Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heor! Mistor! Ye wudent go in da offo fer us wud ye?

• 21-04-2011 2:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭

Why do people of a legal age go into off-licences for scummers? When you see the result of youth drinking in the papers nearly every week I just don't see how anyone can unleash these idiots on society fuelled by booze mixed with whatever else!

It happened again yesterday and the brave souls tried to start a fight when I said No. "Wot d'ya mean no, ye f**kin' tick?!?!". I just laughed in his face while his mates puffed up their chests and went on my way. I guess I could see how some could be intimidated into going in for them but I'd rather take a hiding from 10 than do it personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It happened again yesterday and the brave souls tried to start a fight when I said No. "Wot d'ya mean no, ye f**kin' tick?!?!". I just laughed in his face while his mates puffed up their chests and went on my way.

You really shit your pants didn't you? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I think your 2nd paragraph answered the question in the 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

When I was young at least we said "please" when we asked older people to buy us drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I was asked to buy drink AND cigarettes the other day.

I'm 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Why do people of a legal age go into off-licences for scummers? When you see the result of youth drinking in the papers nearly every week I just don't see how anyone can unleash these idiots on society fuelled by booze mixed with whatever else!

It happened again yesterday and the brave souls tried to start a fight when I said No. "Wot d'ya mean no, ye f**kin' tick?!?!". I just laughed in his face while his mates puffed up their chests and went on my way. I guess I could see how some could be intimidated into going in for them but I'd rather take a hiding from 10 than do it personally.

Tell them you will if they stroke your clover in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭donutface

We went drinking in fields and got older people (generally the polish) to buy us drink and never caused any problems.

When I just turned 18 I was returning the favor. Some younger girls asked me to buy drink (always point blank refused to buy spirits) and they were asking "is dutch gold good is it?".

Needless to say they never got anything and I haven't done it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

I always say the same thing, "Go in yourself, if you're old enough to get served you're old enough to drink."

When I was 16 me and my mates would always chance our arm, you'd eventually find an offie that wouldn't ID you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

say ok take their money and run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It wasn't me but there was a story put on boards by some poster

"Ger us a few cans there buddy" and he was given €20
    Came back out with bag full of cans.....20 cans of Pepsi. 1 euro each

Legend :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭donutface

What did you guys do for fake ID?

I photocopied my passport, changed the month and printed it out with a black and white printer. Said that I had just turned 18, awaiting Garda ID and don't want to carry my passport around and it actually worked a few times.

Then when I got my drivers license I just chanced my arm even though it said I was 17. In a Centra the girl working behind the till was more interested in trying to move out my photo as she thought it was fake instead of just looking at the date :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

I always say the same thing, "Go in yourself, if you're old enough to get served you're old enough to drink."

When I was 16 me and my mates would always chance our arm, you'd eventually find an offie that wouldn't ID you.

I was the same, but I dont think thats possible anymore. I get IDed almost every time now at the age of 23, whereas when I was 16/17 didn't have a problem at all getting served without being questioned. Shops are terrified of getting caught out now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

The first part of it - taking money off them to buy drink is fine. I support this.
    Actually buying the drink is pointless. Also it promotes underage drinking.

When you're passing them by after don't laugh or anything. There's no need to be a prick about it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

donutface wrote: »
    What did you guys do for fake ID?

Grew a beard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Why do they do it? Because they were scummers once too silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

maximoose wrote: »
    I was the same, but I dont think thats possible anymore. I get IDed almost every time now at the age of 23, whereas when I was 16/17 didn't have a problem at all getting served without being questioned. Shops are terrified of getting caught out now.

24 now and if I shave the beard I get IDed, I see your point!

Twas easier in our days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Simply tell them that by drinking they become a scourge on society just like their mothers who, if kept their legs closed when not drunk probably wouldn’t have given birth to such undesirables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭gloobag

Happened me a few months ago. Initially said no, and they started to hurl the usual abuse at me. So decided '**** that'. Turned around and said "go on so, give me the money".

Retarded scobes gave me the bones of €50 to buy them vodka. Went in and bought myself 3 bottles of wine and some pringles and fags (I don't even smoke).

Came outside. Sparked up a fag, took a few drags. Just as the head scobe was realising that the stuff in the bag was not what they wanted I flicked the fag into his face and walked on, throwing the ol fake out punch as I walked passed another one of em. Nearly shat his pants I'd say, looked like he was about to start crying.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

^^^^^^^^^^^
    That didn't really happen, did it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Happened my brother but with smokes.

He point blank refused to buy them for two lads in school uniform clearly on the hop. They start shouting a torrent of abuse at him and my brother just walks into the shop leaving the two lads outside.

On exiting he notices the two young lads getting into the back of a car with a man who's telling them that they'll be going straight into the office when they get back up to the school.

As they drive off they stare glumly at my brother whos just standing there with a massive smile on his face waving them off on their journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

This.

I'd feel pathetic asking strangers to buy drink for me. Trying to get served's part of the fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Mr Magners wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^

Was just about to say the very same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

^^^^^^^^^^^

Or else he is very big and strong.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Michael 09

Vertakill wrote: »
    Was just about to say the very same thing.
    It totally sounds like he made that up... I think he lost me with the 'flicked the cigarette in his face'... Nobody is THAT bad ass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

It happened my brother recently. He came home from work at about 10pm, discovered he was out of milk and had to run out to the local Spar. He just threw a big jacket on over his clothes and was going into the shop when a couple of young lads (about 15) asked him if he'd get them drink and fags. He just said "No" and kept going, and they started hassling him. He opened his coat and they ran. He's a guard and had the uniform on! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

I read a technique here a good while ago.

If they give you the money as a 20 or 50 euro note, go in but don't buy anything, instead pocket the money and come back out to them and tell them "the person at the till checked the note and it turned out to be counterfeit, sorry lads." and walk off with their money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

It happened my brother recently. He came home from work at about 10pm, discovered he was out of milk and had to run out to the local Spar. He just threw a big jacket on over his clothes and was going into the shop when a couple of young lads (about 15) asked him if he'd get them drink and fags. He just said "No" and kept going, and they started hassling him. He opened his coat and they ran. He's a guard and had the uniform on! :P

I though he had flashed them!:D

But then I read some more :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Just take their money walk into the offo and buy them a heap of Coke and Crisps then walk off with a bottle of the finest whiskey in one hand and a cigar in the other, laughing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

There gonna get it anyways so sayign no is useless other tahn to protect yourself from the law.

I asked when younger but was polite about it.

"Sorry, Would you mind gettign us a few drinks inside?" with puppy dog eyes.

...I just remembered the best excuse i used ever.....now i was a kid so please forgive it...I went into the Office license and tried to get the drink, she said no and then i said If i dont arrive home with it my dad will beat me again!"...she panicked and just gave it to me...i was grinning goign out the door. I know how bad it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

^^^^^^^^^^^

No;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I though he had flashed them!:D

But then I read some more :pac:

Lol, when I read back on it, it sounded a bit funny alright! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Never buy them anything. You also might want to raise the issue with the cashier inside. Whenever I'm asked I simply keep walking and say 'No. I can't do that.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Galway K9 wrote: »
    There gonna get it anyways so sayign no is useless other tahn to protect yourself from the law.

That's a weak argument in fairness. How could you sleep at night knowing that the lads you bought a rake of drink for the night before ended up stabbing someone or killing themselves in a stolen car?

That's gotta sting for a few weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Galway K9 wrote: »

What if everyone thought like that?

That's a weak argument in fairness. How could you sleep at night knowing that the lads you bought a rake of drink for the night before ended up stabbing someone or killing themselves in a stolen car?

That's gotta sting for a few weeks!

Were not gonan stop them, and if theyre nice abotu it i doubt theyll go stabbing someone btu i see your point if anythign happeneed but thats their responsibility not mine??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

That's a weak argument in fairness. How could you sleep at night knowing that the lads you bought a rake of drink for the night before ended up stabbing someone or killing themselves in a stolen car? That's gotta sting for a few weeks!

What in gods name do u drink?? crystal meth with a dash of cocaine
    ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Sútalún

df1985 wrote: »
    What in gods name do u drink?? crystal meth with a dash of cocaine
    ??

Don't need coke to kill someone in a car.. You read the news no??

Im not gonna buy knackers drink...stolen car reference. and 16 is youngest id buy it for.

So with that philosphy, if i gave somone a lift into town, and he killed somone...its my prob cause i gave a lift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭gloobag

^^^^^^^^^^^

It did actually. I'm 6.2", and work out nearly everyday, so have a decent build on me. I also grew up in a pretty bad part of Limerick. But thankfully, my folks wanted better for me than those that I was surrounded by.

I'm used to dealing with scum on a daily basis and know exactly how to intimidate them. It's almost like I'm playing a character when I'm dealling with scobes. I'm as gentle as a kitten in reality.

They're all cowards at the end of the day.

Note: I'm not trying to come across as full of my self or anything like that. These are just the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I love the way so many in this topic are firstly condemning underage drinking, and then subsequently talking about how they managed to get drink when they were underage.

Oh the irony.

Feckin' hypocrites, the lot of ya. And THAT'S why some people buy the drink for them - they have principles.

gloobag wrote: »
    It did actually. I'm 6.2", and work out nearly everyday, so have a decent build on me. I also grew up in a pretty bad part of Limerick. But thankfully, my folks wanted better for me than those that I was surrounded by.

I'm used to dealing with scum on a daily basis and know exactly how to intimidate them. It's almost like I'm playing a character when I'm dealling with scobes. I'm as gentle as a kitten in reality.

They're all cowards at the end of the day.

Note: I'm not trying to come across as full of my self or anything like that. These are just the facts.

Exact same story as myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Can these people not send the help out to fetch it? Honestly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Friend of mine was asked by underage scrotes to buy drink, the pub in question had an offy on the premises as well as front and back doors.

So, she takes their cash, goes in the front door and out the back, and had a good night. This was ages ago so it was pounds, real money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

It did actually. I'm 6.2", and work out nearly everyday..
    I'm already intimidated.. or slighty turned on. I can't decide!!

Pictures or GTFO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I just say Cómo? No hablo inglés putas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

Happened me a few months ago. Initially said no, and they started to hurl the usual abuse at me. So decided '**** that'. Turned around and said "go on so, give me the money".

Retarded scobes gave me the bones of €50 to buy them vodka. Went in and bought myself 3 bottles of wine and some pringles and fags (I don't even smoke).

Came outside. Sparked up a fag, took a few drags. Just as the head scobe was realising that the stuff in the bag was not what they wanted I flicked the fag into his face and walked on, throwing the ol fake out punch as I walked passed another one of em. Nearly shat his pants I'd say, looked like he was about to start crying.

:cool:
    yea id say ya did allright they would kick the **** out of ya if ya did that especially if there was a gang of them iv seen it happen and you werent much better taking their money and spending it on yourself :(

I was working in a shop and a girl came in and tried to buy smokes. She looked 13. I said no. She left, another one came in, asked for smokes. I went and got the smokes and and "oh and can I see your ID". She said she'd left it in her 'car'. I said I couldn't sell them to her. She kicked up a bit of a fuss and then left. Her mates didn't even have the cop on to wait around the corner, the two that had come in + a few other 13 yo looking girls were standing right by the door, basically at the window at the end of the counter I was standing at. Then they started asking people that were coming into the shop. I leaned out the window and said "Here, I can see yous asking people to buy smokes, you're not going to get any from this shop, no matter who comes in and asks". They clearly went around the corner and kept asking people. They kept being refused. Finally they went up to a guy who was changing a tyre on his car, and asked him, very politely and innocently, if he'd PLEASE buy them some smokes. Said the girl in the shop wouldn't serve them.

The guy says "She wouldn't serve you? Well she better not have because I own that shop!". It was my boss, can seem a pretty big intimidating guy when he wants to be! They ran like there was no tomorrow. Both I and everyone who had seen it was in fits of laughter.

Numina wrote: »
    I read a technique here a good while ago.

If they give you the money as a 20 or 50 euro note, go in but don't buy anything, instead pocket the money and come back out to them and tell them "the person at the till checked the note and it turned out to be counterfeit, sorry lads." and walk off with their money.
    i dont find that very fare either and i wouldent lower myself to that level:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I was asked for ID today for about the first time in 4 years. Was not impressed.

I love the way so many in this topic are firstly condemning underage drinking, and then subsequently talking about how they managed to get drink when they were underage.

Oh the irony.

Feckin' hypocrites, the lot of ya. And THAT'S why some people buy the drink for them - they have principles.
    i bet most of the people here making comments drank when they were under age:eek::D

not all young lads and lassies that have a few cans are scum bags they just go off into a field or up the canels near where i live have a few drinks and a laugh and dont bother anyone:P