Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bars open for Good Friday

• 20-04-2011 10:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭

If your getting trains/going to airports and staying in hotels you can drink on Good Fridays. I seen a big sign yesterday saying that the Q Bar is opened on Good Friday, how come they are? also anyone know any other pubs opened Good Friday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

Maybe they are just serving food

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

depends on the licence that they have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Serving food most likely

And where in Ireland is Q bar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Is this Q Bar Athlone or Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Might have a food licence?

Rabble rabble rabble dublin forum rabble rabble rabble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Serving food most likely

The City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

If it is open and serving alcohol it'll be an even bigger kip than usual!!!

d1975 wrote: »
    also anyone know any other pubs opened Good Friday?

I think Golf clubs etc can too. There is a pub in Cork County that has a huge session every Good Friday :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Serving food most likely

The one in town.

You are welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Q bar is ****é.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

The bar in Connolly Station also serves on Goodgod Friday, never asked us for a ticket either. I think the one in Heuston is the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Title changed so everyone can add bars nationwide that'll be open Good Friday.
    Hope that's ok OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭immature ejaculation

I cant believe people cant go one day without having a drink in a pub!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

It's a FRIDAY, FFS!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

Ah, of course they can (but only if it was Easter Monday ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

That should be personal choice no? Not just an ingrained tradition from a religion half of us couldn't give a **** about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Believe it or not most can but would like to make the decision for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I can't believe we still live in a situation where we're told what days we can't have a bloody drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Only good thing about Q bar is walking out of the place in the afternoon after leaving a big dirty aul shite for the cleaners, a shite so heavy in weight like a bag of cement being opened it almost splits the back of the toilet in half, its comes out of you like hot acid melting against the white enamel of the bowl, stench hits your nostrils instantly burning the hairs, you lift your ball sack up to look at the mess you've left underneath ye, it lies on the water like an oil spill that has picked up every dead fish and animal in the sea. The first wipe of toilet paper feels like someone swabbed it in aftershave!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Yesterday was Thursday, tomorrow it is Saturday. We We We so excited, we so excited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

antodeco wrote: »
    Yesterday was Thursday, tomorrow it is Saturday. We We We so excited, we so excited.

Thats so 3 weeks ago :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Only good thing about Q bar is walking out of the place in the afternoon after leaving a big dirty aul shite for the cleaners, a shite so heavy in weight like a bag of cement being opened it almost splits the back of the toilet in half, its comes out of you like hot acid melting against the white enamel of the bowl, stench hits your nostrils instantly burning the hairs, you lift your ball sack up to look at the mess you've left underneath ye, it lies on the water like an oil spill that has picked up every dead fish and animal in the sea. The first wipe of toilet paper feels like someone swabbed it in aftershave!

Fakearms123, I think your boards.ie account has been hacked by FlutterinBantam. Change your password as soon as you get the chance and pm the mods and the admins. FlutterinBantam will probably get permabanned for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JBnaglfar

Believe it or not, I do go many days of the year without drinking in a pub, or at home. However, I do not believe it is just that alcohol cannot be sold on one day of the year based on one religion which I, and many others, are not part of. Seperation of church and state and all that. :rolleyes:

How the **** can the state tell me what to do, justifying their stance on a religion which I do not recognise as in any way true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JBnaglfar

Exactly, gotta get down on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I would say even if every pub in town was open I still probably wouldn't drink on Friday......now Saturday, that'll be a very different kettle of fish :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Eever

They can start serving alcohol at midnight so anywhere with a late license will probably open at midnight.

Are hotels allowed serve alcohol? And if so, does that apply if you're not staying in the hotel? I know a lot of restaurants had the ban lifted from them in the last year or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Always seems to fall on a friday...

Thats it, what better way to get back at Q bar then to make the toilet cleaners job even worse. Because we all know it's the cleaners who are responsible for the high prices, door policy and any other gripes you have with the place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Eever wrote: »

Are hotels allowed serve alcohol? And if so, does that apply if you're not staying in the hotel? I know a lot of restaurants had the ban lifted from them in the last year or so.

Hotels serve residents. Depending on the bar manager you might well get served if you walk in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

After a hard working week, I usually go to the pub of a Friday with my mates. It's not like I'm drinking every night of the week or anything.

I don't buy the whole "we're predominantly Catholic" BS either.

I don't care what religious beliefs people have tbh but it should be up to the publicans and not the nanny state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,627 ✭✭✭baldbear

I can never understand why politicians in 1927 kissed the catholic churches arse and banned booze on Good Friday.

They were the most conservative revolutionaries in history!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

The Buffet (shop in train station) serves drink on Good Friday. Every freak under the sun comes out on that day. Bloody weird crowd.

Lads with humps, limps and dirty macs turn up drinking out of baby bottles of Powers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭d1975

biko wrote: »
    Title changed so everyone can add bars nationwide that'll be open Good Friday.
    Hope that's ok OP.

That's grand, it's the Q bar on O'Connell Bridge, if it was food only I would asume it would say on the poster food only

Some friends of mine that are abroad are coming home for easter. We were planning on having a big get together and going out for a few pints on Friday when we remembered that thanks to a fairytale that some people mistake for fact we have to change our plans. May well be a case of stock up on thursday, drink on Friday. I know it's not exactly a massive hardship but it's the principle that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

So presumably Q bar will be open past 12 on Holy Thursday?, any other places staying open in Dublin past 12 on Thursday do people know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Is it outdated and pathetic that, as a nation, we are still governed by rules applied by a church that has been exposed as a shameful and corrupt institution? Yes. Is it equally embarrassing that as a nation we specifically make plans to board trains, book hotels and cross the border into another nation to make sure we can drink for 1 day out of 365? Yes.

Both show how immature large sections of our society are.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Let's all go get locked in Q Bar on Friday! Fight the Church! Screw the puritanical prohibitionists! Who's with me!?!

*tumbleweed*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Eever

Dots1982 wrote: »
    So presumably Q bar will be open past 12 on Holy Thursday?, any other places staying open in Dublin past 12 on Thursday do people know?

As far as I know it would have to stop serving at midnight on Thursday like everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭scotty_irish

baldbear wrote: »
    I can never understand why politicians in 1927 kissed the catholic churches arse and banned booze on Good Friday.

really?mujahideen?taliban? think we got off lucky. although i'm in scotland so have plenty of choice where to get pis*ed on friday so maybe the consequences aren't so bad for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

baldbear wrote: »

Originally Saint Patrick's Day too.

True story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I thought the wise men of after hours had clearly proven that the good friday thing is actually a result of the barmen demanding a day off rather than the roman catholic church?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

What kind of fine/punishment would a bar face if it opened out of curiousity?? or would the police be round just to shut the doors.

Say q bar was open, surely itd be jammed and would make back any money they were fined and then some?

Or would they lose their license? sorry if its a dumb question but no idea how it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

df1985 wrote: »
    What kind of fine/punishment would a bar face if it opened out of curiousity?? or would the police be round just to shut the doors.

Say q bar was open, surely itd be jammed and would make back any money they were fined and then some?

Or would they lose their license? sorry if its a dumb question but no idea how it works.

If it's based on a religious ruling then they should be given a letter informing them that they are indeed, going to hell.

The same applies for not going to mass on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Serving food most likely

The ninth circle of hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

As a protest we should all buy loads of alcohol on thursday and have loads of house parties.

In fact, that's how we should have all protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Haelium wrote: »
    As a protest we should all buy loads of alcohol on thursday and have loads of house parties.

In fact, that's how we should have all protests.

Hardly a protest, isn't that what happens anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭tampopo

I feel sorry for the bar staff that have to go in on one of the two days pubs are usually closed....

When in college I worked on St. Stephen's Day. God, it was awful. Full of children with drunk parents...loud toys....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

GerM wrote: »
    Is it outdated and pathetic that, as a nation, we are still governed by rules applied by a church that has been exposed as a shameful and corrupt institution? Yes. Is it equally embarrassing that as a nation we specifically make plans to board trains, book hotels and cross the border into another nation to make sure we can drink for 1 day out of 365? Yes.

Both show how immature large sections of our society are.

Ummm... The Catholic Church also happens to be the reason that you get Easter Monday off as a bank holiday, damn religious bastards, you should just go into work Monday in protest against this sort of thing, Christmas day too perhaps, just to hammer your point home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

conorhal wrote: »
    Ummm... The Catholic Church also happens to be the reason that you get Easter Monday off as a bank holiday, damn religious bastards, you should just go into work Monday in protest against this sort of thing, Christmas day too perhaps, just to hammer your point home!

I don't get Easter Monday off and I couldn't care less to be honest. The catholic church is absolutely irrelevant to me, yet I'm unable to purchase alcohol on Friday because of them. Its time to remove any influence they have on things like this and move them out. Its 2011, not 1931.

Does anyone know anywhere that will open after midnight on Friday in Dublin? I have friends coming for the night and we're planning a day session in the house followed by stumbling into town after 12. So far iv rang coppers and Diceys and both are staying closed all night.. HELP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I would normally be completely in favour of people making the choice for themselves and that bars, clubs and off licences should all be open, whenever they feel like being open, but I'm really looking forward to not working on a Friday night, so HOORAY FOR GOOD FRIDAY!