Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ironman Training Plans?

• 12-04-2011 2:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭

Hey,

I completed my third marathon at the weekend. After the Dublin Marathon in October I went to "couch" and found it very hard to get going again. I signed up for the Paris marathon after the Dublin one but I didnt train for it until the week before it. With one weeks training I finished it in 4hrs 45m. I told myself during the race that if I could do it I would do an iron man. I did, without much trouble (felt fine throughout in fact) and I have now decided to go for the Ironman in Wales.

I am looking for a good training plan for the Ironman so that I can actually finish it! Does anyone have advice or links? I promise I will actually train for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

I presume this is in 2012?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭mprop

mloc123 wrote: »
    I presume this is in 2012?

Nope - Had thought 5 months could do it. Have good base fitness there, am I mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

mprop wrote: »
    Nope - Had thought 5 months could do it. Have good base fitness there, am I mad?

What is your base fitness when it comes to swimming/ cycling?

Is it possible to finish IM Wales within the time limit? Probably yes.
    Is it advisable to do it (based on the info provided)? Probably not.

Izoard wrote: »
    What is your base fitness when it comes to swimming/ cycling?

Is it possible to finish IM Wales within the time limit? Probably yes.
    Is it advisable to do it (based on the info provided)? Probably not.

Swimming - Competent but not great.
    Cycling - Not something I do that much but did well in Gael Force last year.

Do you mean health wise its a bad idea~?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭mjth2004

A case of compete vs. complete!

Never done an Ironman so won’t make comment on training plans, from my reading a training plan for an Ironman distance has to be tailored to you as an off-the-shelf plan might not work for you! A good place to start would have a look at the workloads the folks are putting in across in ‘Training Logs’ & consider is 5 months of a lead in sufficient!

Swimming - Competent but not great.
    Cycling - Not something I do that much but did well in Gael Force last year.

Do you mean health wise its a bad idea~?

Any previous times you can provide for either discipline?
    What is your age/weight/height?
    Did you train "properly" for DCM '10? If so what was your training plan and what was your result?
    Previous endurance experience (aside from DCM '10)?

When you say "one weeks training"...what does that mean - sitting on the couch for 5 months followed by a 20 mile run?

Izoard wrote: »
    Any previous times you can provide for either discipline?
    What is your age/weight/height?
    Did you train "properly" for DCM '10? If so what was your training plan and what was your result?
    Previous endurance experience (aside from DCM '10)?

When you say "one weeks training"...what does that mean - sitting on the couch for 5 months followed by a 20 mile run?

GFW Completed in 6hrs 5mins - dont have the splits but the bike was where I caught up a lot of time as had bad ankle and the running climbing was hard.

Endurance Experience - Last year in 2 months GFW, Mount Kilimanjaro, Chicago Marahon (4hrs 20), Dublin Marathon 4hrs 6mins.

My training last year was a mix of distance training and just intense cardio, 90 mins of circuts 2 times a week and two distance running and some weights.

I am 6'7" and 98 kilos.

1 Weeks training - no runs, weights anyting since Dublin Marathon then two weeks ago I did a 4km run one day, 6km two days later then a 16.5km run at the weekend then last week I did nothing then did the marathon. Not by the book (at all) but I knew I could do it.

Don Fink's "Get around" plan is worth a look. $4.31 on Amazon.

Otherwise http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

When you say youre competent at swimming, what do you/can you swim?

Im not near IM standard, but I know how hard it is to get to the right standard in all 3 disciplines.

Why dont you do a shorter tri (HIM or OLY) and see how it feels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

If you just want to finish and complete and IM then its possible to do it, and with the long summer evenings you have lots of time to get out on the bike and do some open water swimming.

I was going to suggest to do the half IM in collinstown on the 14th of May to give you an idea of what an 1/2 IM is like but its full. Here is a list of some half IMs over the summer months
    http://www.irishtriathlon.com/index.php/race-calendar/2011-half-ironman-distance-triathlons/

Have you actually entered IM Wales? Done triathlons before?

How did you find Rotterdam without the lack of training?

I guess if you have the head for it the body will follow.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Before even getting into questioning whether you d make the 17 hour limit or even complete it,id like to ask:

- Have you figured out why you hit the sofa for circa 6 months?

- Any why you never bothered training for Paris?

What im getting at is - what is the likelihood of you paying £342+ to register, buying a TT bike and so on and then not bother training? could be an expensive rash decision.

Anyway my advice is get into a good training routine and do it next year. pick something shorter this year. whats the rush?

groovyg wrote: »
    Have you actually entered IM Wales? Done triathlons before?

Nope but I am determined if that counts!
    How did you find Rotterdam without the lack of training?

I found it grand, one foot in front of the other and you get there eventually. They arent about time for me, just finishing and showing myself that I can do it. I walked for 1km towards the end because it was so hot and the water stations were so infrequent and some had ran out of water. People were passed out all over the place, there were several ambulances going up and down. It was badly organised, all water stations were on one side of the road so getting to it was like getting to a bar on st patricks day. It was Paris by the way.
    I guess if you have the head for it the body will follow.....

Thats what I am hoping.

Oh and as for my swimming - I can swim, I'm not great at it but I can swim and I am willing to practice once I have a goal in sight.

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Anyway my advice is get into a good training routine and do it next year. pick something shorter this year. whats the rush?

Starting a 4yr degree at night in September - wont have a chance after this for 4 years and would be looking at having kids by then (hopefully :) )

With your planning skills you'd think you d have planned some training prior to now so.

How many hours can you dedicate to training per week now?

My bet is you dont make the start line let alone finish but do set up a log and prove me wrong!

Im my limited experience, the swimming is the one area you cant get thru on balls alone. The bike and run, sure, but the water is a whole other thing, if your swimming isnt up to par, you will suffer, and possibly dnf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

If you put the effort into the training you'll certainly get around the course but it probably wont be fast and you might suffer a bit on the bike due to the hilly course and lack of base bike fitness. The swimming is something that you are probably going to have to work hard at. Lots of people say they can swim when they mention that they want to do a tri but being able to do a couple of lengths with bad technique is not swimming (me three years ago!). You should get someone to look at your technique asap and start improving - 2.4 miles is a long way to swim especially for a sea swim.

Don Finks book has a couple of plans that might suit you.

If your going for a just finish approach then a lot of it is mental - if you have the right head and a reasonable level of fitness you'll get around.

If you're sure you can commit the time to the training then go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

You have 21 weeks starting from next week bearing in mind 4 of these will be taper weeks so you essentially have 17 weeks training. Is it possible yes, is it sensible probably not. The key here is the available time you have to train especially to train yourself up to the distances you need to cover an IM.
    Why not focus on a half IM later in the year and plan a full one next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

the 17 hour limit

:eek::eek::eek:

Based on your marathons I presume you are happy to just 'get around' in which case anyone can complete an IM so I guess if you are happy to just complete it why not.

Your main issue IMO will be the swim cut-off, 2hrs for 3.8km = 3:09/100m which anyone should be able to do even resorting to brest stroke.

Based on your marathons I presume you are happy to just 'get around' in which case anyone can complete an IM so I guess if you are happy to just complete it why not.

Your main issue IMO will be the swim cut-off, 2hrs for 3.8km = 3:09/100m which anyone should be able to do even resorting to brest stroke.

Oh for sure, all I want to do is get to the end, I dont want a sub 10 or anything like that. I just want to finish it before the course is closed. If I could get in at 13 or 14 hours and uninjured I would be delighted. The main thing for me is to challenge myself by doing something I never thought I could do. When I complete this one in a certain time I will go back at it (maybe in 4 years) and try to beat that time.

So it is possible to safely train up for an ironman in that time?

Bike wise how are you at the moment? You said you did GF last year.. what distance is the bike on that and any idea what you averaged over it?

Swim cut off is actually 2.20

Break it into the longest possible splits...

Swim: 2hrs 20mins = 3:41/100m
    Bike: 8hrs 10mins (based on a 2:20 swim) = 22km/h
    Run: 6hrs 30mins (based on both above) = 9:14/km

When you look at it like this you could paddle, take a nice easy ride and walk the marathon.

Your biggest issue may be getting to that start line. Start off small, don't go start putting 20hr weeks in now. If I were you I'd get swimming to begin with, cycle and run as much as you can without getting injured. Don't worry about hours, pace etc.. just keep it consistent and easy.

Don Fink's 'just finish' plan is based for the most part on a 7-10 hr training week but it does assume starting off that you can do 1,600m in the early swim sessions. You would be dropping into week 9 or so. To give you an indication of what this week would involve there would be 2 swim sessions of 1,600m plus, 3 runs up to a long one of 75 mins and 3 bikes up to a long one of 1.45hrs - total 6hrs. That's a lot more than a typical just finish marathon programme so there is a big time commitment required. That said most of the sessions are short enough to he done early morning before work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Oh for sure, all I want to do is get to the end, I dont want a sub 10 or anything like that. I just want to finish it before the course is closed. If I could get in at 13 or 14 hours and uninjured I would be delighted. The main thing for me is to challenge myself by doing something I never thought I could do. When I complete this one in a certain time I will go back at it (maybe in 4 years) and try to beat that time.

So it is possible to safely train up for an ironman in that time?

mprop lets boil this down to simplicity. Given the sketch of your last 12 months or so history I think that with 16 weeks of solid progressive endurance (base) traning with a few key bricks, you could FINISH an ironman. Its more a question of your commitment than anything else.

Out of 10, with 10 being a willingness to drop the crap food, booze, TV, sleep ins etc... and 0 being a hope and a prayer, how would you rate your work ethic and dedication to this goal? If its not an honest 10 or at least a 9, forget about it. Reassess. If you are willing to jump in with both feet, keep an open mind and train smart (?) then YES you can do it!

I don't think it even needs that much commitment. No need to give up junk, tv and lie ins. I would think 7-8 hours a week consistent training for the next few months and nothing stupid like thinking you need to race a HIM, or even cover the distances coming up to the race.

Stay injury free and get to the start line, don't go out too fast and you will easily complete it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭zico10

I don't think it even needs that much commitment. No need to give up junk, tv and lie ins. I would think 7-8 hours a week consistent training for the next few months and nothing stupid like thinking you need to race a HIM, or even cover the distances coming up to the race.

Stay injury free and get to the start line, don't go out too fast and you will easily complete it.

I'm not sure if you're being sarcastic, but with that approach yes you may well complete it, but there'll be nothing easy about it.
    For anything up to 17 hours you'll suffer like a dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

17 weeks seems short given you dont have a history of training consistently (sorry if i misread that?), which will mean its an even bigger shock to the system and your regular life (work/friends etc.) when you start training -- which will make it stressful, and it's quite a pricy challenge to do on a whim (400quid entry, travel costs, equipment if you dont have it all already). Is it important that you succeed in this? If so, why not defer and work towards getting your lifestyle sorted so you succeed next year (sorry, kids work and all that is a cop out -- if you want this to happen, it will happen ;))? I gave myself a two year buildup (HIM last year, IM this year) to try maximise my chances of succeeding at it.

That said, I've come round to thinking anyone can finish. Even on minimal training. If you can remain injury free. JFDI has a lot to be said for itself.

Are you ready to train immediately, how's the body after the race this weekend?

I haven't done an IM, but have been training for one, so take what you want from my 2c.

Get some swim coaching while you recover from the marathon and spend some time in the pool to use as active recovery from it; if your claiming to be "ok" you probably are better than jo-soap but have terrible technique. When you're ready to get back training start cycling. Long rides at the weekend should be the staple of your training, its where most of the race will be spent. When your comfortable with that, start working on getting your running going again, and then start doing a short run off every long(ish) cycle you do. Split the long stuff so you maximise recovery (long cycle at the weekend, long run mid week), and dont bother doing any high-intensity work (i could be wrong on this, but hey -- i got through marathons never having done a tempo or interval run before!). You'll find some sympathetic ears for your approach elsewhere (google for the pirate ship of fools) if you want encouragement and support.

zico10 wrote: »
    I'm not sure if you're being sarcastic, but with that approach yes you may well complete it, but there'll be nothing easy about it.
    For anything up to 17 hours you'll suffer like a dog!

Not being sarcastic at all. Of course he will suffer but at this stage that is the best he can expect, it's too soon to properly prepare for an IM so the beat option is to stay injury free and get used to steady hours each week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Iron Enthusiast

Don Finks your man re: Training plans

IMHO I think injury is the big risk to you. Having not trained consistently for your previous races (i gather) you're talking about committing to consistent training and reduced recovery time (less than your used to between sessions).

Can you do an IM? Possibly. It depends on alot of factors - mostly to do with your level of committment and luck re: Injury.
    But why would you want to do an IM without preparing for it adequately?

You might succeed in struggling around the course and prove that you can suffer for 17 hours. Or you might invest alot of time and money and possibly not even make the start line (a big risk for all IM competitors).

My opinion would be sign up and compete in an HIM in 21 weeks instead and do it properly. That in itself is a substantial challenge and not to be underestimated.
    If you want an even tougher challenge you can choose an HIM with a hilly bike and run as well.

Like others have mentioned, either way you should set up a training log here so you can benefit from the large amount of free advice and experience available. I'll be hoping you succeed regardless.

To put another way it's like deciding to build a house. You could slap together a crap house in no time with shoddy workmanship and say you built a house - Or you could take the time to plan and prepare and build a proper, stronger house (HIM). Might be a weird analogy but it makes sense to me.

Good luck whatever you do!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 gilbass

A lot of people who have done ironman races or are training for them seem to get very negative when these questions come up. Maybe they feel it takes away from their achievements, who knows.

I say go for it. Whats the worst that can happen? If you get injured its no major biggie cos you say you don't plan on competing for the next 4/5 years anyway. Maybe you waste a few hundred quid.
    Better to have tried and failed I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

gilbass wrote: »
    A lot of people who have done ironman races or are training for them seem to get very negative when these questions come up. Maybe they feel it takes away from their achievements, who knows.

I say go for it. Whats the worst that can happen? If you get injured its no major biggie cos you say you don't plan on competing for the next 4/5 years anyway. Maybe you waste a few hundred quid.

The highlighted bit is bull, from what i have seen on this thread the OP is getting some good solid advice. The distances you are covering are not be sniffed at or taken lightly. I know personally i would rather put the work in and enjoy it rather than it being a 17 hour sufferfest sure what is the fun in that?
    You would be wasting more than a few hundred quid as well, race entry about €450, accom, travel and not to mention any kit he may need to buy.

To be fair, I think the OP has received some good advice. Most are saying "go for it", but with the relevant caveats.

If you talk to most who have done an IM, you'll find it was more about the journey than the event itself, in the end.

You would be wasting more than a few hundred quid as well, race entry about €450, accom, travel and not to mention any kit he may need to buy.

Big plus 1 on that. Then add in physio bills and not to mention the months wasted recovering from injury. so they wont be competing but no dount he ll pile on teh pounds sitting on a sofa with leg up for 3 months because of tendonitis or shin splints etc. A lot to lose if you ask me.

@ gilbass, anyway i doubt the OP will end up doing it. There have been plenty of thread on here over the years were people come on ask the question then disappear never to be heard of again. They get the idea, quickly realise whats involved and then drop it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭airscotty

No point in doing something unless your gonna do it properly IMO. "i could have done better if id trained..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Like others have mentioned, either way you should set up a training log here so you can benefit from the large amount of free advice and experience available. I'll be hoping you succeed regardless.

I thought Hunny didn't post here anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Hey,

I completed my third marathon at the weekend. After the Dublin Marathon in October I went to "couch" and found it very hard to get going again. I signed up for the Paris marathon after the Dublin one but I didnt train for it until the week before it. With one weeks training I finished it in 4hrs 45m. I told myself during the race that if I could do it I would do an iron man. I did, without much trouble (felt fine throughout in fact) and I have now decided to go for the Ironman in Wales.

I am looking for a good training plan for the Ironman so that I can actually finish it! Does anyone have advice or links? I promise I will actually train for it!

Fvck it go for it.

You'll get plenty of "if you don't do the work you won't get the result" posts but to be honest work does not mean a result. At the end of the day, unless you are a pro, its something you just do because you want to and if you have the motivation to do then just do it.

If you want to do it and have no problems being out there for 17 hours what harm.

Set up a www.slowtwitch.com account and post and read there. Most posters are full of it but for the few gems its worth reading.

To be honest you don't have time to read up on what you should be doing and given you don't care about time then it really doesn't matter. Swim, cycle and run often and don't over do it. Better to hit the line undertrained thatn overtrained. Uninjured than injured.

It will be a long, slow, manky day in the office but its a day that can be done.

tunney wrote: »
    I thought Hunny didn't post here anymore?

Don't get it?

experience available

Pretty sure HM was/is the only experienced IMer on here

Aha..

Theres always Tunney himself, Zico etc... Not to mention all the other on here who've trained for and finished such events. Every one of them have valuable bits of info they could share with IM hopefuls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 gilbass

Big plus 1 on that. Then add in physio bills and not to mention the months wasted recovering from injury. so they wont be competing but no dount he ll pile on teh pounds sitting on a sofa with leg up for 3 months because of tendonitis or shin splints etc. A lot to lose if you ask me.

@ gilbass, anyway i doubt the OP will end up doing it. There have been plenty of thread on here over the years were people come on ask the question then disappear never to be heard of again. They get the idea, quickly realise whats involved and then drop it.

Yes but so what, the OP seems to have taken this into account and I doubt he's going to drop a few k on a top spec bike and swim suit etc.
    Personally I think not being able to train for three months when you’re not actually training for anything is worth it to be able to have the satisfaction of completing an ironman.
    Anyway you don’t have to be anyway physiologically gifted to complete an ironman. Anybody with some level of fitness and decent biomechanics (ie like the OP who has run a few marathons) could get around the majority of ironman courses in 17 hours.

These threads kind of remind me of the one giving out about the ucd student who wrote an article about how he completed the Dublin marathon on the back of absolutely no training . I think people are honestly threatened by these stories because it undermines the pride they take in telling others, and knowing themselves, the long hours they put in training.

At the end of the day the average joe is no more impressed that you finished an ironman in 9 hours than in 17 hours.

To the average joe, any multisport race is 'one of them ironman things'.

The only thing that matters here is the op's reasoning for doing it, not what the rest of us think of that. If they have the mental strength to put themselves through it, and take the advice of those whove been there about avoiding injury etc, they will succeed. Others here will complete their own IMs in their own way with different reasons and ambitions behind it.

Yes but so what, the OP seems to have taken this into account and I doubt he's going to drop a few k on a top spec bike and swim suit etc. .

Between entry, accom, travel and even s'hite end equip you'd be up to nearly 2k already. An expensive gamble.

The OP recognised nothing - he disappeared.

Personally I think not being able to train for three months when you’re not actually training for anything is worth it to be able to have the satisfaction of completing an ironman..

Thats you personally. And thats a big if re finishing.
    Anyway you don’t have to be anyway physiologically gifted to complete an ironman. Anybody with some level of fitness and decent biomechanics (ie like the OP who has run a few marathons) could get around the majority of ironman courses in 17 hours.

Agreed.

But why not do some proper training and do it right? why suffer for 17 hours? Its like he wants to try to prove he can do it with little training, much like the Paris marathon. If thats the case why not just state that as the objective.
    These threads kind of remind me of the one giving out about the ucd student who wrote an article about how he completed the Dublin marathon on the back of absolutely no training . I think people are honestly threatened by these stories because it undermines the pride they take in telling others, and knowing themselves, the long hours they put in training..

Threatened? by what his exceptionally slow time or his idiocy?
    At the end of the day the average joe is no more impressed that you finished an ironman in 9 hours than in 17 hours.

Ah here we go - so he wants to do it to boast to all his mates about how he did an ironman. Bravo!

The training is more difficult and to be more commended than the race itself.

I dont think people who but in the training and do 10-12 hours or even more feel that threatened by someone doing 17 hours. Whats the threat?

If he wants to go for it, no doubt he will and wont care what we say anyway.

Yes but so what, the OP seems to have taken this into account and I doubt he's going to drop a few k on a top spec bike and swim suit etc.
    Personally I think not being able to train for three months when you’re not actually training for anything is worth it to be able to have the satisfaction of completing an ironman.

These threads kind of remind me of the one giving out about the ucd student who wrote an article about how he completed the Dublin marathon on the back of absolutely no training . I think people are honestly threatened by these stories because it undermines the pride they take in telling others, and knowing themselves, the long hours they put in training.

Thanks dude and thanks to everyone for their advice. Will post on my progress and on whether I go for it or not. Leaning towards doing it, getting physio advice before I make the full decision

I dont think people who but in the training and do 10-12 hours or even more feel that threatened by someone doing 17 hours. Whats the threat?

The ones training for a 10-12 that never make it to the start line or do but **** it up on the day and DNF due to overtraining/injury/poor pacing etc.. will no doubt be threathened by the guy that just showed up and completed... IMO

Between entry, accom, travel and even s'hite end equip you'd be up to nearly 2k already. An expensive gamble.

The OP recognised nothing - he disappeared.

No, I didnt. I just logged out for a while as I sometimes tend to do.
    Threatened? by what his exceptionally slow time or his idiocy?

Seriously? Wow.
    Ah here we go - so he wants to do it to boast to all his mates about how he did an ironman. Bravo!

If he wants to go for it, no doubt he will and wont care what we say anyway. But surprise surprise he has disappeared already.

lol.

God bless the internet.

arguing-on-internet.png

No, I didnt. I just logged out for a while as I sometimes tend to do.

Fair enough, wasnt having a go at you. there have been plenty of threads over the years were people come they ask, get 50 replies, never post again and

Seriously? Wow. .

Wow what? Trying a marathon with no training isnt generally considered the most sensible option unless im mistaken.

lol.

God bless the internet.

Really? Its a discussion forum - we're having a discussion. People disagree, thats what happens. Should i not reply if i dont agree with something? Or am i not allowed post? congratulations you robbed a funny diagram thats been used a hundred times over.

Fair enough, wasnt having a go at you. there have been plenty of threads over the years were people come they ask, get 50 replies, never post again and

Wow what? Trying a marathon with no training isnt generally considered the most sensible option unless im mistaken.

Really? Its a discussion forum - we're having a discussion. People disagree, thats what happens. Should i not reply if i dont agree with something? Or am i not allowed post? congratulations you robbed a funny diagram thats been used a hundred times over.

I'm trying to think of a way of describing your attitude without breaking the charter on personal abuse.

Its difficult but here, I'll have a go. Your attitude is pathetic, like participation in these events is exclusivly to those who can run a sub 12 or sub 10. Its an elitism that is unfair. I run marathons to take part, I have no intention of competiting against anyone else. Its my strong will pushing my body around that course.

I posted here asking for a training plan, not your opinion on my efforts or what you consider my "idiocy".

In summation, yes its a discussion forum but I did not post here looking to get knocked. How about you take your frustrations elsewhere, focus that negative voice on yourself as I want no part of it. Please dont post anymore in this thread.

Marathons, triathlons and Ironman competitions are for anyone. The only person I have to prove that to is myself.

I'm trying to think of a way of describing your attitude without breaking the charter on personal abuse.

Its difficult but here, I'll have a go. Your attitude is pathetic, like participation in these events is exclusivly to those who can run a sub 12 or sub 10. Its an elitism that is unfair. I run marathons to take part, I have no intention of competiting against anyone else. Its my strong will pushing my body around that course.

I posted here asking for a training plan, not your opinion on my efforts or what you consider my "idiocy".

In summation, yes its a discussion forum but I did not post here looking to get knocked. How about you take your frustrations elsewhere, focus that negative voice on yourself as I want no part of it. Please dont post anymore in this thread.

Marathons, triathlons and Ironman competitions are for anyone. The only person I have to prove that to is myself

Yeah Kenny, like stop bullying the OP, you're like totally ruining her day.......all those negative thoughts. Her positive mental attitude is going to get her around the 140 miles.

Jesus, I think I'm actually starting to agree with Tunney about this forum.........

Marathons, triathlons and Ironman competitions are for anyone. The only person I have to prove that to is myself.
    I think you ve missed my point completely. I didnt say you can do this or you cant do that. I ve already acknowledged what you probably will anyway (and already did re Paris). You knowyourself not training for something like an doing a marathon isnt the most sensible thing in the world. Far more sensible would be to prepare properly.

I ve no doubt you can make it around in sub 17 hours and if you look back on page 1 I said I hope you try and set up a log.

I (along with many other posters) have suggested that it will involve a lot of hurt, a lot of time training in the interim, and that ideally you should do it next year. That is all.

No eliteism.

The only part that im sure sounded elite is my response to gilbass was saying that everybody would be threatened. I questioned this. Sorry if that offended you. That was aimed at Gilbass not you.

PS If you ever have a personal grievance just PM me.

If you're going to be doing your Ironman in a few months not all the points in this article will be relevent to you but most of them are: From Beginner To Ironman

Somewhere to start at least:pac:

griffin100 wrote: »
    an 11 min / mile marathon does not indicate a good fitness base (not a criticism, an opinion).

Oh now, don't let the sub 4:30s hear you say that... its all about completing afterall.

Its funny that most users on here support the sub 4:30 marathoners, just get out and do it you'll be fine etc.. Yet somebody looking to do the same in an IM and people jump down their throat.

Anyone remember Ironmanwanabe last year?