not only was he not born in the ROI but neither was the grandparent he qualified through.
    He qualified as he had a grandparent born on the island or Ireland prior to partition in 1922

Well if we are going to discuss mercenaries then we must include Jason McAteer.
    Not only was he not born in the ROI but neither was the grandparent he qualified through.
    He qualified as he had a grandparent born on the island or Ireland prior to partition in 1922

Although I have been critical of McAteer in the past, I recognise his contribution to Irish football. When Ireland were down and out against Mexico in 1994 he supplied a clinical cross onto the head of John Aldridge, which led to a consolation goal, which ultimately proved useful for the Irish at the end of the qualification round. His goals against the Netherlands in 2000 and 2001 were also crucial.

I am happy to call him an Irishman, even if his credentials are not great.

Most people wouldn't call Jason McAteer irish. If you met McAteer in real life and wasn't a footballer would most people call him irish? No.

I'm unsubscribing from this thread before it angrys up my blood.

Gnobe wrote: »
    Most people wouldn't call Jason McAteer irish. If you met McAteer in real life and wasn't a footballer would most people call him irish? No.

No they wouldnt. But unlike those who are not professional footballers, or not involved in an industry in which they can benefit the Irish national interest, Jason McAteer was involved as a footballer, and contributed to the Irish cause. His interaction with the Irish national team was beneficial to the Irish football team, and by extension, to Irish pride. I may have to qualify it and call him "honourary Irish", but McAteer has contributed to our nation.

If we don't allow people like Des Bishop, Kevin Myers, Declan Ganley to be called irish and they've all lived here for most of their lives with irish parent(s), how are we going to call people like Ciaran Clarke, St.Ledger, Westwood, Kilbane, all irish?

I have no problem with these guys playing for Ireland, but unfortunately to some you can see why we'll always be known as a team of mercenaries. We clearly have an identity crises in this country about what constitutes to being irish and it coming into conflict with who plays in our sports teams.

Is that why the Rugby team is more attractive to the average irish person right now? Possibly. It's more Irish.

My point is that you consistently use the likes of Paul Butler as an example of a journeyman. You are reticent to nail your colours firmly to the mast and coral the likes of McGloughlin, Aldridge, and Townsend, in an unqualified manner, into the same group as Paul Butler, Jon Macken, and Keith Branagan. Ultimately, the likes of Macken and Butler are useful in proving your point. However, in combination, they did not complete 90 mins of International Football between them. Equally, neither Pennant nor O'Hara have declared for Ireland. In Pennant's case it was no more then paper talk.

I'm not reluctant, anything but. I would prefer an Irish team that didn't have the likes of Aldridge, McLoughlin and Townsend (especially after the armbands for Diana he forced on the players against the FAI's wishes). More accurately, I would prefer if we didn't need them.
    Surely your sliding scale should be refined by ability ? If a member of the diaspora is better then an Irish born player, then the former should get the nod. That is simple common-sense.

You are deliberately missing the point. As a policy, we should look to develop talent at home and on occasion use legit diaspora, and avoid the likes of Pennant, Townsend, Morrison at all. I simply would prefer Trapp to play the likes of Meyler and Hoolihan than Greene. Its not that unreasonable a position
    I can understand your aversion to "pimping out the jersey", but I simply cannot believe that you watched Euro 88, or Italia 90 without unfettered pride as the Green Jersey, and the Irish name became household, and it enjoyed a run to the sharper end of the 90 tournament, and came withing an ace of progress in the 88 one.

I think the pride was tempered by the 'team of Englishmen' tag somewhat. As copyrighted by your beloved Gah by the way. We became world renowned as a mercenary side and people still today associate that with us

Its not that I didn't enjoy 88 or 90, but you can't deny it would have been better if it was 11 lads who learnt their trade here

I'm not reluctant, anything but. I would prefer an Irish team that didn't have the likes of Aldridge, McLoughlin and Townsend (especially after the armbands for Diana he forced on the players against the FAI's wishes). More accurately, I would prefer if we didn't need them.

While you did cite Andy Townsend in a previous post, you did qualify his inclusion in your catagorisation by using the words "to an extent". Although you did not cite Aldo, McGloughlin or Houghton, it is fair to infer that you would classify them in the same terms. Like Townsend all three contributed to Irish footballing success.

Of course it would be great if we could simply turn to the "well" of Irish footballing talent and return with water. Unfortunatly, reality dictates that as a result of our inextricable link with English Football, and indeed our history of emmigration to the UK, it is almost natural that our "well" will contain players of Townsend's ilk. It would be nice to have a national team comprised of "Irishmen", but qualification for membership of a national football association works on rules which are more liberal, and will give rise to a larger pool of players, all with varying degrees of nationality.

You are deliberately missing the point. As a policy, we should look to develop talent at home and on occasion use legit diaspora, and avoid the likes of Pennant, Townsend, Morrison at all. I simply would prefer Trapp to play the likes of Meyler and Hoolihan than Greene. Its not that unreasonable a position

I agree with you to the extent that we should be looking to develop home grown players. I believe that will benefit our national team, and our national league. In the wake of Ireland's performance at the 1997 Youth World Cup the likes of Colin Hawkins, Trevor Molloy and Dessie Baker made a name for themselves, and their presence in the National League at the conclusion of the Tournament was hugely beneficial to the league

However, that does not mean that our national team selection should be based on national boarders. I agree that Meyler and Hoolihan should be in the team ahead of Paul Greene. However, that is based on Paul Greene's abilities, or lack thereof. The likes of Hoolihan and Meyler are better players, playing at a higher level of football then Greene, and they are more rounded players. For some reason, Trappatoni prefers Greene. On the other hand if Darren O Dea and Richard Dunne were injured, I would rather Trappatoni play Ciaran Clark or Sean St Ledger over Paul McShane. It is common sense that if you have a better player at your disposal, that you utilise his services.

I agree that your position is not unreasonable, but the logical conclusion of your sliding scale is that poorer players are liable to be picked simply because of the country in which they were born, or their degree of nationality.

I think the pride was tempered by the 'team of Englishmen' tag somewhat. As copyrighted by your beloved Gah by the way. We became world renowned as a mercenary side and people still today associate that with us

Its not that I didn't enjoy 88 or 90, but you can't deny it would have been better if it was 11 lads who learnt their trade here

As a common frequenter of foreign football fora, I believe it is a rare occasion on which a fan will refer to Ireland as "mercenary". The jealousy and short sighted nature of the likes of Billy Bingham gave rise to the classification of some of Ireland's players as "carpetbaggers". But it did not really go beyond that.

If you look at the videos in the run up to, and during Italia 1990 you will clearly see that the Irish nation didnt really give a hoot about the degrees of nationality of the likes of Packie Bonner (Born and Bred Irish), Kevin Sheedy ("genuine diaspora"), and Tony Cascarino (hardly Irish at all). The nation was ensconsed in a bubble of "can do". The thousands of people who packed the pubs, and the thousands who lined the streets at the homecoming is testament to the fact that the Irish identified with that team regardless of their respective degrees of nationality.

I dont mean to be disrespectful, but it would be for the crank to have brought up the degrees of nationality of the players during that period of success.

Ciaran Clark?

Apologies, I should have included someone who has played 20 games for Villa in the same category as Dunne. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

While essentially I agree with you, I'm pretty sure if the situation was reversed and you had Irish born players declaring for other nations, many people would not be happy.

Someone may well indeed have one grandparent who was Irish but the person may never have even been to that country, now as said, I don't have a problem as such with that, but it is pretty much a player England has produced which doesn't seem to be acknowledged here. Even looking back to Euro 88 and Italia 90, I heard people saying, ah sure Big Jack is Irish now, he is not really English.

While you did cite Andy Townsend in a previous post, you did qualify his inclusion in your catagorisation by using the words "to an extent". Although you did not cite Aldo, McGloughlin or Houghton, it is fair to infer that you would classify them in the same terms. Like Townsend all three contributed to Irish footballing success.

Who says they didn't contribute? I'm simply saying we pushed our luck big time in even selecting them and were a major factor in the rules being changed to stop it happening again. It should have been a stop gap measure, which needs must I accepted, but Trapp seems to be heading down that road again, which I won't
    Of course it would be great if we could simply turn to the "well" of Irish footballing talent and return with water. Unfortunatly, reality dictates that as a result of our inextricable link with English Football, and indeed our history of emmigration to the UK, it is almost natural that our "well" will contain players of Townsend's ilk. It would be nice to have a national team comprised of "Irishmen", but qualification for membership of a national football association works on rules which are more liberal, and will give rise to a larger pool of players, all with varying degrees of nationality.

And that rule book has tightened considerably, to the point where Irish born and bred Darren Gibson had to be fought for at CASS level.

I agree with you to the extent that we should be looking to develop home grown players. I believe that will benefit our national team, and our national league. In the wake of Ireland's performance at the 1997 Youth World Cup the likes of Colin Hawkins, Trevor Molloy and Dessie Baker made a name for themselves, and their presence in the National League at the conclusion of the Tournament was hugely beneficial to the league

Grand so.
    However, that does not mean that our national team selection should be based on national boarders. I agree that Meyler and Hoolihan should be in the team ahead of Paul Greene. However, that is based on Paul Greene's abilities, or lack thereof. The likes of Hoolihan and Meyler are better players, playing at a higher level of football then Greene, and they are more rounded players. For some reason, Trappatoni prefers Greene. On the other hand if Darren O Dea and Richard Dunne were injured, I would rather Trappatoni play Ciaran Clark or Sean St Ledger over Paul McShane. It is common sense that if you have a better player at your disposal, that you utilise his services.

But I have said before I have no problem with diaspora who commit early to Ireland, which Clarke and St Ledger both did.

Greene is both ****e and a mercenary as far as I am concerned. Two reasons he should be nowhere near the side.
    I agree that your position is not unreasonable, but the logical conclusion of your sliding scale is that poorer players are liable to be picked simply because of the country in which they were born, or their degree of nationality.

Well, to be fair, that is the whole point of international football. ;)

As a common frequenter of foreign football fora, I believe it is a rare occasion on which a fan will refer to Ireland as "mercenary". The jealousy and short sighted nature of the likes of Billy Bingham gave rise to the classification of some of Ireland's players as "carpetbaggers". But it did not really go beyond that.

It bloody did you know. The British media routinely referred to us as England B etc.
    If you look at the videos in the run up to, and during Italia 1990 you will clearly see that the Irish nation didnt really give a hoot about the degrees of nationality of the likes of Packie Bonner (Born and Bred Irish), Kevin Sheedy ("genuine diaspora"), and Tony Cascarino (hardly Irish at all). The nation was ensconsed in a bubble of "can do". The thousands of people who packed the pubs, and the thousands who lined the streets at the homecoming is testament to the fact that the Irish identified with that team regardless of their respective degrees of nationality.

I think you are looking at this through rose tinted glasses. There was plenty of comment, some of it negative, right through the Charlton period that the likes of Brady and Whelan were discarded for Brits. It did happen.
    I dont mean to be disrespectful, but it would be for the crank to have brought up the degrees of nationality of the players during that period of success.

Or the football people who saw Charlton dismembering the underage teams on the basis he would never play any of them, and using the resources to hire researchers. A situation that it took Brian Kerr to fix.

I don't know what age you were in the late 80's, but Charlton as a man was ferociously unpopular with the grass roots. Yes, we all enjoyed his success, but there was a well known bust up with the u21 manager (Givens or Hand I think) that hit the papers too. Roy Keane mentions it in his buke.

Who says they didn't contribute? I'm simply saying we pushed our luck big time in even selecting them and were a major factor in the rules being changed to stop it happening again. It should have been a stop gap measure, which needs must I accepted, but Trapp seems to be heading down that road again, which I won't.

Im not saying that you are suggesting that they didnt contribute. I am suggesting that your implicit differentiation is based on their ability, rather then their degree of nationality.

But if the rules are being changed, then surely the likes of Pennant need not apply ?

Trappatoni is not heading down the same route as Jack Charlton. Ireland's three top strikers are Irish, Ireland's four wingers are Irish, with one "genuine diaspora". The bulk of Ireland's midfield is Irish, as are the guts of the back-line.
    And that rule book has tightened considerably, to the point where Irish born and bred Darren Gibson had to be fought for at CASS level. .

Darren Gibson's Irish nationality was not as clear-cut as you would seem to suggest. The only reason the CASS became involved was due to Northern Ireland's resistence to what was a grey area before dispensation was given to Gibson. It is not a case that UEFA or FIFA became involved and sought to prevent Gibson playing for the ROI.

ut I have said before I have no problem with diaspora who commit early to Ireland, which Clarke and St Ledger both did.

Greene is both ****e and a mercenary as far as I am concerned. Two reasons he should be nowhere near the side..

Again, what difference does the time of declaration of nationality make ?

Ray Houghton became aware of his eligibility by fluke. Does that not place him the same catagory as Greene ?

Well, to be fair, that is the whole point of international football. ;).

But that does not mean that the degree of nationality is set in stone.

It bloody did you know. The British media routinely referred to us as England B etc.

Fleet Street determines the views of countless football fans around the world on the subject of the Irish football team ?

I think you are looking at this through rose tinted glasses. There was plenty of comment, some of it negative, right through the Charlton period that the likes of Brady and Whelan were discarded for Brits. It did happen..

Brady was in the Irish team right up until the final Euro 88 qualification game. His virtual absence from the Euro 88 tournament was based on a suspension he accrued in the Bulgaria game. He went to Euro 88 as an ineligible player. Charlton decided not to disrupt a team which was performing well.

Or the football people who saw Charlton dismembering the underage teams on the basis he would never play any of them, and using the resources to hire researchers. A situation that it took Brian Kerr to fix.

I don't know what age you were in the late 80's, but Charlton as a man was ferociously unpopular with the grass roots. Yes, we all enjoyed his success, but there was a well known bust up with the u21 manager (Givens or Hand I think) that hit the papers too. Roy Keane mentions it in his buke.

Did the likes of Don Givens work absolute miracles with the Under 21 team ? That man single handedly decided the fate of several potential Irish players, spoke on matters which were beyond his remit, and failed miserably to progress the Irish team at that level.

Ultimately, once Charlton departed, the likes of McCarthy and Kerr worked hard on restoring a clapped out Irish team. While it was not an instant success, it quickly became moderately successful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭cantgetright

Sorry to go off topic but
    McGrath ?

Sorry to go off topic but
    McGrath ?
    McGrath was born in Ealing, London to an Irish mother and a Nigerian father.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_McGrath_%28footballer%29

Thought he was born in Ireland myself.

Who says they didn't contribute? I'm simply saying we pushed our luck big time in even selecting them and were a major factor in the rules being changed to stop it happening again. It should have been a stop gap measure, which needs must I accepted, but Trapp seems to be heading down that road again, which I won't

How have the rules of eligibility been changed ?

Surely a grandparent born in the country is still the qualification cut off point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

If this puts McShane even further down the pecking order, it can only be a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭cantgetright

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_McGrath_%28footballer%29

Thought he was born in Ireland myself.

Might of been born in London but he grew up in Whitehall. Think his heritage is a bit stronger than what Dotsy made it out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Woody_FX

McGrath has an Irish accent. And always identified himself as Irish. I dnt think you can make a comparison with.Gerrard

How have the rules of eligibility been changed ?

Surely a grandparent born in the country is still the qualification cut off point.

The granny rule was an Irish requirement for a passport. Once you had the passport, you could play. FIFA have changed that, so you now need at least one blood relative of parent or grandparent, a spouse or have lived in the country for 5 years. Its much tighter.