Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best/Worst books you ever read

• 24-04-2011 4:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭

For me there are 3 books I can remember not leaving down once I started reading them:

The Van
    The Biography of Vincent O'Brien (by his wife Jacqueline)
    Paolo Di Canio's autobiography

The worst, by far, was 'Emma' for the Leaving Cert, what a load of bollix, boring as fook!

I'm also hoping to get some ideas for my next purchase from the replies even if it is AH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

I, Lucifer by Glen Duncan was a great read, some hilarious stuff in it.
    Count of Monte Cristo is probably my fav book though. Got through it in about a week, just couldn't put it down. Some overly convenient twists in it, but all in all, it was amazing, Edmund Dantes is a hero!

I hated War & Peace (although I'm not sure I can say that if I didn't in fact finish it). Got about 400 pages in, and thought, when is stuff going to happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

PEIG = worst ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

I, Lucifer by Glen Duncan was a great read, some hilarious stuff in it.
    Count of Monte Cristo is probably my fav book though. Got through it in about a week, just couldn't put it down. Some overly convenient twists in it, but all in all, it was amazing, Edmund Dantes is a hero!

I hated War & Peace (although I'm not sure I can say that if I didn't in fact finish it). Got about 400 pages in, and thought, when is stuff going to happen?

Digital Fortress by Dan Brown easily the worst book I ever read

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

Best, The Lord of the Rings books.

Worst, PS I love you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Best book I've read recently: http://lnw.me/fJ6hN9
    "Confessions of a Prairie Bitch: How I Survived Nellie Oleson and Learned to Love Being Hated"

Extremely funny, sad, shocking, informative and certainly an eye opener to the real world of television making.

WARNING: Adult themes/topics. NOT suitable for young readers.

(Available in eReader format too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 In_My_Tree

The worst book I ever read was The Bible.

Oh snap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

The Da Vinci Code for the worst. I still feel it's a stain on my soul that I read it.

Apart from the classics I adore like Huck Finn, Cannery Row and TKAMB, maybe the best (though I understand the problems with it) I've read and I'd recommend if you haven't read it already, is Shantaram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Best - East of Eden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

red menace wrote: »

Any of Dan Brown's books really...They're great upto 3/4 of the way in and then it's like he just loses complete interest and writes the shíttiest ending he can think off so he can rush off and start the next book...and do it all over again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I don't buy books realy anymore, you can get audiobooks from some subscription sites or itunes

Best-Black Diamonds by Catherine Bailey
    Loved it.

Worst, forget the name but that Dan Brown book and they were investigating something in ice. Terrible description from me but man, what an awful book

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

The best would easily be the Baroque Cycle by Neal Stephenson. All 3000 pages of it.

I pine for an Eliza De La Zeur to my Jack Shaftoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

The Da Vinci Code for the worst. I still feel it's a stain on my soul that I read it.

Apart from the classics I adore like Huck Finn, Cannery Row and TKAMB, maybe the best (though I understand the problems with it) I've read and I'd recommend if you haven't read it already, is Shantaram.

Great book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Enduring Love was good up until about 3 chapters from the end, just sort of tailed off.

I read a great book on holiday last year called Ghost, by Robert Harris. Incredible book, literally couldn't put it down. I think I read the whole thing in a day.

Worst book? I'm going to be crucified but... anything by Dickens. It's just tedious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The selfish gene and sasquatch the apes amongst us are among the best the worst would be any dan brown dribble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 windowgobo

Mr. Nice best book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Rochester

The worst ever, so far at least:

The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas.

Foul language being one of the reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Trainspotting is a great book, probably my favourite, untill i read Cloud Atlas by davìd mitchell,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ladysarastro

favourite book ever is The Gargoyle. keep rereading it!!

worst was probably one by jordan...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

best:

1984 - george orwell
    count of monte cristo - alexander dumas
    the running man - stephen king
    cosmos - carl sagan
    papillon - Henri Charrière

worst:
    naked lunch - william burroughs

My second post but I'll include this one as non fiction

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fast_Food_Nation
    Fast Food Nation, have read it several times.

There was a film with Bruce Willis, Greg Kinnear and Avril Lavigne. Film is an insult to the book, a truely awful film

But the book is great and a real education

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

worst was probably one by jordan...

Jordan is probably the only person who's written more books than she's ever read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭elefant

My favourite books are all the Ross O' Carroll Kelly novels. Just incredibly funny.

I don't think I could name the worst book I ever read. If it doesn't interest me, I just don't read it anymore, and put no more thought into it. I wouldn't class any book as bad, just certain books interest me less. Dan Brown's books mightn't be the best written or the most intellectual stories you'll come across, but they're enjoyable for what they are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

beano345 wrote: »
    best:

1984 - george orwell
    count of monte cristo - alexander dumas
    the running man - stephen king
    cosmos - carl sagan
    papillon - Henri Charrière

worst:

nice list... i liked naked lunch tho!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

At the moment I think Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy is my favourite book, and I'm going to end this comment now before I reconsider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Read a great book about globalization by Joseph Stiglitz last week,very eye opening!
    One of my favourite books ever is Home Before Night by Hugh Leonard,had to read it for school years ago and I loved it,same with To Kill A Mockingbird!

Worst book I've had the misfortune to read would have to be The Rock's autobiography,even as a 12 year old I knew it was trash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Icaras

I liked filth a lot, small gods by terry prachett. Book by I M Banks was the worst loads of detail but nothing really happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Pffft... Books are nothing else than the internet made from a tree!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Trainspotting is a great book, probably my favourite, untill i read Cloud Atlas by davìd mitchell,

Agree completely. Cloud Atlas is brilliant - and what's weird is I couldn't tell you why. Trainspotting is weird to read - reading in a scottish accent.

I am after reading the three books of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo - enjoyed them.

Worst book I ever read was - The Sword & the Stone, I threw it in the bin after reading about a third of it. It was awful. After that then probably a lot of chick lit, some of it is truly woeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,417 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Not without my daughter - amazing and gripping story, fantastic read

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ciano1 wrote: »
    Pffft... Books are nothing else than the internet made from a tree!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

leahyl wrote: »

didnt even know that was a book, loved the film, must get it.

can't really pick one favourite book but i literally couldn't put down His dark materials, philip pullman. had the three books in one and loved every single bit of it.

worst, eh, yeah, dan browns books, start off brilliant and you're flying through them and then the endings.. fcukin hell. and any chick lit really, mind numbing drivel, have never gotten any further than one or two pages in one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

My favourites are probably Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. One of the few books I've read more than once. Great craic. The A Song of Ice and Fire books are great, all of them. Highly recommended even if you don't like fantasy I'd urge you to give them a shot. A lot more grown up and realistic than the likes of TLOTR etc. Nineteen Eighty-Four is one of the few 'classics' that I have read that lived up to the hype. There is also a science fiction book called Ubik by Philip K Dick (the guy who wrote the books that the Blade Runner, Total Recall, Minority Report, A Scanner Darkly movies are based on). Think Inception but infinitely better. It borders on genius at times.

In terms of non-fiction The Bootleggers: The Story of Chicago's Prohibition Era is great. Covers everything from the original Irish immigrant gangsters starting bootlegging during prohibition through the war with the Italians and Jews right up to Capone's imprisonment and the end of prohibition. Couldn't put it down. Also Killing Pablo is great. Details the US and Colombians attempt to bring down Pablo Escobar and the Medellin Cartel. Some crazy stuff. He turned himself in at one stage on condition that he was allowed build himself his own private prison with pool tables and things. It also does a good job of examining why the 'war on drugs' became such a big thing with the end of the communist threat and all the various government departments like the CIA and FBI and military intelligence competing to be the main funding recipients in the new 'war'.

(Those links may contain spoilers further down the page, so careful with that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Best I've read - fiction: Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov and non fiction, Friday Night Lights by H.G. Bissenger

Worst, Non Fiction - Ian Wright's autobiography. Fiction: The Road by Cormac McCarthy

leahyl wrote: »

Good film, saw it years ago
    I'll check out the book

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Lorrrrraine

I was sleeping in a random house after a party a few years ago. My friend had her head in a bucket for the majority of the night so I thought I'd pass the time by reading the only book I could find. It was some Cecelia Ahern thing; I've never hated a book so much. I think my friend who was getting sick into that bucket was having a better time than me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

red menace wrote: »

Pretty much anything by Dan Brown, pure sh1te TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

It is difficult to pick a favourite, however I did love The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns - both by Khaled Hosseini and The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

Worst book is "Freedom" by Johnathan Franzen. It has received rave reviews but I found it long, monotonous and boring. I enjoy reading in the evening in bed and most night I read it out of habit (i.e. that I read every evening in bed) rather than actually wanting to read it because it gripped me and wanting to find out what happens

Good film, saw it years ago
    I'll check out the book

Never saw the film but the book is incredible - I've read it about 4 times - brilliantly written

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

Best book I've read in recent times would be "No Country For Old Men". loses it a bit in the last couple of chapters but completely unputdownable (now there's a word!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Best non fiction; "Risk, The Science and Polotics of Fear" by Dan Gardiner.

Fiction; either "To Kill a Mockingbird" (for a comfort read) or "Day of the Jackel" for a pure thriller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

'Cat's Cradle' by Kurt Vonnegut. An essential read for everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭thunderthing

I'm not going to put any of these books down as the worst, but in general I find that some GAA-related books can be awfully written, even ones with ghost writers. One that sticks out in my mind was Liam Dunne's book, but the story was good, so I wouldn't say it's a bad read.

Absolute worst I've read was 'Void Moon' by Michael Connolly. One of my friends had about 10 of his books, picked one randomly and said they were good and that I could keep it. Threw that one away immediately after finishing it, awful stuff.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

beano345 wrote: »
    worst:

Haha! Yes, you need to be on quite a few hallucinogens to get through that one!

Fair play for Michael Cronenberg for making a half decent movie out of it, best enjoyed half pissed at around 3am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

Loved Lolita and East Of Eden too, have to get my hands on them again. The Ascent of Man by J. Bronowski is non fiction but it's a great read too.

I really hated that new book Room for some reason, couldn't finish it, I just found the child's perspective so irritating.

Graham Nortons autobiography was hilarious! Wouldn't say it's the best book I've ever read or anything but it's a good laugh:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Loved Nick Hornbys High Fidelity, very enjoyable read imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

kf, given your love of the horses :) I also recommend the Border Trilogy by Corma McCarthy. It's not perfect, but it is a great read, very absorbing.

Hmmm...could boards do with a book exchange? 'cos I'd happily pass you on my copy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

For entertainment value, I loved Stephen Kings "The Stand" when I was younger. Big fan of Robert Jordans stuff too even the later books in the series. Magician of course is great too. Cosmos by Carl Sagan and the somewhat similarly themed Short History of Everything by Bill Bryson are great.

Worst... well I would endure most books but I must confess that I was very dissappointed with the Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo. It starting off as if it was building up to be something profound and then it was basically a scene from the mummy returns, the end. Pretentious new age twaddle. I will keep an open mind though and try another of his books at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

My favourite is Hyperion and its followup's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ladysarastro

krudler wrote: »
    Jordan is probably the only person who's written more books than she's ever read.

Just found out recently that she doesn't even write them. she gives a general idea and some poor sod does the work and jordan puts her name to it