Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This forum has become so obsessed with nostalgia...

• 10-04-2011 08:05PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭

....that it's half filled with old skool threads being dragged up and cooed over with rose coloured glasses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

there's only one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭FensterDJ

well some i can think of recently are the ones about soundcrowd, prodigy android, someone looking for an old radio station mix, and the most bizarre, the 6 year old thread asking about a place to host mixes, which someone suggested soundcloud

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Eh, no.

sound crowd, from 2005, on page 2 now

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=

android, also from 2005, on page 3 now

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=248323

want me to find the others to prove my point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Ah, I remember when this forum was properly obsessed with nostalgia...

FensterDJ wrote: »

Seriously FensterDJ, if thats really your name - you can dig up as many old threads as you like, its not going to prove much other than you've obviously too much time on your hands.

Ah, I remember when this forum was properly obsessed with nostalgia...

Happy times, happy times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

....that it's half filled with old skool threads being dragged up and cooed over with rose coloured glasses.

LoL, dance music as a whole is filled to the brim with people who maintain that everything was better 10 years ago. Music, clubs, drugs....the whole ****ing shebang. Sure kids today don't know a good rave etc etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭francois

Nostalgia isn't what it used to be

Ha Ha and if my point needed to be proved any further, another 6 year old thread pops up "last night in the ormond" Nostalgia for Nostalgia, it's a never ending cycle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Good man fenster, keeping the old threads alive:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭JCarey70

Instead of moaning about the nostalgia threads just put up something new that is more interesting, and if you can't do that, then don't take it out on us old folk, ;)

LoL, dance music as a whole is filled to the brim with people who maintain that everything was better 10 years ago. Music, clubs, drugs....the whole ****ing shebang. Sure kids today don't know a good rave etc etc etc

In ten years time you'll probably be doing the same thing. You always remember the past with rose tinted glasses because its the good times that you've had that stick in the memory more than the bad times. I can remember many's a scabby night I had out years ago but the good ones more than made up for those. I'm not sure if the same can be said today. That's not to say that young folk don't have a good time when they go out now, you just don't hear many of them going on about how good it really was. Yet nearly 20 years on and people are still talking about the Dance scene in Dublin in the early 90s. There has to be something to it.

JCarey70 wrote: »
    In ten years time you'll probably be doing the same thing. You always remember the past with rose tinted glasses because its the good times that you've had that stick in the memory more than the bad times. I can remember many's a scabby night I had out years ago but the good ones more than made up for those. I'm not sure if the same can be said today. That's not to say that young folk don't have a good time when they go out now, you just don't hear many of them going on about how good it really was. Yet nearly 20 years on and people are still talking about the Dance scene in Dublin in the early 90s. There has to be something to it.

Not really, i got into DnB and Garage in the mid to late 90's and i found both forms of music to be very exciting and fresh to my ears. I have neither fallen out of love with them nor view them with rose tinted glasses. I still listen to both regularly but i also love Dubstep, Grime, House and the bastard bass music that i have discovered over the last decade and find they all excite me just as much as DnB and Garage originally did.

Not being dismissive of your point, just saying I have been around the music for long enough to have hit that 10 year mark and don't feel the need to dwell in the past.

With regards to the nights in Dublin 20 years ago perhaps there is a lot to be said for those frantic moments when something is just starting and the "will it or won't it all last" effect that these days can have. Right now dance music in Ireland is pretty well supported with constant gigs etc...it's become in demand so it's possibly a little less invigorating in that regard?

Not really, i got into DnB and Garage in the mid to late 90's and i found both forms of music to be very exciting and fresh to my ears. I have neither fallen out of love with them nor view them with rose tinted glasses. I still listen to both regularly but i also love Dubstep, Grime, House and the bastard bass music that i have discovered over the last decade and find they all excite me just as much as DnB and Garage originally did.

Not being dismissive of your point, just saying I have been around the music for long enough to have hit that 10 year mark and don't feel the need to dwell in the past.

With regards to the nights in Dublin 20 years ago perhaps there is a lot to be said for those frantic moments when something is just starting and the "will it or won't it all last" effect that these days can have. Right now dance music in Ireland is pretty well supported with constant gigs etc...it's become in demand so it's possibly a little less invigorating in that regard?

Probably see you at the LTJ Bukem gig in the Twister Pepper on the 29th of this month so ;)

JCarey70 wrote: »
    Probably see you at the LTJ Bukem gig in the Twister Pepper on the 29th of this month so ;)

I wish, currently dealing with some severe anxiety issues and agoraphobia...I've missed more wicked gigs over the last 6 months that i care to mention.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

I wish, currently dealing with some severe anxiety issues and agoraphobia...I've missed more wicked gigs over the last 6 months that i care to mention.:mad:

a mate of mine has the same thing mate and hasn't been seen in nearly 5 years at this stage, i understand its not easy gettin over things of this nature but dont let yourself end up like him, trust me. he can't even pop his head out the front door these days and has his mother and father runnin after him for everythin he needs whether it be smokes in the shop or signin on the labour. try your best to get out of it, or it'll ruin ya, just some friendly advice.

es-cee wrote: »
    a mate of mine has the same thing mate and hasn't been seen in nearly 5 years at this stage, i understand its not easy gettin over things of this nature but dont let yourself end up like him, trust me. he can't even pop his head out the front door these days and has his mother and father runnin after him for everythin he needs whether it be smokes in the shop or signin on the labour. try your best to get out of it, or it'll ruin ya, just some friendly advice.

Cheers mate. Yeah, i'm a lot better at the moment than i was at Christmas. Most days i can get out for walks, hit the shops and get the food in an all that stuff. I was kind of hoping to be okay to play Life Festival this year tbh...crowds and noise at the moment are still quite problematic though, so that one might have to go out the window which would be a shame.

thats a pitty bout missin out on gigs man, but take your time and ease yourself back into it, no point rushin and probably endin back a square one before too long. my mate is totally fcuked at this stage, its probably from the heavy consumption of chemicals we did back in the 90's up untill he went missin in 2006 but i was the last person to see him out, and that was in august 2006, hasn't even been seen out walkin his dog since then which he always used to do. i bumped into his dad a few weeks back and asked about him, and apparently he has medical certs from his doctor statin that he has agoraphobia and is totally petrified of the out doors. was very sad to hear it as he was a very outgoing person before that, and he's still only 28 like, his 20s are nearly gone and he has fcukall to show for them been cooped up for the last 5 years of his life.

Fcuk, sorry to hear that man. I hope and pray that you can get over it, I'm sure if its just a psychological problem that there must be a psychological solution. Best of luck with it mate. And same to your mate es-cee. It sounds like an awful condition. You don't know how blessed you are till you hear sh*t like this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

francois wrote: »
    Nostalgia isn't what it used to be

Just noticed - post count = 808 :D

Are you the real francois?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭francois

chakattack wrote: »
    Just noticed - post count = 808 :D

Are you the real francois?

I am indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

francois wrote: »
    I am indeed

Damn it, I thought you were fake francois. Fake francois was way more fun…

Just thought i would give this a bump for old times sake:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭jme2010

I remember when I really used to be into nostalgia :D

But there's nothing wrong with the old stuff.

BTW***
    Anybody know who done this old classic "1991 and I dropped the gun", whats the song actually called? Cant find it anywhere.

Cheers

jme2010 wrote: »
    I remember when I really used to be into nostalgia :D

But there's nothing wrong with the old stuff.

BTW***
    Anybody know who done this old classic "1991 and I dropped the gun", whats the song actually called? Cant find it anywhere.

Cheers

Is this it? A quick search on YT yielded it straight away...

D.o.n.s - Drop the gun

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hC9Isn4RPpQ

Discogs page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭M O N T O

Sheesh, even looking as far back as Page 2 and page 3 is nostalgic for me!

Did anyone read this thread before, was it any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

It used to be great - it's 5hite now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Did anyone read this thread before, was it any good?

It was good.........just not as good as the older stuff! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Feel sorry for the kids these days, haven't even been in a proper thread before :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭gavkm27

I'm 31 and been into electronic since i was teen,been through every genre and pretty much have time for any style of electronic musice new or old.
    But alot of my friends who would have been into partying when younger,they seem to be still stuck with the same ****ty trance or old skool tracks with no evolution in listening,it's very common amongst Irish in general i think,i get funny looks when i tell them i love Bass Music now and all they want to listen to is Mark EG Brainstorm(which is ****ing savage btw!) for the millionth time!

gavkm27 wrote: »
    I'm 31 and been into electronic since i was teen,been through every genre and pretty much have time for any style of electronic musice new or old.
    But alot of my friends who would have been into partying when younger,they seem to be still stuck with the same ****ty trance or old skool tracks with no evolution in listening,it's very common amongst Irish in general i think,i get funny looks when i tell them i love Bass Music now and all they want to listen to is Mark EG Brainstorm(which is ****ing savage btw!) for the millionth time!

Your talking through your hole!!!

....and I'm not surprised you get funny looks,wtf is 'Bass' music, nearly all music has 'Bass',could you post up a few examples of the 'Bass' music you listen to now? ....you know,to educate us backward Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

EarlERizer wrote: »

....and I'm not surprised you get funny looks,wtf is 'Bass' music, nearly all music has 'Bass',could you post up a few examples of the 'Bass' music you listen to now? ....you know,to educate us backward Irish.

He's kind of right... Look at the amount of people stuck on the nostalgia buzz over on the oldskool thread. Seriously if you don't know what Bass music is you're living under a rock. It's basically a melting pot of house, techno and dubstep. Terrible name for a genre though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭gavkm27

Haha easy there tiger,just sayin how it is,hang around this forum long enough and we will educate ya;)

http://bassmusicblog.com/

https://www.facebook.com/FutureBassface

He's kind of right... Look at the amount of people stuck on the nostalgia buzz over on the oldskool thread. Seriously if you don't know what Bass music is you're living under a rock. It's basically a melting pot of house, techno and dubstep. Terrible name for a genre though...

No,he's kinda wrong! the amount of people 'stuck' on a nostalgia buzz should tell another story i.e. that the music of today doesn't stand up against that which came before it! even so,just because there are those of us today who still enjoy the sounds of oldskool hardcore,jungle,dnb etc most are not 'stuck' there,again,it's just considered superior to the dross thats been pumped out today (alot of which sounds as though it was made on some cheap iphone app)

And seriously,if you can't get where someone is coming from in a post then your not fit to respond,when i asked wtf is 'bass' music i'm asking it as in where is this genre titled 'Bass'? I grew up listening to a plethora of genres all with 'bass' elements,it's way too general a title.

Of the examples you've offered up,this one is the only one that sounds anyway decent to me but i dare say anyone will be listening to it in 20 years time!

gavkm27 wrote: »
    Haha easy there tiger,just sayin how it is,hang around this forum long enough and we will educate ya;)

http://bassmusicblog.com/

https://www.facebook.com/FutureBassface

Sorry but your not 'saying how it is' your giving your own opinion on something and not the general consensus,your way off the mark with your comment re: the irish are stuck in some fookin musical timewarp! there are alot of great sounds today but again as with the stuff kunts nugget offered up I'm not seeing anyting 'evolutionary' here so far,the above 2 been at a push 'ok' but i wouldn't be looking to buy it!

Trust me,i hang around these forums plenty enough,if what you've offered so far is an example of what you can 'educate' me on,i'm in for a long tedious course.

Here's an example of the stuff been made today that I can relate to & enjoy,and would gladly go out and spend on!(and they've all got 'Bass' in em);)

Just has more substance to it imo,but thats just me n my tastes,and therein lies the truth,we all have a differing range of tastes,just because some aren't to yours,mine or other's doesnt mean it's shyte,it's just not for the individual,and this individual (while enjoying some of todays music) enjoys a whole lot more of the stuff that was been made from 1990-98

I've no issue with what people chose to listen to,whatever floats ya boat,my issue was with your assumption that 'the Irish are stuck in some musical bubble of days gone by with no ear for new music or evolutionary music as you put it'.... it's utter b*llox!

No,he's kinda wrong! the amount of people 'stuck' on a nostalgia buzz should tell another story i.e. that the music of today doesn't stand up against that which came before it! even so,just because there are those of us today who still enjoy the sounds of oldskool hardcore,jungle,dnb etc most are not 'stuck' there,again,it's just considered superior to the dross thats been pumped out today (alot of which sounds as though it was made on some cheap iphone app)

Whoa Nelly, someone didn't have their Wheetabix this morning. I've been listening to dance music for the last 18 years or so and while there's been some great releases over the years the amount of dross has been ****ing incredible too. And do you know what? When I go on to that oldskool thread 90% of what I click on is pure cack - crappy trance and hardcore that filled the floors 'bitd' but is just awful, awful music. It's a punishment to listen to. There's a reason why all ye heads think it's superior music and it's got nothing to do with the quality of it, it's to do with the shared nostalgia experience along with the fact that the older you get the harder it is to enjoy new music - that's not just me saying that, it's scientific fact. It's about your brain becoming less dopamine dependent. So if new music doesn't excite you the way it did when you were younger, it might not be the music...
    And seriously,if you can't get where someone is coming from in a post then your not fit to respond,when i asked wtf is 'bass' music i'm asking it as in where is this genre titled 'Bass'? I grew up listening to a plethora of genres all with 'bass' elements,it's way too general a title.

I never said it wasn't a general title - I personally think it's awful but if you keep your ear to the ground you would have heard it been mentioned. Instead you went off on one at your man for bringing it up.
    Of the examples you've offered up,this one is the only one that sounds anyway decent to me but i dare say anyone will be listening to it in 20 years time!

And yet people still put up the most horrendous muck on the oldskool thread from 'back in the day'. You'll be surprised by what people will still listen to 20 years down the road...

this has become a very entertaining thread, "new music sucks" "no it doesn't, oldskool sucks" lol :D

ok, round 2......... ding ding

es-cee wrote: »
    this has become a very entertaining thread, "new music sucks" "no it doesn't, oldskool sucks" lol :D

ok, round 2......... ding ding

I'm not saying specifically that oldskool sucks, I'm just saying it has no more merit than the music being made now.

i agree mate, i'm not from the oldskool generation myself tbh. i love the music tho, and i also love new music too. it's all down to the individual themselves, and whatever they are into, and to hell with what anyone else thinks of it, good bad or indifferent.

Whoa Nelly, someone didn't have their Wheetabix this morning. I've been listening to dance music for the last 18 years or so and while there's been some great releases over the years the amount of dross has been ****ing incredible too. And do you know what? When I go on to that oldskool thread 90% of what I click on is pure cack - crappy trance and hardcore that filled the floors 'bitd' but is just awful, awful music. It's a punishment to listen to. There's a reason why all ye heads think it's superior music and it's got nothing to do with the quality of it, it's to do with the shared nostalgia experience along with the fact that the older you get the harder it is to enjoy new music - that's not just me saying that, it's scientific fact. It's about your brain becoming less dopamine dependent. So if new music doesn't excite you the way it did when you were younger, it might not be the music...

I never said it wasn't a general title - I personally think it's awful but if you keep your ear to the ground you would have heard it been mentioned. Instead you went off on one at your man for bringing it up.

And yet people still put up the most horrendous muck on the oldskool thread from 'back in the day'. You'll be surprised by what people will still listen to 20 years down the road...

Weetabix is shyte,I prefer Shreaded Wheat! I like apples you like oranges etc etc etc *yawn* ...... I only listen to oldskool music because of nostalgia lol fook off will ya! I listen to oldskool music because its the music I like,the sound I like the beat I like,as with the 3 examples I gave of modern music I like,same sound,same beat,its a personal taste thing not a fookin trip down memory lane.
    I grew up loving all manner of music but I'm not jumping around punk,ska,metal ,reggae or rap threads looking for a fond memory of days gone by! Admittedly there's a nostalgic element to be had with 'oldskool' threads and it's good to enjoy the sounds with others from the era but I'll always maintain I love oldskool music purely because the sound,the beats,the energy moves me to a point that I want to dance.....I dont get that desire from tic toc pip pop tech house crap I hear today,I dont believe for 1 minute it's to do with any dopamine dependancy but more to do with the fact that to me it sounds shyte!.....But thats just me n my opinion!

Again,when you read my posts try to take in what I'm saying,I didn't 'go off on one at yer man' for mentioning 'Bass' music,my initial reply (note the line highlighted in bold) was his assumption that the Irish are stuck in some musical timewarp,it's complete and utter b*llox.

As for what 'people' put up on the oldskool thread,again each to their own,feel free to share your taste in oldskool too,some of us might like some of it,some of us might fookin hate some of it but what the hell,if it's what floats your boat who are we or anyone to tell you otherwise! We share the music we like,share yours or if the bulk of it doesnt appeal to you there's the other simple tactic,avoidance, it's the one I use for the like of the electro,tech house,cross over,dubtechtictacpippop a wap bop a lu bop a lop bam bom threads that do nothing for me personally!

Maybe your right,maybe I'll be surprised at what people are still listening to in another 20 years,I hope we're all still around then to share our opinions on it! but I'm sure if I am I'll still be loving the sounds I like and hating the ones I don.

I'm curious as to why there are so many young people singing the praises of old music and thinking the music of their generation is shyte......are the drugs as bad too? What is it thats not triggering their dopamine levels? ......or maybe it's just a taste thing!

Now,you'll have to excuse me,I'm off to listen to some oldskool music \o/ oiii oiiii ;)

Jaysus, I remember the good old days around here having arguments about old versus new, they sure were happy times... much better arguments too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Imma take that as a compliment.

jtsuited wrote: »
    Imma take that as a compliment.

Sure you are more or less oldskool now too, or new-oldskool or something.

God, he's so middle school...

Weetabix is shyte,I prefer Shreaded Wheat! I like apples you like oranges etc etc etc *yawn* ...... I only listen to oldskool music because of nostalgia lol fook off will ya! I listen to oldskool music because its the music I like,the sound I like the beat I like,as with the 3 examples I gave of modern music I like,same sound,same beat,its a personal taste thing not a fookin trip down memory lane.
    I grew up loving all manner of music but I'm not jumping around punk,ska,metal ,reggae or rap threads looking for a fond memory of days gone by! Admittedly there's a nostalgic element to be had with 'oldskool' threads and it's good to enjoy the sounds with others from the era but I'll always maintain I love oldskool music purely because the sound,the beats,the energy moves me to a point that I want to dance.....I dont get that desire from tic toc pip pop tech house crap I hear today,I dont believe for 1 minute it's to do with any dopamine dependancy but more to do with the fact that to me it sounds shyte!.....But thats just me n my opinion!

Well science tells us that new music doesn't have the same effect on us the older we get. The human response to music involves dopamine, the same chemical in the brain that is associated with the intense pleasure people get from food or drugs. Dopamine rewards you when you're younger for learning and new experiences but your brain becomes less reliant on dopamine as we get older. But that's just bollix because everyone knows that the music that they listened to growing up was better than the music that anyone else listened to when they were younger.
    Again,when you read my posts try to take in what I'm saying,I didn't 'go off on one at yer man' for mentioning 'Bass' music,my initial reply (note the line highlighted in bold) was his assumption that the Irish are stuck in some musical timewarp,it's complete and utter b*llox.

Well, some people are stuck in musical timewarps, some aren't. No need to take it personally.
    As for what 'people' put up on the oldskool thread,again each to their own,feel free to share your taste in oldskool too,some of us might like some of it,some of us might fookin hate some of it but what the hell,if it's what floats your boat who are we or anyone to tell you otherwise!

I don't really go in for nostalgia with strangers, it's pointless. I peruse the oldskool thread for the laughs. Like the post I read where someone wished they wouldn't let people under 30 into oldskool nights. That was great.
    We share the music we like,share yours or if the bulk of it doesnt appeal to you there's the other simple tactic,avoidance, it's the one I use for the like of the electro,tech house,cross over,dubtechtictacpippop a wap bop a lu bop a lop bam bom threads that do nothing for me personally!

Well, I'll look through most threads because I'll try and keep myself open to the possibility of maybe hearing something that might appeal to me. A lot of time I won't but hey, it's not going to kill me. If you had looked into the techno dubstep crossover thread you would have known what bass was
    Maybe your right,maybe I'll be surprised at what people are still listening to in another 20 years,I hope we're all still around then to share our opinions on it! but I'm sure if I am I'll still be loving the sounds I like and hating the ones I don.

Which is your prerogative in life.
    I'm curious as to why there are so many young people singing the praises of old music and thinking the music of their generation is shyte......are the drugs as bad too? What is it thats not triggering their dopamine levels? ......or maybe it's just a taste thing!

Maybe they're socially inept and lonely and need people with proper qualifications to help them through life. Next time you meet one, take him aside and give them some numbers of people that can help.

I reckon the term "Bass Music" happened because too many people committed themselves too publicly to what they disliked. Never able to simple say that they don't like a tune, a certain portion of the electronic loyal need to run down a whole genre but then that genre changes, fuses with your favourite brand of sonic shenanigans and all of a sudden you just look like a tool sitting there saying "house/dubstep/techno is ****" when all you wanna do is hit the shops and pick up those sweet vinyl.

So you can either back track, look the fool and admit defeat or just name the middle ground.

Genres are bollix at the best of times, they used to be a weird form of tribalism back when music was a geographical beast then the internet slayed that and now the genre concept is just being rolled by bloggers looking for separation and Youtube Tutorialists with no releases but 17 ways to make that bass go whomp-whomp.

That's not strictly true. There's been different genre names long before the internet was prevalent - rock, progressive rock, punk, house, techno, garage etc... we've always used them as a way of seperate the music we won't listen to from the music we probably will. What the internet has done is allow us access to a virtually unlimited supply of music and in turn create even more subdivision of music which we use to try and narrow the parameters for searching through this almost infinite amount of music we are presented with. Simples.

You'll be surprised by what people will still listen to 20 years down the road...

Oldskool, no surprise.

Horseshít, it has more merit because when it was just beginning to explode into its own being as a music of a generation, it had vitality & an eagerness by the people involved to make the music for the movement,

Now its being rinsed out to bits again & again by people who just want to be 'in the scene', with every tom dick & harry churning out shíte on their home PC.
    If you had looked into the techno dubstep crossover thread you would have known what bass was

Sorry, you lost me at dubstep............

Good to have you back Key :D