Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Napoli, Udinese and Borussia Dort get ransacked for their stars in the summer?

• 24-04-2011 10:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭

There are some very good players at these 3 clubs and the Vultures could be about to swoop, who would you like your club to sign

NAPOLI

Edison Cavani
    Marek Hamsik

UDINESE

Alexis Sanchez

BORUSSIA DORTMUND

Nuri Sahin
    Neven Subotic
    Mario Gotze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Don't know about the other ones, but Napoli's owner is very rich.
    Not sure if they could withstand big bids, but they can easily try and keep the players on improved contracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Classy thread title that.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,941 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Souness would be proud :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Will Napoli, Udinese and Borussia Dortmong get Raped for their stars in the summer

The thread title reminded me of this

EDIT: Beaten to it!

Wrt the above mentioned clubs loosing their top players, I think a lot depends on which clubs are interested. I reckon that should Chelsea or Citeh be interested, the price will increase and so far from being ''raped'', the selling club may actually do quiet well out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

As a United fan I would love us to sign Nuri Sahin, he would be the perfect replacement for Paul Scholes, alas it looks like he'll be off to sit on Real Madrids bench, cant see Alonso being dropped . Hes available for 5.5m too which is a sickener

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Rape is a sickener....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

If they all finish where they are in their respective leagues then I believe that they will have been able to provide Champions League football for their players, possibly ensuring that they remain at their clubs for at least one more year.

However, the Udinese chairman has already said pay us £35 million and you get Sanchez.

For Liverpool, I'd like to see Mats Hummels signed up. One of the best young centre backs in Europe imo and sure to be the first choice centre back for Germany for the next 10 or so years (barring injury of course)

Barrios of BVB would also be a fantastic striker for any of the Premier Leagues clubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

WTF? The only team doing the ''raping'' will be the ones with the players as they'll hold out for a big deal. You really are a great contribution to this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

May be a bit naive of me but I honestly think if Napoli cement CL football Cavani will stay. He seems to have fallen in love with the club and the city.

Hamsik and Lavezzi I'm not as sure of, but I think they could be persuaded to give it one more crack at the Scudetto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Nuri Sahin is most likely on his way to Spain, according to different sources in Germany, but Neven Subotic and Mario Goetze should stay in Dortmund, they are key players and it would be stupid to let them go, no matter how much money someone puts on the table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Raped as in getting the guts of 100 million euro between them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Johner wrote: »

Pardew then claimed that he had said 'raked' which made it even funnier :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

First off the bat, change this thread title.

Secondly, Sanchez is definitley off. I see Lazio taking 4th spot ahead of Udinese so no reason for him to hang around. In terms of le tridente, Lavezzi and Cavani will be there next year. Hamsik has said he will stay but I think if a big bid materialises he might agitate for a move. Of the three in my opinion he is the one I could handle losing. For Edison or Lavezzi to bounce with Champions League football on the horizon does not bear thinking about. Also there are a few interesting additions coming to the San Paulo next year. Inler and Diarra look like done deals but dear god DeLaurentis has to spring for some defenders. The feeling experienced when seeing Salvo Aronica in a Napoli shirt is only akin to seeing McShane in an Ireland shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ColmDawson

I don't know much about Udinese and Dortmund but I could see the Napoli lads being happy with Champions League football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Dortmund wont even entertain an offer for Götze. No need to because they don't desperately need money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

population wrote: »
    First off the bat, change this thread title.

Secondly, Sanchez is definitley off. I see Lazio taking 4th spot ahead of Udinese so no reason for him to hang around. In terms of le tridente, Lavezzi and Cavani will be there next year. Hamsik has said he will stay but I think if a big bid materialises he might agitate for a move. Of the three in my opinion he is the one I could handle losing. For Edison or Lavezzi to bounce with Champions League football on the horizon does not bear thinking about. Also there are a few interesting additions coming to the San Paulo next year. Inler and Diarra look like done deals but dear god DeLaurentis has to spring for some defenders. The feeling experienced when seeing Salvo Aronica in a Napoli shirt is only akin to seeing McShane in an Ireland shirt

They've already signed a defender, Federico Fernandez from Estudiantes who comes very highly regarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Gimme your players or I'll rape ye!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Cavani strikes me as the kind of player who thrives on the love. I can't see what could be more appealing to him than a season in Europe with Napoli.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Ransacked.

Me Gusta!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

I only saw the new thread title and thought wtf is the problem with it....later saw it was changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Rojiblancos

Sahin's out for the rest of the season, looks like hes played his last game for the club. Kagawa could leave too.

Dortmunds recent results are poor they seem intent on throwing a way the massive lead they once had and sahins injury wont help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

You left out porto, only dropped 4 points all season. Hulk has the be the most coveted player this summer, unbelievable record, think he has like 23 goals in 25 games, 16 assists and player of the month like 5 months in a row!

Sahin's out for the rest of the season, looks like hes played his last game for the club. Kagawa could leave too.

Dortmunds recent results are poor they seem intent on throwing a way the massive lead they once had and sahins injury wont help

Any reliable source for the claim, Kagawa could leave?

And about the title race, should Borussia beat Nuremberg and should Leverkusen fail to win the derby against Cologne, the title goes to Dortmund next weekend ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Fair play to whichever mod sorted out the title.

Why fair play? what's wrong with the word rape when it's not being used in a sexual context?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

The word was coined to describe one of the worst things that can happen to a person. I think you would find that if someone close to you ever experienced it, you wouldn't take to kindly to other people using the word so casually. It's ****ing disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

players in Germany tend not to leave CL teams and with the German league at probably close to it's highest level in history I don't see why they would be in a rush to leave playing in front of 70-80,000 a week in the CL to go somewhere else. If anything Dortmund should be looking to strengthen...

The word was coined to describe one of the worst things that can happen to a person. I think you would find that if someone close to you ever experienced it, you wouldn't take to kindly to other people using the word so casually. It's ****ing disgusting.

It also means to pillage, plunder, ransack etc. Which is exactly what the situation would be.

Bunch of Helen Lovejoys the lot of ye.

Don't wanna take it off topic more but I have had people close. Loada bull changing it. I'll leave it at that.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Tom_Brady wrote: »
    It also means to pillage, plunder, ransack etc. Which is exactly what the situation would be.

Bunch of Helen Lovejoys the lot of ye.

I do love a bit of a pillage.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    Dortmund wont even entertain an offer for Götze. No need to because they don't desperately need money.

Has that stopped Munich before though?

dfx- wrote: »
    Has that stopped Munich before though?

Don't think, Goetze would join Munich, he wants to play the Champions League :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,952 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Tom_Brady wrote: »
    It also means to pillage, plunder, ransack etc..
    Does it?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Napoli could hold onto theirs. If Sanchez doesn't leave Udinese this summer, he definitely will the following summer. They could lose Inler and Isla too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

The only Dortmund player I can see leaving is Sahin. Don't understand why any of them would want to join Munich atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Meglamonia

Udinese and Napoli won't hold on to their players but Dortmund will,Munich are ussually there to take the best talent from German clubs but after this season that won't be the case.

Le King wrote: »
    The only Dortmund player I can see leaving is Sahin. Don't understand why any of them would want to join Munich atm.

Leonardo Dede is leaving as well, but he has other reasons, as far as I know, he will retire from professional football

Meglamonia wrote: »
    Udinese and Napoli won't hold on to their players but Dortmund will,Munich are ussually there to take the best talent from German clubs but after this season that won't be the case.

I'm not saying you're wrong but why do you think Napoli won't hold on to their players?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

They have a lot of money, but they're nowhere near the likes of Inter, AC, let alone clubs from outside Italy.

The likes of Cavani and Hamsik are wanted by dozens of clubs, if someone comes with the cash they will sell I'm afraid.

I don't think playing in the Serie A has the same attraction that it did 10+ years ago and the money isn't there either,even tho Napoli are a rich club!For example if one of the big teams from England or Spain comes in for one of Napoli's players I think the player would really want to move.Then again I could be wrong :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭spudwiser

I think you could add Villarreal in to this mix too. They will more than likely finish 4th in la liga but i dont think that will be enough. Barca have been strongly linked with rossi and nilmar. The likes of carzola, valero and mussachio could go as well.

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    The likes of Cavani and Hamsik are wanted by dozens of clubs, if someone comes with the cash they will sell I'm afraid.

That's a lack of knowledge of the actual situation with Cavani tbh. Actually, Napoli are in pole position to keep hold of Cavani. He is still owned by Palermo, he is only on loan at Napoli this season. That loan came at a cost of €3.5 million to Napoli, but with an option to buy (as most loans that involve a fee include) rumoured to be around €12 million. Add that to what he said just a few days ago, and I'll give you very generous odds if you'd like to bet me that Cavani will move somewhere else next year.
    "I will not change club and I will not be changing my agent," said Cavani.

"There is no truth to what is being said. I am happy here and I feel settled at Napoli.

"I am enjoying myself and I want to make my mark here and with my national team.

"In Napoli I have found great comfort. It is an honour to play for Napoli.

"During the remainder of the season we will give our best, but we know nothing will be easy. We will defend these colours until the death."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Cavanni's transfer is exactly the same as Ibrahimovic's.

The first year is a loan but the transfer is already arranged and they are already Milan and Napoli players.

When they signed for Milan and Napoli it was announched they had joined on 4 year contracts.

No idea why it is a loan for the first year maybe to stagger payments, maybe to use tax or player registration loopholes, I dunno, but they are Milan and Napoli players.

Cavani loves Naples from what I can gather, the city and the people. I could see Hamsik possibly going, but Napoli is a project that could progress further.

They are the only notable club in a football-mad catchment area of over 3 million people. They have a big stadium and a rich owner who loves the club. There's no reason for them not to compete with the northern clubs and I'd like to think the players may have thought of this.

Obviously Serie A is below La Liga and the Premiership at the moment so their heads could be turned abroad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

carlop wrote: »
    Cavani loves Naples from what I can gather, the city and the people. I could see Hamsik possibly going, but Napoli is a project that could progress further.

They are the only notable club in a football-mad catchment area of over 3 million people. They have a big stadium and a rich owner who loves the club. There's no reason for them not to compete with the northern clubs and I'd like to think the players may have thought of this.

Obviously Serie A is below La Liga and the Premiership at the moment so their heads could be turned abroad.

Their stadium isn't their own, they make feck all off matchday ticket sales, just like the rest of Serie A.

That's why Juve built their own stadium.

Why Inter are building their own, why Parma, Fiorentina, Catania, Palermo, Bari and Genoa/Sampdoria are all trying to buy theirs from the city councils.

And why Milan are threatening to build their own in an effort to force the Milan City Council to sell them the San Siro when Inter move out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭hatz7

I think, Edison Cavani & Sahin will leave their clubs. Not too sure about the rest.

hatz7 wrote: »
    I think, Edison Cavani & Sahin will leave their clubs. Not too sure about the rest.

Maybe after helping their clubs to champions league football they might hold on one more year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

ROFL the soccer forum has to be the BEST forum for overly sensitive users. Every day there is a thread where someone gets so uppity about so little. So funny to read.

Flight-of-the-Conchords.jpg

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Sahin is rumoured have a release clause of a paltry €6m.