Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dont Tell the Bride

• 28-09-2010 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭

It's a bit pukesville so far.

Anyone else watching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Nope, but the British one can be quite funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Is that Amy Hubermann narrating.. she's annoying, I'll give her that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

Is that Amy Hubermann narrating.. she's annoying, I'll give her that.

Is that who it is?

I was wondering who the desperate narrator was!

Fly-on-the-wall documentary in which Anthony Eames is given 10,000 euros to plan every detail of his forthcoming wedding, without any help from his bride Doireann O'Connor. However, with his fiancee out of the picture, the groom-to-be is left at the mercy of his future mother-in-law.

I dont really get it.. RTE give them 10k if he organises everything and they get to video it, is that the whole premise... Why would you want to sell your wedding day is beyond me....

Narrator sounds like she is doing voiceover for an insurance advert.

Oh good god....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭lisnsooz

I don't get it either - and how can they do this in three weeks? Surely the couple know how hard it is to get the perfect everything for under 10K and within 3 weeks. Most bridal places insist on ordering way in advance, what happens to marriage course if it's in an RC church (as this episode seems to be) and all in all - why would any bride put herself thru that torture when they keep showing candid shots of the girl reminiscing about her dream wedding. How did she not discuss this with him before they had to throw away the mobile phones?! I think am analysing this too much....

Going through the bargain rail for the bridesmaid's dresses... Even the bridesmaid look mortified. :eek:

What's next in the series.... When your grandma dies, see if you can get her waked and buried for less than 500 euro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

the girlfriend had the british one on earlier and He had a Christmas theme in september.

i couldnt be that hard to know what your girlfriend wants

lisnsooz wrote: »
    I don't get it either - and how can they do this in three weeks? Surely the couple know how hard it is to get the perfect everything for under 10K and within 3 weeks. Most bridal places insist on ordering way in advance, what happens to marriage course if it's in an RC church (as this episode seems to be) and all in all - why would any bride put herself thru that torture when they keep showing candid shots of the girl reminiscing about her dream wedding. How did she not discuss this with him before they had to throw away the mobile phones?! I think am analysing this too much....

I think you are spot on....

Groom seems like a nice fella but jeez it's fairly boring..... think it is the commentary that's the worst (both what she is saying and the way she is saying it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I really liked the English one, but I'm fairly bored!

Mother in Law on the war path!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

He's well able to handle the ma in law anyway

Dress looks a lot better on then off.

think it is the commentary that's the worst (both what she is saying and the way she is saying it)

yeah - it's not so much commentary more than storyteller - she keeps getting interrupted by the actual people the who is about :rolleyes:

and that dry wry humour - how witty and Irish it is.

I dunno - still don't get it. OK - I know they had no money for a wedding, but still - how much stress is this generating for everyone?! I'm really hoping for them he pulls it off!!! It's getting a bit edge-of-seat... they're both nice people and it's starting to get a bit car-crash- would be probably more hilarious if she was a demented bridezilla and he was a complete plonker who thought everything was totally MAHVELLOUS DAHLING.

OMG - the mum's face with the dress - uh-oh

Do they do all the hand holding in the English version aswell???

amdublin wrote: »
    Do they do all the hand holding in the English version aswell???

Not really.

This pair need to be told to get a room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Neadine

Car crash TV.

I don't get people who would willingly get involved in a production like that. And for the sake of measly 10K.

Doireann's the spit of her mother!

At the beginning of the show the groom said he reckoned people thought Doireann was cute.

Neadine wrote: »
    Car crash TV. I don't get people who would willingly get involved in a production like that. And for the sake of measly 10K.

Yeah I dont get it.. Knowing how big a day it is, particularly in a woman's life, I dont know why oh why you would a) sell it and b) risk it being a mess by letting this fool organise it.

Narration is intrusive, corny, cliché and badly intonated ..

Ah yes that's what I was thinking of the narration.....

At the beginning of the show the groom said he reckoned people thought Doireann was cute.

Um.

Like she's a nice girl and all.

Poor fella :(

I have to say - she's remarkably relaxed about everything - I would be freaking at this stage and I definitely wouldn't be happy with the bridesmaid laughing about leaving the shoes behind. I guess you just have to keep your eye on the end result (marriage) and not try and get too stressed about other stuff (everything else).

"If the shoes don't arrive Hannah may get the boot"

What a stupid comment. Shut up Amy!

Why is this program on so late?

Would it not get a better audience around 7.30 in the eve?

"Not the best man's best idea"

Another Gem from Amy....

Did the groom pick out those bridesmaid dresses?

They look nice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭travellingbid

"If the shoes don't arrive Hannah may get the boot"

What a stupid comment. Shut up Amy!

I don't think it's Amy but I'm open to correction:)

Why is this program on so late?

Would it not get a better audience around 7.30 in the eve?

It's being aired by RTE, of course it couldn't be shown at the correct slot.

Um. Like she's a nice girl and all.

She's a battleaxe like her mother... He should feck off with bridesmaid number 2....

It seems like 80% of these problems are fabricated for the show... wow, the wedding car fell through, the dress was meant to be delivered.... sensationalized makey-uppy problems presented as if they were seriously insurmountable problems...

Doireann looking at the bridesmaids.. "skinny biiiiiiitches"...

I don't think it's Amy but I'm open to correction:)

Did JonathanAnon get it wrong????? Not his usual style ;)

It seems like 80% of these problems are fabricated for the show... wow, the wedding car fell through, the dress was meant to be delivered.... sensationalized makey-uppy problems presented as if they were seriously insurmountable problems...

Yes it all looked a bit farcical.......

I shall be vindicated.. if there's one thing I'm an expert on... it's stupid, useless trivia about TV..

He looks a bit like a younger Kevin Dundon, wonder does he cook as well ?

Comedian priests.

if there's one thing I'm an expert on... it's stupid, useless trivia about TV..

Yep, a talent indeed

Ah get a room!

ah well - at least they all got to the church in one piece - and he starts crying. In fairness - the narrator script as annoying as anything, but I like the couple.

Ohhh dear.
    A wedding video, and then this show as a reminder.
    I'm not the most typical of females, never dreamed about the 'Big White Wedding', but watching this makes me realise why.
    At the beginning did she not mention something about wanting an old, small venue with character, and then she arrives at the BIG new hotel, and says, wow, this is fab... or something along those lines?!

lisnsooz wrote: »
    ah well - at least they all got to the church in one piece - and he starts crying. In fairness - the narrator script as annoying as anything, but I like the couple.

Ah they're a nice pair! Good luck to them!

My friend got married in the Mount Wolsley and was split up with EIGHT months.. Surprised they are capable of showing such genuine emotion about a wedding day that they sold for thirty pieces of silver...

Vindication for JA!

AMY!!!!! Ye were all right :-) Closet Clinic watchers :-)

Well, that's over for another week.

Please, tell me it was a once off????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭travellingbid

I stand corrected. She's gone way down in my estimation after that attempt at narration.

My friend got married in the Mount Wolsley

Nice wedding?

I stand corrected. She's gone way down in my estimation after that attempt at narration.

I'm not a petty man, but..... well actually, I am..

vindication.jpg

Nice wedding?

yeah it's actually a lovely spot.. Cost them a fortune as well... But the chap has been engaged more times than a switchboard, and this was somewhat of a shotgun wedding... sad really, he's in a bad way now trying to see his kid.. :(

Neadine wrote: »
    Well, that's over for another week.

Please, tell me it was a once off????

I read somewhere else that RTE allegedly did it as a once-off before making decision to commission. Get all your complaints about it in now so they can take note :)