Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is your first memory of the Internet?

• 14-04-2011 10:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

Mine: bebo. Going over to the community center back in the days when I didnt have mobile broadband just ta get on the auld' beeb :P you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

boobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

getting yeld at because i had unplugged the phone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Dacelonid

using lynx :(

as far as I can remember it was a Vax VMS system, but could have been unix either. Not that sure, it was a long time ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭phunkymonk

oceanfree chat via dial up...great craic :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Ahoy hoy

Waiting about 20 minutes for a page to load up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

a/s/l ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Mine: bebo. Going over to the community center back in the days when I didnt have mobile broadband just ta get on the auld' beeb :P you?

Didn't have mobile broadband? Ah jaysus times were tough, wha?

My first memory is 28K dialup and having to browse with images turned off just so pages would load inside a minute.

Back then you really did just read the articles on the Playboy website. The monitor on our computer couldn't handle enough colours to display JPEGs properly. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Getting disconnected when a call came in :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Webcrawler search engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

GrizzlyMan wrote: »

Did you pluck that thought from my head, was thinking it as soon as I seen the thread title!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Using MSN and bebo :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Teri Hatcher..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Buscuits

I know its not internet but at work we were having problems with the network and the guy on helpdesk asked to check of there was firewall, and I tapped the wall and told him, "No its ordinary plasterboard...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Ahoy hoy wrote: »
    Waiting about 20 minutes for a page to load up.

You must have been lucky enough to have a top of the range modem. By the time an MP3 finished downloading with mine I'd forgotten what it was.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Clearing the History ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭mcw92

i vaguely remember the 1st time we got internet, but the last thing i remember doing on it was setting up my hotmail about 10 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I remember seeing connection messages from CERN in Geneva,who were the originators of the Internet back in the 90's.
    Go back further we had an intranet in Digital (dec) in the 1980's with boards discussions identical to today's (but no pictures)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭pmcd22

has to be the oceanfree dial-up connection as well. Then check email and get all them FW msgs.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

cml387 wrote: »
    Go back further we had an intranet in Digital (dec) in the 1980's with boards discussions identical to today's (but no pictures)

You talked about blasting people with piss 30 years ago?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Wasting hours in work on the net when i was supposed to be doing the production sheets lol....hard work was that!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

When I went online at home for the first time I went straight to Napster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Mine: bebo.
    Wow. You veteran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

IOL on an old AST. Every Tom, Dick and Harry had an awful looking Angelfire site with a horrible yellow or turqoise background

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

I remember when the response "Yore Ma" was the cutting edge of wit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Newsgroups:o

alt.binaries ----!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

using that indigo go cd to "get connected" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

waiting for that 45mins for that low res 5 min miss.avi clip to download

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

For me it was the screeching noise modems used to make, bloody fantastic!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

My first internet memory = My dad was travelling so I thought I'd try send him an email to see how he was getting on from the account he'd recently set up for me on our PC - we used Outlook Express. I typed the email and pressed send but every time it got sent I thought it had been deleted because it disappeared - so I sent my Dad 5 emails with almost the same thing in them but which I typed out each time. It was about 15 years ago but but still :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Didn't we do this thread about a week ago?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Pamela Anderson pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Anybody else ever have a million of those 100 Hour Free Trial CD's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Captain Commie

cml387 wrote: »
    I remember seeing connection messages from CERN in Geneva,who were the originators of the Internet back in the 90's.

Dont ya mean Arpa back in the 60's?? thats when the internet was first put in motion as such, the "World Wide Web" was created in the 90's by CERN, believe it or not they are 2 different things.

My first memory has to be getting online in the mid/late 90's at an internet cafe using dialup, was painfull slow, that first day online i created a hotmail account that i still use to this day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

OP, what are you like 14 or something?

Jeez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Captain Commie

hardCopy wrote: »
    Didn't we do this thread about a week ago?

yup im sure we did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Posted this before but basically there used to be an Internet cafe on George's St (underneath Lazer Video) and I went in there to see Drew Barrymore naked. She had recently done Playboy and couldn't get a copy. Was my first time using a computer since Commodore 64 also, so the notion of a 'window' meant nothing to me and remember asking the guy how I could make the page bigger, as the last ass clown to use it had left one window open like a little box in the middle of the screen (most likely he was looking at porn, the pervert).

The second reason was to find out how Gary Holton died (the guy from Auf Wiedersehen Pet) as it was bugging me for years that I didn't know. Seems strange for young people today I would imagine, to think that people wanted to know about something or someone and that they had no way of doing so, but unless they went to a library and researched it - they could go for years not knowing the truth of something and just getting by on urban myths and rumours.

Kids today eh, you don't know you're born :mad:

I'm old ... ffffffffffuuuuu!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

I remember emailing someone with my hotmail account and telling my family not to turn the computer off so I could get a reply :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Waiting for ten minutes to see a picture of a naked woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

Trying to check out Booble.com on dial-up.

Very frustrating...

if you know what I mean

icq and irc and everything being slow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭The Brigadier

Newsgroups 20 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

UKChatterbox: http://www.ukchatterbox.co.uk/

Joined and got banned within an hour for 'upsetting the regulars'. I didn't understand Internet etiquette and I had never heard of trolling:o (or wumming as they called it). Fair enough I was insulting people but I thought that's what the internet had been invented for?
    I'm a good girl nowadays!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

GrizzlyMan wrote: »

And yelled at again when the phone bill came in :(

I can hardly remember what sites I looked at originally as it was on our windows 95, 1GB harddrive, 256 mb ram computer with feck all graphics card....mabey just stupid company charters etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Getting my first online e-mail account.....

Hotmail.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

bluewolf wrote: »
    icq and irc and everything being slow

I really miss ICQ :(

Sometimes I log on for nostalgia, but then get depressed when I see a contact list full of offline users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I remember in the old IRC chat rooms, one guy posted a joke and I wrote LAMO by mistake - well the guy lost the plot: "Well, you post a better joke if you think that one is so lame, or maybe you're calling me a lamo, is that it?"

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Diablo 2 online play, going to the Cow world. ****ing dial up man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Hmm. I don't know. Neopets probably :o And ridiculous chat rooms.

I can't believe people are saying Bebo...yer either all really young or started (internetting) really late!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Dial up on the Sega Dreamcast, and almost getting put into an orphange when the first post Christmas phone bill came in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Jeez OP, you must be able to remember all the way back to 2006! :pac:

Mine is a computer class in UCC in 1996/7 - I remember trying to look up particular bands/TV shows but doing it wrong and giving up. :o

I didn't get properly acquainted with the internet until 2001 - and even then, it took until about 2004/5 for me to fully get my head around it. :o