Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overtaking a Hearse?

• 15-04-2011 10:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭

Was driving from Cork back to Waterford the other day and passed a hearse going the other way with a line of cars behind it.

Got to thinking what if the hearse had another say 30 miles to travel.Would it be disrespectable to pass it out or would you just have to be patient and wait:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

If it was a regular road id probably wait with the hope its not going very far......i did overtake a hearse on a motorway before though & make no apologies for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

30 miles:eek: Of course i'd overtake if it was safe to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,378 ✭✭✭alias no.9

On a motorway, I'd pass it. On a national primary road, unless it was an obvious funeral cortege, I'd pass it. Within a town or on a regional road, not even if there was an opportunity to pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

A hearse I would overtake, a funeral I would not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I would. If you have ever been in the situation in a funeral car the last thing on your mind is people overtaking you. Go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

alias no.9 wrote: »
    On a motorway, I'd pass it. On a national primary road, unless it was an obvious funeral cortege, I'd pass it. Within a town or on a regional road, not even if there was an opportunity to pass.
    mickdw wrote: »
    A hearse I would overtake, a funeral I would not.

What these guys said, anything else is bad ju-ju, unless you have a major emergency on your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

On a bit of a tangent, isn't that what they blame for Mayo's bad GAA record in the last few years? The team were supposed to have overtaken a funeral or somesuch. Anyhow, actual funeral processions are generally short (especially the very slow ones where the mourners are walking behind the hearse) so I guess a bit of patience wouldn't to amiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

Yes for sure. If it's safe to do so.

Most of the times I've met a funeral on a national road, they've quite sensibly, been in the hard shoulder. There was one time though, just outside Moneygall, the funeral was out near the middle of the road, and I was very close to blowing the horn in disgust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Being dead does not give you or your family the right to obstruct an entire main road. Hearses and the brigade that insist on walking behind them at <5mph for miles.... Words cannot describe the anger I feel towards them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Being dead does not give you or your family the right to obstruct an entire main road. Hearses and the brigade that insist on walking behind them at <5mph for miles.... Words cannot describe the anger I feel towards them.
    Hope this doesnt come back to haunt you;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

If the funeral has nothing to do with me (obviously), I'd overtake when the opportunity arose. I don't see how it's being disrespectful either. If they think they've a right to take over main roads then it's them that's being disrespectful. Honoring the dead shouldn't include pissing everyone else off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd prefer to undertake a hearse. :pac:

I'll get me coat. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭johndaman66

I'm moving a wee bit away from the specific topic under discussion but does anybody here stop yer vehicles when a funeral is coming against them on the road until the hearse passes. Obviously not on a primary road or motorway but in a built up area or local road?

I was in town the other day and witnessed people doing as such. Admittedly it was more the case the traffic going against the hearse was stop go and some people were more specifically waiting till the hearse passed to start moving again. Have never seen people do this before in all my years of driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Croc

Its the law in the states you have to pull over, even if the funeral is coming the other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I would never pass a funeral I think it would be disrespectful and that's nothing compared with the bad luck you would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

I'm moving a wee bit away from the specific topic under discussion but does anybody here stop yer vehicles when a funeral is coming against them on the road until the hearse passes. Obviously not on a primary road or motorway but in a built up area or local road?

I was in town the other day and witnessed people doing as such. Admittedly it was more the case the traffic going against the hearse was stop go and some people were more specifically waiting till the hearse passed to start moving again. Have never seen people do this before in all my years of driving.

Im in Tramore and most people pull in and turn off engine if a funeral is passing.Its just respect-costs nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Overtake whilst blowing your horn loudly, flashing your lights and if the opportunity arises, roll down the window and shout "get of the road ye louts".

Wait did you say a hearse or a horse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

Plazaman wrote: »
    Overtake whilst blowing your horn loudly, flashing your lights and if the opportunity arises, roll down the window and shout "get of the road ye louts".

Wait did you say a hearse or a horse?

:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭Neilw

I was attending a funeral a few years ago which had a Garda escort, 3 or 4 Garda bikes. We had to take the M50 for a few miles, the Garda bikes stopped all traffic onto the m50 at each slip and the last bike stopped any cars overtaking us.

Neilw wrote: »
    I was attending a funeral a few years ago which had a Garda escort, 3 or 4 Garda bikes. We had to take the M50 for a few miles, the Garda bikes stopped all traffic onto the m50 at each slip and the last bike stopped any cars overtaking us.

Good to see appropriate use of the Gardaí :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

mickob16 wrote: »
    Im in Tramore and most people pull in and turn off engine if a funeral is passing.Its just respect-costs nothing

Yes thats the same here. I've no religion but its good to have respect..

Good to see appropriate use of the Gardaí :rolleyes:

Obviously there was a reason for this type of Gardai presence, high profile funeral possibly causing traffic problems..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

Up-n-atom! wrote: »
    On a bit of a tangent, isn't that what they blame for Mayo's bad GAA record in the last few years? The team were supposed to have overtaken a funeral or somesuch. Anyhow, actual funeral processions are generally short (especially the very slow ones where the mourners are walking behind the hearse) so I guess a bit of patience wouldn't to amiss.

yeah i heard that, supposed to have been the last time they won Sam in 51, overtook or came asross a furneral blowing horns etcs on the way home,the priest overseeing put a curse that they wouldn't win another till every amn on the team was dead.

Methinks 'tis bull tho I'd imagine teams travelled by train in those days.

bryaner wrote: »
    Obviously there was a reason for this type of Gardai presence, high profile funeral possibly causing traffic problems..

You think blocking off the entire m50 and not allowing people to overtake wasn't causing traffic problems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Hmm, I cant say Ive seen it been done before much ever but then again its maybe the case I've just never noticed it being done. Its not like you would see too many funerals on the road either (well me anyway). Now that I think about it I'll nearly do it myself from now on but not in a situation where it could potentially cause a crash or furstration amongst other road users.

I don't particularly agree with this at all, high profile or not. Why should one be allowed to avail of such costly and limited State resources for free. The high profile argument doesn't really wash with me...where do you draw the line. It all seems a bit Irish really.

You think blocking off the entire m50 and not allowing people to overtake wasn't causing traffic problems?

Hardly the entire M50! Just pulling up enough traffic to let the cortege travel together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

It's not unusual to have Guards blocking roads for funerals. Happens all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Croc wrote: »
    Its the law in the states you have to pull over, even if the funeral is coming the other way.

Not in all states.

But saying that in some states funeral cortèges are allowed exceed the posted speed limit and get police escorts through traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,704 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

My brother was killed in a traffic accident a few years ago, we had to bring his coffin from the town where the post mortem was held to our home town for the funeral, the journey was along an 'M' motorway. The undertaker insisted on driving the hearse at about 40 mph all the way along the motorway, in the left lane obviously. I was bringing up the rear and got so scared watching cars roar up on to my tail and then overtake when they realised how slow I was going that I overtook the hearse and drove to our home town at what I considered a safe speed.

The alternative as far as I was concerned was that somebody would come up from behind and then get a call on the mobile or get momentarily distracted by a child in the car and rear end me at speed. There is a very good reason why slow vehicles are banned from motorways.

In towns and on minor roads down the country there is a tradition that oncoming traffic stops and pulls over to let the funeral pass and nobody would dare to overtake if going in the same direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,704 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Croc wrote: »

I doubt that very much, every state in the US has it's own traffic regulations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

coylemj wrote: »
    I doubt that very much, every state in the US has it's own traffic regulations.
    Indeed.

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2004/rpt/2004-R-0303.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

If any one of ye overtake me while I am in the back of the hearse I will come back and haunt ye....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

My brother was killed in a traffic accident a few years ago, we had to bring his coffin from the town where the post mortem was held to our home town for the funeral, the journey was along an 'M' motorway. The undertaker insisted on driving the hearse at about 40 mph all the way along the motorway, in the left lane obviously. I was bringing up the rear and got so scared watching cars roar up on to my tail and then overtake when they realised how slow I was going that I overtook the hearse and drove to our home town at what I considered a safe speed.

The alternative as far as I was concerned was that somebody would come up from behind and then get a call on the mobile or get momentarily distracted by a child in the car and rear end me at speed. There is a very good reason why slow vehicles are banned from motorways.

In towns and on minor roads down the country there is a tradition that oncoming traffic stops and pulls over to let the funeral pass and nobody would dare to overtake if going in the same direction.

At least they were in the left lane. I was attending a funeral last year and the procession went from Kildare to Dublin on the M7. The hearse driver drove the whole way up at between 60 to 80 kmph in the middle lane.

It caused mayhem especially with truck drivers having to get into the overtaking lane to pass. I was genuinely fearful there would be an accident so I just drove along in the left lane as far out of the way as I could. It was stupidity on the hearse drivers part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

I had to travel in a funeral travelling from ashbourne to glasnevin cemetery. We had to travel during rush hour traffic as the cemetry only allowed the burial before 10am.
    We needed a garda escort to get us all in along to old n2 before the bypass in ashbourne.

The amount of inconsiderate people overtaking and cutting in to the que was unreal. Why because they knew they'd get into town quicker and it travelled at the speed limit all the way in.

Its somebody's final journey little bit of respect costs nothing to a devastated family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Years ago my two cousins died at a young age and we were given a garda escort from church in Cabra to the cemetary in Mulhuddart, via the N3, it was to stop the traffic coming up off the M50 roundabout so we could travel with the hearse carrying both their coffins... Not one person overtook us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

cabrwab wrote: »
    I had to travel in a funeral travelling from ashbourne to glasnevin cemetery. We had to travel during rush hour traffic as the cemetry only allowed the burial before 10am.
    We needed a garda escort to get us all in along to old n2 before the bypass in ashbourne.

The amount of inconsiderate people overtaking and cutting in to the que was unreal. Why because they knew they'd get into town quicker and it travelled at the speed limit all the way in.

Its somebody's final journey little bit of respect costs nothing to a devastated family.

A lot of motorists dont give a toss about the living in a car not to mind the dead..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

flanzer wrote: »
    Yes for sure. If it's safe to do so.

Most of the times I've met a funeral on a national road, they've quite sensibly, been in the hard shoulder. There was one time though, just outside Moneygall, the funeral was out near the middle of the road, and I was very close to blowing the horn in disgust

Personally I'd have a bit of respect for the dead and their grieving family. Where has all these other attitutes come from? Disgust and Anger at a bereaved family? This country has gone to sh1t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Hearses and the brigade that insist on walking behind them at <5mph for miles.... Words cannot describe the anger I feel towards them.

Impotent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Hearse driving at 20mph for a few miles along a country road - OK

Hearse on it's own on the M50 with all other traffic banned from entering the motorway - Madness in the extreme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

Was driving from Cork back to Waterford the other day and passed a hearse going the other way with a line of cars behind it.

Got to thinking what if the hearse had another say 30 miles to travel.Would it be disrespectable to pass it out or would you just have to be patient and wait:confused:

I find usually a hearse will travel at a "normal" speed until it nears it's destination, then will slow down. I was once in a cortege travelling a steady 120 on the M7 :)

I do this all the time. And turn off the radio.

flanzer wrote: »

Have you no respect for O'Bama's cousins? :D

. There is a very good reason why slow vehicles are banned from motorways.

There may be a good reason but they fcuked up and never introduced a minimum speed limit. Also 51km/h is not a safe speed on a motorway at any time other then rush hour and that's all a vehicle has to be able to do but it can legally travel at 10km/h:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Satanta wrote: »
    Personally I'd have a bit of respect for the dead and their grieving family. Where has all these other attitutes come from? Disgust and Anger at a bereaved family? This country has gone to sh1t.
    This.

The Celtic Diseased Kitten did more damage to this country than just to the economy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

I was in a cortège carrying my Nan from Navan to Limerick. Decent speed all the way along until we got close to where the family are from, then down to 'funeral' speeds.

Going from the church to the burial ground was all funeral speed along back roads, no need for a garda presence as just about anyone who would have been on that road anyway was at the funeral.

I'd never overtake a hearse unless on a motorway/major national route. No matter what you think your hurry is and how much time you are 'losing', i can guarantee that there are people in the lead car behind the hearse who would gladly give up a lot for a bit more time with their loved one.

Pull over, engine and radio off. A bit of respect costs nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Don't you know that being driven to their final resting place in a hearse gives the "passenger" one last chance to hold up traffic at 5mp/h.
    It is also stipulated in the will that the hearse must on at least two occasions indicate the opposite way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

gatecrash wrote: »

Hypothetical question ...what would you do if you were on your way to the hospital to catch a last glimpse of a dying relative ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

peasant wrote: »
    Hypothetical question ...what would you do if you were on your way to the hospital to catch a last glimpse of a dying relative ?

I meant if the cortege is coming towards me.

And as there would more than likely be more than me on the road i'd have to stop if a car in front of me probably has stopped.

If the way was clear ahead of me then i'd slow down a small bit but continue on my not so merry way.

If there were walkers behind the hearse i'd drive as quickly as i could bearing in mind the pedestrians.

it is an interesting question though, and to be honest i'd like to think that's how i'd behave.... but i've never been in that situation... yet

My uncle came up from Cork just before my Nan passed away, and he was pulled over for speeding. As soon as he informed the Garda of the situation he was given a blues and twos escort as far as that car could go, with a handover around each division change. He was a member at the time himself though, so the handover might not happen for the rest of us mere mortals!

gatecrash wrote: »

I'm all for respecting the dead, but they aren't the ones holding up the traffic.

Why are all removals at rush hour? Why can't they do it afterwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

It might be almost certainly be at your door some day.

however funeral cortège's should be mindful when on public roads to try and allow the general public safe access to the road as best as possible. I think for the most part they do. There is the odd occasion where a road is narrow but if the cortège has only a short distance to travel ten or fifteen minutes is neither here nor there.

Most funeral cortèges should travel at a reasonable rate on main road and keep left where possible to allow safe over taking. Again I think they do for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,095 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I accidentally overtook a funeral cortege once.

I was travelling to dublin on a motorbike and was coming up to traffic lights so I filtered through the traffic on the outside. when I got to the red lights I looked over and it was a load of people in black suits with a hearse at the front. It was the most awkward 30 seconds ever while I waited for the lights to turn green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Got overtaken by a Hearse once, I was doing around 160, he was doing around 180 - 200 at a best guess.