Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Small town Ireland.

• 16-04-2011 1:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 39

i know this should probably be in the offaly forum - but i dont think this experience is unique to tullamore

how hard is it for non local people to meet friends on local towns such as tullamore - have just been talking to taki driver who insists all he dates are from outside the town - and it is not that big - and have been having some difficutly myslelf meeting and greeting locals - am notlooking for immediate friendshilp - but some bit of craic........ i guess ah is not the forum for this......but i meant to ask is this unique to tullamore or typical of small town .. have lived in dublin for 5 years - no hassle meeting people but here it is hard..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

[QUOTE=siniman;71725971 tullamore

[/QUOTE]

I stoped reading after i seen that name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Find a sport and you're sorted. Rugby or hurling would be a preference, or join the hunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Tullamore.

Now, I'm not racist, but that place is full of jews.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

I'll be your friend OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Tullamore is a local town for local people.

Get back to Massachusetts Pinko!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I could fix the thread title for you op if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Poor OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Op you could go to mass, meet lots of people there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Ok i've changed the title so the thread can continue. To live happily in small town Ireland as a stranger you need to embrace the following three things.

GAA.
    Mass.
    Politics.

super-rush wrote: »
    Ok i've changed the title so the thread can continue. To live happily in small town Ireland as a stranger you need to embrace the following three things.

GAA.
    Mass.
    Politics.
    and the local pub:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

talk to them and say something funny. job done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

I've seen this thread in several other forums. Not sure if all from the same person but the content is more or less the same.

Your job is the best way you're going to meet people in a place like Tullamore. Failing that, a voluntary job kind of thing.

It's a rural Irish town where everyone knows each other and have done all their lives so local people already have their circles of friends and contacts. It isn't unique to Tullamore; yes it is typical of this type of town.

It's not really a situation where you can join clubs and stuff to meet like minded individuals. That's more of a bigger city thing with a high population. Clubs in Tullamore/Athlone/Mullingar tend to be made up of the small number of middle class in the areas. So they're a closed shop even for most locals.

If you have a car, then meet people on the net from the general area with similar interests. A friend of mine (lives in Athlone, isn't Irish) is very into paintballing/airsoft (whatever the kids are calling it these days) and goes around to different parts of the country with a group from Tullamore. I think he hooked up with them on the net.

If you had friends in Dublin then why not just keep in contact with them? It won't take you any longer to travel up the motorway to Dublin from Tullamore than it would take you travel from one part of Dublin to another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

siniman wrote: »
    i know this should probably be in the offaly forum.

You might get some good replies here,OP.
    I could fix the thread title for you op if you want.
    Ok i've changed the title so the thread can continue.
    GAA.
    Mass.
    Politics.

How offaly good of you.:pac:

The OP shouldn't have to be Athlone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

To live happily in small town Ireland as a stranger you need to embrace the following three things.

GAA.
    Mass.
    Politics.

That is me stuffed then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

more chance of making friends in Mozambique....just go back to dublin if the boggers are wreckin yer head! LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Rds1989

I suggest you go up to the hardest man in the village, knock him out and therefore become the dominant male and friends will follow after probably

Just play it cool OP,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Hang around by the Joe Dolan statue in Mullingar.You're bound to meet someone taking a photo.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I hear ya op. i've been living in a small town the past 20 years and Im now struggling to make new friends. Many of my friends have left for Oz so its like starting for scratch. But I have interest in sports, playing music and motorsports so Im working those interests into meeting new people. Dont be afraid to make the first move, you would be surprised how friendly people can be and just build on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I'll be your friend OP.

Don't listen to him OP!!! He's only after yout Ki-Ora.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

convert to catholism and join the GAA

otherwise you can feck off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

have just been talking to taki driver who...

Have they taki's in Tullamore now?
    That's mad.

On a serious note, i agree with above, join clubs, put yourself out there. Mix it up, let it hang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭cml387

Not a good Sunday for starting going to mass,it's the long gospel this weekend.

Just saying like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

cml387 wrote: »
    Not a good Sunday for starting going to mass,it's the long gospel this weekend.

Just saying like.

Aw deadly, "Mass, The Extended Cut".
    Love it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

MikeySligo wrote: »
    Have they taki's in Tullamore now?
    That's mad.

On a serious note, i agree with above, join clubs, put yourself out there. Mix it up, let it hang.

but, you'd be arrested for indecent exposure:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

We dont like your type around here OP.

<_<

>_>

*spits*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Unless you own land in the parish and can trace back your family to famine times, then you OP are a blow-in

And a blow-in is a grave insult in rural Ireland.

Feck off back to your city, not welcome :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

The importance of GAA to rural areas and small towns is widely exaggerated. Majority of people in my part of the country don't really care about it all that much, and soccer is at least as popular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Majority of people in my part of the country don't really care about it all that much,

We saw that in 2004. Mayo fans scrambling and begging for tickets for the All Ireland Final, got a walloping from Kerry and a lot of the Mayo fans left the stadium well before the game was over. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭offaly1

Eugh...blow ins..pfft!!

only joking, head to the bridge house...you are sure to meet people there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

We saw that in 2004. Mayo fans scrambling and begging for tickets for the All Ireland Final, got a walloping from Kerry and a lot of the Mayo fans left the stadium well before the game was over. ;)

Apart from a small minority who go to every game Mayo GAA fans are a shower of bandwagon jumping idiots. Apart from yours truly :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

forever athlone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 siniman

Cold light of day.... and comforted by a giant portion of curried chips - just need to stop moaning and put myself out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Shoot everybody.

.. giant portion of curried chips...
    Where are they from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Shoot everybody.

Sounds like an excellent solution.

Now what was the problem again ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭thisguy

dont know if you're into sports or not OP, but if you are there's all manner of different clubs around the town. As has been mentioned already the the GAA club would be an easy way in, but there's also Tullamore's Rugby Club, the Tullamore Harriers Athletic Club, numerous soccer clubs, a basketball club, and lots of 5 a sides in a few different spots that im sure some workmates would be involved in....failing them I think someone above me mentioned the Bridge House, just go get plastered in there you're bound to meet people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 siniman

Supermacs ... not fussy me when it comes to them - but would have loved an old 50/50 like we used to get in galway - half coleslaw, half curry sauce! fantastic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Take the belt off your jeans, and replace it with baling twine. Drink Club Oddinge and eat hang sangwidges. Dont brush your hair or your teeth. Buy a 15 year old toyota corolla and put a big crack in the windscreen.
    Do some or all of these things and you'll fit right in.

MJ23 wrote: »
    Take the belt off your jeans, and replace it with baling twine. Drink Club Oddinge and eat hang sangwidges. Dont brush your hair or your teeth. Buy a 15 year old toyota corolla and put a big crack in the windscreen.
    Do some or all of these things and you'll fit right in.

You're a moron. Growing up in the country beats growing up in a council estate and thinking your more civilised because said estate is in dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Supermacs ... not fussy me when it comes to them - but would have loved an old 50/50 like we used to get in galway - half coleslaw, half curry sauce! fantastic!

You should be, a friend of mine worked in there, the stories I've heard about that curry sauce make me ill... *shudders*

do tell...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 no_bother

You should be, a friend of mine worked in there, the stories I've heard about that curry sauce make me ill... *shudders*
    was that recently???? had hankering but am now a little worried.

You're a moron. Growing up in the country beats growing up in a council estate and thinking your more civilised because said estate is in dublin.
    don't sweat the smart arses..... just don't assume anything about where they are from ... there are all sorts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

i'd take the council estate to be honest,less chance of having a baby with your sister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

There is no such thing as 'small town Ireland' - leave that black and white simplistic bollocks to the yanks.

Also, I believe Tullamore is an absolute ****hole of the highest order and hardly representative of Ireland as a whole.

Accents and some beliefs aside, people are often very similar the world over - something people in this thread will do well to remember.

Orizio wrote: »
    There is no such thing as 'small town Ireland' - leave that black and white simplistic bollocks to the yanks.

Also, I believe Tullamore is an absolute ****hole of the highest order and hardly representative of Ireland as a whole.
    why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

no_bother wrote: »
    why?

Why what?

why do you believe tullamore is an absolute '****hole of the highest order and hardly representative of Ireland as a whole. '?