Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stupid mistake - q re fines and likely outcome

• 24-04-2011 9:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭

I'm on my first provisional, I've had my car for not so long but I've had 15 lessons prior to getting the car. Anyway, earlier tonight I was in the car park of a local swimming pool with one of my friends but no accompanied driver. I know it was stupid, I'm not going to make any excuses for it. He isn't licensed either. He sat into the car and drove it a few feet then stopped and parked it. 2 undercover gardai pulled up at that stage.

He was asked to provide a licence and proof of insurance which obviously he didn't have. I was also told to provide my licence and showed my provisional to the Garda. He gave me a right bollocking which was exactly what I deserved and told me I can be off the road for up to 2 years. He said I have 10 days to produce my licence and insurance at a station. Following this he said I should make an appointment with him during the week to talk about what to do about this.

I know I was stupid and I'm not going to make any excuses for my behaviour. I'm just wondering whether I automatically receive a fine, if so how much and will I have to appear in court to pay it, and also whether the Garda has a discretion to just issue a warning and whether this is likely or not.

It scared me senseless and I'll never be that stupid again, kicking myself now for ever being that idiotic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

Just make sure you make that appointment with the guard and tell him how sorry you are.

You should be ok and just get a telling off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭rachos89

Thanks, I really did learn my lesson!Still shaking, never ever going to be that stupid again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I didn't get some parts of the story.

Was the car yours or your friends?

Why didn't he have insurance?

Any if it was your friend driving, why did the guard asked you to produce a full licence and insurance?

Hi CiniO,

The car is mine, only registered in my name since last week, so ashamed that I did something so stupid so early :( He didn't have insurance on my car. The garda asked me to provide a licence and insurance for not having an accompanied driver with me, I assume because I didn't have anyone with a full licence there and the garda (rightly) thought I drove there myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Car park of local swimming pool. Wouldn't that be private property?..

Did they ask your friend to produce insurance since they were actually driving the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

A severe bollocking to suitably put the sh!ts up you and a quick reminder of the consequences of your actions should you repeat them.

Be respectful and apologetic and above all - be on time !!

Ken

@jaffa20 yeah they asked him to produce insurance. Not sure if the car park is actually private property or not because there's also recycling banks there, which are surely the responsibility of the council?

@ZENER well he definitely accomplished that and he could see it even before he told me come down for an appointment, I was shaking like a leaf and nearly in tears. Completely deserved it too! I'll definitely be all of the above - and I'll walk to the station!

Sorry about this, looked up the swimming pool and discovered it's managed by a private company on behalf of the city council so I doubt I'd have any luck pursuing the private property angle!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

You left your friend drive your car around the car park of the swimming pool? If so the guard had no right to harass either you or your friend, this sounds to me like a guard being their useless typical self and picking on a young kid instead of doing something useful like catching criminals.

Whether the carpark is public or private property is not important so long as it is not a public road. I'd be getting their staff numbers and making a report to the garda ombudsman for harrasment. Is the motor in any way modified?

Not modified at all!Just a humble 00 Renault Clio. I'd like to point out that the car park was completely empty btw, but the garda made the point that my friend could've lost control of the car and flown into the trees at the edge and killed me, at which point "the Gardai would get the blame - we get the blame for everything". I don't want to push my luck with the staff numbers and making a complaint in case he was within his rights, he really scared me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭angeline

For what's it worth, it is a public place. Any place to which the public have access is a public place by law. So, you're friend was committing an offence by driving the car uninsured and with no licence. However, I doubt the guard will pursue this. Sounds more like he's going to give you a warning so I wouldn't be too worried. Just say you're sorry, etc.

Both yourself and your friend could be prosecuted I would think. The guard was acting within the law. You, for allowing your car to be driven knowing the person was uninsured and your friend for driving uninsured. But I doubt that will happen. Doesn't sound like you have any grounds at all for a complaint so I'd just say sorry Garda I won't do it again.

rachos89 wrote: »
    Not modified at all!Just a humble 00 Renault Clio. I'd like to point out that the car park was completely empty btw, but the garda made the point that my friend could've lost control of the car and flown into the trees at the edge and killed me, at which point "the Gardai would get the blame - we get the blame for everything". I don't want to push my luck with the staff numbers and making a complaint in case he was within his rights, he really scared me :(

Were ye mucking around doing donuts or anything? Or whizzing about the carpark? Similar thing happens down here (Killarney) with empty carparks where a few lads in altezzas and levins blackens the hell out of carparks doing donuts and the carpark owners go mental over it when in reality at least the boyracers are not doing it on the roads. With the Rally of the Lakes it will be all the rage next weekend.

I'd say ye might be the victims of a sting set for boyracers at this racket. Even though he scared you, I couldn't see anything coming of this and it was probably just a case of wrong place wrong time.

I'd tell your parents about it but as it was not a public road you didn't do very much wrong, you could always say your mate is thinking of buying the car off you ;) and you choose the carpark as a safe non public place to let him get a feel for the car before he thinks about it; being responsible and all. If you were very worried a solicitor would destroy the guards over this when you'd agree to meet them.

@angeline, that's what I fully intend on doing!and I definitely won't repeat that mistake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Stinicker wrote: »
    You left your friend drive your car around the car park of the swimming pool? If so the guard had no right to harass either you or your friend, this sounds to me like a guard being their useless typical self and picking on a young kid instead of doing something useful like catching criminals.

Whether the carpark is public or private property is not important so long as it is not a public road. I'd be getting their staff numbers and making a report to the garda ombudsman for harrasment. Is the motor in any way modified?

That's a downright stupid attitude to go in with. At the end of the day the OP is driving around illegally. We all did it but still if your caught then just jump through the hoops. I'd be pretty hopeful that if you meet the guard and just play along you'll get off without any penalty.

@Stinicker, when I drove in first (about 10 mins before they showed up), I did a quick lap of the car park purely because I've never had the freedom to before!But when they showed up my friend was literally taking the car from one side of the car park to the other, about 30 feet, and at about 15kmph. Wouldn't want to be zooming around that carpark anyway, tis all loose gravel and it'd be lethal! I called my mom down alright, in the hopes that she'd get in the car with me to take it the 5 minute drive home but she didn't want to walk back to her car so I ended up calling a fully licensed friend who lives nearby. Have already had the parent-chat! Can't believe I was such an eejit, I'm normally so responsible and careful!

gpf101 wrote: »
    That's a downright stupid attitude to go in with. At the end of the day the OP is driving around illegally. We all did it but still if your caught then just jump through the hoops. I'd be pretty hopeful that if you meet the guard and just play along you'll get off without any penalty.

There is a huge difference between driving around on Private property and if they decided to go for a spin down a public road; it is plain stupidity out of the gardai, a waste of time and tax payers money and all it represents it two tick guards with nothing better to do than pick on two presumably teenagers and throw their weight around and be the big men. If it was my son or daughter that was treated like that I'd be fuming!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭letsbehonest

Were you on private or public property at the time?
    This could get you out of your spot of bother!

@ Stinicker, I'm 21 and my friend's 20 so we're young but old enough to know better at the same time, I'll admit that right away! Besides, asked around about the Garda to get an idea of how my appointment will go and he does work with one of the local secondary schools and is supposed to be a fairly sound guy in that respect so fingers crossed he'll be satisfied with leaving me off with a warning (and near heart failure)

Look, I agree this was entirely innocent and not serious but I have a feeling the guard is prob thinking the same way. But, technically, it is under law a public place, a solicitor could not destroy the guard over this. Go in with the wrong attitude and it's possible both yourself and your friend will be put off the road. Go in and say sorry and I doubt he'd take it further.

definitely definitely definitely going in apologetic, have a feeling at the sight of him i'll be reduced to a shaking mess tbh!

angeline wrote: »
    Look, I agree this was entirely innocent and not serious but I have a feeling the guard is prob thinking the same way. But, technically, it is under law a public place, a solicitor could not destroy the guard over this. Go in with the wrong attitude and it's possible both yourself and your friend will be put off the road. Go in and say sorry and I doubt he'd take it further.

I agree with this to just simply not rock the boat with them, otherwise they'll just nail you for some other indiscretion later on.

Its your mate they could try make a big deal over anyway not yourself. Best thing to do is deal with it as above and chalk it down to a wtf! moment and concentrate of getting your licence, I swear L plates are like a magnet for stupid unnecessary trouble like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

There is a huge difference between driving around on Private property and if they decided to go for a spin down a public road; it is plain stupidity out of the gardai, a waste of time and tax payers money and all it represents it two tick guards with nothing better to do than pick on two presumably teenagers and throw their weight around and be the big men. If it was my son or daughter that was treated like that I'd be fuming!

Lets say for a minute he is untouchable in the car park. How do you reckon he got there in the first place?Airlifted in? If the Gards said nothing then waited till the OP drove out on to the road to head home are the Gards in the right then to pull him in?

Your attitude is horrendous btw, but fairly typical of the "entitled to drive" attitude from a good percentage of people.Always looking for a way out of wrongdoing or someone else to blame. "It's the Gards fault for having nothing better to do". Hopefully the attitude of it being a right to get on to the road as quickly and as cheaply as possible can be phased out here, and it's with a big dollope of proper enforcement from Gards that will help it along, so that people realised they should not be on the road alone until they can prove at least somewhat competant in a test (hopefully a much more invovled one than we have now). The compulsory lessons is at least a start. The fines brought in a couple of years ago but largely ignored by Gards is a matter that needs addressign though.

Lets say for a minute he is untouchable in the car park. How do you reckon he got there in the first place?Airlifted in? If the Gards said nothing then waited till the OP drove out on to the road to head home are the Gards in the right then to pull him in?

Your attitude is horrendous btw, but fairly typical of the "entitled to drive" attitude from a good percentage of people.Always looking for a way out of wrongdoing or someone else to blame. "It's the Gards fault for having nothing better to do".

Going from the OP's post it looks like him and his friend drove to the car park, he drove with his friend and thus drove unaccompanied, breaking the law; Did the Guards pull him for this, it doesn't look like it, perhaps they observed it without proof and decided to shake them up over it.

Now if the guards had waited till the OP and his friend had departed onto the main road and then pulled them over; then the OP could be done for driving unaccompanied and his mate wouldn't even appear in the situation only for being a passenger and witness.

The proper and common sense way for the Gardai to have handled this would be to pull the OP over when he was driving afterwards, give him a warning about driving unaccompanied; tell him thats the law and don't let I catch you doing it again or I will be writing you up. Or else approached the OP as they were getting ready to leave and ask was his mate qualified and if not tell him to let the car and get a taxi etc.

I know guards who took drunk drivers out of cars and drove them home rather than prosecute and told them let this be the last time I have to do it etc. The gardai right now are driving every single one against them with their attitude and a common sense approach to policing would see a much healthier respect for police in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Going from the OP's post it looks like him and his friend drove to the car park, he drove with his friend and thus drove unaccompanied, breaking the law; Did the Guards pull him for this, it doesn't look like it, perhaps they observed it without proof and decided to shake them up over it.

Now if the guards had waited till the OP and his friend had departed onto the main road and then pulled them over; then the OP could be done for driving unaccompanied and his mate wouldn't even appear in the situation only for being a passenger and witness.

The proper and common sense way for the Gardai to have handled this would be to pull the OP over when he was driving afterwards, give him a warning about driving unaccompanied; tell him thats the law and don't let I catch you doing it again or I will be writing you up. Or else approached the OP as they were getting ready to leave and ask was his mate qualified and if not tell him to let the car and get a taxi etc.

I know guards who took drunk drivers out of cars and drove them home rather than prosecute and told them let this be the last time I have to do it etc. The gardai right now are driving every single one against them with their attitude and a common sense approach to policing would see a much healthier respect for police in general.

You say the garda actions were a waste of tax payers money in one post and in the next you suggest they should sit and wait (maybe for hours) for the OP to drive out and then warn him/her???
    They done the correct thing, gave a good boll*cking to the OP, which from the tone of his post has worked and arranged another meeting with him/her to re-enforce the point.
    Good preventative action and if all young driver could get caught (and receive a boll*cking) the first time they done something stupid, we'd probably have safer roads.

The proper and common sense way for the Gardai to have handled this would be to pull the OP over when he was driving afterwards, give him a warning about driving unaccompanied; tell him thats the law and don't let I catch you doing it again or I will be writing you up. Or else approached the OP as they were getting ready to leave and ask was his mate qualified and if not tell him to let the car and get a taxi etc. .

While that approach might have an effect in a smallish town that has a couple of Gards and small population, the reality is , in a city like Dublin say, you could realisticly drive around on your one with a provisonal for years getting stopped every couple of months and never encounter the same Gard twice, all the while getting a ticking off and told not to do it again while playing the innocent. The fines where brought in for a reason and the sooner Gards start enforcing that the better. The situation would also have a bearing. Encountering a provisional licence holder alone at half 8 in the morning heading to work would be a much bigger case for leniency than a couple of young lads giving each other a shot of their car of an evening, which is not demonstrating a mature and responsible attitude.I still favour a sterner "no one drives unnaccompanied" approach over the lax attitude that prevails now.

The traffic blues program highlighted some issues last year. Things like people getting told off and sent on their way while having a car overloaded with kids and them not wearing seatbelts. Now the Gards on here rightly pointed out thei rhands are tied with regard taking the cars off them but in instances like that they car hit them with fines for driving unnacompanied and it might make them think in the future when the trip might cost them a couple of grand. Under the "common sense approach" this behaviour is basically tolerated and people fire away and continue.

People need to decide whether they want the "ah sure it'll be grand" gombeenism attitude to stop or not in this country. You cant pick and choose when you want it to apply (politicians, banks etc) and when you want a blind eye turned (inexperienced/wreckless people driving 1.5 ton weapons around the public)

Are you saying giving drunk drivers a ticking off and a lift home is a good thing:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Guard was well within his rights to pull the OP. The car was driving in a public place, ie council swimming pool car park. You really need to learn the laws on driving before you start spouting poo like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

A great display of ignorance of the law. Driving lessons in a public car park frequented by children is always going to be frowned upon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

I would say meet with the Guard, be apologetic and respectful. He did not have to give you that chance. Remember you will have to live and drive in that town for the foreseeable future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,395 ✭✭✭✭unkel

he said I should make an appointment with him during the week to talk about what to do about this.

That's a good sign. It looks like the Guard might use his discretion if he likes what he hears during that meeting. Just be like in your posts here. Honest and apologetic. Hope for the best.

Your friend is not going to be that lucky though. He'll pay the price for his idiocy of driving uninsured.

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

For all those who don't know the difference.
    The private or public property ownership is irrelevant when traffic law is involved, the deciding factor is whether or not the public are permitted vehicular access.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1961/en/act/pub/0024/print.html#sec3
    “public place” means any street, road or other place to which the public have access with vehicles whether as of right or by permission and whether subject to or free of charge;

“public road” means a road the responsibility for the maintenance of which lies on a road authority;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,702 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Following this he said I should make an appointment with him during the week to talk about what to do about this.
    unkel wrote: »
    That's a good sign. It looks like the Guard might use his discretion if he likes what he hears during that meeting. Just be like in your posts here. Honest and apologetic. Hope for the best.

Your friend is not going to be that lucky though. He'll pay the price for his idiocy of driving uninsured.

We are fortunate in this country to have a police force that is regarded as very honest but in lots of other countries being told by a cop to meet up 'to talk about what to do about this.' would have connotations of the cop expecting a bribe.

I have never heard of a Garda asking someone to meet after an event like the one the OP described to discuss anything. After a traffic accident fair enough to take statements but what is there to discuss in this case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭timefora_J

Sounds like the copper is after some info....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

coylemj wrote: »
    I have never heard of a Garda asking someone to meet after an event like the one the OP described to discuss anything. After a traffic accident fair enough to take statements but what is there to discuss in this case?

"I'm not going to prosecute you for anything this time, because you seem like a nice lad an you're obviously sorry, but if I catch you at that sh1te again I'll throw the book at you, understand? Now get out of my sight."

...or something similar. Seems fair to me.

I've heard of a couple of people who've met with the Garda after being caught without a fully licensed driver and been given a serious talking to and sent away with their tail between their legs but with no other penalty, so fingers crossed I'll have the same outcome!I've certainly learned my lesson and I plan on getting that across when I meet him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

We are fortunate in this country to have a police force that is regarded as very honest but in lots of other countries being told by a cop to meet up 'to talk about what to do about this.' would have connotations of the cop expecting a bribe.

Very similar thing happened to me in Poland when I was 18.
    I got my girlfriend to the very remote car parking on the side of the town in the evening, to show her how to operate the car. (use clutch, accelerator, brake, gears, etc). Parking was big (few acres) and empty. No one around.
    She was already attending driving school, but so far she had no practical lessons (just theory) so she never was driving before.

Pretty much after few seconds after she was trying to drive a car, police came in with blue flashing lights and sirens, and treated us almost like criminals.
    The wanted to issue 300 zl penalty to me for giving out car to unlicenced driver (this was about average minimum monthly salary at that time), and 500zl penalty to her for driving without licence + forbid her to sit driving test for next 3 years (which would be the worst thing considering she was already attending driving school and wanted to pass her test in next few months).
    Eventually all changed, when they discovered that my dad works in departament closely linked to police force. Then they said, to ask my dad to visit them, and they will see what can be done.
    My dad went there, and that was it. I never know if he gave them a bribe or not.

Anyway - I think it's crazy to penalise young people for things like this, if it's done in safe and empty place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Hmmm ..... sounds like the Polish Galway tent! :D

CiniO wrote: »
    Anyway - I think it's crazy to penalise young people for things like this, if it's done in safe and empty place.

The OP's situation is different though. I assume you had a licence to get the car and your girlfriend to the car park in the first place, the OP didnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,589 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Hi CiniO,

The car is mine, only registered in my name since last week, so ashamed that I did something so stupid so early :( He didn't have insurance on my car. The garda asked me to provide a licence and insurance for not having an accompanied driver with me, I assume because I didn't have anyone with a full licence there and the garda (rightly) thought I drove there myself.
    Haven't read entire thread.

If the garda did not see you driving the car, he cannot assume you arrived in the car park without an accompanying qualifying licence holder - unless you tell him. Can't see you being prosecuted for that, but if you are, get a solicitor.

You could be done for allowing your friend to drive (unless they told you beforehand that they had a full licence and their own insurance....).

Anyway, hopefully you will just get a stern lecture.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

There might be something in the technicalities of what is being said about the location of the driving but for gawds sake don't present yourself to the garda with that attitude (in fairness OP clearly said they would be doing the opposite).

You'd guarantee yourself a set of summons', plenty of hassle, a nice legal bill if you engage a solicitor and the potential for a hefty fine and disqualification either way.

Thanks to everyone for their advice and opinions, it was all really helpful and I appreciate it! Had my meeting with the Garda this morning, walked to the station and he basically gave me a bollocking but then was nice and understanding at the same time and gave me a break this time around. My friend is also being given a break this time around but neither of us will ever be that stupid again!

That's good news, fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

That's hilarious... a bribe?
    Come on... when have you ever heard a Garda look for a bribe (full stop) from a 20 and 21yo for driving unaccompanied in a car park?

Anyways, the OP's sorta thing happens ALL the time. The day or two the Garda leaves you to stew, is the time you start thinking of all the millions of things he could possibly do you for. It's a good way of making you learn your lesson and it's clearly worked.

Fair play to the Garda for getting this one right. He didn't spend abnormal amounts of time on the issue and was able to get the OP thinking carefully about his/her actions and also the OP having to make their way down to explain themselves in an actual Garda station (rather than at the incident itself) only strengthens the Garda's lesson.

Well now you have! A stern lecture is all I would've ever expected from the incident.
    You'd have to get some ridiculously harsh ar$ehole of a Garda to actually prosecute someone over what the OP did.

The gard clearly had the confidence and intelligence to make an assessment of the need to prosecute and did so.

OP passed the attitude test.

Good policing.

Reloc8 wrote: »
    The gard clearly had the confidence and intelligence to make an assessment of the need to prosecute and did so.

OP passed the attitude test.

Good policing.

Yes indeed; it is so important that hardened criminals like the op get put in his place, while drug dealers and real criminals are free to roam the streets. Lazy policing and policing on an ego trip, I wonder would the same guard be so quick to target real criminals. A few thousand layoffs from the Gardai and a 30% pay cut would soon see them get their priorities in order.

FFS, you'll never be happy will you?

The Gardai didn't wait around until they saw the OP driving on the main road unaccompanied, saving their own time.

The Gardai didn't fine or prosecute the OP as his indiscretion was relatively minor, keeping the courts free for more major crimes.

The Gardai did deal with it in a way that the OP knows exactly what he did wrong and doesn't intend to do it again.

To be honest, it's the perfect result if you think that the Gardai should be prioritising the prosecution of "real criminals" while also catering for those who say "I can't believe they drove past those guys driving uninsured. Where were they going that was more important that stopping uninsured drivers, the doughnut shop?"

Excellent policing imho.

It's good policing because there are now 2 people who will think hard about driving without a licence or insurance in future, and that attitude will probably stay with them for life. Coming down hard would most likely result in those same 2 people developing the same attitude you've just displayed.
    But, sure, I'm confident you'd feel so much better knowing that all the Gardaí are out chasing drug dealers and too busy to bother about the unlicenced & uninsured learner who just ploughed into your car and done a runner (if it happens).

-Chris- wrote: »
    FFS, you'll never be happy will you?

The Gardai didn't wait around until they saw the OP driving on the main road unaccompanied, saving their own time.

The Gardai didn't fine or prosecute the OP as his indiscretion was relatively minor, keeping the courts free for more major crimes.

The Gardai did deal with it in a way that the OP knows exactly what he did wrong and doesn't intend to do it again.

To be honest, it's the perfect result if you think that the Gardai should be prioritising the prosecution of "real criminals" while also catering for those who say "I can't believe they drove past those guys driving uninsured. Where were they going that was more important that stopping uninsured drivers, the doughnut shop?"

Excellent policing imho.

The thing was that the two chaps were harming no-one or doing nothing likely to cause offense or damage, a chap sat into a car and drove it around an empty carpark a night time. It is a case of two guards sticking their nose into something and being the big men with "the authoritah" to push people around, it was nothing more than bullying by the Guards. How anyone can defend the guards actions in how the OP was treated is beyond me. Victimisation of a young driver and harassment is what this was.
    slimjimmc wrote:
    But, sure, I'm confident you'd feel so much better knowing that all the Gardaí are out chasing drug dealers and too busy to bother about the unlicenced & uninsured learner who just ploughed into your car and done a runner (if it happens).

That did happen to me in 2009, the Gardai's response, its not worth pursuing for €300 worth of damage, however if the situation was reversed and I had no insurance and hit the person in question (A traveller) I'd be nailed to the cross, yet the guards left him effectively get away with it.

The thing was that the two chaps were harming no-one or doing nothing likely to cause offense or damage, a chap sat into a car and drove it around an empty carpark a night time. It is a case of two guards sticking their nose into something and being the big men with "the authoritah" to push people around, it was nothing more than bullying by the Guards. How anyone can defend the guards actions in how the OP was treated is beyond me. Victimisation of a young driver and harassment is what this was.
    victimisation! LOL
    harassment! LOL
    They saw an offence and acted in a lenient manner. You make it sound that two lads were repeatedly being picked on. You need to get a grip on your perspective. I bet the OP and his buddy are extremely greatful they got off so lightly.
    Stinicker wrote:
    That did happen to me in 2009, the Gardai's response, its not worth pursuing for €300 worth of damage, however if the situation was reversed and I had no insurance and hit the person in question (A traveller) I'd be nailed to the cross, yet the guards left him effectively get away with it.
    Are you complaining that the Gardaí managed to take time out from hunting "real criminals" to respond to your problem or are you complaining they didn't pursue someone who (as far as you/I know) wasn't a drug dealer or "real criminal"? I'm not sure which you want because you seem to object to both :confused:.

The Garda's reaction to the OP and his buddy was the correct one.

The thing was you had two young fellas taking the proverbial a bit with the RTA's who needed a bit of a kick in the arse - OP no offence meant - but perhaps not a full blown prosecution. The law is the law and the gardai don't write it. On this occasion everything indicates that a discretion was intelligently exercised.

To call this victimisation and harassment is absolute nonsense.

I'm inclined to say this is either half the story or just untrue. Either you didn't get the reg of the person who hit you, or the car was not correctly registered or it didn't happen - gardai ignoring a no insurance RT accident in 2009 where the uninsured person is identified ?

Nah.

Your introducing the 'travellers get away with stuff' card makes obvious where you're really coming from here.

If he was identified you could have sued him for the money - shure dey have PILES of money - or was it not worth it for the 300 quid ?