Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What age were you when you realised dinosaurs didn't exist?

• 24-04-2011 7:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭

I was about 14 - probably a bit older than most most - the idea that giant lizards running around that weighed 20-40 tonnes was just a bit too unbelievable.

Also our most historical records(the bible) has no mention of them so i should have copped on a few years earlier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

but...theres no toilet in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Thou Hast Failed Troll School. Go, and hang your head in shame.

I may or may not have just shat myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

I was a little disappointed by the Bible not having any dinosaurs, although the endless torture, murder and incest was pretty cool. OP, I suggest you take a look at the New Testament - it has a zombie in it! How cool is that?

I may or may not have just shat myself.

You better wipe your arse

orourkeda wrote: »

Ah, the Fatf/uckasorus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I was an archaeologist for a few years. I dug up fossilised bibles at various stages of development -a few books added every so often, as it evolved. I also dug up other fossils, mostly under bridges. If you want to try some archaeology for yourself, you just need a little trowel, a brush and the search function on boards where you will find the decaying carcasses of the threads you copied this one from. This seems to be a retrograde step in their evolution though.

JohnathanM wrote: »
    Ah, the Fatf/uckasourus.

Harnasaurus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Nodin wrote: »
    Thou Hast Failed Troll School. Go, and hang your head in shame.

Surely Troll School would give him an A. So he'd go out and practice his terrible trolling bringing shame to himself and much lulz to troll school.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I woke up very early one Christmas morning and Santa Claus was there leaving me my presents. He told me that dinosaurs never existed. Hell, it's not like Santa Claus would lie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭PinkFly

they dont exist??? since when????? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Also our most historical records(the bible) has no mention of them so i should have copped on a few years earlier!

i see what you did there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I was 15 when I Rode a dinosaur.. She was 23, THEN realises that dinosaurs do exist.

12 years later i realise how wrong I was..

Ouch..

The moon...

The sun....

Etc....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

What age were you when you realised dinosaurs didn't exist?

Dinosaurs did exist.

Uriel. wrote: »
    I was 15 when I Rode a dinosaur.. She was 23, THEN realises that dinosaurs do exist.

12 years later i realise how wrong I was..

Ouch..

The moon...

The sun....

Etc....

Did you rear end her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

your wrong.

the following historical evidence will irrefutably show that I'm right

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3092/3204192307_3a428cf010_o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

punchdrunk wrote: »
    your wrong.

I doubt the authenticness of this picture!!

We hadn't invented the wheel at this periotical stage but yet these dinosaur men appear to be shooting 'lasers' at each other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

We hadn't invented the wheel at this periotical stage but yet these dinosaur men appear to be shooting 'lasers' at each other

Lasers don't depend on wheels, so it's historicaly accurate and coherent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I doubt the authenticness of this picture!

You can't fake photographs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Did you rear end her

Sure why not... Someone had to

Ah Bill Hicks.. Such a great piece on dinosaurs and the bible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JBnaglfar

Sure dinosaurs existed, just look at Jurassic Park. Can't deny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

the scary thing is there are people who genuinely dont believe dinosaurs existed, I know a woman who thinks they didnt. she's a moron though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

krudler wrote: »
    the scary thing is there are people who genuinely dont believe dinosaurs existed, I know a woman who thinks they didnt. she's a moron though.

The creationist reckon we lived along side each other... it's amazing what fundamentalist homeschooling to do to perfectly good brain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

RichieC wrote: »
    The creationist reckon we lived along side each other... it's amazing what fundamentalist homeschooling to do to perfectly good brain.

A creationist wouldn't last very long in the Cretaceous period with that attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

PinkFly wrote: »
    they dont exist??? since when????? :eek:
    They went extinct there a while back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

How do they not exist though, yore ma's still knockin about? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

JBnaglfar wrote: »
    Sure dinosaurs existed, just look at Jurassic Park. Can't deny that.

By that logic god exists...just look at Bruce Almighty.

I was fully sure when I opened this thread that dinosaurs existed and god didn't...but now not so much...all I am certain of is that the thread is retarded.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

wwfsmd ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

OOhh I don't believe in dinosaurs, look at me. Are you an atheist? same thread different subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Needs more philosiraptor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Sun goes up, Sun goes down
    YOU CANT EXPLAIN THAT!! :pac:

Krieg wrote: »

I see you're bringing the big guns out now with world-renowned intellectual and model of coherent rationalism, Bill O'Reilly. :) Him and Palin are right about the dinosaurs though, just not the walking around with them bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

If I don't believe in dinosaurs, am I in trouble? Have I broken a law? Will I be ostracised by my friends or fired from my job? Are angry palaeontologists heading my way with machetes, ready to slit my throat for heresy?

No? Then the OP is indulging in false equivalency, and failing. The followers of religion pose a clear and present danger to those who don't share their beliefs. You can not say the same about scientists. And no, what happened in e.g. Stalinist Russia or Cambodia does not compare: Stalinism was a de facto religion, complete with commandments, icons, and a messiah. Pol Pot was just a nutter. :rolleyes:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Dinosaurs are a lie. Pokemon now theres something you can believe in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JBnaglfar

Turtyturd wrote: »
    By that logic god exists...just look at Bruce Almighty.

Nah, I've never seen Bruce Almighty :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

OP they technically do still exist, but only in strategic spheres of influence like - Dail Eireann, the judiciary and high ranking civil servants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Im going to assume this is taking the piss out of the "When did you realize God didn't exist" thread and in 4chan terms the "Atheistfags" ho posted on it.

Some of the posts back on this threat are hilarious for their seriousness...Jaysus lads is after hours...Not Serious discussion thread.

...Fags :pac:

LOL J/K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Of course they existed, they even have their own porn.

Pterodactyl porn, you won't be disappointed :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

RichieC wrote: »
    it's amazing what fundamentalist homeschooling to do to perfectly good brain.
    its amazing what slow-roasting can do to an only average brain, mmmm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Supersizeasaurus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Paulistanos

JohnathanM wrote: »
    I was a little disappointed by the Bible not having any dinosaurs, although the endless torture, murder and incest was pretty cool. OP, I suggest you take a look at the New Testament - it has a zombie in it! How cool is that?

I loved the HardTalk episode with the Australian creationist trying to convince himself that there were dinosaur eggs on the ark. It was his best explanation for the presence of dinosaurs which creationists either believe either roamed the earth 6,000 years ago with mankind or their fossils etc were 'planted' by God. Perhaps this God has a cool sense of humour and plays a cosmic version of treasure hunt.

It is not unkind to laugh at fundamentalist Christians, best that they be laughed at and scorned than allowed to corrupt their children, or yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

I thought up a really funny dinosaur joke a few days ago but I've forgotten it now.

Dinosaurs do exist. In fact, one of them comes to life every night at the Museum of Natural History in New York. I saw it on the big screen, therefore it must be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Krieg wrote: »

Cancer for Bill, please. The world needs less cretins like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Everyone know that god put the fossils there just so we could dig them up.
    I mean for feck sake, the planet is only about 4500 years old.
    The bible says it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

I thought up a really funny dinosaur joke a few days ago but I've forgotten it now.
    It went extinct.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

stoneill wrote: »
    Everyone know that god put the fossils there just so we could dig them up.
    I mean for feck sake, the planet is only about 4500 years old.
    The bible says it.
    did you mean 4500 million years old

or

since 9 am / October 23 4004 BC ?

( date vary depending on whether you use the Julian or Georgian calander )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

punchdrunk wrote: »
    your wrong.

Thats a great word,im going to put that into a sentence today.