Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another speed camera van burned!!

• 09-04-2011 11:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭

Another speed camera van burned last night...

A speed camera van has been attacked and set alight in Inishowen.
    The attack happened shortly after 3 o’clock this morning on the Main Road between Carndonagh and Quigley’s Point. The van was one of a number across the country operated by private company GoSafe on a contract with the state.
    There was one civilian person in the van, they were uninjured.
    Gardai are at the scene this morning, and a full investigation is underway.
    There have been a number of previous attacks across the country, the most recent last month on the Gorey Road on the Wicklow – Wexford border.
    The Inishowen attack has been condemned by local Deputy Charlie Mc Conalogue

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Well what did you expect really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Dirty scumbags whoever done it.

Hopefully they are caught and thrown in jail for attempted murder. If the worker was in the van at the time that's effectively what they have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

There'll come a time where the workers will simply refuse to work inside the vans. They seem to be a serious occupational hazard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

cronin_j wrote: »
    There'll come a time where the workers will simply refuse to work inside the vans. They seem to be a serious occupational hazard.

Yep. One of them are going to get killed sooner or later. I hope the pay is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Yep. One of them are going to get killed sooner or later. I hope the pay is good.

€10.01 per hour acording to a recent poster who used to work for them.

trad wrote: »
    €10.01 per hour acording to a recent poster who used to work for them.

:eek::eek:. I like the way you said used to work for them.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Vicxas wrote: »
    Well what did you expect really...

I'd expect people not to act like f**king sick scumbags and not to attempt to murder people over 2 penalty points and an 80 euro fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭anto2

Burn a few more i say ,but i am against gross excessive speeding at the same time .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

anto2 wrote: »
    Burn a few more i say ,but i am against gross excessive speeding at the same time .

Even with a person inside? You should be locked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

The one that was burnt out in Arklow recently i passed probably a few minutes before it happened (going by the times the Garda gave)
    I was thinking is it some person who maybe has 12 points and passed it at speed and would have got a ban with another sppeding conviction decided to go back and burn the evidence?
    Are the Images (evidence) kept on board the van or are they electronicaly relayed to a base station somewhere?

Trolling keyboard warrier :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Sure isn't there signs up on roads where the vans are?

If a person gets caught its their own fault, fools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Really? You think that a van should be set alight with someone inside it over a potential speeding fine?

I speed regularly, in conditions and on roads that I think are safe to go faster than the speed limit in. I'm not a fan of the vans. I haven't been caught yet, and hope not to be.

But Jeebus - burning a vehicle that you know has a person inside?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Not normally supportive of ANPR and CCTV devices but a few of these around the vicinity of these vans streaming live footage to catch the fcukers on the act would not go astray.

If someone burned them out in their depot, personally, I would probably laugh. But to endanger someone like that is wrong. I see the van regularly on the belgard rd at five in the morning, and there is no way it's there for safety. The road is empty.

I just press report on trapster.

Not normally supportive of ANPR and CCTV devices but a few of these around the vicinity of these vans to catch the fcukers on the act would not go astray.

All they would catch is a hoodie

Good chance it would catch what they drove up in and a possible face if the cams were placed in the right position.

phutyle wrote: »
    Really? You think that a van should be set alight with someone inside it over a potential speeding fine?

I speed regularly, in conditions and on roads that I think are safe to go faster than the speed limit in. I'm not a fan of the vans. I haven't been caught yet, and hope not to be.

But Jeebus - burning a vehicle that you know has a person inside?

+1 this.

There are some roads that are designated 80 but are straight as an arrow... so you're not gonna do 80 on them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭hatz7

I'd keep burning out those vans too, every last one of them.
    It would be better if there was a political way to get rid of this racket, but I fear there is not.

Its not like the movies, the lad inside has plenty of time to get out as well.

hatz7 wrote: »

Its not like the movies, the lad inside has plenty of time to get out as well.

Happy out so :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

These vans need to be double manned, a chap sitting in the front to watch for scumbags.

Even with a garda in it or something...

Vicxas wrote: »
    Even with a garda in it or something...

Would it not be easier to just have a Garda there then with a normal speed detection devive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

Even with a person inside? You should be locked up.

What? For voicing an opinion on a public forum? what happened to the right to free speech?

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Would it not be easier to just have a Garda there then with a normal speed detection devive.
    It would.

I doubt people would be inclined to burn them if they were Garda operated.

TheAnswer wrote: »
    What? For voicing an opinion on a public forum? what happened to the right to free speech?
    There is no right to free speech on boards.ie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Mr.Boots wrote: »
    The one that was burnt out in Arklow recently i passed probably a few minutes before it happened (going by the times the Garda gave)
    I was thinking is it some person who maybe has 12 points and passed it at speed and would have got a ban with another sppeding conviction decided to go back and burn the evidence?
    Are the Images (evidence) kept on board the van or are they electronicaly relayed to a base station somewhere?

One of the firemen who put out the Arklow van is a friend of mine, and apparently no information is stored in the van. as soon as the camera snaps you it's emailed straight to another location, so even if you burned out the van you still get the points.

It would.

They still would if it was a van. There was a garda one burned in Blarney a few years ago. The old way of speed detection was better imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Yep, though this is an unexpected argument against the privatisation of Speed Cameras. If they start placing Garda in the Vans then this while endeavor will cost us a fortune and end as a massive failure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

There is no right to free speech on boards.ie.

and boards.ie doesn't hold the power to lock people up either so wtf are ya talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Sure isn't there signs up on roads where the vans are?

This is a myth!!!!

Good chance it would catch what they drove up in and a possible face if the cams were placed in the right position.
    Surely theyd have the common sense to hide no. plates(or have false ones).Balaclavas after that.Very hard to tell who it is then.I dont condone burning these vans out in any way(ESPECIALLY WITH SOMEONE INSIDE),but these things are just another money grabbing exercise by our disgrace of a government.Anyone who thinks theyre for safety is living on planet jedward.;)

"Go Safe vans" there is nothing "safe" about these vans now, they should be renamed Ronsons. LOL.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Happy out so :rolleyes:

Well yes actually, happy out.
    Those vans are there to collect revenue. If you disagree that's fine.

Burning out the vans disrupts the collection of that revenue.

Well yes actually, happy out.
    Those vans are there to collect revenue. If you disagree that's fine.

Burning out the vans disrupts the collection of that revenue.

And who pays for the vans????...Yes thats right....You do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 the wallet

i used to work for go safe,no one can say its right to set a van on fire with driver inside,most the drivers where on the dole and just needed a job,scumbags doing this,give the driver a min to get out i know the drivers and they wud be happy to get out and walk away and leave them to it,the crap wages there on they cudnt care less about a van.

The taxpayer will be paying for an awful lot for the foreseeable future in this country.The cost of a couple of these yokes is the least of our worries. We're even going to have to pay for water in this rainy, miserable place.:eek:. I never thought Id see that day.I wouldnt be surprised if they brought in a fart tax within my lifetime.Anyway these "safety" cameras are another disgraceful act by our government.Their hypocrisy is limitless.

I dont realy have a problem with them....
    I dont realy see why people have such a problem with them.

What has the Pope and a "Go Safe Van" got in common.?

Both of them are inflammable. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

with all thats happened in the last few years, with the banks and people losing their jobs and maybe their homes. and families losing their children to emmigration, and business closing down everywhere, well, i think its one thing too much to accept private companies policing our roads. its more cash they are trying to get. maybe people have had enough, and it seems an easy protest. easier to burn one of these than burn a bank.

there is a bit of lawlessness creeping in, people feel that they have nothing to lose, and they are an easy target.

I dont think you can drag the recession in to the argument
    No connection with camera vans.
    They privatised it to save Garda Time as its an unskilled data collecting job.

I dont realy have a problem with them....
    I dont realy see why people have such a problem with them.
    Because theyre labelled as "safety" cameras, when in fact theyre "money-generating" cameras.Catching people doing 54 in a 50 zone at 2 a.m. on a long open road with no traffic ahead is nothing to do with safety. Its downright sneaky, devious money-making for our government, who destroyed this country.Now theyre trying to re-gather a few quid and theyre screwing the average Joe to the wall. We now have USC(A sneaky 30 or 40 euro more off the average Joes weekly wage), Safety cameras(Safety me hole), and soon-water charges in a country where we get flooded from rainfall.Where I live we have been informed that the tap water is unsuitable for consumption.Soon your going to be charged to flush the toilet:eek::eek:.Its gonna be tough for kids growing up in this country.Thats for sure. "Safety cameras"-Only a fool would fall for that description.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Whoever done it should be given a medal! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

emo72 wrote: »
    with all thats happened in the last few years, with the banks and people losing their jobs and maybe their homes. and families losing their children to emmigration, and business closing down everywhere, well, i think its one thing too much to accept private companies policing our roads. its more cash they are trying to get. maybe people have had enough, and it seems an easy protest. easier to burn one of these than burn a bank.

there is a bit of lawlessness creeping in, people feel that they have nothing to lose, and they are an easy target.

I suspect you're right, it's not the vans that people hate so much, it's the financial oppression they signify. It was NEVER right to privatise this, I see a County Council in South Dublin has sold off its waste collection service to a private operator without paying even lip service to democracy by putting it to councilors for a vote. It was signed off by one of the execs in the council (I wonder will he step down soon to take up his new post as director of said waste company?:rolleyes:). The speed vans are just another symbol of what's rotten in the governance of this country.

I dont think you can drag the recession in to the argument
    No connection with camera vans.
    They privatised it to save Garda Time as its an unskilled data collecting job.
    A lot of garda are unskilled if you ask me.FFS.You dont exactly need to be Einstein to become a guard.Some of em couldnt even tie a lace.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 the wallet

Max_Damage wrote: »
    Whoever done it should be given a medal! :D

glad u find it funny

I'm not too sure if thats true, but even if it is, I'm paying to bail out the banks as well, for the rest of my living days.whats another couple of euro??

The disruption to the service is the first step.

There is no way those camera vans should be allowed to engage in blatant profiteering at the expense of the already over taxed motorist.

Where do the profits from this racket go, back to the state?? maybe help with road repairs, driving courses???? dream on Mr. Naive,

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Because theyre labelled as "safety" cameras, when in fact theyre "money-generating" cameras.Catching people doing 54 in a 50 zone at 2 a.m. on a long open road with no traffic ahead is nothing to do with safety. Its downright sneaky, devious money-making for our government, who destroyed this country.Now theyre trying to re-gather a few quid and theyre screwing the average Joe to the wall. We now have USC(A sneaky 30 or 40 euro more off the average Joes weekly wage), Safety cameras(Safety me hole), and soon-water charges in a country where we get flooded from rainfall.Where I live we have been informed that the tap water is unsuitable for consumption.Soon your going to be charged to flush the toilet:eek::eek:.Its gonna be tough for kids growing up in this country.Thats for sure. "Safety cameras"-Only a fool would fall for that description.

If you dont like the USC maybe move.
    If you dont like water charges maybe take control of the situation yourself to cut down costs (water butts ect)
    If you dont like getting fined for speeding then dont speed.
    All the options are in your hands and under your control so no point giving out about it realy...just get on with life and be happy.

I'm not too sure if thats true, but even if it is, I'm paying to bail out the banks as well, for the rest of my living days.whats another couple of euro??

The disruption to the service is the first step.

There is no way those camera vans should be allowed to engage in blatant profiteering at the expense of the already over taxed motorist.

Where do the profits from this racket go, back to the state?? maybe help with road repairs, driving courses???? dream on Mr. Naive,
    This sums it up for me;)