Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anyone been to a rave

• 16-04-2011 4:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭

and not takin illegal substances?

Whats it like and if ya were clean and sober what ya think of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Go to one and find out,

you don't have to be off your tits to have a good time.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I've taken plenty of illegal substances at raves, but probably not in the way you mean.

psni wrote: »
    I've taken plenty of illegal substances at raves, but probably not in the way you mean.

I'm not really sure that's the answer he's looking for.

http://26.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lewi7pRcr31qzoqnwo1_400.gif

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

But I was clean, sober and got a successful prosecution out of it. It fits.

I think.
    Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I'm not really sure that's the answer he's looking for.

http://26.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lewi7pRcr31qzoqnwo1_400.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

I think.

Were the fish not swimming close enough to the top of the barrel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

Go to one and find out,

raves are like going to mass if theres no............................................i dont really wanna get banned so i wont name them

i went to a rave on anti-biotics so couldnt take nothin and everyone one comin up huggin me for no reason....felt like goin home or doin G.B.H!

It's the job.
    Oh_Noes wrote: »
    Were the fish not swimming close enough to the top of the barrel?

Go to one and find out,

raves are like going to mass if theres no............................................i dont really wanna get banned so i wont name them

i went to a rave on anti-biotics so couldnt take nothin and everyone i didnt even know comin up huggin me for no reason....felt like goin home or doin G.B.H! :mad:

It's the job.

Yes I understood as much.

I was wondering why you only managed to get one prosecution out of a gathering that is effectively a prosecution shop, with a 100% sale on.

**** i didnt mean to double post that

jimpump wrote: »

i went to a rave on anti-biotics so couldnt take nothin and everyone i didnt even know comin up huggin me for no reason....felt like goin home or doin G.B.H! :mad:

Did your doctor advise you not to take ecstasy while on anti-biotics?

It's the job.

hey guarda i wont tell know 1 else but from man to man you must have smoked a joint or 2 in yer time??

i swear i wont tell yer seargent...:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

No I havent, but from experience of being around people buzzing off their head it wouldnt be a pleasent experience.

Yes I understood as much.

I was wondering why you only managed to get one prosecution out of a gathering that is effectively a prosecution shop, with a 100% sale on.

Ah here. What do you think we are? One cop = one arrest = one file at a time, thanks very much.

Did your doctor advise you not to take ecstasy while on anti-biotics?

hey nobody mentioned ecstacy here!! theres a guarda on this thread afterall,ya cant be talkin like that :o

I'm not a Garda. The clue is in my name. ;)

...and as for smoking stuff in 'my time', well eh... that would be an ecumenical matter.
    hey guarda i wont tell know 1 else but from man to man you must have smoked a joint or 2 in yer time??

i swear i wont tell yer seargent...:D

I'm not a Garda. The clue is in my name. ;)

...and as for smoking stuff in 'my time', well eh... that would be an ecumenical matter.

PSNI = Gardai = coppers

am i right?

No. Very no.

PSNI = Police Service of Northern Ireland.
    Gardaí = Guardians of the peace for the Republic of Ireland.
    PSNI = Gardai = coppers

am i right?

Yakult wrote: »
    No I havent, but from experience of being around people buzzing off their head it wouldnt be a pleasent experience.

finally someone that agrees......its bad going to raves without me 'mitzubishi' lancer or seein some doves and stars in the sky....lol :D

No. Very no.

but norn iron is part of ireland, so youse are basically the same pal

Ah here. What do you think we are? One cop = one arrest = one file at a time, thanks very much.

Figures.

I'd prefer to have crazy drugs like this properly policed tbh, both north and south.

Instead we get a story in the paper everyday about the gardai shutting down a "cannabis factory". It is much easier to find I suppose.

Do you get a commision if you find drugs being grown/manufactured?

Oh yeah, same job, but different laws on each side of the border, and neither has jurisdiction outside of the border. But come on, this is AH... boobs and stuff.
    but norn iron is part of ireland, so youse are basically the same pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

No and I never will. Been to a good few raves though and they were deadly craic.

Do you get a commision if you find drugs being grown/manufactured?
    Got a good lol at that. We just get paperwork and the standard scripted praise - maybe a bit of overtime if it's authorised but that's it.

I swear officer, they made me do it.

etc, etc....

Drugs are, drugs, regardless.
    Doesn't usually work out that way, it should though.

Drugs are, drugs, regardless.

Are they?

Gerry Ryan's not six feet under because he smoked a bit too much of the wacky tobaccy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

This thread seems like good crack.

/grabs glowstick and NWA album for the dj in case a Paddy wagon shows up.

Are they?

Gerry Ryan's not six feet under because he smoked a bit too much of the wacky tobaccy.

I didn't mean my comments to be construed in any sort of positive way (positive for drugs).

Sorry if that was misunderstood.

Got a good lol at that. We just get paperwork and the standard scripted praise - maybe a bit of overtime if it's authorised but that's it.

what happens if you find yer ma/da/sis/bro with drugs? what would ya do :confused:

Thankfully I'll never be in that dilemma. I'm originally from Dublin and my family all live down in Dublin.
    what happens if you find yer ma/da/sis/bro with drugs? what would ya do :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

No. Very no.

A pig is a pig is a pig.

I'd probably go without pills and stuff but it wouldn't be as much of a laugh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I have a number of times actually. I've only done pills maybe 3-4 times in my life, didn't really find the come down worth the high. So I've gone to a few and just drank/smoked a bit, but I've also gone to several dead sober.

I had a perfectly good time sober. If I like the music, I'll dance my heart out even dead sober. And when chatting with people who are buzzing, I get a little contact buzz ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I've never been to a rave but I don't think I've ever been bothered about them really.

Thankfully I'll never be in that dilemma. I'm originally from Dublin and my family all live down in Dublin.

so basically what yer sayin is that they are all using or selling?
    Dublin is the junkie capital of the world afterall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I went to the asylum one night just full of beer and loved it........until I sobered up a bit and thought I had wondered into a prison social.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Went to a Tiesto gig sober once. Odd.

Damn funny though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I was once at a rave and didn't take any illegal substances. I just took loads of head shop drugs instead ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

I remember some guys in my class went to either winter party or god's kitchen, those big filthy ones that were on in the point, they wouldnt be the types to touch anything, must have been freaked out by about 1 am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

and not takin illegal substances?

Not sure if I can make the following statement without sounding like a knob but if you are into whatever the music playing is and like a boogie, it's great. Went to a party with top DJs, the other night, 11 - 6 in the morning(well I left at six) and doing the same tonight. No drugs, drink, cig.s, just a love for music, good djs (not man love, just mutual respect type love) and a good party atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    No and I never will. Been to a good few raves though and they were deadly craic.

+1! I've been to raves myself somewhat sober and had good times. Some people don't like being around others who are off their mushes because it makes them feel uncomfortable or irritated, but it mostly amuses me. Each to their own buzz!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I have been to them as a designated driver a few times. Stone cold sober. I still had an amazing time in the day. People who are off their tits on god knows what are very sociable and great craic. I was quite happy to stay clean and just chat all night with the Lunatic's in the Asylum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I've been to many a rave down through the years,and i was never sober or not out of me head,what would be the point!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Azureus wrote: »

I did too down in ballinlough castle, I enjoyed it even though people were annoying me for a "sup of me water",It was damn long though, 5 hours is a long time at one of these things when you're sober.

The hardest part was trying to round up everybody get them away from their new long lost "buddies" they found whilst being off their chops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Azureus wrote: »

Wow, I read that too fast the first time. I thought you said TESCO. Imagine it, some poor lad off his noodle wanders into tescos dancing around the place. Maybe it will become the norm, just like the pajama people in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

Wow, I read that too fast the first time. I thought you said TESCO. Imagine it, some poor lad off his noodle wanders into tescos dancing around the place. Maybe it will become the norm, just like the pajama people in there.

ive been in tesco out me nut,its em....strange to say the least

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Has anyone been to a rave and not takin illegal substances?

Been to many. Both backstage and front, in the vip sections and the public ones.
    Attended them sober and drug free (not much choice really, work related).

Utterly enjoyed them. Would go to one again tomorrow in a second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

I think.

and probably ruined their lives over a pill or 3!! great job!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Mary28

It depended if I liked the music or not. Wouldn't bother me at all if I liked the music. Being around drunk/drugged people never bothered me when sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I have been to plenty of raves and not taken anything (Honestly PSNI :P)

They are great craic regardless.

Officer: Why are your eyes so big.

Me: All the better to see you with, Officer