Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever worked with someone who can't stand you?

• 14-04-2011 12:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6 uncleinim

I do. Ordinarily I wouldn't be arsed about it, but the thing is, I like this co-employee! It doesn't seem to matter what I do, whether I'm nice and engaging, or if I try and stay out of their way, the outcome is the same. It makes for an awkward work environment....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

no, just like Biff Loman, Im well liked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Mod Edit.

Out of date meme removed.

(i know, i know)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

You stink. Sorry to break it to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Fúck them. Give them a reason to hate you. Be a bollox. They already hate you so you might aswell have some fun with it. :pac:

I'm pretty sure one of my colleagues isn't that fond of me, though he's nothing but polite and professional.
    Well, work is work, so try to get on with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Bill Lumbergh!! Always has me working Saturdays! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Bill Lumbergh!! Always has me working Saturdays! :mad:

Just make sure those coverslips are on the TPS reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Guill wrote: »
    Blast them with piss?

(i know, i know)

Yet you still posted it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Make them suffer. What have you got to lose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Pretty sure there has been a few!

I've hated a lot of people I worked with but it's work, you stay civil, do your work, fook off home at 5 and don't give them another second's thought before 9am the following morn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I think starting this job i pissed off our developer, but now we get on like a house on fire :D think that was cause of the bitching session we had about the boss. plus i kinda don't work with him - he's in a different country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

If they hates you mention this to them:

"This button-down, Oxford-cloth psycho might just snap, and then stalk from office to office with an Armalite AR-10 carbine gas-powered semi-automatic weapon, pumping round after round into colleagues and co-workers. This might be someone you've known for years. Someone very, very close to you... ....."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I work alone.

So yes is the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

I’m sure I’m a nightmare to work with, I can only really work on my own. When I’m made work as part of a group I can’t function, I’m sure this pi$$es people off. You can’t please everyone OP, personally if everyone liked me and I got on with everyone life wouldn’t be any fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

When speaking to this individual finish all your sentences with "I am the Master of my own destiny!" and say it in a very soulful, Martin Freeman-esque voice, get louder as you reach "destiny" and put most emphasis on this word, the person will then have no reason not to like you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I'm sure I have but they never told me because I would not care.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I worked in a bar years ago and 2 girls who worked there told me on night at a staff night out we were having that they thought I was and I quote "a stuck up ignorant boll*x" when they first met me..

Twas a bit of a shock to me to say the least as I tended to be fairly quite and just did my work and kinda kept to myself and only really chatted to a few people I knew before starting there.

Then they said, once they got to know me, they thought I was one of the soundest people working there, so needless to say I asked why they had such a bad initial impression of me..

Their answer, "because you didn't try to get into our knickers and we thought that you thought you were better than us..." :eek:

Needless to say I was a bit stumped by all this as they knew I was in a long term relationship at the time as my gf of the time was always in the pub with her mates and I made no secret of the fact I was seeing her..

All a bit strange really..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I was in a very small team (maybe about six of us) in Tech Support. I hated every single one of them. There were a few redeemable features, but on the whole (heh) they were eejits.

Didn't really help that I'm a metaller and they were in to Kings of Sh!te. And would constantly talk about their taste in sh!te music what seemed like ad infinitum. I remember joking that "Ha you know that song is about herpes?" to which the sarcasm went right over this guys head. "Eh, no it isn't". F*cking tossers.

But then again because I hated them, I'm sure they hated me right the f*ck back. God I'm SO better than everyone! :pac:

<click click> Mmm-hmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Sometimes the job in hand is not difficult at all but it's the idiot putting obstacles in your way ( physically or metaphorically ) that becomes the problem . I've always being pretty good working with just one other person or in a small group .But If sometimes working alone mean I get the job done much better and gives satisfaction then bugger off anybody who doesn't like me for it .You are never going to please everybody anyway regardless of what job or line of work you are in .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Jazzy wrote: »

Don't whistle in the elavator though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭optogirl

When speaking to this individual finish all your sentences with "I am the Master of my own destiny!" and say it in a very soulful, Martin Freeman-esque voice, get louder as you reach "destiny" and put most emphasis on this word, the person will then have no reason not to like you.

Hee hee - presume you meant Morgan Freeman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Reckon it would sound kinda whiny and get you laughed at.

Say it in a Morgan Freeman-esque voice though and it'll work. ;)

EDIT: Nuts to you Optogirl! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

uncleinim wrote: »
    I do. Ordinarily I wouldn't be arsed about it, but the thing is, I like this co-employee! It doesn't seem to matter what I do, whether I'm nice and engaging, or if I try and stay out of their way, the outcome is the same. It makes for an awkward work environment....

Right so it's not worth bothering with, be a bigger prick back until they get the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭GarH

bluewolf wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure one of my colleagues isn't that fond of me, though he's nothing but polite and professional.
    Well, work is work, so try to get on with it

Does he know that you are sleeping with his wife and is secretly planning some revenge? :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

I had to sit amongst all the middle aged natty women one day in work. They were talking about how Paranormal Activity 2 was the scariest film ever and a true story, because it said "With thanks to *police department*" at the end and it looked sooooo real. I put up with it for about 10 minutes then had to speak up and put em right.

They now refuse to speak to me for anything and tell people I'm a buzzkill. Tbh I'd rather be a buzzkill than a ****ing idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I don't think anyone can't stand me, but maybe I'm just oblivious.

On the other hand I am often forced to work with people that I can't stand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭eco2live

Loads of reasons people don't like others.

Sometimes people don't like other someone because they remind them of somebody else that they don't like. (cant be helped)

Jealousy is another reason (cant be helped)

Insecurity about themselves reminded by something about you (cant be helped)

It could be that they are intimidated by you (depends on the reason)

As an example, I personally don't like the company of materialistic people. Even when they are nice people in other ways they wreck my head when they focus on money all the time. Who's father has this. What car do they have. Ou is that designer? ****ing yawn! That person would not know why I did not like them but they would pick up on it. I would not bother telling them unless they asked but I am sure that would not help matters.

I would not worry about them liking you and I would make very little effort to do anything about it. I would not treat them worse because of it as that would only enforce whatever negative traits that they find in you and others could pick up on that too and then your Pat Kenny in the RTE canteen.

They are probably judging you unfairly or does not understand you then life is too short to worry about why. Now if nobody likes you (I am sure that is not the case) then I would deffo do something about that.

Most people are wankbags anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

^Was just going to say 'lot's of people are just Cnut's anyway '.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I would polarise opinion. I can live with that. I hate insipid characters at any rate.

GarH wrote: »
    Does he know that you are sleeping with his wife and is secretly planning some revenge? :D:D:D

That would probably be funnier if I were male :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭LimeTime

bluewolf wrote: »
    That would probably be funnier if I were male :)

Sounds even better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

It suits me better to not be liked, I dont want to be liked by my staff, I want to be feared, My last boss took a softly sortly nice fella sort of approach, wanted to be liked by everyone, those on the lower end of the totem viewed this as a weakness and treated any order issued by him with that sort of attitude, always slackin off and generally being rather slapdash about the thing because they knew that he wouldnt do much about it.

However they despised me, they once undid the wheelnuts on my Merc after I fired 3 of their lazy bludging mates and halved their deadline, Production was increased tho whenever I was left in charge.

Fvckem is my attitude, I have plenty of friends, I want minions at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Jazzy wrote: »

You are NOTHING like Biff Loman...

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

It suits me better to not be liked, I dont want to be liked by my staff, I want to be feared, My last boss took a softly sortly nice fella sort of approach, wanted to be liked by everyone, those on the lower end of the totem viewed this as a weakness and treated any order issued by him with that sort of attitude, always slackin off and generally being rather slapdash about the thing because they knew that he wouldnt do much about it.

However they despised me, they once undid the wheelnuts on my Merc after I fired 3 of their lazy bludging mates and halved their deadline, Production was increased tho whenever I was left in charge.

Is McDonalds really that bad of a place to work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭hatz7

you d ****in man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Women rarely like me in a job, because I don't like to run in packs and I'm generally not interested in what interests them. I couldn't give two shits if I'm honest, I'd rather be the way I am than be false and pretend to be interested in the latest thing to vacated their womb,or where she got the vomit-inducing outfit she has on.

My advice OP, stop caring. It's your place of work, and while it's nice to be able to get along with others in the workplace, you don't need to become best friends with your colleague. I wonder why you need this persons acceptance or friendship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

One or two can't stand me for no apparent reason but put on this false 'lets be friends' shyte. Ah no, lets not.
    Work is work. I have made some really good friends through work though so it's not all bad.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I have only been hated once - I was fairly new and given all the sh!te jobs that they could offload. One was on a very demanding project, and I kicked ass, so much so that the project manager mentioned to the MD and board of Directors what an asset I was to the company. a particular colleague got the hump with me. She made it her lifes work to make my life hell. No matter what she did or said though, I just kept it professional and only spoke to her directly when I had to on a work related issue. I also kept detailed records of what I worked, each time she pinned blame on me for something, I was able to prove that it wasnt me.

She finally threatened to leave and her threat it was accepted. Ironically, the whole economy went nuts and we haemorraged staff, and if she hadnt threatened to leave, I would have been made redundant. Im still there, she is on the dole. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Yep used to work with a guy that hated my guts lol! The fecker was always late for work, always slacking and always late back from lunch. He hated the fact i was his boss, eventually i sacked him - good riddance the lazy git :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Everyone who has ever been my manager/direct boss has grown to dislike me. I'm very bull headed about doing things my own way...especially when someone tells me I can't. I'm a "Challenge Accepted" kinda guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Everyone who has ever been my manager/direct boss has grown to dislike me. I'm very bull headed about doing things my own way...especially when someone tells me I can't. I'm a "Challenge Accepted" kinda guy.

I bet you cannot stay of boards for a full week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

hondasam wrote: »
    I bet you cannot stay of boards for a full week.

Already did this in 2nd week of Sept.

I win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Is that you 'Barrymore?'

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

There was Stinky Pete in the milk factory in Holland, boy did that guy hate me. No idea why really, other than the fact I had a college degree. Then there was the biggest bollocks I ever worked with, who bore the delightful apt name of Walter Kant. He just hated everyone who wasn't a toady lickspittle though, so I didn't take it to heart.

Stinky Pete though... I just had to blow up at him one day and he was seconds away from being drowned in a vat of yoghurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Ha! I had the same experience, as chin_grin only it was from a bunch of IT wannabie metallers! It was the saddest thing in my life to have to sit and listen to those lads go on about bands they only learned about from wikipedia, and try to pass themselves off as hard drinkin' hero's. C*ckends. I just used the experience in that job to pad my CV , which I then used to get a job for better money, nearer where I live, with people who I am happy to say are still my friends now, several years on.

Anyway, my point is that you dont need this person to like you. Just make friends with other people in the company, and hang out with them. All it really takes is one good night out with people (where you dont make a d*ck of yourselfbiggrin.gif) for them to give you the benifit of the doubt.