Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unhelpful Gym Staff

• 20-04-2011 4:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭

I normally train at home but I wanted to go for a heavy session on the machines. So went up to a certain gym and was going through my routine. There only about 5 people in the gym and one lad who obviously was just starting to learn the ropes was doing bent over rows with his back so bent it looked like a bow and jerking the weight around because it was way to heavy .There were three gym instructors present and not one went over to show the lad what he was doing wrong. So after his second set he put more weight on started another set. At this point I went over and explained what he was doing wrong and showed him the correct way and reduced his weight. I then went back to what I was doing and noticed one of the gym instructors glaring at me like I did something wrong. I don't know if its just me but if I was a gym instructor there is no way I could ever stand by and let someone potentially really hurt themselves.

Sorry just notice how long this is:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

well good on ya. They should have done it themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

pachey100 wrote: »
    I then went back to what I was doing and noticed one of the gym instructors glaring at me like I did something wrong.

You should have told him that if he was doing his job and not too busy posing you wouldn't have to interfere,
    still not to late to call and tell the mananger/owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

I know you meant well and you probably know your stuff, but in most gyms only instructors are allowed to give advice on equipment (Legal reasons). Just something to be wary of for your own sake. But the instructors here were obviously not doing their job.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Good on ya for helping him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭pachey100

milehip1 wrote: »
    You should have told him that if he was doing his job and not too busy posing you wouldn't have to interfere,
    still not to late to call and tell the mananger/owner.

Ye I suppose I could but I don't really go there enough to warrant creating a fuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

1) The standard of qualification required to work in the fitness industry in this country is a joke.

2) Pay is crap.

*shrugs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

*shrugs*

YOKE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

1) The standard of qualification required to work in the fitness industry in this country is a joke.

2) Pay is crap.

*shrugs*

Hardly good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

2) Pay is crap.

*shrugs*

This.
    Any clown can pass the qualifications in this country.
    Honestly, they are not remotely difficult and the average Junior Certer could pass them.
    Then they get paid buttons so don't give a rats ass.
    Hardly good enough.

Maybe so but that's the way it is and indeed will be.
    If a consumer wants correct safe instruction on an exercise they should pay for it.
    People assume that this service is covered in their gym membership.
    For right or wrong it is the exception rather than the rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Tonto86

In 3 years of going to my gym I've only ever seen a instructor in thefree weights room once...... and that was to close the fire door

I could be bouncing dumbells off my head and they wouldn't say nothin

If a consumer wants correct safe instruction on an exercise they should pay for it.
    For right or wrong it is the exception rather than the rule.[/QUOTE]

I get paid minimum wage in my job (Lifeguard/Swimming teacher) and could never not help someone who wanted to learn more about swimming and yes I could be a right eejit and wait until someone pays for a one on one session. But if they are willing to learn I don't really worry about the money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

For right or wrong it is the exception rather than the rule.

I get paid minimum wage in my job (Lifeguard/Swimming teacher) and could never not help someone who wanted to learn more about swimming and yes I could be a right eejit and wait until someone pays for a one on one session. But if they are willing to learn I don't really worry about the money.[/QUOTE]

Fair enough, but how many people ask questions on a daily basis, get given advice and then completely disregard it because it’s not what they want to hear? Sure, some people want to learn, but most people just want a rubber stamp for their efforts. I can see why people stop offering unsolicited advice, or stop answering the questions of people who obviously don’t actually care about the answer in those scenarios.

Not many people ask for advice but I find the people who do take it on board and are happy with it.

Ye I suppose I could but I don't really go there enough to warrant creating a fuss.

all the more reason to kick up a stink,you're unlikely to get caught up in any crossfire if you don't frequent said gym:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭stratowide

My advice to any gym greenhorn's is to read,read and read again as much as you can about whatever your specific goal is.Information is king.
    My dealing's with gym instructor's never go beyond asking for the music to be turned down/up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

In my gym Ive seen 1 of the instructors on a couple of occasions showing people proper form.....only thing was for 1 of them he was instructing her on deadlift form while spotting her....from the front.
    Looked odd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

In my gym Ive seen 1 of the instructors on a couple of occasions showing people proper form.....only thing was for 1 of them he was instructing her on deadlift form while spotting her....from the front.
    Looked odd!

So she had a facefull of trainer crotch at the bottom of the movement?...

This novelty illustration will show my findings on frontal deadlift spotting :D

milehip1 wrote: »
    all the more reason to kick up a stink,you're unlikely to get caught up in any crossfire if you don't frequent said gym:D

Maybe I will give the instructors a call and ask for free membership or will tell there manager about there lack of compassion for a nube:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

go elsewhere - simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

gymsoldier wrote: »
    So she had a facefull of trainer crotch at the bottom of the movement?...

This novelty illustration will show my findings on frontal deadlift spotting :D

not quite-he followed her up and down so she basically had a face full of his face the wholetime-he probably meant well but looked very dodge!

Maybe I will give the instructors a call and ask for free membership or will tell there manager about there lack of compassion for a nube:D

Don't sell yourself short, demand a primo parking spot aswell!