Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

500lb Bomb defused in the north

• 09-04-2011 2:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭

Authorities in Northern Ireland on Saturday defused a bomb packed into a bin containing 500 pounds of homemade explosives, police said.
    The bin was located in a van abandoned outside Newry, along the main roadway between Dublin and Belfast, said District Commander Alastair Robinson of the Police Service of Northern Ireland.
    He blamed the foiled attack on dissident republicans who are accused of targeting a police officer with a deadly booby-trap bomb in Omagh on April 2.
    Local politicians said the bomb uncovered Saturday could have unleashed a disaster on the scale of a 1998 attack in Omagh, where an 800-pound bomb killed 29 people.
    Dissident republicans are those who want Northern Ireland to be Irish rather than British, and do not accept the 1998 peace deal that largely ended decades of violence in the region.

http://edition.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/europe/04/09/northern.ireland.bomb/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭haydar

F*ckin Scum. I hope they all blow themselves up tryin to make another one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Have they established where it was destined for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Jesus these boys are getting serious. They have no backing whatsoever though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Well done the security forces - prevented these scummers from committing another atrocity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

orourkeda wrote: »
    Have they established where it was destined for?

Haven't said yet as far as I know. There were two suspicious devices along the main road either side of Newry yesterday. I can't imagine them putting together such a big bomb just to cause traffic disruption though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

It was under an M1 flyover bridge wasn't it?

Jesus these boys are getting serious. They have no backing whatsoever though.

Ye what idiots support these scumbags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

mike65 wrote: »

That would have caused absolute mayhem if it had gone off - aside form any casualties. Jesus.

A1 just south of Newry I think. There were two suspect devices, one at Cloughe (or however it's spelled) South of Newry and one at Sheepbridge to the North.

sdonn

Thats a guess, I just glimpsed the end of a news report, it looked like it was parked beneath a bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

haydar wrote: »

The same sort of idiots that would support any other breed of scumbag. These cnuts just want to see the country thrown back to a darker era.. the fact that they call themselves republicans is an insult to those that went before them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Do they really need support?

Perhaps their only interest is the achievement of their own "goals" for want of a better expression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

Where are they getting the money to waste on all this shít?

It aint as if the typical member is your high flying Wall Street executive or anything, and they arent going to get funding through the same fundraising streams streams as the Provos once did. Is it all just dodgy fags and Vodka or what?

sdonn

Thats a guess, I just glimpsed the end of a news report, it looked like it was parked beneath a bridge.

Both suspect devices were under the A1 "motorway", one either side of Newry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

Surely we must be able to blame this on Muslims and Ay-rabs somehow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

It was abandoned as far as I can tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

orourkeda wrote: »
    Do they really need support?

Perhaps their only interest is the achievement of their own "goals" for want of a better expression.
    The only way groups like them can survive is with the support of the community. Thats one of the only reasons why the PIRA lasted so long. Nobody wants this shyte anymore bar a few extremists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Where are they getting the money to waste on all this shít?

It aint as if the typical member is your high flying Wall Street executive or anything, and they arent going to get funding through the same fundraising streams streams as the Provos once did. Is it all just dodgy fags and Vodka or what?
    Protection rackets and drugs.

A friend of mine is a cop and they had a meetin bout the dissidents a couple of weeks ago with the special unit. They were warned about an escalation like this and they were told they are gettin money from drugs.

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    It was abandoned as far as I can tell.

Was it? I thought yer man would have been leaning against it having a smoke waiting for it to go off.

amacachi wrote: »
    Was it? I thought yer man would have been leaning against it having a smoke waiting for it to go off.
    Dont be silly, seems they ditched it there rather than the intended target.

They happened to ditch two bombs randomly on either side of the road?

More than likely, don't see the sense in that size of bomb just for destruction so it looks like someone thanfully lost their nerve.
    That said, if that were the case there must have been someone thinking quickly to then plant another suspect device in another part of the motorway within a couple of hours.

They happened to ditch two bombs randomly on either side of the road?

Haven't heard that the other suspect device was actually a bomb. As I said in my other post it looks either coincidental or being some quick thinking as the two locations are maybe 10km apart.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Protection rackets and drugs.
    Yeah, these guys are noble warriors...:rolleyes:

Surely Jorra and the other SF/IRA guys would know exactly who is behind this stuff. Any chance they'll lend the police (either North or South, I don't care) a hand with some info? Of course, we know they didn't help when Robert McCartney was butchered by their own members, so I'm not going to hold my breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

These guys when arrested should never see daylight again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

A friend of mine is a cop and they had a meetin bout the dissidents a couple of weeks ago with the special unit. They were warned about an escalation like this and they were told they are gettin money from drugs.

Not much you can do when so many people who use hash or cocaine or pills on a weekly basis, don't give a sh** about where it comes from or who it is funding, yet might come on to sites like this to show their outrage when their suppliers try to kill people.

This recent thread shows the types of drugs people use, does not mention frequency though so bit limited but it is fair to say from reading this and past drug threads, that their is a sizable portion of posters who have no problem using illegal drugs:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055940455&page=27

Not to blame anyone in particular, but I would raise an eyebrow to anyone condemning this violence when they have zero problem funding major drug dealers like the RIRA. It is easy to moan about junkies, which happens quite a lot on this board, but the majority of funding for these dealers come from the middle and upper class sections of our society.

So I would suggest anyone who uses illegal drugs, who does not know where they come from, to pretty much shut up complaining about the RIRA, because the funding and support could well be coming from you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    These guys when arrested should never see daylight again.

No due process?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭No1J

These scumbags use these terror tactics to show that they are not people to mess with. They cause trouble in targeted bars and clubs then "invite" you to use their doormen/barmen who then allow controlled dealers who pay to deal. Before the owner knows what's happening they are the silent partner. They also use their influence in the security and building industies.
    In the last week or two they have lashed out and the only thing that I can think of that is annoying them is the soon arrival of the Queen. Wouldn't it be great in their small minds if for security reasons she had to cancel, big talking point/victory/recruiting tactic for them.

Yeah, these guys are noble warriors...:rolleyes:

Surely Jorra and the other SF/IRA guys would know exactly who is behind this stuff. Any chance they'll lend the police (either North or South, I don't care) a hand with some info? Of course, we know they didn't help when Robert McCartney was butchered by their own members, so I'm not going to hold my breath.

Didn't Gerry Adams condemn that murder and urge witnesses to come forward? He and SF have also distanced themselves from the latest spate of trouble and condemned the recent car bombing.. Damned if they do and damned if they don't aren't they?

Not much you can do when so many people who use hash or cocaine or pills on a weekly basis, don't give a sh** about where it comes from or who it is funding, yet might come on to sites like this to show their outrage when their suppliers try to kill people.

This recent thread shows the types of drugs people use, does not mention frequency though so bit limited but it is fair to say from reading this and past drug threads, that their is a sizable portion of posters who have no problem using illegal drugs:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055940455&page=27

Not to blame anyone in particular, but I would raise an eyebrow to anyone condemning this violence when they have zero problem funding major drug dealers like the RIRA. It is easy to moan about junkies, which happens quite a lot on this board, but the majority of funding for these dealers come from the middle and upper class sections of our society.

So I would suggest anyone who uses illegal drugs, who does not know where they come from, to pretty much shut up complaining about the RIRA, because the funding and support could well be coming from you.
    Some evidence about the RIRA dealing drugs please.

Withdrawn. They never plant bombs either. :rolleyes:

Didn't Gerry Adams condemn that murder and urge witnesses to come forward? He and SF have also distanced themselves from the latest spate of trouble and condemned the recent car bombing.. Damned if they do and damned if they don't aren't they?
    Jerry and pals know exactly who killed McCartney. It's all very well publically urging something, knowing very well that it will never happen, and probably saying something else privately.

Anyway, I don't want to derail this thread - I probably should have just stuck to my main point: surely SF/IRA know who these guys are and what they are up to? They are largely former members of SF/IRA, and colleagues (although not the younger guys, presumably).

Some people will say and twist anything to get digs into SF, pathetic.

You saw this news today?
    THE father of Celtic star Anthony Stokes was in custody last night after a garda operation targeting dissident republicans and an organised crime gang.
    John Stokes was one of three people arrested in a series of searches carried out in central Dublin and on the northside of the capital yesterday morning.
    Up to a hundred gardai took part in the massive operation, led by detectives from the north central division and backed up by members of the Special Branch and the dog unit.
    Gardai searched a public house and eight houses and apartments and recovered a small quantity of 9mm bullets and cocaine with a street value of €500.
    The bullets were found in a shed at the rear of the Players Lounge pub in Fairview, owned by Mr Stokes, and the cocaine was also located there.
    Mr Stokes, another man and a woman were all detained at the scene.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/armed-gardai-arrest-celtic-stars-father-in-antiterror-swoop-2614622.html

Some people will say and twist anything to get digs into SF, pathetic.
    And some people are very defensive and try to deny the facts.

Pathetic.

We can get back on topic, perhaps?

Ah sure that was for personal use ;)

Jerry and pals know exactly who killed McCartney. It's all very well publically urging something, knowing very well that it will never happen, and probably saying something else privately.

Anyway, I don't want to derail this thread - I probably should have just stuck to my main point: surely SF/IRA know who these guys are and what they are up to? They are largely former members of SF/IRA, and colleagues (although not the younger guys, presumably).

I'm sure it's a possibility that someone knows something, but it's awfully simplistic to implicate Gerry Adams and the whole of SF whenever something like this happens. The guys carrying this stuff out don't necessarily need to be doing so under a banner. Either way though they're lowlife scum and are going against what the people on both sides of the border and political spectrum want.

Are you saying Stokes is a member of the RIRA?
    I'm saying that you have drugs, bullets, organised crime and the RIRA. Now, maybe the RIRA are involved in persuading the organised crime gangs to give up selling drugs and go into - say - dog grooming instead.

Or, perhaps more likely, and based on plenty of evidence, the RIRA are heavily involved in organised crime, and don't care where the money comes from.

You can decide yourself what is likely - but you may want to check your republican ideology at the door as it is likely to influence how you see things.

I'm sure it's a possibility that someone knows something, but it's awfully simplistic to implicate Gerry Adams and the whole of SF whenever something like this happens. The guys carrying this stuff out don't necessarily need to be doing so under a banner. Either way though they're lowlife scum and are going against what the people on both sides of the border and political spectrum want.
    NO, I'm not saying for one second that SF/IRA are implicated or responsible - I'm just saying that they must have some inside info that would be useful in catching and stopping these RIRA butchers.

I heard first hand from a good few cops they are controlling, how and were, people deal drugs but they dont get their hands dirty and take an anti-drugs stance to look good in certain communities. Just the same as the PIRA did

I'm saying that you have drugs, bullets, organised crime and the RIRA. Now, maybe the RIRA are involved in persuading the organised crime gangs to give up selling drugs and go into - say - dog grooming instead.

Or, perhaps more likely, and based on plenty of evidence, the RIRA are heavily involved in organised crime, and don't care where the money comes from.

You can decide yourself what is likely - but you may want to check your republican ideology at the door as it is likely to influence how you see things.
    Involved in organised crime yes, but its my firm belief that dissident republicans have nothing to do with drugs, especially seen as these lads are of the fiercely ideological and principled kind.

Your "proof" is drugs and a few bullets being found in a pub?

and some coke, read the report.

I heard first hand from a good few cops they are controlling, how and were, people deal drugs but they dont get their hands dirty and take an anti-drugs stance to look good in certain communities. Just the same as the PIRA did
    AIUI, the dissidents take money from the drug dealers to allow them to trade.

As has been pointed out earlier in the thread though, it's funny how hypocritical people are - happy to put money in the pockets of murderous criminals and the dissidents by buying their drugs, and then they are outraged when the gangs/dissidents murder innocent people like the Geoghegan lad in Limerick and that young plumber in Dublin a few years ago. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Involved in organised crime yes, but its my firm belief that dissident republicans have nothing to do with drugs, especially seen as these lads are of the fiercely ideological and principled kind.

Oh come off it. It's your firm belief because you don't want to believe otherwise. It's pretty damn clear that dissident groups are involved in "ordinary" criminality, including drug dealing.

Einhard wrote: »
    Oh come off it. It's your firm belief because you don't want to believe otherwise. It's pretty damn clear that dissident groups are involved in "ordinary" criminality, including drug dealing.
    Evidence please.

There is plenty to bash them over without making stuff up, they are scumbags yes, but not drug dealers.

Principled? Are you serious? You call killing 29 people in Omagh including a pregnant woman having principals?

f**king sick, seriously, how are you not getting sick writing such tripe?

Evidence please.

There is plenty to bash them over without making stuff up, they are scumbags yes, but not drug dealers.

Ah leave the murdering terrorists alone!

Listen, you can stick your fingers in your ears and close your eyes to all the evidence, but everybody knows what is going on. Bernard Dempsey (former IRA boss) murdered Jim Curran a few years back because Curran called him out publically for taking protection money from drug dealers - was he another one of these principled Republicans? :rolleyes:

I'm sorry, but I can't take you seriously because you seem to be incapable of accepting the most basic facts that contradict your Republican ideology.