Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fernando Torres

• 09-04-2011 4:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭

LoLz

when will he score again, serious.

before the end of the season, or next season..

or never again?

He is a shadow of the player he once was, since he was crocked with injuries he has basically being shoite, cant believe Chelsea spunked 50 million on him/.

might as well have bought Saha..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

18 is the longest he went without a goal at Athletico,It'd be hilarious if he broke that record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

He will score on Tuesday night and knock us out of the Champions League:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Wilson91

LoLz

or never again?

He is a shadow of the player he once was, since he was crocked with injuries he has basically being shoite, cant believe Chelsea spunked 50 million on him/.

Saha was actually n very good form before he got that last knock that put him out for the season. Really liked him when he was at United too.

Torres had problems with his hamstring apparantly, looked to be getting over the worst of it when he scored that brace against Chelsea at Anfield earlier in the season. Ancelotti said he wasn't 100% fit when he landed at Stamford Bridge either, so maybe that had/has something to do with it.

Personally I think it's mostly a confidence thing at this stage, with a bit of bad luck thrown in. I love that he hasn't scored in his first 12 games though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

He will score on Tuesday night and knock us out of the Champions League:(

It would be worth the £50m if he did. But he probably won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

I thought he would be playing in defence by now since he is great at keeping a clean sheet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

If you can't score against Wigan.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

If he doesn't score on Tuesday, it won't be until next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

I dont really care when he starts scoring as long as its not on Tuesday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

*Looks at thread title*

*Looks at OP*

:(

He'll come good again no question.

Look at how Rooney turned it around this season after a barren run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

If he doesn't score on Tuesday, it won't be until next year.

I really don't know how you could come to this conclusion. :confused:

It's not like OT is notoriously easy to score in or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

LoLz

or never again?

I am amazed at how effectively you manage to portray yourself in the way that you do.

To respond to your assertions. Torres suited Liverpool's style of play perfectly and even as his form there was that of the best striker in the world, his performance for Spain were "uncomfortable" at best.

He was and still is a top class player and will be regardded as the best striker in the world again at some stage throughout the remainder of his career. It probably won't be at Chelsea though and it certainly will not be while Drogba is still there.

I jokingly said on a different thread that Torres could end up back at Liverpool again in 18 months or so. It honestly wouldn't surprise me and him leaving for half of what Chelsea paid for him in the next year or two seems somewhat inevitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I wonder if Chelsea have any cold Wednesday nights in Stoke. I say he'd get his first hat-trick there.

He'll come good again no question.

Look at how Rooney turned it around this season after a barren run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Essien wrote: »
    I really don't know how you could come to this conclusion. :confused:

It's not like OT is notoriously easy to score in or anything.

I meant that it'll be most likely against us. Even though ye do still have to come to OT again. I dunno. Just think if it will be this season, it'll be against us:(:(

I am amazed at how effectively you manage to portray yourself in the way that you do.

To respond to your assertions. Torres suited Liverpool's style of play perfectly and even as his form there was that of the best striker in the world, his performance for Spain were "uncomfortable" at best.

He was and still is a top class player and will be regardded as the best striker in the world again at some stage throughout the remainder of his career. It probably won't be at Chelsea though and it certainly will not be while Drogba is still there.

I jokingly said on a different thread that Torres could end up back at Liverpool again in 18 months or so. It honestly wouldn't surprise me and him leaving for half of what Chelsea paid for him in the next year or two seems somewhat inevitable.
    You can't honestly take anyone seriously that starts a post with LoLz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Jaysus lads, he only played 20 mins today and was excellent. If he had some confidence he would have scored 2 in only 20 minutes. I am really excited as a chelsea fan because all the signs are good, he is getting the chances, working hard, getting into the right positions, linking well with yossi and got a great reception from the fans. All thats missing is confidence. This thread shows how 'simple' some footie fans are. The guy is class and to suggest he wont score again is an absolute joke.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

You've got to build the team around him, similarly to the way you've got to do it with other top strikers such as Darren Bent.

He'll come good of that there's no doubt, but it will probably be next season when they start to play a system built around him and buy other players who can fit into such a system better.

Paully D wrote: »
    You've got to build the team around him, similarly to the way you've got to do it with other top strikers such as Darren Bent.

He'll come good of that there's no doubt, but it will probably be next season when they start to play a system built around him and buy other players who can fit into such a system better.

I agree, I wont fully judge until he has had 1 full season with chelsea. Also chelsea could do with some proper wingers either side of him to help him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭101001

as a liverpool fan Torres move for me made no sense... He seems to be okay with the desision I just never saw how it was going to work. Drogba and Torres? You just cant really see it working these days but.... the way people take such glee in his ill form at the minute is just weird... why?

I was disappointed he left, thought it was a bad decision but it doesnt make him any less of a player. I hope he gets his form back on his day he really is untouchable and Id love to see him play that way again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

I am just saying it was a wreckless spend from Chelsea, considering his injuries and lack of form.

Clearly a desperate move to try and win the league, but it has back fired Spectacularly.

not that Mr Abramovich will miss out on 50 odd million from his bank account of course.

LOL is in the Oxford dictionary now, so should be taken very seriously..:pac:

101001 wrote: »
    as a liverpool fan Torres move for me made no sense... He seems to be okay with the desision I just never saw how it was going to work. Drogba and Torres? You just cant really see it working these days but.... the way people take such glee in his ill form at the minute is just weird... why?

I was disappointed he left, thought it was a bad decision but it doesnt make him any less of a player. I hope he gets his form back on his day he really is untouchable and Id love to see him play that way again

I think torres is viewed as a replacement for drogba and not a partner in the long term. I dont see drogba at chelsea after this season and torres will be the main striker with the team buit around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭djfitzerjnr

The kid who could have been King....

This is a perfect example of the saying that grass is not always green on the otherside.

A class-act player, form is temporary but class is pernament. That said, injuries have taken their toll and I do not believe we will see his form of 2 seasons ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭superfrank

He came on for 20mins today & played very well! showed great bursts of pace also...Still cant see him scoring on tuesday :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

So it is

LOL. /ˈɛlˌoʊˈɛl or, often, lɒl/ Show Spelled[el-oh-el or, often, lol] Show IPA. laughing out loud; laugh out loud. An approriate response to a shit thread.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    So it is

LOL. /ˈɛlˌoʊˈɛl or, often, lɒl/ Show Spelled[el-oh-el or, often, lol] Show IPA. laughing out loud; laugh out loud. An approriate response to a shit thread.
    Well in that case

LOL
    LOL
    LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭101001

MUSEIST wrote: »
    I think torres is viewed as a replacement for drogba and not a partner in the long term. I dont see drogba at chelsea after this season and torres will be the main striker with the team buit around him.

TBH I agree with you on the drogba being edged out thing. I can see the rebuilding happening too as some of Chelseas more important players are getting on in years (terry, lampard, drogba etc.)

the thing that was confusing me about the transfer was torres proclaiming he couldnt afford to stick around for a rebuild, yet move to a club that really needs one (although chelsea'll be able to do it a lot quicker potentially)

Torres is no spring chicken so he's not really a long term replacement for drogba... and drogba is still a decent player... Its just a bit of an odd one for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Clearly a desperate move to try and win the league, but it has back fired Spectacularly.

Either that or they wanted a long term replacement for Drogba and didnt want to do it in the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I am just saying it was a wreckless spend from Chelsea, considering his injuries and lack of form.

not that Mr Abramovich will miss out on 50 odd million from his bank account of course.

It hasn't backfired. Their form since he joined is considerably better than their form before he joined....

"Lol" is in the dictionary but "lolz" is not.

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Either that or they wanted a long term replacement for Drogba and didnt want to do it in the summer

Chelsea bid for torres last summer so if they did not get him in january they would probably be looking to sign him this summer. Chelsea got him in january because all our other strikers were off form and it has not paid off for this years title but chelsea still wanted him for the long term anyway. At least this way he has 6 months to settle in before he really gets going next season.

Anyway since he sighned chelsea are back to decent form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

The kid who could have been King....

This is a perfect example of the saying that grass is not always green on the otherside.

A class-act player, form is temporary but class is pernament. That said, injuries have taken their toll and I do not believe we will see his form of 2 seasons ago.

He'll be playing in a CL quarter final next Tuesday and in the same competition again next season while Liverpool won't even be in the Europa. No matter how better his barren run makes you feel at the moment, trying to imply he'd have been somehow better off career-wise at Liverpool is fairly stupid tbh.

Its almost inevitable at this stage he'll break his duck on Tuesday after the way its been built up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

And people laughed at Al Fayed for spending 100k on a overpriced statue which had no use at the club when Abramovich as done the same thing. :D

m@cc@ wrote: »
    And people laughed at Al Fayed for spending 100k on a overpriced statue which had no use at the club when Abramovich as done the same thing. :D

At least chelseas statue never fiddled with children:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

m@cc@ wrote: »

The statue might have a better chance of scoring than torres the way he is playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Torres is in shock at what is being demanded off him in his new club. In his old club the season was considered a success if they finished in the top 4 and got an occasional win against a big team, now they are expected to actually win trophies as well:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

A cold Wednesday night in Stoke is the true stick in measure of world class ability.

Will he even start at ot ?

Not certain he will.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Its almost inevitable at this stage he'll break his duck on Tuesday after the way its been built up.

That's been said for his past 2 games against us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

He's no Darren Bent that's for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Torres is in shock at what is being demanded off him in his new club. In his old club the season was considered a success if they finished in the top 4 and got an occasional win against a big team, now they are expected to actually win trophies as well:eek:

He played for Liverpool. Liverpool are Englands most successful club. Success is expected

He also plays for Spain, and I'm pretty sure they'v won a few trophies recently too

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Liverpool are Englands most successful club.

Give that two months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

It'll still be true in two months (admitedly we'll have to include cups and Euro titles to stay ahead).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Give that two months

Cant see Utd winning the league and two european cups this year tbf

How can you claim to be Englands most succesful club if another club has been more succesful in England than you?

time to........unsubscribe

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Cant see Utd winning the league and two european cups this year tbf

Depends on whether you believe the European Cup is the benchmark by which domestic clubs must be judged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Not sure how Wolves even come into this argument tbh.

/runs from thread.

mike65 wrote: »
    It'll still be true in two months (admitedly we'll have to include cups and Euro titles to stay ahead).

I wouldn't include cups if I were you.

United 15 vs Liverpool 14. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Why does every fúcking thread in this forum always boil down to this Liverpool - United shít?