Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Landing strip or not at all??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ok it's not solely because of S&TC sure, but that's bound to be a major reason for its popularity (I agree with you though on the "I blame S&TC for the way women are 'nowadays'" sh1t that gets posted here).
    No, I'm not saying it's a fad for the guys who like it - I certainly doubt guys like it because of it being on S&TC :pac: but it IS a fad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Wouldn't a landing strip be like snoggin Hitler?...

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

dont shave, looks like a child. very disturbing how anyone prefers it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Dudess wrote: »
    Ok it's not solely because of S&TC sure, but that's bound to be a major reason for its popularity (I agree with you though on the "I blame S&TC for the way women are 'nowadays'" sh1t that gets posted here).
    No, I'm not saying it's a fad for the guys who like it - I certainly doubt guys like it because of it being on S&TC :pac: but it IS a fad.

Still disagree, from experience. I mean, if you're just put off by hair, that's not due to some fad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Not at all .... avoids springs in your teeth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,721 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Funkfield wrote: »
    I shave mine at dawn with a straight edge razor while smoking a pipe, reading Hemingway and listening to "Flight of the Valkyries".

Afterwards I splash liberally with Brut and I am good to go.

Manly?

You don't know manly. :cool:

Ride of the valkeries surely? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

It is a fad though - it didn't exist until S&TC. Prior to that, bush maintenance was about hygiene and tidiness.

Jaysus, I know it feels like S&TC has existed forever but does it really predate ancient Egypt and Greece?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,721 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I wonder if there's money to be made in 'shaving templates'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭ttoppcat

Right, but even hair-free, a full grown woman will look different. Lots of changes happen in puberty. That pre-pubescent stuff is such bullshít. Talk about demonising men. :rolleyes:

While the prepbescent angle may be exaggerated, I think there might be an argument that theres a "dewomanising" element to it. As if the bush of a woman is something thats "dirty" or scary.

Bloody cheek if you ask me (although i did do it once for the craic...the regrowths a bitch!:eek:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

kowloon wrote: »
    Ride of the valkeries surely? ;)

Ride of the Valkyries, surely? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dr Bolouswki

I always felt that the fashion for this (and it is a fashion - fannies were generally hairy or jsut a bit trimmed rather than being strips or bare, back in the day, well, the mid 80's til perhaps the mid 90's) came from porn and its prevelance once the interwebs became so common. Only an opinion mind, just wondered meself why things seemed to change into something as ubiquitous as it is today.

Anyways - interesting article here - she's banging a drum for sure, I love em either way to be honest, and I love to kiss it :) - if a hair distracts you, I would suggest you're not loving it enough!

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2011/feb/11/womens-pubic-hair-removal-porn?INTCMP=ILCNETTXT3487

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

ttoppcat wrote: »
    While the prepbescent angle may be exaggerated, I think there might be an argument that theres a "dewomanising" element to it. As if the bush of a woman is something thats "dirty" or scary.
    For me, it would be the opposite and see it as feminising the body and merely a follow-on to removing hair from the legs/armpits. Whatever about fashions/cultures etc (because it has been around since the dawn of time), a man's body is naturally hairier than a woman's. Thus, be it on a conscious or sub-concious level, for many, the more hair, the more masculine; the less hair, the more feminine. I just don't know how people twist this into a paedo thing.
    Bloody cheek if you ask me (although i did do it once for the craic...the regrowths a bitch!:eek:)
    I wouldn't see the OP's boyfriend as being cheeky. Asking/hinting/stating a preference is perfectly ok in my book (pressurising/demanding etc being a big no-no). I would have no problem with a woman asking me, as has happened once before. Ultimately, it's her mouth going down there, not mine! (I agree about the regrowth though:p).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,705 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

A bit of hair means one can give head and floss at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dr Bolouswki

strobe wrote: »
    Uggh god, not that psycho nutbag malfunctioning loony again.

yes she is a bit extreme :) but did pron influence the zeitgeist? I'm thinking you gotta say it has. Very hard to find a genuinely "wild girl" these days :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Hmm..sexy.
    (Perhaps NSFW)
    woman.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭ttoppcat

dotsman wrote: »
    For me, it would be the opposite and see it as feminising the body and merely a follow-on to removing hair from the legs/armpits. Whatever about fashions/cultures etc (because it has been around since the dawn of time), a man's body is naturally hairier than a woman's. Thus, be it on a conscious or sub-concious level, for many, the more hair, the more masculine; the less hair, the more feminine. I just don't know how people twist this into a paedo thing.

I wouldn't see the OP's boyfriend as being cheeky. Asking/hinting/stating a preference is perfectly ok in my book (pressurising/demanding etc being a big no-no). I would have no problem with a woman asking me, as has happened once before. Ultimately, it's her mouth going down there, not mine! (I agree about the regrowth though:p).

I'm not buying its "been around since the dawn of time" thing. I'm not saying some women didnt do it..but if there's a large percentage of ladies (including myself) who wouldnt be arsed to do it even nowadays with the vast array of lady products available I'm pretty sure the average egyptian peasant or victorian parlour maid wasn't devoting too much time to lady gardening;)
    As as for instinct/attraction..new things will always be exciting but at the end of the day if we managed all this time to find each other shaggable then a wee bit of hair shouldn't change that. I don't like a man shaved...if he's clean that'll do :D
    For me I don't see it as a paedo thing, I see it as a porn thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 406 ✭✭FesterBeatty

Hmm..sexy.
    (Perhaps NSFW)
    woman.jpg

Holy sh1t - yer man has huge tits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

krudler wrote: »
    trimmed is fine, long as its not a frigging lagoon down there

What's water got to do with the price of Immac? :confused:
    Whats the worst thing about licking a baldy fanny?

Seriously unfunny.
    Bare is best. Imagining the girl being pre-pubescent and acting it out are 2 different things.

I'm struggling with this difference! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

pow wow wrote: »
    I used to date a guy who liked it totally bare and used to immac his nuts in solidarity. Grossest thing ever. I grew mine back in spite.

Total turn off ..bare nuts:eek:

jaysus i just spilled out the rest of my tea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Slurp it up Jim :D

id rather down another hot pot:D

Good points about the normalisation of completely hair-free fanny - when a woman genuinely wants to get it done, more power to her, but I'd hate things to get to the point where a woman feels she HAS to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

I'm not buying its "been around since the dawn of time" thing. I'm not saying some women didnt do it..but if there's a large percentage of ladies (including myself) who wouldnt be arsed to do it even nowadays with the vast array of lady products available I'm pretty sure the average egyptian peasant or victorian parlour maid wasn't devoting too much time to lady gardening;)
    As as for instinct/attraction..new things will always be exciting but at the end of the day if we managed all this time to find each other shaggable then a wee bit of hair shouldn't change that. I don't like a man shaved...if he's clean that'll do :D
    For me I don't see it as a paedo thing, I see it as a porn thing.
    But it has been around since the dawn of time, and often very popular (such as ancient Egypt/Greece/Rome). Typically it was for a combination of both aesthetics and hygiene. Throughout the centuries it has also been very common in Islam (both male and female, but mainly female).

In more recent western culture (the last few centuries), yes some women did it, but the big thing was nobody talked about it (just like nobody talked about anything sexual!).

However, you will often notice many nude female paintings from history lack pubic hair, especially ones of a feminine/romantic/sexual nature. In particular, you will notice that Venus/Aphrodite - the goddesses of love/beauty - always have hollywoods! (well, every single one that comes to mind, either has no pubic hair, or implies no pubic hair).

The removal of pubic hair has nothing to do with prepubescence, nor is it a new concept, nor a passing fad. Yes, due to the recent openness of sex/sexuality (such as SATC/porn/this thread), in Western culture, it is a lot more obvious and openly discussed/embraced. But it has always been around, and always will be (much like the female orgasm:D).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Might be something that is here to stay. Women have only been shaving their legs for a tiny part of human history. Once it started, the genie was out of the bottle and it wasn't put back in.

Personally I prefer shaved. But if I'd never seen a shaved girl, I wouldn't know anything different. But now I do know, I know what I like!

Edit: When I say "Women have only been shaving etc", I mean it is not that long since it became common for 95% of women to shave their legs in western society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

strobe wrote: »
    Uggh god, not that psycho nutbag malfunctioning loony again.

Bidisha's thought for the day: Squirrels

Is it wrong to kneecap a squirrel? The one terrorising my back yard needs to be brought down a peg or two somehow

http://www.guardian.co.uk/theguardian/2011/apr/09/bidisha-squirrels

Face and palm - together at last.

I'm happy to go as minimalist as I can, but getting my minge waxed of every hair would be very, very, very sore... **** it, nothing's worth that.