Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

most unusual taxi?

• 10-04-2011 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭

the other morning i was coming along the n11 at bray at about 630 am when i passed out a citreon c6 taxi...yes a c6..hardly ever see one never mind a taxi...so anyone else see an unusual taxi

p.s also seen a while back on the m50 a 1993 volvo 740(i think) estate..looked battered:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

sorry should be in motors.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

I see a lad still going around in a red Ford Escort taxi in Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

p.s also seen a while back on the m50 a 1993 volvo 740(i think) estate..looked battered:rolleyes:

Couldn't be. The 900 Series was well out by that time.

I don't see much wrong with an old Volvo taxi to be honest. It will most likely be safe, comfortable and far from the disposable object that many cars have become today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I know a guy in Limerick who has a Chrysler 300 as a taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

C6 is extremely modern, extremely beautiful and extremely rare. a real shame to see it pottering around as a taxi. It and the Renault Vel Satis are two big quirky French cars the likes of which we'll probably not see again as car companies become increasingly risk averse.

VolvoMan wrote: »
    Couldn't be. The 900 Series was well out by that time.

I don't see much wrong with an old Volvo taxi to be honest. It will most likely be safe, comfortable and far from the disposable object that many cars have become today.

Nothing wrong with Volvo I had an s60 and cried when I parted with it
    I'm just saying it's unusual to see a 93 Volvo big estate still being used as a taxi

Yeah I've seen a 300c myself but they are a rare sight with a plate on top

TheAnswer wrote: »
    C6 is extremely modern, extremely beautiful and extremely rare. a real shame to see it pottering around as a taxi. It and the Renault Vel Satis are two big quirky French cars the likes of which we'll probably not see again as car companies become increasingly risk averse.

The c6 is a fabulous looking car.. I think they are sarko's car of choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Truely a thing of beauty indeed, but i guess like the Velsatis, it will be practically worthless in a few years. I saw one in Dublin a few weeks back, a blue one.
    car_102.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

shagman wrote: »

Nope afraid not, the plate number 32668 (looks like that to me ) should be on a Toyota Avensis

Licence Number: T32668
    Licence Type: Taxi
    Licence Status: Active
    Licence Expiry Date: 30/07/2011
    Vehicle Registration No.: 00D113176
    Name of Licence Holder: SHANE CROSBY

Registration 00D113176
    Make TOYOTA
    Model AVENSIS
    Description 2.0 CDX 05DR A
    Fuel Type PETROL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Nope afraid not, the plate number 32668 (looks like that to me ) should be on a Toyota Avensis

Licence Number: T32668
    Licence Type: Taxi
    Licence Status: Active
    Licence Expiry Date: 30/07/2011
    Vehicle Registration No.: 00D113176
    Name of Licence Holder: SHANE CROSBY

Registration 00D113176
    Make TOYOTA
    Model AVENSIS
    Description 2.0 CDX 05DR A
    Fuel Type PETROL

Thanx for clearing that up.......god-forbid someone should think shagman was serious.........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

sorry should be in motors.....

Moved to motors!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

I saw a Nissan Xtrail taxi last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Theres a few taxi doing the streets of Dublin that are fairly out of the ordinary.

04 VW Toerag 3.2 Petrol
    85 Honda Accord (no longer licenced)
    DSCF0609.jpg

86 Mercedes 420SEL (but someone sneeked in a 2.7 Nissan Diesel under the bonnet!)
    88 Toyota Carina II (have a pic of it somewhere)
    08 S-Class
    06 Chrysler 300C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭STForSale

Seen a SWB landcruiser a few months back :eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Saw a 156 once with a taxi plate on the roof and it gave me a big goofy grin! Fair play!

qz wrote: »
    Saw a 156 once with a taxi plate on the roof and it gave me a big goofy grin! Fair play!

Theres a 06 one working in Malahide its a JTd.

AgileMyth wrote: »

Yeah I saw one too up at the airport.. Was a silver one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Mike2006

There was a VW Golf Taxi around the Lucan area a few years ago.

I always thought it was a strange choice for a taxi...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

the other morning i was coming along the n11 at bray at about 630 am when i passed out a citreon c6 taxi...yes a c6..hardly ever see one never mind a taxi...so anyone else see an unusual taxi

saw that up by Dell this morning, nice car.
    also seen an Audi Q5 on Sat beside Lansdowne and a really nice looking 7 series up at dell a few week ago

there's a 93 red 740i saloon up at the Grad pub regularly, always try and spot the mileage, it must be massive by now. Car is a heap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Therewas mid 90-s SWB Pajero being used as a taxi that I used see the whole time, it's a shed of a yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

shagman wrote: »

Defo not a taxi. However, the owner is a taxi driver and thats his sign off the top of his usual car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Mike2006 wrote: »
    There was a VW Golf Taxi around the Lucan area a few years ago.

I always thought it was a strange choice for a taxi...

Thats still going around hes from the clondalkin area, shouldnt be allowed have one of them as a taxi really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

I find it hard to believe that people saw SWB 4x4's being used as taxi's. Surely it would be near impossible to license a car with three doors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

VolvoMan wrote: »
    I find it hard to believe that people saw SWB 4x4's being used as taxi's. Surely it would be near impossible to license a car with three doors?

My bad meant, Pajero as opposed to the Sport, looked like this:##

Pajero4x4web.jpg

Hopefully, now looks like this:

abel_ndehs_service_car_pajero.jpg

One of these rolling around Cork City......
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSdbsyL-ZWy64vK0CEGX9LgKDY6dIGvTU8E6EnQX1X9ymIFRO53tBnhRy4

Excuse poor pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

merc a170 cdi and an opel meriva i see these two cars on a weekley basis and wonder WHY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

There was a Q7 floating around Dublin at one stage...

Also a hatch back Focus ---> Looks odd !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Many moons ago, while a lowly student in Manchester, my housemates and I phoned the local taxi firm to bring us home from the college bar to our house. Imagine how fast we sobered up when a Rolls Royce Silver Shadow pulled up and told us to hop in, this was our taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭jumbone

There is (was?) a Citroen Xsara phase 1 taxi in Naas until at least last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

im sure theres two guys driving avensis' in cork :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Honda HRV in Limerick. Odd choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Think this thread really goes to show the extreme spectrum of Irish taxi's. There really should be a minimum enforced on standards, colors and make. I heard a rumor that something about a minimum year was coming in but I can't see the effect yet. I've been in some taxi's that I wouldn't even want to sit in, let alone drive. Absolute rag order.

with growing numbers of taxi's in ireland and the debate about wages dropping because of the competition i cant for the life of me believe some of the big engined vehicles being used espcially the likes of s320 mercs and stuff..surely this eats into the profit margin big time?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

saw Fiat Punto's, 5-door models being used in Genoa as taxi's, my rucksack was bigger than the boot :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

AgileMyth wrote: »
    there's a navy blue one around Lucan village most nights. I've seen a Pajero and a Pajero Sport, Toyota Rav4, a Peugeot 206 SW, Hyundai Accent....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

with growing numbers of taxi's in ireland and the debate about wages dropping because of the competition i cant for the life of me believe some of the big engined vehicles being used espcially the likes of s320 mercs and stuff..surely this eats into the profit margin big time?????
    It would if they were working off the rank all the time but alot of guys with the mercs etc try to get a business class clientle and try to get them to keep coming back to them , the repeat business would probable more than cover the extra costs if they got enough customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

On the contrary, you don't have to take the first taxi in the queue, if there's an s-class a few cars back, I'm straight there, it doesn't cost any more.
    The problem is that they don't get to the rank all that often because someone else will have flagged them down or phoned them. I'd never flag down a corrolla or octavia these days, there's always something nicer around the corner. You're also more likely to get hotel/corporate work if you've a decent car.
    The best way to improve the standard of taxi in this country is to say no to ****boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

alias no.9 wrote: »
    On the contrary, you don't have to take the first taxi in the queue, if there's an s-class a few cars back, I'm straight there, it doesn't cost any more.
    The problem is that they don't get to the rank all that often because someone else will have flagged them down or phoned them. I'd never flag down a corrolla or octavia these days, there's always something nicer around the corner. You're also more likely to get hotel/corporate work if you've a decent car.
    The best way to improve the standard of taxi in this country is to say no to ****boxes.

yeah good point in fairness

alias no.9 wrote: »

My current taxi is a 1994 Jap Import Corona, and yes i've had people aviod me when im 1st car on the taxi rank and go to the second one. Its only ever happened twice, there last week my da was away so i thought i'd drive his car for a nite and see if i found any diffrence in peoples attitude or my earnings. His car is a 06 Chrysler 300C, and it didnt put any more money in my pocket, if anything it worked against me people begrudged me for driving a nice car as a taxi many held the opinion ''Well this taxi driver is doing alright for himself, no tip'' I even had one fare telling me to cop on! For driving it.

Now im not saying that the Corona is a better car, hell no, but to be used as a taxi it fits the bill perfectly. I've always held the opinion that people buy people, so when a punter hops in my taxi they'll have a clean taxi, clean driver who knows where they're going, no talk of the recession / football / politics / dem blacks. And ive gotten better work for it too. Personally i was disgusted that the 9 year rule was undone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Justin10

wrote: »
    Defo not a taxi.

https://secure.aaireland.ie/car-data-check/order/default.asp?veh=64D835

Did the check and it came up as Chevi Impala.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

I Was VB wrote: »
    ...Personally i was disgusted that the 9 year rule was undone.
    But wouldn't you have had to replace the Corona then? I thought the rule was a bit ridiculous, I'd rather take a nice well kept older car than a complete shed of a <9 year old Corolla or Almera.

I think more should be done in maintaining standards of taxi condition rather than simply enforcing age rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I know a guy in Limerick who has a Chrysler 300 as a taxi.

He owns the company!

But wouldn't you have had to replace the Corona then? I thought the rule was a bit ridiculous, I'd rather take a nice well kept older car than a complete shed of a <9 year old Corolla or Almera.

I think more should be done in maintaining standards of taxi condition rather than simply enforcing age rules.

But im in the vast minority of people who look after thier old taxis, there are guys out there driving 9+ year old taxis regardless of what type of car they drive that the gee is hanging out of them the type of driver who hasnt had a wash since bertie was in power and is also the last time seen a €5 car wash.

Theres also a Opel Frontera driving as a taxi in Dublin also.

My current taxi is a 1994 Jap Import Corona, and yes i've had people aviod me when im 1st car on the taxi rank and go to the second one. Its only ever happened twice, there last week my da was away so i thought i'd drive his car for a nite and see if i found any diffrence in peoples attitude or my earnings. His car is a 06 Chrysler 300C, and it didnt put any more money in my pocket, if anything it worked against me people begrudged me for driving a nice car as a taxi many held the opinion ''Well this taxi driver is doing alright for himself, no tip'' I even had one fare telling me to cop on! For driving it.

Now im not saying that the Corona is a better car, hell no, but to be used as a taxi it fits the bill perfectly. I've always held the opinion that people buy people, so when a punter hops in my taxi they'll have a clean taxi, clean driver who knows where they're going, no talk of the recession / football / politics / dem blacks. And ive gotten better work for it too. Personally i was disgusted that the 9 year rule was undone.

There's two sides to the service, the driver and the car. The drivers always going to be pot luck, so all you can judge at a glance is the car unless you've called them out. I'm all for improving the standard of knowledge of the drivers, they badly need to bring in a more comprehensive knowledge test and maybe a mystery shopper type audit of the drivers at ranks.
    That still leaves the cars, clean is the absolute minimum any paying customer should expect, I'd be more inclined to have a minimum crash safety rating than maximum age. Passenger space should also come into it i.e. knee room, head room, shoulder room, etc... Aircon is a must. If you sort all that out, then there'll be no need to cap license numbers as it'll clean the **** out.

As for people not tipping or complaining they're in a decent car, gob****es, some people wouldn't know a bargain if it hits them in the face.

Theres also a Opel Frontera driving as a taxi in Dublin also.

I've pulled my wifes hand down one night when that wreck passed. We got into a w220 mercedes about 2 minutes later.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

There was/is a black daewoo/chevrolet Matiz or similar being used in Galway city not too long ago. :confused: