Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone still buy from Myprotein?

• 15-04-2011 12:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭

Their gone very expensive since they dont allow us to buy in sterling anymore. They also used have a pricematcher with www.bodybuildingwarehouse.co.uk where you could get cheap impact whey, this option is also now removed for ROI customers.

Are people still buying from them or using other suppliers now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭marathonic

I do but you can't listen to me because I get it delivered to Northern Ireland (my work address).

I have recently ordered Carlsons Fish Oils from iHerb.com and had no issues. It takes about a week (quotes about ten days on their website but mine took a week).

It might be worth trying this http://www.iherb.com/MRM-Whey-Dutch-Chocolate-2-02-lbs-917-08-g/7025?at=0&rcode=ROR319 which will cost you $18.96 (€13.15) (including shipping and a $5 first order discount).

It's got good reviews and added glutamine.

Dosclosure: They have a rewards program which, when you refer friends, you get commission of 4% of their purchase and they get a $5 discount. If you buy using the above link, I would get about €0.52

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Their gone very expensive since they dont allow us to buy in sterling anymore. They also used have a pricematcher with www.bodybuildingwarehouse.co.uk where you could get cheap impact whey, this option is also now removed for ROI customers.

Are people still buying from them or using other suppliers now?

Current promo on Whey Protein

http://www.discount-supplements.co.uk/sports-supplements-protein-whey-whey-blend-xl-nutrition-xtra-whey-2kg-bags

http://www.hollandandbarrett.ie/pages/categories.asp?cid=47&SCatID=5

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/9251070/Trail/searchtext%3EPROTEIN.htm

and my personal favourite

http://www.universalnutrition.ie/viewproduct/37 No promo but a good value for a top notch product in my opinion:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Tony Sopranoe

First 3 links are garbage and god only knows whats inside in them tubs.

Last link is the only quality brand you mention but is a complete rip off based on that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I'm using bulkpowders.co.uk these days. myprotein can press on as far as I'm concerned. Delivery is costly enough (10 pounds sterling), but I've been splitting it with friends so it works out grand.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

First 3 links are garbage and god only knows whats inside in them tubs.

I can take a good guess what's inside the tubs. Whey.

Just read the ingrdients and buy the one with the highest % protein. What the he'll does brand matter?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭hooplah

I check the price for whatever i'm getting on both myprotein and bulkpowders and go with the cheapest. It's been back and forth the last couple of orders. I usually go in with at least one other person and put in larger orders which saves on shipping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Tony Sopranoe

I can take a good guess what's inside the tubs. Whey.

Just read the ingrdients and buy the one with the highest % protein. What the he'll does brand matter?
    You sound like your outta your dept here.

So just because it says whey on the tub, we should presume its all whey inside the tub should we? The 3 brands in them links are not reputable brands in their respected industry, brands that are trustworthy include, ON, Reflex, Bulkpowders and Myprotein etc...

Brands matters because of reliability, its easy claim your brand has x% of protein, when in fact the reality may be only half what the label claims.

Its like buying a pair of trainers, you can buy a pair from Dunnes, they may be alot cheaper and look the part, but when you compare them to a BRAND like Asics or Nike, then the difference in quality will tell.

I dont and wont risk my health using inferior brands and products like the ones suggested, ill leave yourself and the other lad do that, clearly ye dont value your health that much if "brand doesnt matter".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭sharky86

So just because it says whey on the tub, we should presume its all whey inside the tub should we? The 3 brands in them links are not reputable brands in their respected industry, brands that are trustworthy include, ON, Reflex, Bulkpowders and Myprotein etc...

Brands matters because of reliability, its easy claim your brand has x% of protein, when in fact the reality may be only half what the label claims.

Its like buying a pair of trainers, you can buy a pair from Dunnes, they may be alot cheaper and look the part, but when you compare them to a BRAND like Asics or Nike, then the difference in quality will tell.

I dont and wont risk my health using inferior brands and products like the ones suggested, ill leave yourself and the other lad do that, clearly ye dont value your health that much if "brand doesnt matter".

Mweh

Whey is Whey

You sound like your outta your dept here..

Easy now, attack the post not the poster.

This is statement has no basis in fact. The reason I "presume" that the contents match the label is that there is a body called the "Europeon Food Safety Authority":

http://www.efsa.europa.eu/

As whey protein is a food, the manufacturers must comply with the rules and regulations of this authority. If they don't they are breaking the law. By breaking the law they are risking the censure and possible closure of their business. Not a risk worth taking.

Runners are not labled with ingredients, so it is nothing like that at all. I never said that there was no difference between whey brands, I said that reading the ingredients on each would tell you everything you need to know about the brands.

I think I've addressed this point already, but I shall reiterate. The EFSA ensures that the products match their labelling, just like any other food. If the food doesn't match the label, the producer is in serious trouble. I value my health enough to know how to read a food label and to have the clarity of thought to know that whey protein is a food like any other and subject to the same regulation.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

theres not that many whey manufacturers in the world so alot of them really are the same give or take.
    Also alot of these companies dont do anything else except buy it in bulk prepackaged with a label of their choice, so you really can have a situation where ten 'different' tubs of protein are actually identical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

I use myprotien, still cheaper than most places if you want to get regular creatine monohydrate and whey powder. The quality of the products seems good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Thank god, for a minute I thought this thread might have descended into a conspiracy theories thread !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

http://www.universalnutrition.ie/viewproduct/37 No promo but a good value for a top notch product in my opinion:)
    Last link is the only quality brand you mention but is a complete rip off based on that price.

If you buy any protein in a small tub (eg the 2lb one shown). Its going to be more expensive gram for gram then if you buy 5lb or 10lbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

gets popcorn....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Transform wrote: »
    gets popcorn....
    still get mine from myprotein and still think is good value for money.

Whey, glutamine and oats and whey bars are my standard order

Transform wrote: »
    gets popcorn....

Make sure it's manhattan popcorn and not that cheap perri stuff, god knows what they put in that. :)

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Thank god, for a minute I thought this thread might have descended into a conspiracy theories thread !

I can't find the exact post but the guy who runs trueprotein produced some pretty interesting reading about this exact topic and some of the shady business practises within the industry.

When you order your 5lb tub of chocolate flavoured protein, do you think you're getting 5kg of whey, or are you getting maybe 4 and a bit of whey and the rest is made up of flavouring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

sharky86 wrote: »
    Mweh

Whey is Whey

Even if it tastes god dam awfull?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

drdeadlift wrote: »
    Even if it tastes god dam awfull?

Ha doesnt bother me what it tastes like, its gonna be nicer then all my other meals (Chicken, brown rice, brocolli/steak, sweet potato, brocolli) :D