Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you more considerate to people who are doing a job you used to?

• 12-04-2011 10:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

So I noticed the last day that subconsciously every time I go foodshopping and I take something off the shelf I always try to face off (is that what its called?) the shelf again. Especially near closing time and I know the staff are just after doing it themselves.

Not many people know that this happens every night and it really bothered me having to go around 2 or 3 times for my aisle fixing it (although I had a dick of a supervisor)

Anyone else help out people like this? Ya know wee things that only staff know of?

Or are yous all horrible to try and get people to quit so they can enjoy their luife again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I face off when im in shops as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

im the same. ive worked in restaurants and pubs all my life and i face off when im in a supermarket. when im in a cafe/restaurant i always arrange the sugar sachets and condiments out of habit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

Yes I make extra sweet love to the prostitutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

im the same. ive worked in restaurants and pubs all my life and i face off when im in a supermarket. when im in a cafe/restaurant i always arrange the sugar sachets and condiments out of habit

I always think people will think i have OCD when i do this kinda stuff!

danniemcq wrote: »

its habit more than wanting to do it:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I'm a bit of a b**tard, I like to go to the soft drink aisle and balance all the two litre bottles on their caps and then watch as some poor bugger knocks them all down. P.S. I worked in a Tesco for 5 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

danniemcq wrote: »

Everybody has some form of OCD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Definitely, I'd always make sure to tip lounge staff in a pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭voz es

I find myself clustering the glasses on the centre of a table in a bar for a more easy pickup. It's like I can not let go :)

kfallon wrote: »

hayley homewrecker yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

Drives me nuts sitting at a table with people who just wait for someone to come clear everything away i prefer to stack it all or help them whatever way. It's ridiculous how ignorant some people are just because someone is getting paid to do it. That's far enough but there's no need to be an arsehole about it. Also i do face off when im in a shop in the evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

After years of working in retail I now make a point of saying 'please', 'thank you' and 'have a nice day' to till workers.

Previously you wouldn't say please or thank you?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I always take my tray to the bin in fast food places so yeah, a little bit. The other side of that is that I wince at girls the cashiers handling change and then fixing food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭HooterSnout

I used to empty the litter bins. Now I help out the lads by throwing my litter on the street instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

You didn't before hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I try to see things from the other person's side as much as possible. Sometimes I forget to do this. Sorry!

Some of my retail time was spent working part-time in a video library while I was in college.
    My pet hate was ***** not rewinding the tapes before returning them.
    as a consequence I now make a point of rewinding all my rentals before returning them, and you should too!! It's the little things people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭silverspoon

Yeah I try and be more considerate than the majority of consumers by not putting frozen stuff on shelves, putting things back in the same area from which I took them, not pointlessly interfering with staff to ask stupid questions or bitch if there happens to be a product I wanted that's not in stock.

In clothes shops I try to put back items of clothing on the rail on which I found them, in the right sizing order, with the item actually hanging properly on the hanger. I don't ask the staff to get gigantic ladders to get down items of clothing from mannequins etc. etc., when I know I have no intention of buying them. I don't ask for 'recession' discounts. I don't stomp my foot and whinge and bitch if the item I want to return doesn't satisfy the store's return policy, because I understand that it's not the fault or problem of the worker on minimum wage.

Jesus, I've got myself feeling really angry now. Fcuk all you consuming fcukers!!

Some of my retail time was spent working part-time in a video library while I was in college.
    as a consequence I now make a point of rewinding all my rentals before returning them, and you should too!! It's the little things people.

You must be really enjoying the 1995 summer heatwave. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭HooterSnout

People still use tapes???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

kfallon wrote: »

I have CDO, its like OCD but the letters are the right way around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Not least because it just makes sense, I make a point of arranging my shopping on the belt in such a way that it's easier for the packer to stick it in the bags. A throwback to the days of packing the old plastic bags in Superquinn 13 years ago.

I wouldn't be in the habit of facing stuff off, because that didn't annoy me much working there, but if I'm going to put something back I always stick it back where I got it, rather than just throw it onto a random shelf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Yeah I try and be more considerate than the majority of consumers by not putting frozen stuff on shelves, putting things back in the same area from which I took them, not pointlessly interfering with staff to ask stupid questions or bitch if there happens to be a product I wanted that's not in stock.

In clothes shops I try to put back items of clothing on the rail on which I found them, in the right sizing order, with the item actually hanging properly on the hanger. I don't ask the staff to get gigantic ladders to get down items of clothing from mannequins etc. etc., when I know I have no intention of buying them. I don't ask for 'recession' discounts. I don't stomp my foot and whinge and bitch if the item I want to return doesn't satisfy the store's return policy, because I understand that it's not the fault or problem of the worker on minimum wage.

Jesus, I've got myself feeling really angry now. Fcuk all you consuming fcukers!!

Staff are paid to be there to help the customer. You are doing their job but not getting paid. have you ever noticed the staff will fix everything after you because the have their own method of doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

seamus wrote: »
    Not least because it just makes sense, I make a point of arranging my shopping on the belt in such a way that it's easier for the packer to stick it in the bags. A throwback to the days of packing the old plastic bags in Superquinn 13 years ago.

Yeah I always do this at the supermarket, heavy things at the front and veg and eggs at the back, by the time the cashier has the veg weighed I have all my shopping packed so I don't have to wait ages before I can pay and get outta there! Man I'm pedantic.

I'm always nice to service workers, not solely because I've worked in the industry but because it's good manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

In the two main jobs I've have been in a call centre environment.

I'm always unreal nice to people who work in customer care. When your nice and know how the system works its much easier to get stuff done.

But saying people in sales will still fecking lie to you to get you to buy..... Even after you say to them your going to go for the package that suits both you and gets them a bit of commission.

I'm always nice to people in retail, I've only lost the rag twice. Once with an American girl in the body shop who couldn't understand my bogger tones and told me the product I wanted didn't exist. I ended up buying it in another Body shop the same day.

And by loosing the rag I mean telling her I know its produced and I will go and buy it in Grafton street where they'll listen to me.

The other time was when I was handing in a CV to Dunne Stores at the customer care counter. This auld one told me that I hadn't a chance and I was basically wasting my time, not even politely but in a downtrodden jeery fashion. (I've since heard Dunnes are pure horror to work for, so maybe that's why she was so angry)

I just said well I'll give it ago and muttered that I was far more employable than she was with an attitude like that as I walked off.

I've also complimented retail staff before, last year I bought something in Urban outfitters where I was basically grunted at and even though I was spending a fair amount of money I was made feel like my custom wasnt wanted. I then went to American Apparel where the people working there were full of help and didn't have a pretentious scowl on their face even though they were working in American Apparel and I told the girl serving me that they were always far nicer than Urban Outfitters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I always make a point of being as nice and friendly to staff on tills and the shop floor as I can because I know there is nothing worse than some snotty customer taking out their bad day on you. I never get shirty of something goes wrong because I know it'll get me nowhere.

Manners and patience go a long way and it's astounding the amount of people who refuse to see this.

In resturaunts I'll always leave the table as tidy as possible and if I can I'll bring my tray to the bin. There is nothing worse than cleaning hundreds of tables everyday that look like bombs hit them because people refuse to take 60 seconds out of their day to tidy up a little.

If you work any kind or retail or resteraunt environment you are there to help NOT to be treated as a slave.

pow wow wrote: »
    I always take my tray to the bin in fast food places so yeah, a little bit. The other side of that is that I wince at girls the cashiers handling change and then fixing food.

I actually do the opposite - I leave my stuff on the table.

My logic is it will keep them in a job!

/Used to work in McDonalds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Always tip to the take away delivery guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Definitely, I'd always make sure to tip lounge staff in a pub.

God yeah, me too, even if it's just a bit of change from a round of drinks, I'd do it each round I get!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I've lost count of the jobs (what some would unfairly describe as "menial") I've done over the years. Yes, it does make you be more aware of the person who's serving you.

That said, there's no excuse for rude and surly or disinterested assistants. You are polite, attentive and helpful - it doesn't always get a response from the customer but it's the proper way. IMHO, natch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

whew i though I was the only one who did the facing off thing!!! :P

Also if i'm in a restaurant I will stack up all the dirty plates and cutlery when i'm finished to make it easier for the waiting staff. And in a bar i've often picked a load of empty glasses from our table and brought em back to the bar when i was going up for another round!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

Yep I make sure I hang clothes back properly in shops instead of leaving them in the changing room or slinging them unceremoniously through the hanger.

I bring the glasses back to the bar between rounds/leaving.

I always remember that it's the company that let me down not the poor crathur on the phone.

I always put items back on the correct shelf when I change my mind even if it's at the far end of the supermarket.

I always make sure I have the correct cash when buying cocaine.

Ok that last one was for a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 CBBB

I used to waitress, proper waitressing now, the silver service stuff, so

I always leave my bottle of wine/water/beer in at the wall - no chance of it being knocked over
    I always place my knife and fork together to show that I've finished eating
    I always make sure my napkin is out of the way when they are clearing the plates (unless its a tissue napkin, cause thats just thrown away)
    and, I used to hate it when people stacked their own plates, if you know what your doing its easier to clear away the plates one at time, and get all the plates and stack them while clearing. If people stacked the plates it was just more work for me and usually a 2nd trip to the table. So don't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭kizzyf

Still always face off, if I decide that I don't want something that I've put in my basket I als bring it back to it's correct place and don't just shove it anywhere, I sort out the condiments, shine cutlery. Hardly ever tip the takeaway guy so must start doing that if they're nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

You must be really enjoying the 1995 summer heatwave. :pac:

All your 2011 rewinding worries vanish: Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

The manager took the facing off so serious, he would come around each isle and inspect how well we had "faced off". Good money at the time. I wouldnt have minded if they had actual work for us to do. I stuck it for about three weeks and then legged it.
    Yeah what is it with store managers? They're face off Nazi's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I've always tried to be polite to (and to tip) people working in service jobs - before and after I worked in them myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

I face off if its late in the day and I always arrange the shopping on the belt, although I sometimes get odd looks from other customers when I do.
    I shopped in the same shop I worked in for a few years after I finished there.
    On one occasion,a couple of years after I left, the product I was looking for( tinned choc pud) wasn't on the shelf and I asked a staff member(newbie) to check the stockroom for me. He just shrugged and said "We're probably just out".
    "Stock Room.Middle aisle, middle shelf, half way down,behind the pillar. I'll wait here". says I.
    He was back two minuted later with a full box of said puddings and a stunned look on his mug. He would ask me if there was anything I needed, any time he saw me after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I always have my money ready when buying a round of drinks, leaving bar staff standing there whilst you rummage through pockets and bags is rude it's not as if you didn't know the order was coming. Also I'd never talk on a mobile phone whilst paying for something in retail, it's the height of ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

MyKeyG wrote: »
    Yeah what is it with store managers? They're face off Nazi's.

District managers above them who the store managers are either terrified of or are desperate to impress.

I tip the hairdresser as it requires training but it's a very low paid job, especially when you are training.
    Bring up glasses to the bar with a round.

Always be nice to the person at the callcentre. They are limited in what they can do but if you are nice, they'll do their very best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Yes,people who work in retail should be paid their weight in gold, the general public are by and large, utter morons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

Worked in DUnnes years ago and as a result like loads of others still feel the need to do a bit of "facing off" if it's late in the evening.

I do remember dreading being asked to face off the cosmetics, holy lord so much small fiddly stuff stacked on top of other small fiddly bits falling over as soon as you look at them:mad:

Great times:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

yep . I always bring my empty glass up to the bar when ordering a new Pint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

WIZE wrote: »
    yep . I always bring my empty glass up to the bar when ordering a new Pint

I've worked in bars before, used to enjoy popping out from behind the bar for the glasses every now and then...could check out the talent and if we weren't busy it was a good excuse to have a quick smoke. Sometimes customers would leave glasses where you are serving and they would only get in the way and cause more work for all the staff.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

No... I try to be considerate to people in general becuase i'm not a prick.

hondasam wrote: »
    Staff are paid to be there to help the customer. You are doing their job but not getting paid. have you ever noticed the staff will fix everything after you because the have their own method of doing it.

Yeah I did notice that, partially because I was/am that staff! And I enjoy helping people for the most part. I know that it's all about customer service, but I won't bother someone in a shop just to get attention, when I am fully aware I don't want to buy anything. Obviously staff are there to help people, and if I need help I'll ask for it, but there are plenty of people who interpret 'staff are there to help the customer' as meaning 'the staff of this shop are my personal lackeys and I will take full advantage of the fact that they can't tell me to go fcuk myself'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

TheZohan wrote: »
    I've worked in bars before, used to enjoy popping out from behind the bar for the glasses every now and then...could check out the talent and if we weren't busy it was a good excuse to have a quick smoke. Sometimes customers would leave glasses where you are serving and they would only get in the way and cause more work for all the staff.

thats cool but on Quite nights I hated taking more Glasses from the Shelf and getting loads of them back at the end of the Night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Yeah I did notice that, partially because I was/am that staff! And I enjoy helping people for the most part. I know that it's all about customer service, but I won't bother someone in a shop just to get attention, when I am fully aware I don't want to buy anything. Obviously staff are there to help people, and if I need help I'll ask for it, but there are plenty of people who interpret 'staff are there to help the customer' as meaning 'the staff of this shop are my personal lackeys and I will take full advantage of the fact that they can't tell me to go fcuk myself'.

I would not bother anyone either unless I was serious about buying the item. I would definitely leave things back in the right place. customers can be rude for no reason.