Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Its your own fault for having kids!!!

• 23-04-2011 10:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

I am childless, by choice.:D

I know people want to have kids and that is their choice also.

But i am S I C K of my friends and family complaing about their kids! They come for a cuppa and start ...

Oh Johnny hit someone in school

Oh jenny asked why doesnt she have a willy like her brother

Oh David fell and hit his head again even though i told him not to be running and it cost me a bomb to get him checked out in hospital!!!

I know i prob sound awful but If i went off and CHOOSE to buy a car and it kept breaking down, people would get v sick of me moaning about it! And its the same concept, People choose to bring a child into the world (And before the abortion debate starts- theres a thing called adoption)

And recently when someone starts banging on "Oh i got no sleep/ Oh they want piano lessons i cant afford / Oh the school want a meeting about their behaviour....I always say that same thing "Its your own fault for having a child".

I get dirty looks, even abuse! But im sure childless (by choice) people see my point. Im 25, i dont plan on having a kid till im 35ish, and why should I suffer because people i know were thick enough to plan a baby at 20 ???

Im am expecting a load of abuse from parents on here- but any childless people id like to hear what you think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Methinks the lady doth "by choice" too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Disillusioned OP is disillusioned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

Why don't you ask them to stop boring you with tales of their children?

i thought you were going to rant about maternity leave and child allowance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

And what do you complain about ? People complain about life. They have kids - this is their life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

It's like people talking about the weather, it's a topic of conversation that most people can relate to. Plus for most (if not all) parents little johnny and miriam are the centre of their lives. Not libya, japan, syria or yemen but little johnny and miriam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭random10

usually when we talk to our friends we discuss things going on in their lives, so they have kids of course they are gonna talk about them. slightly harsh to tell them it's their problem. i hope ur friends don't say the same to you if or when you decide you'd like to have kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

To be honest it's what parents do.

But I agree, I'm childless by choice and don't really feel either mature enough or pushed to bring a little spoiled sh*t in to this world. There are enough people here already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I'd love to know the ratio of planned kids to unplanned kids in any give year in recent times. My guess is the majority are not planned. Well done.

Parenting is hard, there's nothing wrong with having a rant now and then. I wouldn't hold it against anyone if they said they were having some problems. But it does really get to me when I see parents at their wits end with 4 kids they can't control. If they can't raise their kids without everyone coming out of it driven mental then they should have stopped at the first one. There's a real population problem at the moment, escalating out of control, and people are having families of 4 or more when they couldn't handle the first child. If I'm honest I think it's selfish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Maybe they just want to vent at a friend. Others do it about work, they do it about their kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

chin_grin wrote: »
    To be honest it's what parents do.

But I agree, I'm childless by choice and don't really feel either mature enough or pushed to bring a little spoiled sh*t in to this world. There are enough people here already!

Thank you. People seem to think im being mean, But why does having a kid automatically make them the topic of conversation forever! Jesus they will be in collage and their parents still wont stop yabbn about them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

To be honest OP I feel similiar. I have some people moan to me about how much work they have to do but basically indirectly they are complaining about their children. I dont however say to them that its their own fault, thats a bit cynical if not accurate for my liking. I am 27 and do not want kids ever, I like having my sleep ins, I like having money left over to spend on whatever I chose. Its a selfish life but I feel like theres 2 roads I could take, the hard one or the easy one. The hard one you learn more but I'm good for life lessons thanks.
    I have plenty of children in my life and so get the benefit of having them however I can send them home at night or just say sorry I cant take them today.

Dont have sex if you dont want children. Period. Remember 100% contraception doesnt exist unless you count abstinence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

I once heard a very intelligent man say that people want to end their lives by being more at the end than they were at the start...and that you can only measure that by what you have done or achieved.
    People who have children realise one of the most amazing gifts we have..and thats to create life from nothing more or less...and in my mind if you have been able to create a number of these lives, you most certainly have a very good marker by which to measure your own life.

But I agree somewhat OP...parents do whinge a lot about their kids...but you would probably be also aware we waffle about 10 times how great our kids are!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Dont have sex if you dont want children. Period. Remember 100% contraception doesnt exist unless you count abstinence.

Up the bum, no harm done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

I always say that same thing "Its your own fault for having a child".

Yeah it's a pain to listen to other people complain/chat about something you've no interest in, but you'll either have to develop an interest in what they're talking about or avoid them. Although saying 'It's your own fault for having a child' will go some way towards helping you avoid people, because they certainly won't want to be around you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Up the bum, no harm done!

Or Oral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Dont have sex if you dont want children. Period.

To be fair nobody likes having 'period' sex, ruins the sheets and there's an awful 'bang' off the gee too :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

kfallon wrote: »
    To be fair nobody likes having 'period' sex, ruins the sheets and there's an awful 'bang' off the gee too :pac:

What about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

To be honest OP I feel similiar.

Good- Was starting to feel on my own lol
    I am 27 and do not want kids ever
    Thats where we differ a bit. I want a child, just one child- At 30+ My point was people who wanted a baby at 20 and are now bawling to me about them!
    I dont however say to them that its their own fault, thats a bit cynical if not accurate for my liking.

The reason I say that to them is because these people were thick enough to have a child when they had no money, and still have none and I have to listen to them moan. They say "Oh accidents happen" Ah funny it never happened to me because i took extra precautions and didnt say "Oh never mind the condom, it wont happen me" in the middle of sex!

And sterilisation lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

Ha ha, get up the yard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

i feel sorry for some kids,there seems to be alot of obese ones around :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

Voltex wrote: »
    People who have children realise one of the most amazing gifts we have..and thats to create life from nothing more or less...and in my mind if you have been able to create a number of these lives, you most certainly have a very good marker by which to measure your own life.

what a load of b0ll0x, any dumbass can make kids

creating art , music, saving lives , is a measure of a life .
    if you do that , and raise good kids fair play

but creating kids is no acheivement.

DaDumTish wrote: »
    what a load of b0ll0x, any dumbass can make kids

creating art , music, saving lives , is a measure of a life .
    if you do that , and raise good kids fair play

but creating kids is no acheivement.

true, wasn't there some skanger d1ckhead in england who had kids with 12 different women, it wasn't for the miracle of life he was at it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 bitzi

I have three kids, and love being a mother. I detest other parents who constantly give out and complain about their kids. After all they raised their own kids so they are to blame for their own childrens behavior , I had kids in my 20's, and now as I reach my middle 30's my kids are at a great age, so it's kinda nice having them young! I had such fun raising them! Great memories, and no regrets! Oh and good kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

i feel sorry for some kids,there seems to be alot of obese ones around :confused:

Ladies and Gentlemen, Mr. Kevin Myers..

bitzi wrote: »
    I detest other parents who constantly give out and complain about their kids. After all they raised their own kids so they are to blame for their own childrens behavior

surely a tad simplistic, kids are moulded by their environment as much as by their parents. we all remember times when we went bushing/smoking/wearing shoes with flashing lights because the cool kids were at it.

but a heart-warming post all the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

legitimate question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 bitzi

I agree that surroundings and environment do help to influence kids but really childrens first and foremost example in life are their parents. Proven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

efb wrote: »
    Or Oral.

Just so long as you don't get knifed just after... stay out of Limerick, maybe? :)

http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/discoblog/2010/02/01/ncbi-rofl-thats-one-miraculous-conception/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

JohnathanM wrote: »
    Just so long as you don't get knifed just after... stay out of Limerick, maybe? :)

http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/discoblog/2010/02/01/ncbi-rofl-thats-one-miraculous-conception/

bitzi wrote: »
    I agree that surroundings and environment do help to influence kids but really childrens first and foremost example in life are their parents. Proven.

First and foremost yes! Absolute influence no. A child's development is more complex than simply learning what their parents taught them. There have been countless examples of well-meaning parents whose kids have gone astray. There's only so much you can teach a kid in this day and age. The kid needs to have some form of get-up-and-go in them, innate or otherwise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭biscuiteater

But i am S I C K of my friends and family complaing about their kids! They come for a cuppa and start ...

don't worry once you've had kids the conversation completely changes, then they start bragging about all the things there kids can do and yours can't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Have two kids, the eldest is 9 the baby just 4 months
    Being a parent can wreck your head at times, late nights, early mornings, puking etc etc :D
    But having two girls that I absolutely love to bits is a job like no other, I would die for my kids I certainly wouldn't die for my car there really is no comparison!

Having said that there is no excuse in my books for bratty kids except bad parenting
    Good manners cost nothing and that comes from good parenting

I don't as a general rule whinge about my girls I've 2 great kids and even with Aisling keeping me up 3 nights on the trot I'm not going to bend the ears of my mates over it cos that's what teething babies do! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I'm a parent but nothing drives me more insane than people talking about their kids all the time. I'm having my lunch I don't care what your kids did at school. The constant phone calls checking up on them, go outside I Don't want to hear it.

If you can't manage work and kids then stay at home. controversial I Know but I Don't think their should be a different set of rules for mothers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

lets not forget we are all kids!!

but it does annoy me when people whine about how hard things are when they have 3 kids and can't make ends meet ... but then again when people are genuinely happy with their kids, that's great!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I am childless, by choice.:D

I know people want to have kids and that is their choice also.

Oh Johnny hit someone in school

Oh David fell and hit his head again even though i told him not to be running and it cost me a bomb to get him checked out in hospital!!!

I know i prob sound awful but If i went off and CHOOSE to buy a car and it kept breaking down, people would get v sick of me moaning about it! And its the same concept, People choose to bring a child into the world (And before the abortion debate starts- theres a thing called adoption)

And recently when someone starts banging on "Oh i got no sleep/ Oh they want piano lessons i cant afford / Oh the school want a meeting about their behaviour....I always say that same thing "Its your own fault for having a child".

I get dirty looks, even abuse! But im sure childless (by choice) people see my point. Im 25, i dont plan on having a kid till im 35ish, and why should I suffer because people i know were thick enough to plan a baby at 20 ???

Im am expecting a load of abuse from parents on here- but any childless people id like to hear what you think!

You chose to have friends, it's your fault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

It seems everyone I work with is having a fúcking kid! Every morning without fail someone mentions their kid before 10am. It's absolutely ridiculous!

There's one girl in particular who's just had her kid and is on maternity leave, but feels it's necessary to come into the office at least once a week to parade her child like a fúcking zoo animal. It's sickening! Yeah, well done, you managed to do something that every other animal on the planet can do. Woop di fúcking do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

OP = Forever Alone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

It seems everyone I work with is having a fúcking kid! Every morning without fail someone mentions their kid before 10am. It's absolutely ridiculous!

There's one girl in particular who's just had her kid and is on maternity leave, but feels it's necessary to come into the office at least once a week to parade her child like a fúcking zoo animal. It's sickening! Yeah, well done, you managed to do something that every other animal on the planet can do. Woop di fúcking do.

People talk about things they are proud of and love.

It's like a bloke I used to work with, was quite a keen amateur Rugby player, and every monday without fail he'd tell us about the match he played that weekend, I didn't mind, because he's a mate and it was something he loved to talk about.

I remember that aswell... Annoyin as shlte. A tonne of work to be done and every woman in the office is entitled to go chat with the new mum for half an hour while every lad in the office has to sit and pretend it's not there. Wouldn't matter too much except 70% of the office were women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

Oh great we havent had one of these threads in a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

but any childless people id like to hear what you think!
    Kids are too expensive, they'll emigrate once they're old enough, and Irish Family Law favours the mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Sonics2k wrote: »
    People talk about things they are proud of and love.

It's like a bloke I used to work with, was quite a keen amateur Rugby player, and every monday without fail he'd tell us about the match he played that weekend, I didn't mind, because he's a mate and it was something he loved to talk about.

Did he bring in his rugby ball for ye all to have a look at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I absolutely detest people who make this "it's your own choice" argument.

The entire purpose, the single most primal instinct and the most important function of life is to replicate itself so as the reaction can keep on going for as long as possible. This is not merely a human characteristic but a fundamental characteristic of all life - its ultimate goal is to keep the ball rolling for its evolutionary "fork" for as long as possible.

Like it or not, reasoning creatures or not, self control or not, there are some instincts which are too strong to ignore. The job of raising children is certainly not easy. But to suggest that it's as simple as choosing yes or no is very naive in my view.

We may indeed have free will up to a certain point. But after that point, deeply rooted evolutionary instincts take over and we have very little say in the matter.

I can't imagine never having kids. Could you? I'd feel like I had failed in the overall purpose of being alive. Evolutionarily speaking, if your bloodline doesn't continue, you are an evolutionary failure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

true, wasn't there some skanger d1ckhead in england who had kids with 12 different women, it wasn't for the miracle of life he was at it

Yup here- http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1366073/Serial-dad-Keith-Macdonald-fathers-11th-child-16.html
    imagine if he came to ire!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

The entire purpose, the single most primal instinct and the most important function of life is to replicate itself so as the reaction can keep on going for as long as possible. This is not merely a human characteristic but a fundamental characteristic of all life - its ultimate goal is to keep the ball rolling for its evolutionary "fork" for as long as possible.

Like it or not, reasoning creatures or not, self control or not, there are some instincts which are too strong to ignore. The job of raising children is certainly not easy. But to suggest that it's as simple as choosing yes or no is very naive in my view.

We may indeed have free will up to a certain point. But after that point, deeply rooted evolutionary instincts take over and we have very little say in the matter.

I can't imagine never having kids. Could you? I'd feel like I had failed in the overall purpose of being alive. Evolutionarily speaking, if your bloodline doesn't continue, you are an evolutionary failure.

I'm an evolutionary failure? What ever shall I do?
    I hope it doesnt go on my permanent record...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Well clearly not seeing as there are plenty of people who do not want kids.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

Evolutionarily speaking, if your bloodline doesn't continue, you are an evolutionary failure.

seems kinda primal ...

we are not 'animals' right? we don't just kill to survive, we also kill for fun, and as such those that don't want to raise kids in the times we live in are more human than those that just have kids as they were bored.

Evolutionarily speaking - gays are wrong, vegetarians are wrong, those not shagging hot 16 year olds are wrong ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

No you're wrong. We do actually have a choice. On one hand we are animals and are driven by primal instincts, but on the other hand, we've gone to space, decoded the human genome and split the atom. Still animals, but we're a long way away from our nearest relatives.