Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are the best Irish things ?

• 24-04-2011 3:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

Admittedly, this just sprang to my mind, so I probably haven't given it the thought or time that a question like this deserves; but off the top of my head I'm going to go with, and in no particular order:

1) Sing-Songs

2) Red Lemonade

3) Butter

So, Ahers, what are your faves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Sausage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Pork products

Guinness. Dirty fish & chips. Breakfast rolls. High standard of living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

'Irish' music. Can't beat it.

And a complete inability to drink in moderation.
    Don't call me racist, half of you are drunk reading this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Céilís in secondary school were always great fun. Sneaking in a naggin, jumping round like a prat and fingering some one girl in the bike shed afterwards. Good times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Tanora, but now they've changed it :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Red lemonade is mank.

Sausages? Hell yes! We do them really, REALLY well, I didn't realise how well until I lived in Britain where even butcher sausages are yock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Begrudgery. No one else does it better than the Irish. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Bacon n' cabbage
    Stew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

The pedal-powered wheelchair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

brummytom wrote: »

That's racist :mad:

I've only had 2 bottles. :pac:

/opens a third

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭ForzaSaints

Guinness. Gers Deli. Rebel Songs. Irish Football. Saint Patricks Athletic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Sheltic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

black pudding

Friendly pubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

The dole

Our drop dead gorgeous politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Smithwicks.

Hiberno-English- I quite like that fact that the English spoken in Ireland is that bit different to that spoken anywhere else.

Tayto sangwiches.

The fact that the elderly in Ireland are the real deal- nostril hair, trouser braces, those wheely things aul wans carry their shopping about in. Not trendy, hip, Nike wearing, American style OAPs. Our old folk are the real deal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

The Irish sense of humour.

King cheese and onion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Red lemonade is mank.

Sausages? Hell yes! We do them really, REALLY well, I didn't realise how well until I lived in Britain where even butcher sausages are yock.

God no, English sausages are better. Cumberland sausages....drool....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Our ability to build more vomit coloured bungalows, despite knowing what the first one looked like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Jezzabelle

No way, nothing like butcher sausages or superquinn ones.
    The english haven't got a clue how to do a good fry up!. I find the food in England to generally be of a poorer standard than here.

Things about Ireland I love:

Sense of humour - unique to us and not always gotten by others
    Our pubs
    GAA
    Our use of the English language

Tayto crisps, club orange and a 'hang sangwich' in tinfoil :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

The ability to fill silences with often very funny nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Podge and Rodge, Killinaskully, Father Ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Bono

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Beating the English at cricket, a very Irish thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭HenryChinaski

The craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

brummytom wrote: »

"Marge, have I put my can down?"

"Yes, Homer"

"Good. Then turn down that Paddy Reilly album and hand me my broad black brimmer"

"You swapped your broad black brimmer for a sandwich years ago"

"Fine so"

*dudgeon*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Misery and emigration.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Red lemonade is mank.

No. No. A million times no. The gristle and rusk farce that the Irish try to pass off as sausages are a culinary travesty. Rashers, by all means, but those 'sausages' are just vile.

Irish milk, beef, lamb and humour are our real national treasures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

The full 'Irish' breakfast(including the sausages) but no beans - that just sooo English:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Slagging/taking the p1ss and not offending/being offended.

Sausage
    Pauleta wrote: »
    Pork products

Awaits a poster with eggs and mushrooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Jezzabelle

Oh and the way we call call each other "a bollox" for example and theres no offence taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

No. No. A million times no. The gristle and rusk farce that the Irish try to pass off as sausages are a culinary travesty. Rashers, by all means, but those 'sausages' are just vile.

Irish milk, beef, lamb and humour are our real national treasures.

You say you live in France - have you tried andouillette by any chance?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Oh_Noes wrote: »

I feel sorry for those Mayo cops...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

the famine lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Jezzabelle wrote: »
    Oh and the way we call call each other "a bollox" for example and theres no offence taken.
    Feck off ye bollox, I was going to say that;):o

Madam wrote: »
    The full 'Irish' breakfast(including the sausages) but no beans - that just sooo English:)

Get out......GET OUT!!!! :pac:
    Can't beat a few beans with the ould fry up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Oh_Noes wrote: »

Another good Irish trait is having a vivid imagination.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

answering unreasonable requests with "i will, yeah".
    we party like no other. Im not saying we're dignified, far from it, but we always have the best craic.

And there is most def no wedding like an irish wedding. Forget a 3 hr reception with no drink (americans) and think of a 3 day session and so much drink that you need so tilt your head back whilst sitting up so as you dont spill any.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    That's racist :mad:

I've only had 2 bottles. :pac:

/opens a third

Lightweights. Like informers, they'll always be with us.

Giving stereotypes a bad name.:pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Madam wrote: »
    You say you live in France - have you tried andouillette by any chance?:eek:

Of course. And while it doesn't claim to be a sausage (unlike that breadstick imposter I grw up with) it's good eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

The Rock of Cashel.

Our ability to build more vomit coloured bungalows, despite knowing what the first one looked like.

Not to undermine your excellent and valid point, but, read the thread title man.

Aah keep it happy. Who needs a tickle?

4) Tickling. (Oh yeah and Rice Krispie buns.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I love the way people greet strangers that they pass with "How are ye?" or "Howsagoin" when they have absolutely no interest in knowing the answer. If that's the Irish version of the simple "hello" in other countries, it's no wonder we have a reputation for being loquacious!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

You've never tasted superquinn sausages then, because they are the best in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭rednik

The quality of our potholes is superb, good and deep. Real suspension wreckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

When you drive in the country and see some random person walking or standing against a wall they will always wave at you,that really does put a smile on my face,its great to be Irish :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

answering unreasonable requests with "i will, yeah".
    we party like no other. Im not saying we're dignified, far from it, but we always have the best craic.

And there is most def no wedding like an irish wedding. Forget a 3 hr reception with no drink (americans) and think of a 3 day session and so much drink that you need so tilt your head back whilst sitting up so as you dont spill any.

just had a flashback to my own wedding 12 yrs ago............must go and ring a few cousins ..see how they are ........