Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

R.I.P. John Sullivan

• 23-04-2011 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭

Writer and creator of arguably the greatest sitcom ever has died, not sure I know of anyone who didn't like Only Fools And Horses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

in before 'plonker'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Never seen that show..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Years in the setup .....

Classic gag.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Basq wrote: »

Apologies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

kfallon wrote: »
    not sure I know of anyone who didn't like Only Fools And Horses

Not sure about that Dave.

Good at times, bit broad, few seasons too many imo.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Apologies!

how do you reckon you will get on in sandown tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

OPENROAD wrote: »

Thats probably my favourite episode, I cry laughing every time I see that scene.

how do you reckon you will get on in sandown tomorrow

Got some decent rides but my main retainers, Cumani and Johnston, aren't firing yet so my best chance could be to back Aint She a Saint e/w for Jane Chapple-Hyam!

alexa5x5 wrote: »
    Thats probably my favourite episode, I cry laughing every time I see that scene.

The fact it looks so natural just adds to the hilarity, I love when Del Boy calls Grandad a "soppy old tart" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

He wrote some great lines for Trigger, my favourite OFAH character!!
    "Alrite Dave!!"
    RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

RIP, mais oui, bonsoir Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

If i'm ever feeling pissed off or down i just turn Dave (The Channel !) on and never far away from an episode, just start laughing instantly

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

OPENROAD wrote: »
    What makes the scene even funnier is just when the laughing from the image of Del falling through the bar dies down, David Jason delivers the superb "you're cramping my style mate!" line.

Fantastic! :D

^^^And Trigger doin a full 360 degree turn when Del is on the floor!! :D

Used to love the French stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭cookie75

What a show R.I.P. MR Sullivan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Sad sad news.
    Some great memories, many great scenes.
    Beano to Margate/Jolly Boys outing will always be my favourite.
    http://youtu.be/UJXr5WDBKCs
    Great montage from about 1 min in
    R.I.P.

ArtyM wrote: »
    Sad sad news.
    Some great memories, many great scenes.
    Beano to Margate/Jolly Boys outing will always be my favourite.
    http://youtu.be/UJXr5WDBKCs
    Great montage from about 1 min in
    R.I.P.

Loved the Margate episode, even now when we discuss going away for a few days with the lads we talk about organising a "Big boys jolly up to Margate" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Did he ever find yer man that stole the wheel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Best comedy ever. I never get tired watching them and still laugh at the same jokes. Del Boy is brilliant.

RIP john sullivan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Ah what a shame. He raised the bar for all of us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

My favourite episode ever had to be when Rodney won a holiday on a cereal box competition.

Del goes and they say Rodney is only 14 or something, funniest shit ever

Found link to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭keithc83

One of the very best comedies ever made. RIP John Sullivan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Please go to a better fools paradise.
    R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

sad news indeed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭JohnP199

RIP John, you were a 42 carot diamond. As many have said probably one of the greatest comedy writers for our generation. He'll be sadly missed. Also to note people, a new episode of Rock and Chips airs some of these night, John's last piece of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭deepsouthtalla

Hey Johnp199, its on Thursday at 9 in the evening, and i am so sorry to hear of this legends death, so many favorite moments just can't pick one, RIP John,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Basq wrote: »

Good enough for two :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

Bonjour John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Loved OFAH obviously but also Citizen Smith and Just Good Friends.

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

3 pages; for shame After Hours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

Qu'il repose en pie.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

right so... just like ole Roy...

Sitcoms have gone to shíte since John Sullivan died!

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

Very sad news - a true legend. His genius comedy bought millions of people countless hours of laughter and he wrote probably the best sitcom of all time. John Sullivan RIP.

scudzilla wrote: »
    My favourite episode ever had to be when Rodney won a holiday on a cereal box competition.

Del goes and they say Rodney is only 14 or something, funniest shit ever

Found link to it

The Groovy Gang!! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Writer and creator of arguably the greatest sitcom ever has died, not sure I know of anyone who didn't like Only Fools And Horses

As a Peckham girlie I was always proud of the comic genius that was Only Fools and Horses.

Ps:In real life Peckham never had a Nelson Mandela House but it did have a Winnie Mandela Way! :D

Another classic part was when Uncle Albert got gravy mixed up with coffee!! :D

As a Peckham girlie I was always proud of the comic genius that was Only Fools and Horses.

Ps:In real life Peckham never had a Nelson Mandela House but it did have a Winnie Mandela Way! :D

I lived in Peckham for a while and loved it. I felt I fitted in very well 'cos I'd done me 'omework by watchin' OFAH as a documentary. Cushty, lahvlee jubbly :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I lived in Peckham for a while and loved it. I felt I fitted in very well 'cos I'd done me 'omework by watchin' OFAH as a documentary. Cushdie, lahvlee jubblie :D

He who dares wins Rodders

Mais oui, mais oui :pac:

Mais oui, mais oui

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The genius of ofah was it was so heartfelt and genuine. There was real love and affection between the characters. Couple of times I had q lump in ny throat and "something in my eye" watching that show.

The bit after Rodneys wedding where Del is standing in the nags head by himself is poignant.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Jayzuz in the last week Sarah Jane Smith/Lis Sladen passes away and now John? I'm locked and loaded and ready to kill the cnut whose killing parts of my childhood. :(

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Mais oui, mais oui :pac:
    Mais oui, mais oui

Yer crampin' me style Trig, yer crampin' me style :D

Thats alot of the cast gone now, Uncle Albert, Grandad, Mike in The Nags Head and now the writer.