Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster vs Ulster, Sat 16th April 8pm, RTE2

• 11-04-2011 5:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

The Leinster squad stepped up their preparations for Saturday's Magners League Interprovincial derby against Ulster at the RDS (KO: 8pm) with a training session on Monday evening in UCD...

There were no fresh injury concerns for the province from their Heineken Cup Quarter Final 17-10 victory over Leicester Tigers with Gordon D’Arcy (shoulder), try-scorer Isa Nacewa (foot) and Brian O’Driscoll (nose) expected to resume training after picking up minor knocks at the weekend. Shane Jennings returned to training last week and it is hoped the Ireland wing forward will be in contention for selection for Saturday’s derby.
    Nacewa has now accumulated 142 points (including 4 tries) in this year’s Magners League. Meanwhile, Jonathan Sexton’s 12 point haul on Saturday evening pushed him past the 500 point mark in Leinster colours and 163 points from that tally have come so far this season in 14 games.
    Fourth placed Leinster currently lie three points adrift of second-placed Ulster. The team is expected to be named on Friday lunchtime.
    Saturday night will be a specially themed ‘Ladies Night’ with proceeds going to Action Breast Cancer, one of Leinster’s four official charities this season. There will be a pre- and post-event in the Serpentine Hall at the RDS taking place around Leinster’s Magners League clash with Ulster. There will also be lots of activity happening in the grounds including free tasters of strawberries and cream kindly provided by Superquinn for the ladies. Leinster is also looking for Ladies to pick the music for the night – check out the Leinster Facebook page at www.facebook.com/leinsterrugby and leave your choice.

The theme of this year’s event is ‘Give Breast Cancer The Boot’ and an exclusively designed Leinster supporters club t-shirt will be on sale on the night for just €20. All proceeds from the sale of the t-shirt will go directly to Action Breast Cancer. Ladies are encouraged to don their best blue outfits on the night and there will be a best dressed ‘blue-belle’ which is sponsored by Bank of Ireland.
    The pre-match bash will kick off from 6:30pm in the Serpentine Hall where ladies will be treated to strawberries and cream, a glass or two of champagne, live music, and some pampering with mini manicures and massages. There will also be exclusive goodie bags for guests on the night and the chance to win a signed Leinster jersey. Post-match there will be live music, player appearances, drinks and a Leinster supporters’ blind date competition!
    Over 15,000 tickets have been sold for Saturday’s game and tickets are on sale now HERE

http://leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/7888.php

A huge game for both teams. I reckon it will decide who finishes 3rd and 4th in the league, perhaps even 2nd and 3rd.

Hopefully Jennings will be back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭TheRevolution

1.VDM
    2.Strauss
    3.Wright
    4.Cullen
    5.Toner
    6.McLaughlin
    7.Jennings
    8.Ruddock
    9.Boss
    10.McKinley/Madigan
    11.Fitzgerald
    12.McFadden
    13.O'Malley
    14.Horgan
    15.Nacewa

would be my team. Heaslip, Ross, Healy, Sexton, BOD, D'arcy and Reddan all getting a much needed rest. Still an incredibly good pack, and the back 3 from last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

My selection from the Leinster thread:
    Definitely going to be a lot of sore bodies this week but nothing we can't deal with. I'd go for something like the following, with a trip to Aironi and the semi in the following weeks in mind we'll need to be careful with certain players.

15. Fitzgerald
    14. Horgan
    13. O'Malley
    12. McFadden
    11. Kearney
    10. McKinley
    9. Reddan

1. Heinke
    2. Harris-Wright
    3. Wright
    4. McLoughlin
    5. Toner
    6. Ruddock
    7. Ryan/Jennings
    8. Heaslip

16. Dundon
    17. McGrath
    18. Shawe
    19. Cullen
    20. SOB
    21 Boss
    22. Sexton
    23. Nacewa

I think that's got a good balance to it and a strong bench if it's needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Think he will stick McLoughlin into second row and play Ryan, Jennings (if fit) and Ruddock in the back row. Wouldnt be surprised to see SOB play either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

I think no matter what, Fitzy should be givent the 11 jeresy against Ulster. I want to see McKinley get another go as he looked impressive. Then of course there's the matter of getting Jennings going again. I'd also start Toner and rest Hines. I'd also rest O'Driscoll.
    So maby something like this.

1.VDM
    2.JHW
    3.Wright
    4.Cullen
    5.Toner
    6.O'Brien
    7.Jennings
    8.Heaslip
    9.Boss
    10.Sexton
    11.Fitzgerald
    12.Darcy
    13.McFadden
    14.Kearney
    15.Nacewa

16.Strauss
    17.Healy
    18.Ross
    19.Hines
    20.McLaughin
    21.Reddan
    22.McKinley
    23.Morris (jsut because he can cover full-back, which means you can take Nacewa off)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

1.VDM 2.Strauss 3.Wright 4.Cullen 5.Toner 6.McLaughlin 7.Jennings 8.Ruddock 9.Boss 10.McKinley/Madigan 11.Fitzgerald 12.McFadden 13.O'Malley 14.Horgan 15.Nacewa

would be my team. Heaslip, Ross, Healy, Sexton, BOD, D'arcy and Reddan all getting a much needed rest. Still an incredibly good pack, and the back 3 from last week.

Like your team, except fly half. I'd hope to see Sexton at 10. Ulster are a good team and we need to win this to have a shot of a home semi. McKinley against Warriors and Aironi, but we need Sexton this weekend.

Also, Madigan seems to be ahead of McKinkey again. He has been on the bench on in recent weeks which is surprising as I thought McKinley has been slightly more impressive. I hope either or both still get a lot of gametime next year with the Kiwi lad coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Can see Ulster taking this if we rest a few.

Which worries me, as it could be a crucial game in the run in for a home semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

I say we rest bod darcy, sexton, sob, the front row, give jennings a game and maybe have nacewa on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

I think that only those who haven't gotten over their knocks from Saturday should be rested. This is too important a game to rest people imo. We're playing Aironi the weekend after and if some players are knackered they can be rested then.

I would pick the same team as the weekend, if everyone is fit, except start McFadden on the wing over Fitzgerald and bring Jennings back in for McLaughlin who would drop to the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,743 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

WeeBushy wrote: »
    I think that only those who haven't gotten over their knocks from Saturday should be rested. This is too important a game to rest people imo. We're playing Aironi the weekend after and if some players are knackered they can be rested then.

I would pick the same team as the weekend, if everyone is fit, except start McFadden on the wing over Fitzgerald and bring Jennings back in for McLaughlin who would drop to the bench.

does locky deserved to be dropped after saturday ?

i wouldnt see this game , as masively important , given WC and HC commitments - i would rest a good few of the starters - BOD and D'arcy, heaslip or o'brien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

thebaz wrote: »
    does locky deserved to be dropped after saturday ?

i wouldnt see this game , as masively important , given WC and HC commitments - i would rest a good few of the starters - BOD and D'arcy, heaslip or o'brien

I don't think so and he needs game time. He could still sneak a WC spot imo.
    Personally I'd have him before Leamy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Team selection here will be interesting. Jennings needs games (obviously) and Locky is still short of game time, so he's a cert at 6. I'd expect one of SOB and Jamie at 8. Reddan and Sexton will start I'd say. Isa could probably do with a little rest, and I'd expect at least one of the centres to sit this one out. McFadden certainly has earned the right to put his hand up here.

I'd be surprised if Wright and vd Merwe didn't start in the front row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

smurphy29 wrote: »
    Isa could probably do with a little rest

In fairness, I've been saying that since February, but he's just got better and better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

One thing's for sure. The good people at Magners will be hoping for an Leinster win. The last thing they want is for Leinster to finish fourth and go to Thomond for a semi the week before a HEC final, and possibly throw the game and undermine the competition. They'll be hoping they can put off the grand meeting until the final...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Brenireland

One thing's for sure. The good people at Magners will be hoping for an Leinster win. The last thing they want is for Leinster to finish fourth and go to Thomond for a semi the week before a HEC final, and possibly throw the game and undermine the competition. They'll be hoping they can put off the grand meeting until the final...

interesting point,where would/will the final be played of the magners league be played?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

interesting point,where would/will the final be played of the magners league be played?

Of the teams which qualify for the final, the one who finished higher in the regular season gets choice of venue. So, assuming Munster finish top of the pile and reach the final, they could opt to play at Thomond. If they end up playing Leinster though, the financial side of things might make them move to Lansdowne but it's their choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

Of the teams which qualify for the final, the one who finished higher in the regular season gets choice of venue. So, assuming Munster finish top of the pile and reach the final, they could opt to play at Thomond. If they end up playing Leinster though, the financial side of things might make them move to Lansdowne but it's their choice.

I wonder, will it though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Comments in the press this morning indicate that Leinster will not be resting players for this weekend although I can see one or two players being brought in e.g. Boss, McFadden, VDM. I think we might see McFadden and Luke both on the pitch with one of the centres in more need of a rest.

If Jennings is back, I'd try and give him 50 minutes. It will stand to him in terms of match fitness in the coming weeks. McLaughlin does not deserve to be dropped and hasn't played a huge amount of rugby so I'd leave SOB on the bench and use him as an impact sub when things open up. McLaughlin, I'm delighted to say, has come back with a bang and by all rights should now be well in contention for a spot in the WC squad. He's a different 6 to anything else we have. Whilst Donnacha Ryan can play 6 as a line out option, he doesn't have the speed off the mark that McLaughlin has. If we take 6 back row players I really think he needs to be one of them at this point in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

Team selection here will be interesting. Jennings needs games (obviously) and Locky is still short of game time, so he's a cert at 6. I'd expect one of SOB and Jamie at 8. Reddan and Sexton will start I'd say. Isa could probably do with a little rest, and I'd expect at least one of the centres to sit this one out. McFadden certainly has earned the right to put his hand up here.

I'd be surprised if Wright and vd Merwe didn't start in the front row.

I expect Boss will start on Saturday. He'll be extra motivated to play well against his old club.

I reckon Schmidt could rotate both props, maybe a second row, a back row, scrum half, and both centres. Even then we should have enough to be competitive against Ulster at home with the RDS crowd.

Isa has had breaks during international series. Hopefully he's okay.

Can't wait for this match!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I just had a look on the magners league website. the ospreys have only one once at the dragons since the 02/03 season and that was in 06/07!

if we win and the ospreys lose that would put us in a fantastic position to get second!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

All posts so far referring to Leinster so just to put in my tuppennys worth re Ulster. Very difficult for them to win for following reasons -
    (i) Day less than Leinster to recover after bruising battle against Northampton
    (ii) Don't have same strength in depth as their opponents so if they make some changes (as i expect them to) they will be weakened more than the home side.
    (iii) Have never won away to Leinster in the ML.

So best I think they can hope for is a losing BP. Hope I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I just had a look on the magners league website. the ospreys have only one once at the dragons since the 02/03 season and that was in 06/07!

if we win and the ospreys lose that would put us in a fantastic position to get second!

Any of those games occur during the 6 nations? If they did it might explain Ospreys not winning, they'd suffer a lot more than the Dragons in terms of missing international players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

I would like Heaslip to be on the bench, at the expense of SOB, because his form hasn't been as ****-hot as say 2009-2010, but I think that 30 minutes against a tiring bruised ulster would really kickstart his season in terms of confidence.

Jennings for 60+ minutes at Aironi, with sob 6 heaslip 8, wouldn't mind locky in 2nd row for that which means we could rest hines(Who is in his mid thirties don't forget) on the bench

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 swan82

All posts so far referring to Leinster so just to put in my tuppennys worth re Ulster. Very difficult for them to win for following reasons -
    (ii) Don't have same strenth in depth as their opponents so if they make some changes (as i expect them to) they will be weakened more than the home side.

(iiii)Dont have as good players as Leinster.

Initial reaction Leinster win this comfortably but you never know.Il reserve an exact prediction untill I see the teams.I would like O'malley to get a run in this,he looked sharp when he played in the Heineken.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Any of those games occur during the 6 nations? If they did it might explain Ospreys not winning, they'd suffer a lot more than the Dragons in terms of missing international players.

isnt this the first year the magners was played during the 6 nations though?

the dates seem pretty spread out over the season so i dont think international call ups would effect the result.

i suppose its a welsh derby, kinda like connacht against munster / leinster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

(ii) Don't have same strenth in depth as their opponents so if they make some changes (as i expect them to) they will be weakened more than the home side.

Me too, no losing BP at all would be better.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Would like to see McFadden on the wing for this at the expense of Fitzgerald.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I'd expect us to be near full strength for this game.

In terms of the league, this game is bigger than the Thomond encounter, as the winner of this more or less secures play-off place and is still in the hunt for a home semi, the loser is in a dog fight for a play-off place and home semi is gone.

We've only lost twice to Ulster in the professional era, we've humbled them in the last number of encounters, including a 28 - 0 victory in the recent past, and Luke Fitzgerald was in nappys the last time they won in Dublin.

This is not a good time to lose that record, but I don't think it will go. To be honest, I think we're reving up the gears for the end of the season and will be looking to peak now, and I'm going to go crazy with optomisim and say we'll go for a bonus point win here, I think it'll be cagey for the first 30 minutes, but we'll hit the gears and blow them away. I hope that's the case anyway, but a big win here and our offloading game back to it's best is just what the doctor orderd for our run in to the end of the season, and confidence will be high now and the lads will be really looking to pull out big performances and keep the momentum up.

Ulster are a very good side and are on a steep upwards curve, but there not at our level yet and I think that will show.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Would like to see McFadden on the wing for this at the expense of Fitzgerald.

I think it's better he gets this game to prove himself, if he has another howler then he shouldn't play against Toulouse. Plus, I'm getting frustrated with how McFadden is being pushed into a wing role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Fitz's rugby form all season has been lamentable. There come's a time when he just has to be allowed to regain form in the AIL. He has always had a problem of over-running a team mate and butchering chances because of it. This is really his main problem, that and dropping the ball / getting turned over when under pressure. I'm sure it can be fixed without too much trouble. I watched the game yesterday and he did a few things that looked fine but was awful mostly. He is trying to play rather than just playing.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

jolley123 wrote: »
    I think it's better he gets this game to prove himself, if he has another howler then he shouldn't play against Toulouse. Plus, I'm getting frustrated with how McFadden is being pushed into a wing role.

Realistically, how many games does he deserve to prove himself at this point?

As far as I'm concerned McFadden has shown he has the talent to play on the wing, even if he is a better centre. He's not about to oust D'Arcy, but you have a player playing poorly, for some time now, and a replacement on the bench in better form. It's a straightforward enough decision at this point imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Dr.Evil

1. Van Der Merwe
    2. Harris Wright
    3. Wright
    4. Toner
    5. Hines
    6. McLaughlin
    7. Ryan (unless Jennings is fit)
    8. Heaslip
    9. Boss
    10. Madigan
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. D'Arcy
    13. O'Malley
    14. McFadden
    15. Nacewa

16. Strauss
    17. Healy
    18. Shawe
    19. O'Donoghue
    20. Ryan (if Jennings is fit)/Ruddock
    21. Reddan
    22. Sexton
    23. Morris

Would like that. Gives some players game time, give some a rest, get McFadden used to playing wing again while giving Fitzgerald the chance to keep playing too, hopefully help his confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

jacothelad wrote: »
    Fitz's rugby form all season has been lamentable. There come's a time when he just has to be allowed to regain form in the AIL. He has always had a problem of over-running a team mate and butchering chances because of it. This is really his main problem, that and dropping the ball / getting turned over when under pressure. I'm sure it can be fixed without too much trouble. I watched the game yesterday and he did a few things that looked fine but was awful mostly. He is trying to play rather than just playing.
    The AIL is winding up and there is no A games left so where will he go to regain form. Do you want to drop him till next season and have him spend 2 months in the AIL next season?

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Realistically, how many games does he deserve to prove himself at this point?

As far as I'm concerned McFadden has shown he has the talent to play on the wing, even if he is a better centre. He's not about to oust D'Arcy, but you have a player playing poorly, for some time now, and a replacement on the bench in better form. It's a straightforward enough decision at this point imo.

I understand what your saying, but Fitzgerald is a serious talent, and his problem right now is that he's just off injury and he's being moved and dropped. You could say he had a bad game against Leicester, but if you think about it, all he had to do was not knock on for that certain try and people would have been signing his praises. There were moments in the game where he was brilliant. Like when Nacewa chipped on in the first 5 mins and he picked up the ball at pace and gave a great pass to Cullen/McLaughlin. And then he showed glimpses of his inginuity when he gave that behind the back pass to BOD.

I just think that if you drop him from the team after he's just been dropped by Kidney, you risk ruining a great talent. TBH the coaches have managed him poorly IMO since he's been back from injury. They shouldn't have thrown him in at full-back(even though he was enthusiastic about it). They should have slowly brought him back to the pace of the game, rather than throwing him into international rugby, fresh off an injury in a position he never played in for Ireland.

As I said, McFadden deserves to start if the next game was Toulouse, but I feel like Schmidt should use this Ulster game and the Airoini game to clock some miles for Fitzgerald. More game-time is only going to help him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

The AIL is winding up and there is no A games left so where will he go to regain form. Do you want to drop him till next season and have him spend 2 months in the AIL next season?

Fair point but what about players like McFadden who are playing well and who are possibly being kept out by someone playing way below his normal standard? When you play badly you know it. When you play well you feel the game is easy. Fitzy is in the position of wanting to play as he did in 2009 but seems to me to be trying too hard instead of delivering his instinctive game which sets him apart from most other players. The margins of his mistakes are very fine but they are being repeated too often. I don't know what the answer is other than to maybe bench him. If he keeps on doing what he is doing how will that help him, Leinster or Ireland?

I was mad at fitz after Leicester but he did a lot of good stuff in that match in hindsight.

He might be just a flick or a touch away from finding his mojo.

We are where we are, I suspect McFadden will
    Play this week and fitz will at 11. I hope a pass comes off for him.

He's got more imagination and creativity in him than the Leicester team put together.

He can defend too

durkadurka wrote: »
    I was mad at fitz after Leicester but he did a lot of good stuff in that match in hindsight.

He might be just a flick or a touch away from finding his mojo.

The errors he is guilty of are just high profile handling errors and everyone is intensely focussed on him at the moment. Against Gwent I thought he looked very sharp and dangerous with the ball in hand but all the majority of people mentioned were the quick line out that was penalised and being emptied by Brew.

Fitz is a quality player. He links with Nacewa superbly, something I don't think McFadden will do. Every time the ball came out to the two of them in space in the first half they looked like they were going to slice Leicester open. What you'll get from McFadden is a big work rate, excellent straight line speed and a nose for an offload. You won't get that little spark that Fitz is capable of like the quick tap and go try against Racing or the quick line out against Italy in 2009 that led to a try. McFadden is very unfortunate not to be getting more game time than he is currently but I suspect that Schmidt knows if both players were in form Fitz would offer more and is eager for him to find that form.

€50 for a stand ticket and €30 for behind the goal. Is this right??

Quint2010 wrote: »
    €50 for a stand ticket and €30 for behind the goal. Is this right??

Shouldnd it be 20 behind the goal and 30 in the stand?

Edit you're right, ivthink it's a category a game or something. Usually close to sell out

durkadurka wrote: »
    Edit you're right, ivthink it's a category a game or something. Usually close to sell out
    Can't really blame Leinster rugby for making it a category a match, its a match between 2 top 4 teams and its must win for both if they want to get a home semi

Tickets for last week were only €35. €50? I think its a rip off to be honest-especially in these times. I'll be watching on the box.

Season tickets are reasonable though. Start at 240 for 14 games plus b+I cup

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Tickets for last week were only €35. €50? I think its a rip off to be honest-especially in these times. I'll be watching on the box.
    Yeah last week was a 50,000 stadium with all tickets going on sale, this is in the RDS with only something like 5,000 tickets available for sale.

Season tickets are very reasonable.

LEINSTER:

15: Isa Nacewa
    14: Shane Horgan
    13: Eoin O'Malley
    12: Fergus McFadden
    11: Luke Fitzgerald
    10: Jonathan Sexton
    9: Isaac Boss

1: Heinke van der Merwe
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Stan Wright
    4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
    5: Devin Toner
    6: Kevin McLaughlin
    7: Shane Jennings
    8: Jamie Heaslip

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Jason Harris-Wright
    17: Cian Healy
    18: Mike Ross
    19: Nathan Hines
    20: Sean O'Brien/Dominic Ryan
    21: Eoin Reddan
    22: Ian Madigan
    23: David Kearney

REFEREE: Pascal Gauzere (FFR), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Peter Fitzgibbon, Peter Roche (both IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Paul Haycock (Leinster Rugby Referees), 5th OFFICIAL: Peter Dennehy (Leinster Rugby Referees), TMO: Jude Quinn (IRFU)

http://leinsterrugby.ie/matchcentre/7946.php

Delighted about Jennings.

Leinster team:

LEINSTER:

REPLACEMENTS:

Ulster team:

(15-9): A D'Arcy; A Trimble, N Spence, P Wallace, C Gilroy; I Humphreys, R Pienaar;
    (1-8): T Court, R Best (capt), BJ Botha, T Barker, D Tuohy, R Diack, C Henry, P Wannenburg;
    Replacements (16-23): A Kyriacou, P McAllister, B Young, N McComb, W Faloon, P Marshall, D Cave, C Gaston.

Ulster Team v Leinster (Magners League, RDS, Saturday 16th April, kick-off 8.05pm)
    (15-9): A D'Arcy; A Trimble, N Spence, P Wallace, C Gilroy; I Humphreys, R Pienaar;
    (1-8): T Court, R Best (capt), BJ Botha, T Barker, D Tuohy, R Diack, C Henry, P Wannenburg;
    Replacements (16-23): A Kyriacou, P McAllister, B Young, N McComb, W Faloon, P Marshall, D Cave, C Gaston.

http://www.ulsterrugby.com/9295.php

Strong team.

CouchSmart, I think we jointly take the "Sad b*stard who sits there clicking refresh waiting for the team to be announced" award.

GerM wrote: »
    Leinster team:

LEINSTER:

REPLACEMENTS:

Ulster team:

It's gonna be a great game. Ulster at full strength, only missing Muller, Danielli and Ferris to injury. Leinster resting a couple of big guns but we have the depth to rotate.

Delighted to see Jennings back, a vital player to our systems. Serious pressure building in the backrow, McLoughlin, SOB and Heaslip are all realistic starters for big matches and then the youngsters pushing up behind. Should be interesting watching how that goes over the next few years.

O'Malley vs Spence should be interesting. Spence has been seriously impressive all season and O'Malley has shone in the big games he's played in. Two future contenders for the Ireland 13 jersey.

Kind of worried about Sexton, Nacewa and Strauss. We cannot live without them.
    GerM wrote: »
    CouchSmart, I think we jointly take the "Sad b*stard who sits there clicking refresh waiting for the team to be announced" award.

Typical slow Friday.

Good mix of resting players and available strength on bench, as well as giving the maybes a run -the props, boss, toner -and getting Jennings back in the fold.

+1 on Strauss nacewa and sexton .

Delighted to see Jennings back starting. Two games under his belt along with a few weeks of training should see him approaching a decent fitness level to be an option for Toulouse. So important to have him in there against an attack as dangerous as theirs. Good choice in the pack. Cullen has had little enough game time over the past 2 or 3 months and Heaslip has only had 6 or 7 starts in about 4 months. Those that have been playing solidly are being rested aside from Strauss who really has to be managed very carefully at this stage. He's the biggest worry for me. If we're more than 10 points ahead after 50 minutes I'd haul him off and have faith that the other lads can close it out. JHW will have Toner to aim at and is no slouch in the loose.

No surprise to see the two lads in the middle rested. They had a seriously physical battle last week and their bodies will be battered and sore still. Allows the other 2 centres a chance in a first choice back line which they deserve.

Plenty of gas in that back line for Ulster so our back 3 will have to be sharp. Their pack looks far less formidable though when you take Ferris and Mueller out. Leinster should win this, especially with the possibility of Reddan, Hines, Healy and SOB coming into it after an hour.

Looking forward to the battle between the two hookers. I suspect the Irish management with be interested observers too with an eye to 2012.