Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tattooed lady.. Pretty baby??

• 18-04-2011 10:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭

Hey girls, I'm looking for your honest point of view here.

Tattoos on ladies - yay or nay?

I for one love the look. If I could be covered - I think I would be. Money would be the first thing stopping me, and now, the looks I have started getting (though I only have a few right now) have started to make me feel a bit insecure..

I've been told, by people that hadn't yet seen mine, that tattoos on girls are "trampish" & I've received the spiel about having respect for my body when they have seen them.

Do you think it's just the general view of "de biddy ole oirish" and maybe I'd get away with it on the beaches of Miami?? Or do people really think tattoos are disgusting.

I ask because I now want to move onto a larger piece, hopefully a quarter sleeve (to start). I've been thinking about getting this done for years but I keep chickening out when I get dirty looks off people for the little ones I have.. :(

Let rip!!

*btw - I did not post this in the tattoo & piercing forum because I wanted the opinion of people who would not be biased and have a love for tattoos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Lorrrrraine

I would never get a tattoo.

I see ones that I think are pretty, Suicidegirls.com (NSFW) models have a gorgeous look. I think it's quite restrictive though, I'm too fickle to permanently ink something over my body.

Also, I've noticed that most people get the same kind of thing eg. flowers, stars, swallows, hearts, skulls, pin-up girls, butterflies and ugh..chinese writing/tribal symbols. Most of my friends have no meaning behind their tattoos; I can't imagine having to look at something everyday, for the rest of my life that thousands of other people have and doesn't mean anything more than a graphic on a mass-produced t-shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Sibylla

I would never get a tattoo as I would hate to have something permanent that I could despise in ten years also I would be concerned about it affecting my job in terms of public perception. I know people who have one and it really signifies something to them, I can absolutely understand that but unfortunately being covered in them can lead to being viewed negatively, It shouldn't but people often judge the book by the cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

I got a tattoo when I was about 15, i'm not mad about the design anymore and have decided to get it changed a bit once the summer is over.

It's on my lower back so typical 'tramp stamp' area but noone has ever referred to it as trampish!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭SexyD4Lady

I love them. Wouldn't be the "typical" candidate for a tattoo I suppose, though. I've got three and they all have meaning behind them and were thought about for a long time before I went and had them inked. The oldest of the three I had done at seventeen and the most recent was done just over two years ago. Have various ideas for new ones but expense is an issue, as is the number of ideas I have. WIll give it another twelve months at least if I decide to go for one. It's a good idea before you get a tattoo to draw up the image and stick it somewhere that you'll see it every day. Leave it there for a good long time and after several months if you still like the look of it after seeing a few times every day, then I say go for it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

Personally, I'm not keen on tattoos. I don't think there's anything wrong with them, I'm just not too keen on them.

I have nothing against them and I wouldn't judge anyone who has tattoos.

I personally would never get one, because as I said I am not keen on them and also because I know myself in a few months/years I would get bored of it and I would be self conscious about it and want to keep it covered all the time.

My cousins girlfriend has a tattoo on her stomach/abdomen and she's had three kids now and the tattoo is all cracked and ugly looking because of the cracking, another reason that puts me off (I know not everyone get tattoos on their stomachs and not all tattoos crack).
    Sibylla wrote: »
    unfortunately being covered in them can lead to being viewed negatively, It shouldn't but people often judge the book by the cover.
    +1 to this.

A cousin of mine was dating a guy once and he had tattoos, cousins mother kept making comments to my cousin and her fella about his tattoos every time he was at the house, needless to say, he soon got fed up and left my cousin, he had a lucky escape, in my opinion anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

i plan to get a tattoo at some point , but will more than likely have it somewhere i can cover it up easily if i want too:)

dosent bother me if women are covered in them aslong as the tattoos look good together, tbh i think Kat Von D looks a bit ott especially the ones on her face

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I like really illustrated tattoos, proper designs, not a bunch of stars, Chinese writing etc. My ex had a few and they were really nice. They all had big meaning to him. I don't think all tattoos need to have meaning though, sometimes they're just simply beautiful pieces of art.

A female friend of me has a big, very "black" tattoo on her forearm, as in thick lines, no colour. People she doesn't even know have commented, asking her does she not regret it, saying god it's very big. Like she gives a crap what they think! And if they got a good look they'd realise it's a heart shaped padlock with a ribbon tied around it. Pretty girly!

It's a shame that is affects jobs, but that's a combination of the person choosing to have a tattoo in a noticeable place and the employer not accepting it. People still have an idea that, say lawyers, have to be neat and well turned out. Sure, but I don't think tattoos are scruffy, or would make me think a person is less qualified. Obviously we're seeing it more acceptable in areas like retail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Not a girl, but I Love tatts on a girl... Not loads, just a few.

I have a few, and I only got them when I was 100% sure I wanted them, and would be happy with them in the future.

I wouldn't be mad on a women being 'covered' in them, and think it would be hard to pull off a good fashion style with them :)

Agree with Twee, they have to have meaning also, no point in getting one just to cover an area, or because it was the only one in the tattoo book. Mine are all drawn by myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭amybabes

Well I live in Sydney and its rare to see people untattooed here.

I think its a trend thats really in the past couple of years. I remember seeing a girl out the other day who was dressed in like 50s style: think a classy amy winehouse or dita von teese even, and had tatts on her forearms. She carried it off really well, i bet she worked in retail or hair or beauty she just looked coooollll. :)

I got my first one in December at 24, a big swallow on my ribs/side.
    Means to me love and loyalty for my family and that i'll always return home no matter where i go.
    Would love to be brave enough to get one where you can't cover it without alot of effort, like the top of my neck or my wrist but i think my mother would never forgive me! she already flipped the lid about the one that hardly gets seen!

I also think it could affect your career etc. Depends what you do I guess! I also hate women in wedding dresses with visible tattoos on their shoulders/chests. Don't know why in particular, takes away from their natural bridal beauty i think!

Tallon wrote: »
    Mine are all drawn by myself :)

I drew mine myself 2 and I loved it but then the tattooist changed it a bit and made it uneven.....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

Tayla wrote: »
    I drew mine myself 2 and I loved it but then the tattooist changed it a bit and made it uneven.....:mad:

See, now, thats what I would be afraid of. Its something that you can't change(unless you have quite a bit of money set aside for tattoo removal) and the thoughts that I might be stuck with something I didn't like turns me off getting one.

Don't get me wrong, I love tattoos, and I would love to get one, but I have yet to find a design that I would want to carry around for the rest of my life! Not into the heavy dark back tattoos that I've seen around, a friend of mine has her name tattooed on the back of her neck in Elvish script and its so blocky and heavy that it doesn't look anything like what its supposed to be, and its just ugly to be frank. I do like some of the more delicate floral tattoos, so much prettier and feminine. And if i'm really honest I think if a woman is going to get a tattoo it should be pretty and feminine!

shinikins wrote: »
    See, now, thats what I would be afraid of. Its something that you can't change(unless you have quite a bit of money set aside for tattoo removal) and the thoughts that I might be stuck with something I didn't like turns me off getting one.

In fairness though I was 15 and any tattooist that tattoos a 15 year old wouldn't be worth going to, a good reputable tattooist should do a great job so don't let what I said put you off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

The only tattoo i would consider in any way trampish is the tramp stamp and thats only because of the name i actually like the tattoos, do what you want to do and what makes you happy, as long as it doesn't cause you trouble in work etc, although if you got full sleeves at some point you would probably get looks from people now and again not necessarily bad looks though, but i don't think you should have much problem with a quarter sleeve and at the end of the day if anyone gives you a filthy for having a tattoo then they're just an ignorant díckhead and you wouldn't want to have anything to do with them anyway.

Totally depends on where it is and what it's of.

Having said that, I really don't like the lower back "tramp stamp" tattoos. It's not because I think they're trampy, it's just that I don't like them. Also I think non-coloured tattoos look best tbh, I've seen coloured ones that have ended up looking faded or really odd after time. Definitely don't go for a generic one though (chinese symbols that you're not even sure on what it says etc.), find something not necessarily original but definitely personal.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

I have tattoos and I love them. I find that the hatred for them is caused by naivity and the fact that people don't realise that it actually is an art form.

The likes of my sister who wants to get her kids names in chinese writing down the back of her neck because she just "wants a tattoo" and "can't think of anything else" ruin it for the rest of us who put a bit of thought and effort into picking the right design and artist, and thus we all get judged the same.

And another thing (while I'm mid-rant :D), people think that they have a right to poke my tattooed skin because there's pretty colours in it. GFTO grabbing my arm for a gawk! If you ask, I don't mind showing you :rolleyes:

I guess those who think that tattoos are trampy, think that tattoo = Cheryl Cole and haven't seen the wonderful artwork that can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

I am all for tattoos; altho saying that, I am way to much of a wuss to get one done! If i was getting one however, I'd never get one on my lower back or shoulder/upper arm as I personally hate it...I see women in their fifties over here with tattoos on their upper arms/shoulder part of their back and it makes me shudder..

If I was getting one i would like to go for a sleeve or my décolletage region or something rather than just one thing...the whole hog or not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Having said that, I really don't like the lower back "tramp stamp" tattoos.
    ^^^Bum antlers as I recently heard them referred to. :)

It took me the best part of 20 years to settle on the design of my tattoo. Every time I came up with an idea I give myself 6 months to think about it and if at the end of that time I was still happy with the idea I'd get it done. I've been through a lot of designs till finally settling on my 'Goat' icon.
    For me a tattoos should be very personal but I still appricate and admire the body work of others.

NoDice, if and when you decide to get inked them do go over to the Tattoos and Piercings forum and read all that they have to say. Nice bunch of people and not at all scary - apart from the Mods who really give me the heebie jeebies. :D

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭BillabongMad

I quite like tattoos on girls (I'm a guy). As long as they're classy and well done. Nothing turns me off a person more than crappy run-of-the-mill tats plastered randomly on them with no composition.
    If you want a tattoo get one designed by you or someone else.

I want a tattoo but my mum will freak since my sister snook off to get 3 AWFUL ones. (foreign languages of the current boyfriend's name) one on each shoulder(Hebrew and Chinese)and then one on her lower back (Chinese). They're not even symetrical D: Really irritating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Love tattoos, think they're stunning on people, when they're done with skill. I really want one but, after a trip to Belfast* where every single person appeared to have visible sh1t tattoos (shaky, fading, badly drawn flash that looked like it had just been chosen from the wall of the tattoo shop at random because any tattoo would do), I am massively paranoid about getting it done.

Have a lot of research & saving to do before I can get mine!

(not to say people in Belfast have awful tattoos in general, it was just the day that was in it I must have seen 100 people with blurry Cheryl Cole jobs on their hands, blurry babies names on wrists, bandy looking stars everywhere etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I recently got my 1st tattoo and I adore it. It's very personal to me, it's a word that reminds me of my Mum who passed away (it's in her handwriting) on my inner wrist.

I don't see the point of having tattoos where even you can't see them- like seriously, wtf is the point of a tramp stamp, you can't see it! if you have this amazing art on you, and paid God knows what for it, shouldn't you want to look at it all the time? i know I do, hence why I went for my wrist.

I'm lucky in that the career I'm in is very chilled about stuff like that- originality and being a little bit loopers is seen as a good thing, and creativity is encouraged (not that I'm in the 'creative' field or anything...). My tattoo is small enough that I can hide it with a watch or long sleeves or something if I want to, but I love showing it off. I'm very proud of it.

On other girls, I really like tattoos- they're pretty hot, especially if they have some kind of meaning to them. Most lesbians I know have tattoos, in seems to be very chic and in these days! :p But tbh most girls I know have one, so i don't think that's necessarily a reflection on tattoos... My GF has an awesome one on her hip, she designed it herself. I really like it. Very sexy. :D

as for growing older, I view it in the same league as earrings. Ever seen the ears of a woman in her 60's who's been wearing dangly earrings for 40 years? Yeah, gross, but if she likes it, who the hell am I to say she doesn't look good? There's no sense in holding off on something you want to do, on the off chance it might look crap later. Feck it, you mightn't live to be 60 or 70! And hey, even if you do, and you get wrinkly like a prune and you have grandkids- how cool is it to be able to point to a blob on your arm and say "hey kids. Your grandma got this tattoo when she was 28 to remember someone she loved and who made her happy."?

What could ever be wrong with being a bad-ass grandma?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

Thanks for all your feedback on this guys! Really great!
    I see ones that I think are pretty, Suicidegirls.com (NSFW) models have a gorgeous look.

I also love this look. TBH I'm also a big fan of Kat Von D's body art but I'd never go as OTT as that.
    Tayla wrote: »
    I got a tattoo when I was about 15, i'm not mad about the design anymore and have decided to get it changed a bit once the summer is over.

This is what has prompted me to get the quarter sleeve done. My first tattoo I got was when I turned 18. I drew something small which imo symbolised my interpretation of my favourite poem:

"Gather ye rosebuds while ye may,
    Old Time is still a-flying;
    And this same flower that smiles today,
    Tomorrow will be dying."

Looking at it now I realise how much it's faded (didn't go to the best artist - They're shut down now. :( ) and I'm not happy with the colouring or style since getting my more recent ones. It just doesn't fit anymore. At the time I thought I'd stick with just that one. I'm an inkaholic now!

I want to cover up that tattoo (which is on my shoulder blade) and extend it down into a quarter sleeve.
    SexyD4Lady wrote: »
    WIll give it another twelve months at least if I decide to go for one. It's a good idea before you get a tattoo to draw up the image and stick it somewhere that you'll see it every day. Leave it there for a good long time and after several months if you still like the look of it after seeing a few times every day, then I say go for it :D

Yeah I've had it for over a year now but it's only recently I'm getting the looks. I guess I shouldn't care but my insecurites are getting the better of me! :o
    A cousin of mine was dating a guy once and he had tattoos, cousins mother kept making comments to my cousin and her fella about his tattoos every time he was at the house, needless to say, he soon got fed up and left my cousin, he had a lucky escape, in my opinion anyway.

Yeah my OH's parents are very reserved.. When we have dinner there I'm never sure what fork to use - that kinda reserved. I'm not too sure if they'd take too kindly to it.. He keeps telling me it's my body and they won't mind. Thanks for telling us that story though! I'm going to say it to my OH tonight if you don't mind to hear his opinion on it, considering it's happened to someone else..
    Agree with Twee, they have to have meaning also, no point in getting one just to cover an area, or because it was the only one in the tattoo book. Mine are all drawn by myself :)

All of mine have a meaning and 3/4 are my own designs. This quarter sleeve will be completely my own idea but I need a really good artist to put it together properly for me as I've only put together a rough sketch at the moment. I have an artist in mind but he stopped emailing back as soon as I asked if he'd sketch it up for me properly.. I now feel like I'm going to annoy him if I keep at him! Might bring that point to the tattoo forum!
    amybabes wrote: »
    I got my first one in December at 24, a big swallow on my ribs/side.
    Means to me love and loyalty for my family and that i'll always return home no matter where i go.

I also think it could affect your career etc. Depends what you do I guess! I also hate women in wedding dresses with visible tattoos on their shoulders/chests. Don't know why in particular, takes away from their natural bridal beauty i think!

I want a swallow tattoo also, proper old skool style too. I have the exact same meaning for it. Do you have pics of yours up in the tattoo forum? Bet it looks beautiful! :)

The wedding dress.. Man I didn't even think of that.... I agree with you, I haven't even seen a bride with tattoos.. Will start checking google now!
    shinikins wrote: »
    I do like some of the more delicate floral tattoos, so much prettier and feminine. And if i'm really honest I think if a woman is going to get a tattoo it should be pretty and feminine!

I am going for a floral one. I have a number of different flowers picked which each have a different meaning for me. I have the sizes and placement I want and I'm hoping to go for really vibrant colours - pinks, reds, oranges, yellows and so on. I'd happily touch it up when I need to and I think the colour and the femininity is what is going to make it. I also wear a lot of pinks and bright colours - and now my hair is purple so I think I could possibly pull it off!... Here's hoping anyway!
    Totally depends on where it is and what it's of.

Big floral, colourful quarter sleeve on my right arm... I can't explain it better than that.. I also don't think my vocabulary does it justice! :o I'll try scan the plan tonight!
    I see women in their fifties over here with tattoos on their upper arms/shoulder part of their back and it makes

Ha ha I already have a few so I know I'm going to be that crazy old lady with long, grey hair and tattooed! :D
    OldGoat wrote: »
    ^^^Bum antlers as I recently heard them referred to. :)

NoDice, if and when you decide to get inked them do go over to the Tattoos and Piercings forum and read all that they have to say. Nice bunch of people and not at all scary - apart from the Mods who really give me the heebie jeebies. :D

Bum antlers - brilliant! :D

I love the tattoo forum and everyone there is so nice. I think I'll have to put the rough idea up to be criticised until I work up the balls to annoy the artist I have in mind again,

Thanks again for all your replys I really appreciate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭BengaLover

Love them but you need to be selective where they are place.
    I have 5, and when i was young and thin got a band of daisies round my arm, now 18 yrs later im fat and almost 40, the tattoo has faded and it looks awful..:D
    If you go for something make sure its personal to you and not just a pretty picture, and be careful where it goes.
    Ankles and toes are nice places to have done and will look nice in summer, and can be covered up easily.
    Avoid the arms if you dont want to end up looking like someone from Cell Block H once you reach the middle age spread time of age..
    Dont copy celeb tattoos either..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I think tattoo's can look very well I would prefer to see a girl with a tattoo than some of the face piercing you see these days , I hate to see a pretty girl with ugly studs stuck all over there faces

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I have always loved tattoos, and wanted once since I was about 15. I waited til I was 24 to have my first one done, and now have three altogether. They are unusual and "me" and can be easily less noticible with clothing. I definitly want at least one more, but once I get the "next one I want" I seem to decide on ANOTHER one.

Tattoos can be beautiful interpretations of art, but too many times they are badly placed, run of the mill fashions.

NoDice wrote: »
    I have an artist in mind but he stopped emailing back as soon as I asked if he'd sketch it up for me properly.. I now feel like I'm going to annoy him if I keep at him! Might bring that point to the tattoo forum!

Any nice tattoo artist will work with you to get the tattoo that you want. If you feel uncomfortable in any way, then walk away. Most decent tattoo artists will have no problem in sketching an idea up for you - they much prefer it to you picking some flash off a board outside and saying "I want that one". It gives them the freedom to be creative too, maybe suggesting alterations or alternatives to what you want (hopefully for the better!). I've also never heard of anyone charging extra for this.

Also, regarding them looking a state when yer 50 - I'm pretty sure I'm gonna look like sh*te when I'm 50, a few tattoos won't change that ;) I'll wear my tattoos with pride on my wedding day if it ever happens, and if I ever have a change of heart, there's always dermablend and a shawl :D

Yeah I think I'll give him another email tonight when I get back from work. I've seen so much of his work and I've always wanted one done by him but his studio is quite far from where I live. I'd defo pay to get to him if I can just get him to sketch it up for me first so I have a better idea. His drawings alone are beautiful and simply perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭amybabes

Just for you NoDice!

Freshly done.
    I like old school too. Was very specific about the design. Don't know much about tattoos but apparently this is old school/american style according to the tattooist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

NoDice wrote: »
    Yeah I think I'll give him another email tonight when I get back from work. I've seen so much of his work and I've always wanted one done by him but his studio is quite far from where I live. I'd defo pay to get to him if I can just get him to sketch it up for me first so I have a better idea. His drawings alone are beautiful and simply perfect.

I know he's far from you, but it might be worth the effort to go see him and discuss it, it shows your commitment. Many artists aren't gonna do much through e-mail, as lots of people would be asking!

On the subject of tats on girls, I love them! ;)

Amybabes that is beautiful!! It's so elegant too! Very nice!! Thanks for taking the time to post it up here!

Yeah I might take a bus trip out to him on my day off. You're right, he probably thinks I'm just chancing my arm. I'll try organise something with him when I get home.

I can't get over the amount of people that actually like the look of tattoos on girls. Anyone I've asked IRL have said they think it's tacky and trampish. Really glad to read the opinions here!

Funnily enough following on from my other comments, I mentioned to my OH that I might get another tattoo done when I get this one I have changed and he said "please don't, I always hated tattoos on girls except for the lower back"........:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I very very rarely see a tatoo on a girl that i think is nice. My sister has 3 little paw prints on her stomach which i think are quite cute but i can only imagine what they'll look like when she gets pregnant :p My friend has barbed wire on the small of her back (awful looking), another has a small rose on her ankle (looks trashy when she has heels and a classy dress on). I think arm or shoulder tats are dreadful on women even if they are "meaningful" to that person. A nay rather than a yay for me unfortunately in most cases...not all though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Freiheit

I think theyr'e cooooool!...at least most of them are anyway:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Morrigin

Only have one tattoo. My grandmother was a Holocaust survivor and I have her Auswitz prisoner number on my left wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I like tattoos, but I'd never get one myself. I guess they're just not my style. I prefer to keep artwork on paper or whatever, but I do admire those who can commit to having it on their skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I think tattoos are a young person's thing. They look great when you're 20 or 30 but not so much when you're 70. I'd love to get a tattoo if I could wipe it off when I feel like it. Even if I did think tattoos looked good when you're old, I couldn't pick anything which I believe I'd still like in 50 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 sparklicous

i have a large tattoo on my ribs, and when i show people they're always surprised at how big it is, but i'm not a small person, so a small tattoo wouldn't have suited me. i wasn't going to let my fear dictate the size, since it's something permanent.

sometimes visible tattoos can be unfairly judged in interview type situations, or dealing with the public. but hardwork can always overcome people's unfair perceptions.

i'm a big fan of larger tattoos in general, if they suit the area. there are a million terrible tattoos out there. tips on getting the one you want would prob be better found in the tattoos forum.

i think that tattoos come under the theory of general personal appearance. if you alter your appearance, and you feel that it's an outward representation of who you are, and that means that you feel more confident in yourself, then do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I love tattoos n some people, hate them on others. Depends on the persons style and what the tat is-if you gets stars or cherries or something (imo) crap, then its not going to look good, especially in time to come.
    Because they are permanent, you really have to think ahead to the person you are going to be in 10, 20, 30 years to come and I think thats impossible for myself at least, therefore dont have a tattoo.

Whatever about meaning etc, on a purely aesthetic basis I dont think a lot of tattoos look feminine or attractive on females. My friend has a full back piece and while its lovely and artistic, I wouldnt want it on my body. Another friend has a massive piece on her ribs and its hella sexy-Id love to have the balls to get it done but I just plain dont!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I don't like them really. Just not my thing. I also think that even if you love, love, love it now, you can't REALLY know how you're going to feel about it in 20 years.

Whenever I see a middle-aged woman (or man) with lots of tattoos, I think it looks kind of sad or something. Have you considered how it'll look when you're 45? (not that you ever will be :)).

If I got a tattoo, I'd make sure I could easily cover it up if I chose to. Otherwise I don't think of it as putting art on oneself, more like staining oneself.

Tattoos are very fashionable right now, but fashions change and the tattoo won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I have one. Hate it.

Spent the last two years getting it removed. The pain!!

Not a fan of very obvious tattoos but some are nice. No more for me though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I love the look of tattoo's on gal's, they can be very sexy, if they're placed right and done well! A crap tattoo will still look crap whethar its on a man or woman. I have 6 myself, with number 7 in the planning stages. I drew most of mine myself (bar 1) and they all have a very personal meaning to me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Morrigin wrote: »
    Only have one tattoo. My grandmother was a Holocaust survivor and I have her Auswitz prisoner number on my left wrist.

Thats really really cool. Very postmodern - she had it because she had to, you have it because you want to. A great memorial to someone.

I have 2 tattoos. One is a literary quote on my ribs. I love it, but it wasnt done by a great artist and its a bit too small and hasnt aged too well. The second is a design by my OH on my mid-lower back - its our wedding date in an abstract design.

Id love more, am currently considering a symbol on my ankle and plan to get more literary quotes done (Im a big reader). It takes me a long time to decide on exactly what I want - I need to consider it for a few years before making the decision!

Giselle wrote: »
    I don't like them really. Just not my thing. I also think that even if you love, love, love it now, you can't REALLY know how you're going to feel about it in 20 years.

So what? Life is too short to be wondering what will happen in 20 years.
    Whenever I see a middle-aged woman (or man) with lots of tattoos, I think it looks kind of sad or something.

You'll have a lot of "sad" looking individuals wandering around pretty soon so :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

jenizzle wrote: »

You'll have a lot of "sad" looking individuals wandering around pretty soon so :rolleyes:

Giselle said it looks kinda sad not that the people were sad. :rolleyes:

And jenizzle said there'd be a lot of 'sad looking' people wandering around in 20 years....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I really don’t like them. So many people have pointless, ridiculous ones these days (Chinese symbols and Sanskrit baby names) that it just ruins it for all of the people who might actually have a nice one. And there are certain places you go or societal groups you meet where everyone, including all the middle aged/older people seem to be covered in tattoos and it just looks terrible. And so cheap and sad somehow.

Also, I’m not sure about the whole ‘meaningful’ argument. I don’t think there is any reason anyone needs to tattoo someone’s face onto their bicep or the word ‘perseverance’ onto their wrist or whatever. To me that just feels like someone still ‘wanted a tattoo’, just put a bit more effort into it than getting a Cheryl Cole one. Sorry..

They don’t bother me as much on men, but I think they can be terribly unfeminine on women. Not that every woman wants to be feminine, but it’s easy to pick something you think will be lovely and then look like you have a dirty bruise for the next 50 years.

They’re just not for me anyway. If you have one and you love it, then good for you. And if you’re thinking about getting one I think you should think it through for about 15 years before you commit, and then try and go for something classic and timeless J.

Good luck making up your mind OP!

jenizzle wrote: »

Life is short, but tattoos are forever and ever.

The OP asked for opinions, not just opinions that agree. I'm not trying to insult anyone or their choices, its only my opinion. Please don't take offence where none is intended.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Life is short, but tattoos are forever and ever.

No they're not :confused:

They should be considered as such though, because they're so difficult and time consuming to be removed.

Thanks again for all the replies. :D

My brother would have the same opinion as you. He thinks they look cool when you're young but when you get older and the tattoo ages, that they just look ridiculous & as he says "dirty looking".

I smile a little whenever I see an oul fella with tattoos on his arms. It makes me think "I bet he had a mad life growing up" even though he has a walking stick now. It makes me think of what they were like in their youth. :) Thanks for sharing your honest opinion though.

Imho, if a tattoo is representative of who you are, and has a meaning while you are young it will still have the same meaning 20, 30 years down the line.